221563 User submitted reviews online!!
Crazy Horse RV Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (435) 644-2782
CGID4873

Crazy Horse RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   3   7   8   6   5   1   2   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
This is an OK park. There was a staff of one when we checked in. He was maintenance, office, and anything else. He should be teaching customer service to campground owners. It is a dusty place (it is SW Utah) but there is some shade. The Wi-Fi worked well for us, as did the full hookup utilities. The restrooms/showers are dated and inadequate for the size of the park. They were clean. The web site says propane but they no longer have it. The nearby Sinclair station does. Not a fault of the park, except they fail to mention it in their rules, but other campers walk through your campsite on a regular basis. Add to this unsupervised children, noise, and even fireworks. It is a good base camp for the national parks and other attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
The place is right beside a cemetery and right in town, but the beautiful scenery and the park make up for it. There is a playground and a clean pool. I would love locks that lock on the women's showers, but a great place to stay in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
There is grass,but not a level site in the park. Wifi worked good. There are a lot of long term with junk piled around campers. Dog poop not picked up. very convenient to town and day trips to natl parks. Restrooms were run down, and only cold water at laundry with 2 washers 2 dryers. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Great location right in town. Can walk to grocery and restaurants. We had a site in the back with great red rock scenery. Pull thrus available, showers were not the most pretty, but clean. Disappointed the pool was not open for memorial day weekend when it was 90 degrees. Wifi worked pretty good. Also we never saw a "Crazy Horse" on site. If you are trying for the Wave hike lottery, the BLM office is nearby. We stayed for over a week, and applied every day until we won. If you don't win, there are plenty of national parks and scenery to enjoy. They do take credit cards, and the management was helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$12
We camped here long term for thirteen months and loved the park. The scenery is something out of a Zane Grey book. All utilities worked fine except for the WiFi and that got taken care of when the owners were finally notified of the problem. The old managers were a bit of a problem but that has also been rectified. It is close to all stores and a beautiful walk from the park. The swimming pool needs work and I am sure that issue will be addressed. We absolutely loved this place and would still be there but we moved into a home in another town close by. I would recommend this park to anyone. The reason for the rating I gave is due to the roads being bumpy and rough, but the long term rates kept me from grumbling about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$29
Don't let the bad reviews scare you away. We were here for five nights in November and found the park to be satisfactory. The 50 amp service worked, the water worked, and the sewer dump worked. Pull through sites were level. No cable TV, but over the air stations were available. We used our own shower and bathroom, so cannot comment on the park's facilities. We would stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This park is somewhat rundown and shabby, but the managers were helpful, courteous and friendly. Kanab is convenient to many local area attractions and Crazy Horse is not a bad place to stay. It is more spacious and/or less expensive than the other parks in town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
The park is poorly maintained. It is old and shabby. The bathrooms and laundry are filthy dirty and moldy. The water pressure was very poor due to broken water pipes. There are few 50amp electric plugs. The grass is overtaken by weeds with goat head thorns. The managers are unfriendly. I was quoted one price when making a reservation and told a different price when checking in. Spaces are not level. There are dead trees with over-hanging dead branches. Lots of dead bugs in bathrooms. No benches in showers for a person to put their stuff on. Do not recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$12
Park very shabby and not well kept up. Have to anchor your sewer hoses into the drain pipes with big rocks. Water often got shut off due to pipes breaking and not fixed properly. Most sites not level in the least. Wi-Fi very sketchy. Front sites only were mowed, not the back. Management is very rude. However, I did feel the park was safe. Pool was not cleaned very often so was kind of cruddy. Laundry facilities were next to nonexistent. If you can get past all that, Kanab is a great little town and there are LOTS of sights to see from this central location such as Zion, Gr. Canyon, Bryce Canyon and many more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Easy to find. Staff is very friendly. Lots of full-time people here working construction. Place needs lots of TLC. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
This is an older RV park, which is fine. However, it is also run-down, unkempt, and noisy. The office is very old and disorganized and that should have given us a clue. The manager (owner) rides around in a gas-powered ATV (most parks we've been at used electric carts.) So, every time he goes by you have that noise , and, he's not adverse to giving it some gas and spinning the wheels in the gravel. Did not find them friendly or happy to have our business. Swimming pool is full of green water - although it's not open yet, it should either be fully drained or full of clean water. I would try something else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Managers are very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was fast and many TV stations available with simple antenna. That being said, all areas are in need of a deep clean. Potential for a nice park is here, just not yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$12
