206515 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Cypress RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (863) 983-1330
CGID4820

Big Cypress RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   10   9   10   7   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$23
We stayed here for two months,and we really love this park. We were concerned about the distance to shopping etc., but it's an easy drive to Immokalee,or Clewiston. Long term residents(month or more) receive quite a few perks, such as free tickets to events. This is a very active park, with all kinds of planned activities, so you can be as busy as you want to be. Overall, the park is kept in excellent condition, with nice landscaping, and spacious sites. We are already booked to return next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$37
Rate is based upon weekly rate. We camped here for a week. Very nice Seminole Indian owned park on the reservation. Very nicely kept with good sized sites. We had one of the (less expensive) grass sites near the back of the campground, which are fine. Winter regulars make up most of the concrete sites: folks from all over the northern US and Canada, mostly Ontario. Nice folks. This is a quiet park and off the beaten path, so make sure you are stocked up on groceries before you get here. The Seminole museum is worth visiting and Billy's Swamp Safari is entertaining. And the stars are something else on the cloudless nights. Come and enjoy a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$42
Big Cypress is a very nice park. The only problem is if you think you are staying in Clewiston think again. This park is away from everything. The night view is absolutely great, noise is totally absent, roads into the park from I-75 is okay, and the mosquitos are big. For a get away this park is a great spot. If you anticipate going places and want anything less than a day trip such as Okeechobee Lake this is probably not the park to stay in because of its remoteness. The museum was great; the swamp tour was pretty touristy sounding but in all fairness we didn't do it. The 20 minutes for an air boat ride seemed really short for the dollars involved. We would stay here again if we wanted a remote stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
This park is very clean and well maintained. This was our first time there, but will return for a longer stay. The campers that was there for the winter were great people. Lots of activities. This is the place to go if you want to stay for a few months. We will be going back this winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
This is a great park - very well appointed and tended. Am unsure of the actual age (neighbors said they had been coming "for years") but it looked very new. Some major work had been completed during the past summer which might contribute to the "new" look. The Wi-Fi was good but would drop off sometimes and each time it came back required you to sign back in (agreeing to the policies) which could be frustrating in the midst of surfing or viewing something online. The staff (and my neighbors) were very friendly and helpful. The BIGGEST drawback is the distance from the main roads. Snake (or Government) road was a bit bouncy and therefore rough on the interior of the camper - just allow 40 min to drive before you get to Alligator Alley - then another 35 miles to get to the western edge of Ft Laud. Still a GREAT place to "get away" to and still not be roughing it or dry camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
Clean, well maintained campground with friendly, helpful staff. Really enjoyed the Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum nearby--you could bike or walk there from the RV park. Guided tour was fantastic. Also did the board walk through the Everglades there. Good local place to eat is Sweet Tooth. We liked their BBQ and cupcake. Also enjoyed the Billie Swamp Safari. Especially liked the swamp buggy ride. They also have air boat rides. The whole community is clean and well maintained. Lots of good bird watching too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
This was our second trip here. It is pretty remote, but we like that. They have a great Seminole Museum as well as air boat and swamp buggy rides. We talked to the new manger who is a Seminole and seemed to be very knowledgeable and interested in improving the park. They are taking one section and enlarging the slabs, adding landscaping, and generally improving things. They are looking to make the park into a 3 tiered system and are doing a lot of improving. We will be returning in several years to see how they are doing. I did tell him about the discount clubs as Passport America and Camp Club America. Like most Florida campgrounds, they have a slow summer season. All In all, it was a very nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
We stayed as snowbird for last 5 years (and they were great ones) but this is our last year with the changes on the horizon. Our prior ability to reserve a given site is no longer: it's now fist come first serve, even if you have a reservation. Rates increase 33% on most sites and over 100% on motorhome only sites in the front section (going for a more prestigious clientele). Turnover of park managers the last two years has been discomforting for long time campers who appreciated the effort they put in to keep the park running efficiently. Sad to see such a great park mismanaged to the extent it appears to be going. Old rates were great incentive to ignore the remote location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
As previously reported this campground has 2 very different areas. The first has full 50 amp hookups, concrete pads and lots of trees. This area is occupied by return campers and there is a waiting list to get one of these sites. The second area has grass sites with 30 amp hookups and no sewer. The nice thing is the honey wagon comes twice a week and they empty your tanks. The sites are very large and some have a little shade. I did not see any bars on windows in town and did not feel that there were any safety issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
