223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Riana Abiquiu Lake COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (505) 685-4371
CGID4905

Riana Abiquiu Lake COE

Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   8   7   10   10   8   9   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$12
Campground is very much out in the open; very hot, dusty and sandy; sites very close together, with very little privacy; high noise level, bathrooms smelled and full of flies. Our site advertised as a pull thru, but was not. Would not return to camp in travel trailer at this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$8
This is a gem of a campground, especially if you can get site #1 which is a bit isolated and looks out over the lake. There is a nice trail along the bluff overlooking the lake. The lake is surrounded by picturesque cliffs and mountains, a lovely setting. Well stocked general store, Bode's, just south of the lake has most anything you might need. Rate reflects senior pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$8
Price was with senior pass discount. This park in the heart of Georgia O'Keeffe country that is scenic and makes a great base for touring Northern NM. Book ahead for tours of the artist's home in Abiquiu and sites she painted at Ghost Ranch, and be sure to eat at Bode's General Store. Sites have views of the lake and Cerro Pedernal mountain, as well as individual picnic shelters, and fire rings. Bathrooms have flush toilets and showers (not very private), but no electric outlets by the sinks. We got some AT&T cellular but no antenna TV. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$8
A very nice Corps of Engineers campground built on a hillside sloping down to Abiquiu Lake. There are water plus electric sites, non-utility RV sites, and tenting sites. The sites are widely spaced and of varying sizes up to 80' long, and include a substantial shelter for the picnic table. The internet reservation website shows two sites with sewer hookups, but the sewer connections are no longer in use. Cell service is limited. The lake offers water sports activities, and the immediate vicinity offers hiking, biking, and sightseeing opportunities. Access is easy, the camp hosts are very friendly, and the campground is well-maintained. It is quiet day and night, and dark except for a few security lights. The price shown is for a water plus electric site with the half-price Federal Senior Pass rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$9
Because we have an access pass, we get a discount on the regular fee, which for electric is $18.00 per night. The camp hosts were wonderful. This is a small park, some sites are reservable, some 1st come. Weekends are packed because of the lake. Beautiful location. Quiet and friendly. The electric sites have 50 amps, picnic tables, bbq and fire ring. Lots of wildlife. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$8
Rate reflects senior discount, but was for a water and electric site and with a terrific view of the reservoir and the distant mountains. Probably the prettiest view I have ever seen at any COE campground. Bathhouse has flush toilets and nice showers. The drive west from the campground, on Route 96 over to Route 550, is quite pretty, but one which those with really big RVs or trailers may want to avoid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Beautiful campground with fantastic views. Be prepared that the location is remote with no local amenities (including laundry and gas). The restrooms were clean and well kept and the park managers were friendly. There are no sites with septic hookup but there is a dump station. If you are going to stay for awhile, I would have a bucket to at least be able to dump your gray tank without unhooking. Also, even though you are staying at the lake, there is no lake access from the campground. You have to drive to the lake access down the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$7
Rate is with Senior Pass. This is one of those rare finds in a campground. Absolutely beautiful, right on the lake. The camp hosts were very helpful. We could walk the trails or take day trips to many of the sites in the area. This is Georgia O'Keeffe territory. Stunning scenery everywhere you looked. Verizon phone and air signal fair to good. No OTA TV signal. We would come back here in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$7
Spacious campground in a beautiful setting. Service connections are convenient and work well. All asphalt interior roads and sites. Sites are unlevel. Covered picnic tables and fire rings. Well patrolled by park ranger, campground hosts and local sheriff's deputies. Dark at night, quiet and serene. An inspiring place to camp. Our rate reflects our 50% off golden age passport discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$7
Nice park with great view of Abiquiu Lake. Upper loop has 50amp power and water but no sewer. Dump station is nearby. Camp hosts were very friendly and helpful. No problem getting our 40' rig in spot with room for parking in front. There are two pull-through sites, but hookups located on curbside given one way direction of road. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$7
