206874 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Tonkawa Springs RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (936) 564-8888
CGID4901

Camp Tonkawa Springs RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   1   1   5   3   5   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
We enjoy this campground because of the deer and guinea that roam around the park. The camp hosts are excellent, and keep the restrooms and laundry immaculate. However, the sand is problematic and the Verizon signal is very weak and spotty for phone, a little better for WiFi. Lot to do in Nacogdoches, about 15 - 20 mile drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
I've read the reviews here from last fall. I don't know what the problem was actually. I've stayed at Tonkawa quite a number of times and never had any of the problems. Yes, they have deer - a small herd. The deer aren't totally afraid of people - the campground feeds them; but, we've never had any of them pee or do anything harmful to ourselves nor our 5th wheel. They do graze wherever they want. The hosts were all new last winter, from what I've heard, and yes, they had some problems. They are gone now and they will not be allowed back. We heard they had one wild dog (stray) running around, but I also heard that that was taken care of sometime in late October. NO goats ever - in all my stays. Music was a host from last winter. They're gone and will not be back. Managers came back in early March, and I have had nothing but praise for this place - both in past and this visit. Very nice folks; very busy place in summer. I've been there then, too. Gorgeous spring fed "pond" for swimming. I have a dog myself, and there has never been a sign of any dogs tied to campers and left. IF the people leave park - they are supposed to bring dogs inside. Place is NOT fancy, but it is not run down. Trees constantly need trimming wherever you go. They cut trees down and sell firewood actually. They have offered Wi-FI (free) for almost 2 years. I gather the winter people really weren't all that great. As I said, I've had very pleasant stays there and WILL most definitely come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
Roads at this park definitely need grading. All sites are pull through with either 30/50 amp, each pedestal serving 2 sites. Fairly wide sites but could use leveling. Two restrooms, each large with shower. Laundry room available. Spring fed pond for swimming in the summer. Not something we used in Dec. and Jan. Wi-Fi was available at our site. Employees were extremely friendly and helpful and camp hosts were available 24/7. Deer wander through the sites, not tame but not overly afraid of humans either. Makes for an interesting and photogenic stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
The people that run this park are very rude. Every question we asked got answered with "I don't know." When we got there, (and had already paid for a week) we found there were goats, deer, dogs tied to trailers and wild dogs running around. The deer are inside the park and not afraid of people or dogs. The deer peed all over coolers, chairs and tables during the night. Way too many deer. Went to the office in the morning to tell them this was unacceptable, they said, "you can leave but no refund." Had we know the situation with the other animals we would have never made the reservations. They are very deceptive in their description of the park. We paid for 7 nights and only stayed one because they were not honest. We, nor any of our friends will ever stay there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
Where do I begin. If you like very loud music coming from one of the hosts RV, then this is the place. The first night here music blaring. Second night blaring after first complaint. Too many deer wandering around. The hosts sit around and talk about everyone. I'm trying to get my monthly return. I think this park has a lot of potential. But needs work and trees need trimming. But, don't think that will happen anytime soon. the one couple host very nice the others are arrogant and take advantage of their position. Sadly, I would never ever come back in again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Park appeared old but fairly clean. Nearest town was quite a distance for any services. Sites were fairly spacious but needed leveling. We enjoyed watching the many different deer. We would return for a few nights at a time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This place needs some TLC! Daily management is handled by camp "hosts" who basically just collect fees. You never know who to ask for help. Some sites flood after heavy rain and none are level. Forget using your cell phone, signal is very weak. There is no grass at all, the free-roaming deer eat it all! It's kind of like camping on the beach, sand EVERYWHERE! Many long-term campers. It's obvious that the owners don't have their hearts in this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
This is an old park with full hookups but no cable or Wi-Fi. The place is covered with a fine sand that gets into everything. The roads are in need of maintenance. The "lake" is a very small pool frequented by locals on the weekend and is nothing more than a cement lined pond that is spring fed. I do not know if I will return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
Loved this park! Has beautiful trees and nature trail. As stated in earlier reviews, park has exotic deer, nice rally area and rally room, and a good mix of long and short term campers. Site was level; however, sugar sand really tracks into the unit. Camp hosts were extremely helpful and friendly to "newbie" RV'ers like us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$10
We really enjoyed staying here. We had a fair Verizon cell phone and internet reception. We were in A14 at the back of the park near a feeding station for the 32 deer and 2 guineas. The pads were gravel and fairly level. We will return next time we are in the area. The camp host were all very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
