218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Sweet Water Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (985) 878-6868
CGID4907

Sweet Water Campground

Camp Information
Sites
225
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   10   5   8   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$41
This is a really great campground to take the kids for holidays. The staff offers lots of activities for the kids. This is a working farm and horseback riding stable. The park is in a country setting with a nice pond for fishing. Rodeos are often held on holiday weekends which is a lot of fun for the family. The sites are all grass which makes it a little difficult to level your rig after it has rained. Our rig got stuck but the staff was very quick to offer a tractor to help us and apologized for our trouble. We really like the family atmosphere here. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
My family has become a member of this campground and truly feel at home. The children have met new friends and are excited about visiting Sweetwater. There are lots of activities and the workers are friendly. The bull riding rodeo is great fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
The park does not have cement pads. A plus to that is for camping in a group, you are able to put campers together facing each other. Lots of activities for kids on Saturdays. Horse back riding for adults and pony rides for the kids. A salt water swimming pool and a stocked fishing pond also. Staff is very friendly and will help with whatever you need. Rodeo arena on property and a little country store for your needs. Bath house is clean, which is what I look for. Try it out you will enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$200
My mother and I stayed in the Ranch House with 8 children and had a wonderful time. The house was roomy and very accommodating for the group we had. The porch that wrapped around the front and one side was amazing because we encountered some rain and was able to let the children on the porch and not have to stay shut up inside while it rained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was very nice with its covered sitting area. The Children enjoyed there horse back ride through the woods and across streams and up hills. They wanted to do it again when we got back. Our overall experience at the campground was very enjoying. It is a very quite and relaxing place to be. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Free two nights of camping. Campground needs update. Grass (leaves) pad. Lots of trees. Many activities especially for kids. Pool was empty and needs upgrade. Quiet at night. Staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$15
We loved Sweet Water Campground. The surroundings were beautiful, very clean and great staff. We were a little surprised that it was so far off of Hwy 12, at least 30 minutes to Hammond. But on the other hand that is what made it special...the solitude, the stars, the horses. If you are looking to get away, to a Campground versus an RV park this is it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We had a blast!! The staff is so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all the activities and loved the horses. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend. My grandson was able to fish, do crafts, swim, play horseshoes, and ride a horse. The restaurant was wonderful and very clean. We were fortunate to stay free for the weekend with a coupon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This is a wonderful campground. You can always see the owners riding around and speaking to the guests. It's always friendly and relaxing. The activities are also fun. They really get the kids involved in the games. The park grounds always spotless. The restrooms are also very clean. I always recommend Sweetwater Campground to anyone speaking of camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
We had a great stay at Sweet Water. We love the western theme at this park. They have all sorts of things to do for the young and old. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$41
We have been camping for about a year now and Sweetwater was our first campground since we had a free weekend from Berryland. It is rustic and no cement pads. If I want cement and city life I would have bought a trailer and live in a trailer park. Ms. Rita and staff there have been the best when it comes to service. We have been there about 4 or 5 time now. Bringing friends there for last weekend in July. Hopefully they will not be disappointed. We call Sweetwater home. Many things for the kids to do without costing an arm and leg. Food at resturaunt is good. Horseback riding for $30 and free hayrides. We love it. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$44
We camped here Easter weekend. There were so many things planned, we couldn't make them all. The kids had a blast!! We will return. Just a few points...there is an ATV field; for 35.00 per 4-wheeler you can ride in the park and at the field. Things get a bit dusty, but that is the nature of the beast. You can ride horses for $30 a person; great ride to take every so often. Our $44 nightly rate was a holiday rate; a bit pricy but we had a blast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$50
Not bad for a privately owned park. Campsites are not very private, your neighbors are close. The restaurant was really good, everything in the park was really clean. Lots of activities for the kids to partake in. No hiking trails, buy there are some horseback riding activities. There are people that seem to permanently reside in their campers here towards the back of the park. Roads are gravel We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
We stayed for Halloween '07 and had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and the campground was extremely clean. There were so many activities for the kids to do that we almost didn't get time to eat and it took two of us to get the kids to all the games. We've already booked for Halloween '08. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Upon check in we thought this was a really nice campground. It ended up being a nightmare camping trip. After starting to set up at our site, we found we had no electricity. Three out of the four campers that we were camping with had this problem. I don't know what they would have done if they were booked up, I guess we would have had to go home instead of switching sites. They have a stray dog on the campground that barks and howls all night long, that they claim they cannot catch. I didn't see anyone trying to catch it all weekend. The rules clearly state no loud dogs, so I guess if my dog would have barked all night I would have been asked to leave the premises. We were told not to leave our trash cans outside of our campers because the stray dog will dump it. So all weekend our trash had to stay inside our camper, until it was full and we brought it to the front dumpster. I have never heard of anything so obsurd on a campground. I guess they don't realize what a liability they have on their hands if their "stray" dog bites someone. They have a nice restaurant with really good food, but they act like they don't want to serve you. If you are in the service business you should definitely try to accommodate your "Paying" customers. We tried to eat on 1:00 Sunday, they close at 2:00, but they would have only had enough food to feed 4 out of 10 of us. I am not sure why, they were not busy all weekend. They only had one other group of campers there this weekend. I hate to see what happens if they ever get booked up. This was my first and last trip to Sweetwater. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$37
