206486 User submitted reviews online!!
White Sands Community RV & Manufactured Home Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (575) 437-8388
CGID4831

White Sands Community RV & Manufactured Home Park

Camp Information
Sites
290
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   8   7   5   7   5   5   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
This Good Sam RV park and mobile home community is not as upscale as the advertising might suggest, although it may be the best choice in Alamogordo at present. The park, centrally located in Alamogordo, has paved level spaces and asphalt roads & aprons, picnic tables in sheltered alcoves of decorative block, and nearly all the sites have nice shade trees. It is relatively quiet, except for various small dogs, and occasional trains (the train situation would be the same for any RV park along the main thoroughfare, since the tracks run parallel to the road through the area). Cell phone works fine and I think I used the Wi-Fi once, successfully. The hostess was friendly, as was the rest of the staff. There is a swimming pool with grassy area, and a large clubhouse area with a big-screen TV and a paperback book library. Now for the down sides. Our space had hordes of micro-ants, which tried every access point to infest our trailer…we had to buy some pesticide and spray frequently (we were told that the ants are only a problem after rains). There is one mens restroom and one women's restroom for eighty spaces and the pool; neither restroom is new, although they are kept clean. The mens restroom has one urinal, one toilet, one sink, and one rather small shower, which is located so that anyone using the other facilities has to walk back and forth through the area in front of the shower, where you left your clothes and towel when you got into the shower. At night, you need to use a key to open a locked gate at the swimming pool, and then use the key again to get into the restroom. Worse, there is a way for the cleaning staff to lock the restrooms from the inside; some guests have discovered this, and lock out everyone else who needs the facility while they are in there. Three times during our stay there were waiting lines at the restrooms. I wish I could give this park a better review; it just needs some money spent on improvements. We stayed five days in an Aliner popup. We paid about $29 per night with a Good Sam card. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
This RV park is part of a large manufactured home community in central Alamogordo, but the RV park is in a section by itself, not intermingled with permanent houses. Access is good, and the office staff is friendly and efficient. The 50 amp sites are in a newer part of the park with much fewer trees and landscaping than the 30 amp section. Wi-fi is available only at the central office. The back-in spaces are adequate width and length, but the power pedestals are at the rear of the spaces. A picnic table is included. There were many cable TV channels available. They had no problem with us having three dogs, and they have a double pet enclosure as well as access to a large public area along a drainage canal. (Looks better than it sounds.) It was generally pretty quiet day and night. Longer-term residents were mostly gathered at one end of the park. This is a good place to stay while seeing local attractions such as White Sands National Monument, Oliver Lee State Park, the Space History Museum, and the solar observatory near Cloudcroft. The price shown is the daily rate including tax. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
We diverted to this park after not being able to get a site at the nearby State Park. This is a community of snow birders, permanent residents, and includes avenues of mobile homes. It all seems to work really well. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a number of computers in the lounge area and unfortunately this is the only place that wi-fi is available. There is cable TV available, and if you don't have a cable they are available from the office for a $25 refundable deposit. Sites are large (gravel), all have a picnic table - only draw back is the positioning of the hook ups. They are right down the back of the site , so you either need to make sure you back right up or have an extended sewer and water hose. Residents and snow birders are very welcoming, Walmart is a block away, and there are 2 hairdressing salons on site. The laundry is the biggest I have ever seen, very reasonably priced as well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
The park was well laid-out and convenient - could walk to WalMart for supplies. The showers were clean and modern, but the key system to get in was very cumbersome; had to unlock the swimming pool gate and then the shower room door. Even needed the key to unlock the gate to get out. The worst problem was the Wi-Fi which was advertized as available but actually only if paid and with an unreliable provider. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
90% of this park are full time mobile homes. The good part of this park is it is right next to a Wal-Mart and other places in town. The pool was closed and you had to pay big time for Wi-Fi (that is so last decade for a private park). The sites are close together but there is a privacy wall between them. Sewer hook-up was so far away I had to back up in the morning before I could dump. Would have stayed at the State Park but it was closed due to the fires. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
The 50 amp service side of this park had no pavement, no trees, and was very narrow. The 30 amp side had all. Was ok for one night but it really had nothing to offer other than services. Would try another spot next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
I gave this campground a 5 because of the problem we had with using Passport America. They are listed as an active RV park and the rate should have been $15. The desk attendant said they did not accept PA. After checking in, called PA. Told they should have charged $15, not $28. Would not change rate. Talked to PA again and received a return call the next day that they had been pulled from PA. No management available on site or at corporate office in CA. PA could not reach anyone either. I consider this fraud and do no approve of a business doing this. Park was clean, sites were narrow, utilities OK. This is a very large mobile home park with a community room and a pool. Just do not expect to use Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
No pull through sites with 50 amp. The available-back in's were hard to get in due lack of room. Connections were at the back of site so we needed long connections. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
We stayed here for a month and am not sure what the nightly rate is. We took a monthly rate of 220 plus metered electric. Had what we needed and the price was hard to beat. Major downside was the Wi-Fi which was available to purchase through a company a rv park wifi provider. We had a terrible experience getting a decent signal, getting thrown out and needing to reconnect etc. The park staff were very apologetic, but didn't control how the company poorly dealt with it. We are still in dispute with our credit card company over paying the Wi-Fi company. But again, I don't attribute this to the park or their staff. This park is a number of RV sites in the rear of a trailer park, a lot of the RV's stay for multiple months. With that being said, every one was very friendly and not the clique, uncomfortable situation you sometimes feel in the snowbird parks in Arizona. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
We chose a back in site as we have three slides and the pull throughs are really small for a 40ft Fifth wheel. The young lady that was working the office was very helpful and assisted us with finding a good site. We were in the back, 700 section and wasn't really bothered by trains, or the traffic. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
This park is split into two sections. One is for mobile homes and the other is for RVs. The smaller RVs have some shade trees. The large spaces with 50 amp, water, sewer and cable are wide open with level, gravel sites. We like the no-trees aspects. Although it is hotter, it allows us to use our TV & Internet Satellite system. The roads are wide and easy to navigate in a big rig. I believe all of the big rig sites are back-ins. That is okay with us. Although we did not use any of the amenities (pool, exercise room, lounge area, laundry, etc.) they seemed well maintained and clean. We would stay here again if we were in this area of the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
Very friendly staff. Very nice pool that stayed open until almost dark. Good park for one night stay if you don't mind camping in a concrete parking lot. The restroom only had one toilet and one shower. I had to wait in line to bathe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
Not pretty but functional. Has 3 fenced doggie areas, only 1 shower for each men & women but very clean-strange set up though, paved, level sites, picnic tables, in town within walking distance of SuperWalMart and a variety of fast food places, all services at rear of site, some sites tight with 3 slides but we fit, good southern view for satellite. This is mostly a modular home park but has quite a few RV sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com