This RV park is about 45 min's west of Ft Lauderdale. Office staff was very friendly and organized, i was quickly checked in. Large sites with a clean table and BBQ at each one. Clubhouse and bathhouses had fresh paint. Direct TV in the Clubhouse with a big screen TV. Pool and ho ttub were great. Enjoyed walking and seeing wildlife-very quiet park. All weekly and monthly rates include electric! Close to Billie Swamp Safari. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Park is on Seminole Reservation in the middle of no where. It's a very quiet park and the rate was very good for what you got. It is a good stop over, but that is about it. Only issue was we were charged for full hook up and only got 30 amp electric and water. All the 50 amp, sewer sites are filled up with the snowbirds, which we understand. The Billie Safari was worth the trip. Would not want to spend the winter here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
Virtually all sites with pads require waiting list. Locked up by return renters. Facilities were older but clean. Fair number of activities. Grassy sites are not level. Muddy in rain and have no sewer hook-ups. Honey wagon comes twice weekly. 5 rating is because dog leash policy is not enforced at all! Dogs running loose all over the place in the grass site loops. My husband got bitten by a dog whose owner left the park for the day. Miles from amenities. High crime area (all buildings on the reservation have bars and metal mesh over windows and doors), and park has no gate or security. Would not go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
This park isn’t in Clewiston, but quite a bit South of there on the Seminole Indian reservation. It is a well run and maintained park with clean restrooms, nice pool, and hot tub. The road in is a little narrow, but we had no problems. The Billie Safari was very nice and we ended up spending most of the day there. They have air boat and swamp buggy tours as well as many, many native animals and Seminole cultural exhibits. The next day we went to the Seminole Indian museum which was just fabulous and very informative. The Seminoles have done a remarkable job of turning what was thought to be worthless land into a huge success for their tribe. They are very family oriented and stress cultural education for their children. We will certainly be back at this wonderful campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
This is a roomy, nicely kept park with a large population of snowbirds: winter residents whose extended stays get them site preference. Spaces are generous, if not especially private; a few are shaded, but most are sunny; 60 have full hookups and slabs, and another 50 have only water/electric, all or most being on grass. There is an onsite dump station. There are two bath houses, both kept clean and featuring hot showers with plentiful flow. Other amenities include a laundry, clubhouse with some exercise equipment and a small library. There are also a few small cabins for rent, handy for those who might want to meet up with non-RV friends. The park is run by the Seminole Indians and is on Indian land. In-park activities include a heated pool with an above-ground hot tub (not hot enough), small playground, an outdoor pool table under a chickee hut. There is a very large, open, mowed field adjacent to the park which could accommodate numerous activities. Around the perimeter is a "nature walk" which amounts to walking along the edge of the field, next to wooded areas. Offsite attractions are mostly available only if you have transportation: an airboat tour, Seminole motocross, a casino. The Ah-Ta-Thi-Ki museum is close enough to reach on foot or bicycle. As for biking, other than around the park itself, there is a road through woods which is about a mile long, the first part paved, the rest hard-packed crushed rock (but easy cycling), which leads to a wide canal. This can be hiked as well. Bird watchers note: there is a large population of killdeer, as well as numerous hawks, various herons, anhingas (?), egrets, ospreys, gnatcatchers and warblers. An airstrip is directly adjacent to the park; there was little activity during our stay, except for two visits in and out by a good-sized private jet. We consider that entertainment! Cell phones and air card showed plenty of bars. Anything other than convenience store food is a good distance away, if you plan to stay long. By good distance, I mean a minimum of 35 miles. This place is way out there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
A well maintained, very quiet campground. Antenna TV stations available. Dial up speed Verizon broadband access. There is limited shopping, buy what you need before you get there. Limited dining and entertainment. If you are looking for a quiet, top quality campground, this is it. The staff were great. Visit the Seminole Indian museum and take an air boat or swamp buggy ride. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This campground is literally in the middle of nowhere. The grounds were clean & in the summer, we were just about the only campers there. There was not much for the kids to do. They had mini golf which kept them occupied for most of the time. The pool was also nice. Tiny store & nothing else around to go to, so we had fun by making our own fun. The spots were nice and shaded and we were able to beat the heat by staying in the shaded spot & using the pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
Located on Big Cypress Seminole Indian Reservation, 20 miles north of I-75 from Exit 49, in the Everglades. Very clean, well kept, large sites, and very peaceful. Close to air boat rides and "swamp buggy tours". No sign out front, so call for directions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com