This is a beautiful park, and it is run by two of the most helpful people I have ever met. We came for a short visit and after meeting managers and a few of the long term residents, we decided to stay on all winter and maybe longer, because of the long term rates. The managers went beyond the call of normal duty, and out of their way to be helpful in helping us get set up with all the amenities, both on site and off. They are always extremely friendly regardless of the time or weather. We have had no problems with the WiFi, water, sewer, or the electric. The showers work very good with no loss of hot water even on a long shower. The roads are gravel but very well maintained. The surrounding scenery is breath taking, beautiful. This is an older park and a little money reinvested in maintenance would insure the longevity of such a beautiful place. It is a quiet and safe park, with easy access to all local business and has my highest recommendation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
New managers are friendly and have made some improvements. Site number markers are clearly designated. Both doors to women's restroom now in use. Previously one was nailed shut. No soap provided in restroom. Could use some paint, too. Pamphlet with park information has completely outdated and useless list of TV stations. Our site was not level at all. We didn't have enough blocks to get to even close to level. Front end was obviously downhill. Playground is rather sad and includes a broken swing. Some things would be very easy to fix and would create a more positive image. I like this park because if its not full, there is plenty of space between units. The driveways in and out need to be smoothed out. We stayed for four nights and will return. I would recommend not paying for more than two days at a time because your receipt will be stamped "No Refunds". I don't use Wi-Fi for security reasons, so don't know how good it was. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Largest sites in town. Office, laundry and restrooms/showers were very old and run down. New management in place so hopefully those things will get updated. Pool looked kind of gross but may have just been closed for the season. Very quiet at night. Did not use park Wi-Fi; but our Verizon and Millenicom service worked okay. We had a new electrical pedestal but still experienced brief power outages a couple of times. If sites at the animal sanctuary were available we would stay there. Otherwise we would stay here again over the other parks in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Nice and clean older park with level sites. New friendly management was very helpful. Shower works well in an older building. Not many permanents but easily identified by older units. Wi-Fi recently upgraded and works well. No dog run. No recycling. We would stay here again should we come back this way. The area is awesome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
The site was shaded, plenty long, and wide though 50 amp was not available and I had a difficult time getting level. Stayed 3 nights. The Wi-Fi did not work the first two days that I was there. They did have someone working on it on day 2 and it did work fine on Day 3 though I did think they should have at least taken 10% off when I extended for the 3rd day after the Wi-Fi troubles the 1st two days. They did not agree with that assessment. Other than that, the owners were very friendly and tried to be very helpful. My Verizon card worked pretty well and though there was not a dog walk in the park, there is neighboring open space to take them in. I did pick up some TV stations over the air. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
All sites gravel and dirt. Some level sites, several with moderate slope. Older park, its a bit run down. Wi-fi ok. Friendly and helpful owners. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This is the best place to stay in Kanab. Yes, it is an older park. (So are they all in Kanab.) There are however, trees and fairly level sites. the owners are friendly and helpful. The pool is nice and the sites are not too close together. Long term residents are in a separate location from the travelers. They give a discount for AAA, but for some reason they are not listed in the latest Woodall's AAA directory. Laundry and bath facilities are quite adequate. We came for one night, but we decided to stay for a couple more nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This is a very run down poorly maintained park. There were no caps on the sewer lines just open pipes in the ground. The showers were very poorly maintained and not clean at all. We were able to hook up to 30 amp only at our site so I am not sure about the availability of 50 amp. The campground had what appeared to be several full time tenants that lived there. There is obviously no regulations or rules about how a site is to be maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Kind of old and run down, when we were here I think the tents may have out numbered the RVs. Good WiFi, our site shared a pedestal with the rig next door. The 30A was available to me, not sure if they had 50A. Site not totally level, gravel. Ground cover in the park is rock and foxtails, not real pretty. Good for a one night stay. Funny thing is I made reservations a while back and when I got here they could care less. Not sure what would have happened if they'd been full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