Peaceful is the word for this Corps park. The views are spectacular and the hosts were great. This was a great place to stop and rest up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$7
We actually stayed here overnight twice, on our way to and from Chama. First time there were no water and electric sites available and we had a very roomy and flat site with a great view of the lake. On the way back we stayed up on the hill in an equally nice hookup site. The host said the campground really fills up in the summer, and especially on weekends. In mid September it was pretty quiet, the way we like it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$5
Our $5 rate (regular $10) is by using our Golden Age Passport on a non-electric site. There are many choices for camping in this pleasant park. With our 40' motorhome we stayed in Chama Loop which has no electric. Pedernal Loop has water and electric sites - $14, Puerco Loop has no electric and there is a nice walk-in Tent Loop for $5. There is a boat ramp with a swimming beach but all campsites are on a bluff overlooking the lake with no access. There is a dump station with a fresh water fill. There are flush and pit toilets and showers. Some sites are reservable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$5
Really nice campground. Three loops. Only one has hookups. Since we did not have reservations we had to do without hookups but we got a lake side site on Charma loop. It was well worth the trade off. And the price of $5 with Golden Age was the best bargain of this camping season. People with tents and small trailers should check out the 3rd loop (Pedernal). It has lakeside sites and more privacy. The loop with hookups is the farthest from the lake and has the least privacy. It also fills every night so reservations are required. The park fills most weekends. There is an overflow area but it would not work for rigs over 30 feet. The worse thing about this park is the showers unless you like walking around in your birthday suit in front of the open door. We went hiking at Ghost Ranch which is an easy drive. Whatever you do don't plan to camp at Ghost Ranch. The campground there is behind the stables and is one of the worse I have ever driven through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$7
Wonderful park, great hosts. We used this as a base to visit Taos, Los Alamos, Bandelier National Monument, and Santa Fe as well as the nearby Ghost Ranch where Georgia O'Keeffe painted, and other local attractions. The scenery is breathtaking. The campground is very peaceful, partly because it's on a bluff overlooking the lake, so you can see but mostly not hear the boats. Needs more electric sites than the current 15. We had to move three times in the two weeks we were there to piece together reservations. Reserve early. Don't expect to find any walk up electric sites available most of the time in this beautiful spot! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
Absolutely beautiful park in a wonderful location. Be aware that you need to make reservations 4 days in advance or risk driving there without one. Not knowing this we could only reserve one night and drove there mid-week hoping to get 2 more nights before the one reserved and were successful. By Friday however the campground was full and many RVs were camping in the section without water/electric. Yes the CG hosts were helpful and friendly. One quibble that was mentioned in earlier reviews: the showers have less privacy than any I've ever seen. The entry door is always propped open and the shower openings face the door. There is a fence but tall snoops could walk by and peep in. My morning visit was disturbed by a guy sitting out front for no apparent reason. This should really be corrected to make this CG top-notch. Be sure and take the trails to the left side (no signs) as well as directly in front. Just awesome views. The lower # sites are closer to the water and farther from the bathhouse but there are no bad sites. Army Corps of Engineers did a first rate design job. No Internet and no cellphone access throughout most of the Abiquiu area. We heard Verizon might be better than others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
The map online depicting the campgrounds is not correct. Pedernal Loop (not Puerco Loop) has 15 Water and Electric sites. Puerco Loop has no utilities. Within the Pedernal Loop, the even numbers are not reservable, the odd numbers are. Most sites have a view of the Abiquiu Lake. The sites were fairly well spaced out, and the size of the sites varied. The bathroom/showers were very clean but the showers could have used a little more privacy. The camp hosts were one of the best we have seen in a long while. The park was very quiet: even during the weekend. Electricity was very good. Verizon phone and air card work well. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$1
