214818 User submitted reviews online!!
Charlestown Breachway was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (401) 364-7000
CGID4857

Charlestown Breachway

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   7   10   7   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This is an open area parking. Since it was off season only a few campers were here so it was pretty quiet. Extensive beach for walking, fishing, and small boating could be seen. We had cold evenings, nice sunsets and sunrises. There are no amenities so it's dry camping. Good restaurants nearby. We stayed 3 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
This is a State of Rhode Island park that is walking distance to the ocean. It is a parking lot that holds 75 RV's, and you must be self contained to stay here - no hookups. They do have about 7 bathrooms (fancy pits?), but they were not open when we were there, only opening up Memorial Weekend until Labor Day or the end of the season. There are about 10 sites right on the Breachway where one can fish off of rocks, and every site has a view of the Breachway or the pond. $14 is in state fee, the out of state fee is $20. There is no dump station here, but you can use the one at Burlingame State Park about 15 minutes away. This campground can be used as a base to tour all the seaside communities in this section of RI with some great seafood restaurants. What this campground has is a beautiful beach two minutes away from your site and a great fishing area and boating area. One can also kayak or canoe the pond. The weather was great when we were there, so the sunsets and sunrises were spectacular! Good spot to watch birds and deer across the pond. The only negative is that we do not tow a car behind our RV and others that do many times park their cars behind your RV so that you can't get out. If their RV or 5th wheel does not fit into their sites including their cars there is parking in the general public parking lot for them, but who wants to pay extra. It was not crowded in early May when we went so it was very enjoyable. If you did not know that this campground was there as you take the road to Charlestown Beach you might think you had taken the wrong road, but you continue between the beach and the public parking lot past a lot of summer houses and the road ends at the Breachway. Great place for a stopover or to spend a week at the beach. They do take reservations online through Reserve America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Although we rated the park at a 7 due to a lack of amenities, we give it a fun factor of 10. If you've never been, "GPS" yourself to Charlestown Beach Road, and then follow it to the very end. We knew the sites would be tight, but we were surprised at how difficult it was to get into the site. The key to this park is to arrive early so you have more room to maneuver. The sites are also not clearly marked. When we arrived, our neighbor took the liberty of moving a couple of feet over into our campsite. When we arrived, he wanted us to move over even more since we were on the end (#40). By the time all was said and done, there was 5 feet from our doorstep to his class C. This park would do well to remove 6-8 campsites, spread them out a bit more, and clearly mark them. The other thing that makes parking tight is that you have to park your tow vehicle in front of your site, or use the parking lot on the western side of the campground, which fills up fast. We witnessed a Class A take off part of his bumper trying to get into his site around a parked truck. When they say "self contained", they mean it! There is not even a hose for a water fill-up. Water can be filled and you can dump at Burlingame State Park, which is 7 miles away. The people were very friendly and the scenery was spectacular. We swam, fished, rode bikes, went crabbing in the tide pools, and could see the fireworks at the nearby seafood festival. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
The Breachway is just a large parking lot with an ocean view. The sites are so small that if you don't know the campers next to you you will by the end of your stay. The issue was that the people at my TT door were in a motorhome and they pulled in. So my door and mat were right at their door and mat. So using the awning was out. When I asked the guy at the gate about the rules about backing in or pulling in all he said was you'll have to live with it. So we did. Lucky they left at 2 days into our stay. The beach is 2 minutes walk and the bay is great for kayaking. Though due to the fact that it is a public boat area you need to lock everything up. Truck, kayak, and gear. As I said it was nice with a group and I did book it for July 2010. They did put in new eco toilets which they lock up at night. Guess they aren't for the campers. Wish they had showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
If you like the water, you just can't beat this place. There are zero hookups but our Verizon cells and broadband worked extremely well. The restrooms are all new. No showers or anything else. It is still location, location, location here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
If you dry camp it is a good place to be on the beach. The sites are crazy tight though. It took me some great effort to park and I have been doing this for a while now. The place is awesome, but the state should invest in new bathrooms. There was a sign that said "Not for Human Consumption" in the bathroom. They could also provide showers and drinking water. You have to travel to Burlingame State Park for Water & Showers...both very nice there. I would go back just because of the fishing & calming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
First let me tell you it's a DRY CAMPGROUND. Only self contained units, no popups. Almost like camping in a parking lot. We camped in our 30 foot travel trailer we a group of about 7 or 8 other campers. Sites are very small, not made for todays' large rigs. Many in the group had issues backing in the sites. The ocean is right there and the breachway was sweet. Great for kayaking and we even went claming. This was the 1st year the park went through Reserve America which was easy, but you have to reserve 12 months ahead of time. We already booked for next year (July 09). The rest rooms are just toilets and was in need a a good cleaning. NO alcohol at all. They booted a group from one site. Seems a little to stricked, but it's the rules. The area was policed by the RI DEP. All in all. It was a nice 4 days. Wish they would make the sites larger. That would reduce the number of sites, but it is needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Basically this is parking lot for RV's on the water. Great view with swimming, fishing kayaking, boating, and digging for clams. Dry camping of course, but not that bad. No showers make it difficult to clean up after being at the beach, however, you can drive to another State park to shower. All in all, pretty cool place to check out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Location, location, location. This place is right on the ocean and breachway. Self contained units only, so it is a great place to put your RV to its full use. We also spent 10 nights here in May. 7 nights is the limit, but managers discretion for additional nights and that was pre season. RI is going to a reservation system so next year it will be tough to get a site on weekends. Now you just showup during the week and your in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Great location- view of channel, but not the ocean due to sand dune and public parking lot. Tightly packed campground. Do not try to get a space here on a Friday or Saturday. Locals said best time to arrive is on a Wednesday. We camped in a 40' Bluebird and had to ask a few patrons to move their vehicles so that we could squeeze in. No reservations are available here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
I really donít want anyone to know about this campground because you can usually drive up and get a site, but it is a gem with no services. This is a state campground for RVís only in a parking lot next to a beach looking out on the Atlantic Ocean, and an inlet where one can canoe. Some sites lookout on to the breachway where one can watch the fishermen and the other sites are in rows in the back. You can ride your bike around this area and there are also restaurants close by for seafood. There are only 75 sites here with a bathroom but no showers. It is on the beach and looking out to Block Island Sound. It is beautiful and peaceful. There are no reservations just first come first serve and the maximum stay is one week. The season runs from April 15 to Oct 31 and rates are with no services $14 for residents and $20 for non-residents with extra charges for additional cars. This campground is south of route 1 in southern RI in the town of Charlestown. For those with tents or if you want more services there is another RI State Park that offers camping and swimming -Burlington State Park just north of route1 in the same area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com