218606 User submitted reviews online!!
R&D Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (804) 633-9515
CGID4863

R&D Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   8   7   8   6   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$19
This is definitely a campground. The owners are definitely wanting to keep it that way and work very hard to keep it neat and clean. Lots of trees. Entrance to the park from the main highway is sharp and downhill. Lots of workers staying in the park, but don't bother the individuals staying over night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$15
Rate reflects monthly at $450. Electric is billed separately at .17 per kilowatt hour at the end of each month. External 100 pound propane tank can be made available and maintained during colder weather. The park is a ways from I-95 but very convenient to Route 301 and Fredericksburg. Overall, very well maintained. The owners go out of their way to be helpful. Do not expect a resort. Many year round renters in smaller trailers around the perimeter, but all are well kept and a friendly atmosphere. Several nice, large, level, pull-through sites for short term and overnight stays. Campground is small and heavily treed, but very accessible with a big rig. No cable, but they do provide satellite TV hookups if desired. We had a sunny spot where we could use our own. There is a nice walking trail that is also meticulously maintained. Very dog friendly park. The addition of an off leash area would really compliment the park. We stayed here 3 months and will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
The listed rate reflects a monthly rate of 450.00. The good things about this park first. The park grounds are well kept up. The park is set in a wooded area and is very quiet and pleasant here. Interior roads and spots are gravel, but enough gravel that dust is low. There are many year round campers here, and all seemed very friendly. Management is friendly and helpful. The camp store has a small but has a decent selection of food and non-food items. The bad comments are few for this park. Management won't allow washing of RVs. They have a low voltage problem in the park, but not as bad as some of the parks up in the Northeast. We had to pay attention to the voltage level in the RV during peak use. We had to run our hot water heater on propane. Also, many of the year round campers mentioned above live in cheap RVs provided by management. These RVs are older and dirty. These RVs take away from the overall beauty of the park. We would stay at the park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
This is a nice park that is off of the beaten path. This was our second stay here and it was a lot different from our first stay. The first time, there was snow on the ground and the hill leading up to the office required my tire chains. This trip, it was no problem at all. The site we had was level and our roof mounted satellite dish worked fine. There are a lot of trees so be sure to ask if you need a site for your satellite. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
A little off the I-95 corridor but real quiet and a Passport America campground. The roads and sites are compacted gravel/dirt with easy radius turns. We had pull-through site 25. It was slightly pitch down but not too bad. Lots of tall pines with cleared ground around them to walk the dog. If I had too guess, this campground looks several years old. We got 5 digital air channels for TV. Most pleasant surprise was the bathrooms - very clean and squared away. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
The owners are very nice and helpful. We chose this campground at the last minute and called ahead at almost 7 PM. Even though we arrived late, they stayed to help us get to the correct site. We had a nice, long pull-through site. It was out of level a bit, but nothing major. It was just a 2 night stopover, so we didn't use the restrooms or showers. The office, store and grounds were clean. The sandbox does need some attention, but we don't have kids, so it didn't matter to us. Lots of room to walk our dog and off the main highway, so there's minimal noise. Lots of shade. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We chose this campground because it was central to where we needed to be. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My kids loved the bunnies they had there. The site was very level, but our site (#19) backed up to the fence and on the other side was someone's house. However, that site did have a lot of grass area for my kids to run around. A lot of residential trailers. Pool is out of ground. Playground is falling apart. Sandbox was disgusting. Game room in a gazebo outside with a big screen TV and video games. We would not stay here again. It was a little rundown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
This park is a little off the beaten path. This is our second time here for a stop over from NJ to FL. There are several long term residence that seem friendly. It rained the last time we were here and it rained this time so the Wi-Fi was out of the question. The roads and sites are dirt but level. The rate we paid was a Passport rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
Staff was friendly and helpful. Rate reflects Camp Club USA discount. Restrooms and showers were clean and well maintained. Grounds were nicely kept, as was the above ground pool and its surrounding landscape. My overall impression of this park is the owner takes a great deal of pride in appearance and upkeep. Even the trash dumpster was sparkling clean and neat! Our site (23) was wide with a nice, gravel pad, but we did have an issue leveling the rig. The site was not level and jacks were not enough (building up with leveling blocks under the wheels would have worked, but we were only here one night and did not bother, so we lived off-kilter). We did not use or ask about Wi-Fi because internet information advised it was only in a central location. We would definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Up-and-coming campground. It appears a lot of improvements are being made. The campground is clean and tidy with wide, pull-through sites. Staff is friendly with quick check-in and escort to the site. Camp store is mediocre with little on the shelves. The above-ground pool was clean and looking inviting. Crated dogs in neighboring sites barked constantly but otherwise there was little noise. The campground is located about 30 miles off I-95. Because of the distance from the highway, we probably won't stay here again. Rate shown is a Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We spent one night here on our way through and had requested a pull-through site when we made our reservation 2 months previous to our arrival. Although they had our reservation noted, when we pulled in at the office, the owner wasn't sure if he had a site available for us as the sites had been given to Campground America members who had arrived without reservations. We were finally given the last pull-thru site, which at their own admission, was not one they usually had anyone use because it was VERY un-level. Although the owners were friendly and tried to be helpful we were not pleased with the arrangements, but didn't have much choice so made do with the one night stay, after leveling the best that we could. We would not recommend this campground because it appears that they are very disorganized and need a better reservation system. It appears that this was a long-term park that is in the process of being turned into a campground, but, at present, it is not particularly appealing though it has some potential to be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