We stayed off season for free. One loop is left open: in what might be the prettiest spot we've ever camped in, site #1. The view of Pedernal and the lake just filled our windows, and we had the whole place to ourselves. Well, there was the one coyote who kept getting into our trash at night. Be sure to dump and fill yourself with fresh water before arriving in off-season. No water, dump, electric, bathrooms or patrols in off season, but very, very pretty place. We stayed here, instead of another park, because dogs aren't welcome at that CG (plus the roads and sites are horrible). We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$7
As usual a nice COE park and only $7 with the Golden Age Passport. We stayed here three nights and enjoyed the visit. We were in site 11 and found it difficult to back the 38 foot fifth wheel in but other sites looked easier. Especially #1. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$7
This is a beautiful park with a fabulous view of Abiquiu Lake and the surrounding Ghost Ranch area. The staff is especially helpful and pleasant. The RV sites are relatively level with paved pads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$7
Absolutely our favorite park. Must enjoy silence, beauty and being away from everything. This park has everything but sewer at every site. If you are comfortable with peace, this is the park for you. Hosts are pleasant and helpful. We'd came back whenever we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$7
We spent 5 great nights at this park. The views from most sites are outstanding! You look across Abiquiu Lake towards Ghost Ranch, where Georgia O'Keeffe both lived and painted. It is one of the prettiest parks we have ever stayed in, with spectacular views of the cliffs and mountains. The color variations are almost unbelievable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites are well cared for and the bathrooms clean. We definitely would stay here again. It's a park for adults...no video games, silly golf courses etc. A good place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
We stayed in the E/W hoop-up loop, on a first come/first serve site, and had a great view of the lake. The lake gets crowded on weekends but during the week is mostly deserted. The E/W hook-up loop of the campground was full and stays that way through most of the summer, but the electric only sites never seemed to fill up. I guess we were lucky to get a site. A good fishing lake, in beautiful country. The Abiquiu store has everything you may need and is about a 15 min drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
No empty W/E sites on the weekends but, if you arrive mid-week you can generally find an empty W/E site. Most W/E sites are reservation sites but there are a couple of first come sites. Dry camping sites are available even on weekends. The lake is warm enough, in summer, to swim in so weekender's come to splash and fish. The nearest grocery/gas/general store is in Abiquiu (10mi) and is has some of anything you need. Wal Mart is 40 mi away in Espanola. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$14
The Riana Campground is located on a 150 foot rock bluff overlooking Abiquiu Lake. This is an Army Corps of Engineers development. The scenery is spectacular and there is a pretty view of the lake which is 4,000+ acres - big for New Mexico. This is Georgia O'Keeffe country. The campground is open April 15-Oct 15 and fees range from $5-$14. Sites 1-15 have water, 50 amp electric, covered picnic table, trash can, fire pit, and lantern pole. The sites have a paved RV pad. We have camped only at these sites. They have a good amount of distance between the sites. Sites 9 and 10 are pull-throughs, the rest of the hooup sites are very long back-ins. On sites 1-39 only, you can have 2 camping units but only one unit can be a wheeled unit. Sites 40-54 are primitive tents sites only with two tents allowed per site. There is a dump station. Nice clean vaulted bathrooms as well as very clean bathrooms with showers. There is a group site as well as separate tent sites. There is a playground for the kids. There are water spigots throughout the campground. Lake shore access for boat launching is 1 mile from the campground. Primitive camping is permitted free of charge during the off season. During the open season, there are two campground hosts. Odd numbered sites are reservable. We have camped here several times and have always enjoyed our experience and the scenery. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
What a fabulous campground!! While it does not have sewer hook ups, we stayed for 10 days and conserved so that we only had to go to the dump station once. Being Georgia O'Keefe country, the scenery was unbelievably gorgeous. The camp hosts were wonderful and kept the weekend people under control. Great place to do day trips to other parts of that area. Very relaxing and we will return. (If you are 62 and have the National Park pass the rates are only $7 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com