214670 User submitted reviews online!!
Cripple Creek / Colorado Springs W. KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (719) 799-6805
CGID4826

Cripple Creek / Colorado Springs W. KOA

Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   9   4   9   9   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
I like the park, the owner is very friendly and working hard to upgrade it. All utilities functioned well, although wi-fi could have been better. We camped here over 4th of July and it was packed, but things went well and it was very quiet at night. Sites are gravel,, fairly level, but somewhat close together. Showers and bathrooms were clean, the store has limited supplies. We would stay here again. The rate reflects KOA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
We camped here in beginning of July with the weather was very wet and cool. The campground sits on a hill with the sites terraced up the hill giving a wonderful view of the valley. The site was level and the hook ups were positioned for easy access. Power was strong but we did lose water pressure late in the evening the second night. By the morning, all was good and we were never truly affected by this. The grassy area with the fire pit and picnic table was on uneven ground but did not stop us from using and enjoying it. We had plenty of space in front of the camper to set up a canopy and cooking area on level ground. We found the staff helpful and friendly taking care of us quickly and efficiently upon our arrival, giving us a heads up about the tourist areas affected by the fires. Bathrooms were clean and nice with separate shower stalls. We would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
We thought this was a nice campground. Very clean. Nice grassy areas next to camp site with fire pits and picnic benches. Nice little dog walk with baggies for clean up. Nice views. A little close together but overall a nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Arrived in the latter part of September. Didn't seem to be much lighting throughout the campground at night so we had a bit of trouble finding our spot, but overall we really enjoyed the campground mainly for the beautiful location. We had some trouble leveling up, due to the slope of the site, but the hosts were gracious enough to bring some wood blocks to our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
The rating is a composite of the actual campground (6) and the "hospitality" of the host (2). The view is wonderful and the power is solid. Unfortunately, the water pressure is quite low and the sites are a bit unlevel. The campground is located on the side of a hill with the sites terraced. My main problem was with the host. Right after Labor Day they close between noon and 3:00 pm. I checked the website and did not see anything about this. We were only coming from Colorado Springs so we got here about 1:30 pm. I was lucky to have the host allow us to check in early but he was somewhat surly about it. When we got to our assigned site we realized it was only 30 amps when I thought I had asked for 50 amps. We went back to the office (in the rain) and were able to catch the host just as he was taking off in his truck. My husband told him that he thought I had reserved a 50 amp site. The guy just went off. He said we accused him of making a mistake. Actually, I told him it was probably my fault, but we would really like a 50 amp site (the campground was nearly empty). Instead of being gracious about it, he grumped and growled the whole time he changed the campsite while I kept apologizing for making the mistake. By the time he was done, we really felt unwelcome. This situation could have been handled so much better with just a cheerful, "Let's fix that for you." This host really needs some classes in customer service! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Was impressed with the sites in this KOA, as nearly all of them were 40+ feet wide - didn't feel like we were crowded at all! Lots of grass in front of each site as well, very unusual for something this far west; no shade trees, but that is typical in this area. Campground was well laid out. While they didn't have any specific family activities going on this late in the season, the surrounding Cripple Creek area has lots to offer and we really enjoyed the stay. Bathrooms/Showers/Laundry room were all very clean; appreciated the showers as they are all uni-sex singles, so never had to wait. We definitely plan to stay here again. Only downside was the entrance gravel road was getting a bit rough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
We didn't see the office staff at all here. We booked and paid online before arrival. We pulled in about 7:00pm and the office was closed and didn't re-open till 10:00am in the morning! However the campground was lovely! The toilets and showers were clean and very nice. In fact all the facilities were in good, well cared for condition. It was a full moon while we were there and we were treated to some wolf song coming from the forest behind the campground. This was a lovely place to stay if a little of the beaten track. I would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Very difficult to score this park fairly. The positives. The location & views are spectacular & it's worth the drive up the mountain to stay in such a beautiful place. It's very convenient for Cripple Creek. On arrival the receptionist was friendly & efficient, allocated us a site - but gave us some alternative sites if we weren't happy with the one we'd been given, which was nice. All the sites are pull throughs, easy enough to access & quite spacious, all with terrific views. The Wi-Fi works fine. The negatives. All the sites are VERY uneven. We found it impossible to level the fifth wheel, & had to be very careful walking on the site that we didn't twist an ankle or worse on the bumpy ground. The surface is a mixture of bumpy, weedy gravel or unmown grass. No cable & we only got 1 TV channel. We also thought it a bit pricey. However, somehow, when you look out at the mountains - none of this matters. So how do you score? Views a definite 10, but site condition really only deserves a 5. This site has the potential to be fabulous. I understand the owners have only been there a year or so, have already added 2 fantastic 'lodges' & will no doubt improve the sites as time & money allow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Customer service is a funny thing. It is often the little things that are really annoying. When we checked in, they had trouble finding a 50 amp site to put us in because someone had come in late the night before and and took the wrong site. While the owner was trying to sort out the computer system, a man, who was part of the staff (a work kamper?) asked why we thought we needed a 50 amp site, anyway. My answer: because that is what we reserved. It wasn't a big deal, but not the way to greet your customer on arrival. The owners turned out to be very nice and very accommodating people. Once the computer cooperated, they found us a site and everything was fine. There is no shade here, but that isn't a problem with the cool weather at this altitude. The Wi-Fi works great and the laundry is spotless with all machines working. They put a lot of effort into maintaining this campground and it shows. This is by far the best choice in the area and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
All sites are pull through with full hookups, relatively level, showers and laundry are very clean and well kept. It is a quick ride to Cripple Creek the gold mines and close to Pike's Peak region. There is a nice hot tub and a small playground for the kids. We did miss a pool at this KOA. We did enjoy our stay at the Mile High KOA! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
Sites were overgrown with weeds. They are only mowed when someone comes in to camp. WIFI did not reach the trailers. Even in the office, the WIFI had only 1 or 2 bars of signal strength. Sites were very close together and not very level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
This beautiful park is the highest-altitude KOA in the world at 10,000+ feet. Skies are crystal clear for stargazing and campfires fill the crisp night air. Bring your telescopes. Since the park has stair-stepped sites, your neighbor is below you and you can see forever. Nice on-site store with essentials and a few RV supplies. Hot tub for working out the aches from climbing Trachyte Knob, a 3500 foot peak, directly behind the park on BLM land. This is a must-visit park for trailers, tents, cabins or 40+' foot motorhomes (We camped here in a 40' motorhome). Lots of room for hiking, climbing or just watching eagles soar overhead. No pool. Five easy miles to Cripple Creek with 19 very loose casinos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com