Our check-in was fast and easy. The office staff member was very friendly. The roads and sites are gravel and the roads a bit narrow in places. We did not pay for a cable box for one night. Our antenna gave us several channels. Wi-Fi was available but when I called for the password, I was told it probably would not work in the storm. (It didn't) It rained for some time so I ended up using my AT&T air card. Our $21.49 was the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
This park is laid out on a circular ridge line in a pine forest. Most sites appeared to be level, while some had a noticeable incline. Lots of trees, some very close to the camping sites and road through the park, requiring careful driving in and out of sites. Cable TV is via DirecTV, with a central dish routed through a multiplexer and cables to each site. A limited number of DirecTV receivers are available. WiFi was very weak on the site we had, which was the most distant one from the CG office. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
To say CATV is available is a bit misleading as you would need to call the local cable operator and have them come and set it. The owners are nice and very helpful. The roads and sites are gravel and roads a bit rough. Most of the campers appeared to be seasonal campers. Our site was level and we were given a site where we could get a satellite signal. Its a bit tight getting around in a big rig, but passable. It would be hard to give it a 9 or 10, or even an 8 compared to CGs with slabs and paved roads and landscaping. But it works and is comfortable and we'll return. Our rate was the PassPort America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
A very nice park in the woods, and the staff was the best. They will do whatever it takes to make you happy. We stayed at site 3 as site 15 was full, and it was right next to the pool. The pool was spotless and refreshing. We had poor Nextel and Sprint cell coverage, but AT&T and Verizon Wireless worked well. Verizon Wireless air card worked the best here, but our Sprint air card worked also. Lots of trees but the staff knows where to put you to get satellite TV and from site 3 we had satellite TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is our second stay here. In the past 10 months since we have been here, the owners of the park have made many improvement and are in the process of putting sewer hook-ups in all the sites. They pump septic tanks with a portable unit every couple days, or as needed. The owners are extremely nice and accommodating. They will do anything they can to make your stay memorable. We were here for an extended stay of 3 weeks and couldn't have had a better experience. The campground is small, but sites are not crowded together. We will put this on our list of campgrounds to return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Very nice campground, with shaded sites. We looked on the campsite map on the internet and picked site 15 as it looked like the biggest and easy pull through. Owners went out of their way to make this site available to us and moved a trailor off it. I think there a several permanent trailors here and some rentals. Lot 15 is the best site, we were facing the woods and had our backs to the rest of the camp sites, so it was very private and relaxing. Showers were clean, but not very private. The shower curtains had a clear plastic window in them and there was a common dressing area. The staff came around about every other day to empty our black and grey tanks, which we found to be a nice service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Small campground, but that's what made it special. If you need anything at all, the owners will make sure you have it. This is probably our 4th time at R&D, we look forward to returning soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
$30 is full rate, paid $15.75 Passport America taken on weekdays. The 9's and 10's are high, but the owners do get a 10 and the place is a 10 for value during the week. It is a bit off the beaten track, 4.3 miles off of US-301 which is fine. But from I-95 it is a bit of a distance. Not much around at all, but a very nice place for some R and R. We would come back again when traveling US-301. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We arrived after hours and the owners went out of their way to help us get into our site and get us level. The owners and employees are very conscientious, helpful, and polite. They brought us everything we needed to our site and always asked if there was anything else they could do for us. They are constantly upgrading this campground and improving on it. We would recommend this campground to anyone who wants a nice quite place to stay. The owners are the best! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Super nice owners are constantly working on expanding/upgrading this campground. Very quiet and relaxing place. We will return!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$30
We stayed here twice within a month (1 night each way in December, 2007 and January 2008) and were very happy with the sites and the quiet. When we stayed the first time, the young man who showed us to our site was very helpful and offered to get us levelling blocks as we had some difficulty getting level in this site. When we came back in January the owner, Ron, showed us to a similar, spacious site that was absolutely level with no adjustments. Easy to find and quiet with the shade trees and site separation that we like. Very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
Stayed here a few days while passing through. Small campground which is still a 'work in progress', around 20 RV sites, with 28 planned. The owners are very personable and eager to be helpful. Most sites have no sewage hookup, but they pump out all units three times per week. They are 'on call' 24/7 for emergencies such as out of propane. We came here for the Escapees 15% discount, and will most likely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
Came down here to check it out. In the past we have stayed at Hidden Acres. This year our group will stay at R&D after our stay here. Nothing really special unless you like peace and quiet. Roads and sites are gravel. 90% of them are pull thru and some will accommodate 120' trailers with one vehicle. Very clean, owners really nice and helpful. Hey KOA check this out. The only added charge is tax. No extra charges for water, sewer, electric. Really enjoyable! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
Small campground with several long term residents. Not too much to do in the general area unless you want to drive 30 minutes. Gravel roads and sites. Had to bring a table from 3 sites away because the other 2 and ours had broken seats. Fire ring was at the site. There is no sewer hookup but they will come and pump your tank out for you. Owner was very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$32
We saw a billboard for this campground close to King's Dominion Theme Park in Virginia (about a 15 minute ride). Last weekend, we took the motorhome out to "check" things out for the season. We stopped there overnight, and were very happy with the campground. The new owners (since the fall of 2005) were great. They are in the finishing stages of building a new office/store/lounge. We are planning on staying there later in the year to check out the improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com