206532 User submitted reviews online!!
Carolina Beach State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (910) 458-8206
CGID4843

Carolina Beach State Park

Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   9   6   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
Great wooded level sites without hook-ups. Miles of hiking trails through the park and along the Cape Fear River and Snow's Cut on the inter-coastal waterway. Limited snack items at the marina store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$15
This park has nothing but a dump station and hot showers. The showers are pretty good with lots of warm to hot water. The roads are paved, the sites are gravel, and are pretty level depending on where you park. We had the place pretty much to ourselves in November. However like all NC parks, no alcohol is allowed and in November they lock the gates from 6pm till 8am. So if you're camping here, you must be back by six and if you're planning to stay, you have to get here before six. These hours change during the summer, spring, and fall. Check the (web) site for details. Verizon MiFI works fine here. Our rate reflects the senior rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
Very nice campground with campsites in a wooded area which would be much appreciated during the hot summer. Acceptable shower facilities. Great proximity to Carolina Beach/Kure Beach attractions and not very far south of Wilmington. We especially liked the Fort Fisher SRA and NC Aquarium. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Carolina Beach State Part is definitely organized for tents, pop-ups, and smaller RVs. Most sites are back-in with a few pull through. The bath houses were clean and accessible from most sites. The sites on the second loop provide more space and have more foliage between them for privacy. There were some noisy groups while we stayed there, but the rangers were prompt in confronting the offenders. Hiking trails around the park are clearly marked and well maintained. For 2009, the marina is closed for repair. My only complaint is that much of the forest areas underwent a controlled burn in the fall and this was not announced on the website. Otherwise, it was a wonderful campground to stay in. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
This campground is better suited to tent campers than self-contained campers. The majority of sites are back-in with a minority of pull-through, and those were generally very small. Many of the sites are not level enough for a motorhome. Our motorhome is 30 feet and we got one of the few pull-through sites large enough for us (but did have to enter it backwards for the door to face the correct direction. I do not recommend anything larger than a 30 foot home at this park. This time of year there are very few people present, although on a Saturday with excellent weather the place was suddenly full for one night. The bathrooms were not ship-shape and the showers lacked any privacy whatsoever. The gate is locked from 8:00 pm to 8:00 am and can only be opened in emergencies by contacting a ranger. In spite of the limitations, this is a good campground from which to explore the Wilmington area, and for those over 62 (regardless of residency), the nightly price is only $10. Otherwise it's $15. The NC state parks are going to a reservation system starting in July. We will stay here again when we visit this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$14
All sites laid out in forest. Well dispersed, offering good privacy and shade. Beaches and Wilmington 15-30 minutes drive. Excellent well-run site, if you do not demand hook-ups We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2006
$15
No hook-ups, many sites not very level but were decently sized; best suited for tent campers and small RV's (we have a 30 ft class A). This campground was in some disarray while we were there, probably in preparation for the summer season. Messy, unkept sites, large piles of dirt and gravel all over the place, only a handful of sites open for use. No reservations, gates hard locked at 7 pm this time of year. The bathrooms were serviceable but the showers were completely open, no privacy whatever. One dump station was open, both were easy to access. The Sugarloaf Dune trail and the Fly Trap trail were nice walks. Not a great campground but not bad and overall it worked well as a basecamp for visiting Wilmington. The Battleship North Carolina was fantastic, Fort Fisher interesting and the Fort Fisher/Southport ferry was fun. The old Brunswick Town/Fort Anderson area was also an interesting stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com