This park was an easy access from Rt. 259 and a great stopping point for the night. The sites were fairly level gravel pull-throughs with good electric amperage and water pressure. Some sites had good satellite reception, but we pulled up an additional 5 foot and lost reception. We were able to get all of the network channels with our antenna. We had good ATT cell reception and used the I-phone for internet connection. Previous reports of the herd of exotic deer are correct, but they did not bother us or our dogs. We would definitely use this park again as a stopover and with the Passport America rate of $10, you can't go wrong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
We loved this place! The managers were very friendly as well as helpful. The deer are fun to watch. It's quiet, restful, and sites are wide. The springs are so peaceful. Cell phone coverage is weak, but on Rt. 59 and 259, you can call anywhere. Our Verizon air card for the computer was slow and very weak, but we did get on line with patience. No cable, but we have Direct TV. Nacogdoches is right down the road with whatever services you need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
We were looking for a stop on our route to spend the night. Camp Tonkawa is a short distance off of US-59, and US-259. We departed the site heading to US-259, and it is a much better way to access the campground. Although the speed limit on FM-1087 is 55 miles per hour, coming from US-59 the most I would dare to achieve is 35 mph. Now for the campground. It is situated in a wooded area with the sites being gravel, dirt, and grass. The sites are near level. I did use wood blocks as a ground relief for my leveling jacks with no problem. The area was dry, and I can imagine that if it were raining, muddy foot prints would be a thing to contend with. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We stepped out the back door of the office and was given the view of the campground and basically, "Where do you want to park?" I choose a partially shaded area as the temperature was over 100 degrees. Hey, it's Texas. For anyone reading this, you have to take your children or grandchildren to this campground. There is a large heard of deer that roam the campground, and they are not afraid of humans. They are not even afraid of dogs, and we have a Husky/Chow mix, but she is well behaved. We easily walked within 20-30 feet of the deer. They are a great form of entertainment and the children will love them. We did not get to use the pool, but I understand it is nice. We will definitely keep this campground in mind when traveling in that direction. We have already decided it will be more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
We gathered here to visit an ill relative who lives nearby. Another family member camped and was allowed to put up his tent on our RV site. Having explained our purpose for being there when making the reservation, staff put us in a beautiful site which was private and near the bath house. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The park was quiet and idyllic, with deer, rabbits, quinea fowl, chickens wandering about. The springs was closed for repair of damage during hurricanes last year and work was being done on it while we were there. Many trails to walk and again, not crowded at all. We were able to have a nice campfire. It was very quiet but I bet that changes during summer when the springs is open for swimming. We plan to return later this year for another family gathering. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$17
We camped here with our club. There were a surprising number of rigs there for the time of year. This campground is a tradeoff. It is a bit primitive but not junky or dirty, which is understandable since this was former Boy Scout camp. The trees in the RV area are all oak, making it a bit bleak in the winter. The roads are dirt but not muddy since they were sandy. There is no Wi-Fi (did not look for a modem hookup), but on the other hand deer, chickens and guinea fowl wandered through the campground. I watched the owner feed a herd of probably 30 deer, and one ate from his hand. We built a campfire where we wanted without any complaints. The bathhouse had only two units in a very basic building, but they were very clean, well-stocked and warm. The meeting room was clean, large and had a full kitchen. The biggest negative was car traffic in the middle of the night in the campground and on the nearby highway and a nearby oil well pumping unit that made a pulsing motor sound all night long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
This is a nice, secluded get-away destination. There were a total of three campers, and 12 kids (baseball team, in town for a tournament in nearby Nacogdoches) in our group. Everyone loved the place, and would definitely return. The interior roads are dirt, so you need to bring door mats to minimize the dirt that gets tracked in. However it was great! The sites were spaced nicely, and there is lots of shade trees. The management was very courteous and helpful. Someone met us at the gate, and let us to our sites even though the office had been closed over an hour. They also let us leave our rigs here until our last game was complete on Sunday, and did not charge us for the extra day. The spring-fed pond is very nice. The kids loved it. There was a rope swing hanging from a tree over the water. The wildlife was abundant, and we even had a few deer walk right through our site. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Located half way between Highways 259 and 59. Road back to the park is not the best. Park getting run down. Several trailers that looked permanent, and were in poor shape. Famous for it's spring, which was shut down, drained, and being cleaned when we were there. Herd of deer wander the park, along with Guinea Fowl, Bantam Chickens, and one big Tom Turkey. The Turkey stood outside our door at dawn and gobbled loudly until he was shooed away. Went to all of the other trailers and did the same thing. Only staff we saw was woman who checked us in and she was far from friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com