A small, older park. Interior roads gravel, not well maintained. Be careful at entrance as the road rocks motorhome from side to side. Sites reasonably level. Lots of trees. Many permanent (and not very pretty) RVs. Very friendly and helpful check-in; rate reflects Good Sam. Super Wi-Fi (stable, good speed). Needed donut for sewer; pipe mounted low in ground so drainage is quick and easy. Strong, stable power (we were on 30 amp, pull-through site). Dark and quiet at night. Easy walk into business area of town. A great place for overnight and would be OK for a few days stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
I pulled in here for just one night passing through. Arrived late in the afternoon and the staff was more than receptive, gave me a pull through site even though I am a very small 18.5 foot 5th wheel, but planned on not unhooking as I was leaving in the morning. Wi-Fi was very limited on signal strength, but the campground was clean and neat. The hookups were convenient and properly wired. I didn't use the bathrooms or shower so cannot comment. The pool was covered and still in winter mode. Nice playground for kids, so I am sure in the summer this could be a good stop. I had great Verizon 3G reception on my cellular hot spot. So no real need for the campground system. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Easy to find, quiet, great view and very friendly. However we couldn't reserve ahead due to full voice mail on owners, not managers, phone. We backed onto a gravel site without sewer hookup overlooking the local cemetery because the remaining pull-through sites were reserved for road crew employees. Stayed almost a week having local repair shop work on truck. Would have gotten 7th night free if had paid all at once. Oops. Would definitely stay again. Nice central location for many activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
I am convinced that some of these reviews are not even of the correct park. This campground does have amenities, showers, bathrooms, wireless internet, gas refill tank, and even a laundromat. They have a pool but it is closed now as it is too cold. One reviewer had mentioned that there is evidence of floods. I didn't see that anywhere and I walked around the park a few times. Contrary to one review they also do have 50amp hookups, I know because that is what I used. The park has grassy areas, big shade trees and overall looks like a nice park especially for how cheap they are. If they increased their prices I would still choose this park. I stayed here for a week and it was always quiet at night. I saw several people doing maintenance all around the park during my stay. Lawns are all mowed, there are no weeds even in the permanent resident area. There is no grass in the playground but it is kid safe. No other campground can beat the views that this park has hands down. They do have an old administration office but I don't think they even use that except for people to pick up their mail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This park is one of my "regulars" in my wanderings around the West, but it's more because I really like the Kanab area, and not because the park itself is so great. For that matter, I believe the park looks shabbier than it did last time I was here. They experienced some bad flash-flooding this past year, which of course wasn't their fault, but six months later parts of the park still look like the flood happened last week. There are other frustrations, as well. The infrastructure and buildings are in terrible condition, and have deteriorated since my last visit. Cell phone coverage is iffy because the park sits on the edge of the cell signal shadow cast by the cliffs. Forty or fifty yards away, the coverage is fine. As for positives, the location is good and I think this is probably the quietest of the three parks in town. The Wi-Fi is usually strong and steady. The rates are reasonable: $25/night or $160/week. The raw material is here. There are lots of trees and the surrounding redrock cliffs are very dramatic. This could be a jewel of a park if the infrastructure were upgraded. As it is, if you're bothered by ratty-looking buildings, red sand/dust everywhere, and a permanent resident section that looks like a tenement slum, you won't like it here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We were not pleased with this park. The review and their flier says they have 50amp service but they didn't when we stayed there and the 30amp shared pedestal we used couldn't run one of our AC units. If it hadn’t been 90 plus degrees out this may not of bothered us. We picked the longest pull through site but that ended up being a mistake because when we put down our levelers they raised our front wheels off the ground by four inches. We love this area and will be coming back but we won’t stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This campground is really improving. The new manager has repaired the swimming pool and is now sodding the camping spaces. The views of the mountains are spectacular. We have been here for 3 months and the monthly rate is $300 and that includes all utilities. They do not have cable TV, but we get 20 stations over the air. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