My husband and I camped here for Memorial Day weekend with four other rigs. It was the most awful experience that any of us had had since we started camping. We were crammed into our sites like sardines and unable to use awnings. The lady, I don't remember her name, who helps you park your rig was quite rude. I live about 45 minutes from Sweetwater Campground and had I not paid for the weekend, I would have left and gone home. I will not be recommending Sweetwater Campground located in Loranger, La. to anyone who loves to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2006
$38
Wow, this place is overpriced, $71.00, including tax for the weekend in the middle of winter! No concrete pads, no level sites, no cable TV. Only an outdated swing-set with a metal slide and two swings for the children to play on. I have stayed here before during the summer and they had activities for the children, but on this stay there was nothing to do, even the pavilion and Ponderosa Restaurant was closed. There is no way I will spend $71.00 to camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
We have stayed at this campground many times and loved it. It is way out in the country and very rustic. A concrete jungle it is not! We have never stayed at a campground where the staff was so helpful and accommodating. We had 3 fifth wheels in our group and wanted to park in a horseshoe shape and they helped us do this. There are plenty of activities and even more so on holiday weekends. Yes it is more expensive to camp those weekends but they usually have a band or fireworks or some kind of activity on holidays. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
Excellent staff, plenty of shade, activities non stop, great campground for the kids! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
We had a great time. They had lots of activities for the adults as well as the kids to do. The staff are great, they always have time to help you and answer your question. The young workers seems to enjoy what they do and love to be with the campers and hung out with everyone even there when they were not working. The campground is out in the country and they try real hard to make your stay worth the drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
We loved this campground. We are planning another weekend for the rodeo weekend. If you are looking for a concrete rv resort then don't come here. In fact...don't come here anyways...stay away...you don't wanna be here..it's not your type of place...stay away!! Everytime we find a place we love...after a while we can never get reservations to get in..so stay away! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Just wanted everybody to know we had a great time at Sweetwater this weekend. We plan to make this campground our getaway close to home. The staff is so family-friendly and the kids (and us adults too!) loved the wet hayride! The Smokin’ Cook-Off was so much FUN and The Band (5th Wheel) was GREAT, and the Tractor Pulls were AWESOME! Thanks again, Sweetwater! WE LOVE YOU! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
My family and I LOVE horses which made Sweetwater the best camping spot for us to pick for our mini-vacation. We stayed on a weekend and they had a trail ride, bbq cook-out, rodeo and games for the kids to win ribbons! Our kids had SO much fun! The greased pig game was hilarious - until I had to wash their clothes! Oh well, that's what soap and water is for!! :o) They had a blast anyway and if you want to have a truly family-oriented place to take your kids, we recommend you go here. The staff was also really helpful and treated us like we were part of their family, which was really nice for a change. We will definitely be going back to camp out at Sweetwater! Happy Trails! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
Found this site on internet it sounded good,was I supprised the total appearance of the camp ground was run down needs plenty of attention the camp ground was not a pirority the riding stables was, roads were mostly dirt with no gravel the sites were not seperated they crammed a trailor in how ever they could. The camp ground had activites scheduled but did not have them they always had an excuse, the overall camp ground was dirty and not kept up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
A friend told me about the review that someone posted in this website about Sweetwater and now I too feel a need to tell our camping experience. We and 6 other campers stayed the rodeo weekend in April and we had a BLAST! The campground is immaculate, the staff makes you feel like you are part of the family and the kids had a wonderful time playing games that you don't typically find at other campgrounds. They still tell their friends about the greased pig and goat scramble. We highly recommend this campground and we are going back with 14 other campers Memorial Weekend. It's their 1-year Anniversary Celebration and for being open only a year we think Sweetwater is going to be one of the No. 1 rated campgrounds in America! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2006
$38
My sister and her family in their 31' fifth wheel and us in our 28' bumper pull, spent our Easter weekend at this park. Like many others, we found them on the internet and after reading all they "had to offer", we were pleased to get reservations. We arrived with high expectations and after about 5 minutes of being there, we realized that most of what we read online was not true. This camp was so incredibly unorganized. The roads are gravel and sites are grass. We were cramed into two sites right next to the road and we spent most of our weekend covered in dust and miserable. They actually had to cut some branches off a tree to squeeze my sister's fifth wheel in. When I asked the staff member about the petting zoo, he said that there was some goats running around that we could pet if we could get our hands on them. Not my idea of a petting zoo at all! The only good thing we found was the pond. We will never go back to this park again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com