This was my third time at this park and it's improved quite a bit in that time, to the point of being at least adequate. I stayed a month and the rate quoted reflects the monthly rate of $300. The park is in a nice location near the outskirts of town, with dramatic views of the surrounding redrock cliffs and plenty of trees. The overnight sites are all pull-through and reasonably level. Some have a picnic table and concrete slab. The bathrooms have a fresh coat of paint and are cleaned daily, although the building is still rather run-down. I would give the park good marks for quiet. The Wi-Fi performed quite well for me, much better than most. There is an outdoor pool, but I've never seen water in it in the three times I've stayed here. The town of Kanab is pleasant and scenic. Overall, this park is certainly not fancy, but the owners seem to be addressing its past shortcomings, and I would rate it as adequate now. I'll be back again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Yes this park is a little run down, but we see them making improvements to the park everyday. The wireless is really hit and miss: one second good next second crappy. The management is helpful and friendly, the sites are nice size and shaded. You can pick up about 10 good ( FOX, CBS ) channels from your digital TV and antenna, some seem to go in and out but it's better than nothing. The showers are cleaned just about everyday, I used them a couple of times but in the winter its cold with no heat in the bathroom, but water pressure was good and water temp was good. We had low cell signal ( AT&T ) but if you walk to the other end of the park you had great cell service, but that's not the park's fault. Laundry was good, 75 cents for wash and 75 cents for dryer, 4 working washers, only 3 dryers but they worked fine. I found for a family friendly park, is it rather quiet with an occasional dog bark, but still quiet and relaxing. The permanent campers/trailers set us off at first, but they seem to be friendly and the management has required them to clean-up their sites. The Other park up the street looked crowded and more run down and the park off the main hwy looked nice but it's right off a main hwy and from what I have seen, is more costly even with the Good Sams discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
This park is rather shabby, but the current manager seems to be making an effort to tidy up. The restrooms are old and in need of refurbishing, but they appeared to be clean. The sites are grass/dirt/gravel. Not too many rigs here when we stayed, so it seemed very spacious. The pool had been drained for the season. Wi-Fi was "very weak" and very slow. This is a centrally-located park within walking distance of several restaurants, grocery stores, and other amenities. We have stayed here in the past and found the absent owners to be rather lax about upkeep. The property is for sale, so perhaps that's the reason for the sprucing up. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
I would rate this park as barely adequate. The electric breakers tripped a number of times, and the boxes themselves are falling apart. At another site, the sewer backed up, spilling raw sewage around. The bathrooms are just short of disgusting. I don't think they're cleaned but every few days, if that. The men's bathroom has only one toilet. The Wifi worked adequately. I stayed a month because I enjoy the area, but I probably won't stay here again. The town of Kanab is clean and pleasant, with several nice (if not great) restaurants. I had some work done on my truck and was happy with the service I got. There are two other parks in town and I'll probably try them next time I'm in Kanab. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This is a very run-down park. When we arrived there was a sign at the office to "call a #", which we did. The office person who answered was really put out that we would want to check in in the morning. He said people come in the afternoon. There are few sites for big rigs. Our site was uneven. There are untrimmed trees to maneuver through. The office and bathrooms were falling apart - literally. The buildings were old and unclean. We would not recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
A tired park much in need of refurbishment. Some litter about. The showers, while clean were dark and so used as to appear dirty even though they were not. Very small and cramped as well. Wife decided to shower in the motorhome after I described the facilities. The site marker signs are so rotten that many have snapped off at ground level. There seems no maintenance on anything in quite some time. Still, the electric, water and WiFi all worked fine. There were no sewer hookups available when we pulled in but a dumpsite was all we absolutely needed. This park is adequate but, with only a little work could be so much better. We would stay here again. This is actually our second visit as we stayed here in 2004 as well. Twenty-three dollars with free WiFi seems pretty good compared to what most other parks are offering. Pretty view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
We arrived at dusk, but were welcomed by host and other Rv'ers warmly. Pool and play areas were rather unkempt, but the mountain views were excellent. This CG is centrally located for visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
We have been at the park since August of 2006 and it has gone down considerably and the park hosts are constantly gone or not available. The office has pet birds and are dirty and smelly. The pool is filthy and the grounds are not kept up. There have been several incidents of pipe bursts during the cold season and since the park hosts are not available, the residents were the ones fixing them. They also recently made a comment that they wanted fresh faces and that those of us who have been here a year or more will need to go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2004
$20
A little dusty but a nice place to spend a few days while seeing the local sites. Management seems to be trying to keep the place clean and they are friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com