214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Alton RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (614) 878-9127
CGID4910

Alton RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   6   7   7   5   7   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
This is probably the closest campground for easy access to the Columbus area. I believe the price is only justified for this reason. The sites were quite narrow and both the road and train noise was apparent. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi worked well. I would stay here again, but prefer quieter surroundings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
The pros on this campground is the staff who are friendly and efficient. It is also convenient to Columbus and the campground was clean. The negatives are: 1) it is on a very busy highway, and the campground is close to the street. 2) There is a train that goes by during the evening/night hours that woke me up. 3) There is not a great place to walk big dogs which need a lot of exercise. 4) RV's are right on top of each other with almost no space in between slide outs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Easy access on US 40 west of I-270. Interior roads and site drives are gravel. Very small amount of grass between sites. You'll be close to your neighbor using the pull-through sites. Back-in and perimeter sites have more space. Very friendly office staff and led us to site and helped us park. Few trees, so little shade, but satellite TV was easy to get. Verizon wireless had 3 bars and free Wi-Fi was pretty fast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This park has what you need. It is in a strange spot just off a busy street in a small town near Columbus, about 3 miles off of I-270. Some spots around the perimeter of the park are more esthetically pleasing, but they are used by folks staying longer. Pull throughs for overnights are easy and level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Typical gravel RV park with some grass and trees. Sites were pretty level. Enough room for maneuvering a big rig. Managers were friendly and helpful. Easy access to Columbus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
This park is expensive for the facilities. It is crowded and lacking in amenities. Basically it is a gravel parking lot with a narrow strip of grass between sites. Twice, there were problems with the Wi-Fi. The park had many semi-permanent RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
Small park with very narrow sites. The owner/manager was friendly and helpful. Good choice for a quick overnight but would look elsewhere if staying longer. The small strip of grass outside our door (about 3' wide) was full of "doggie bombs" which we had to navigate around so it appears the park is pet friendly. There are no trees in the park and you cannot open your awning so there is no shade available. The park could be difficult to navigate with more of the sites are filled. We would stay again if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
This is a nice small park not too far off the interstate. The spaces are narrow, but comfortable. It is laid out very well with easy access in and out. No shade, but is very clean. Owner is very efficient and escorts you to your site. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Most are very narrow sites - concerns with opening slides. Owner was willing to work with us to find a site that would work. To be fair there are sites that easily accommodate large rigs. Be sure to request site that doesn't face west during the summer. The sun is very hot and one can't use the awning on most sites. As previously stated, attraction park located close to town. TV reception very good. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Great place for overnight. Owner is very friendly. Sites are tight, but good for short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Great place for us to stay just overnight. Spaces were a little tight for us with four slideouts, so we only put out two. Owners very caring about the grassy areas (do not park on any grass). One of our tires was on the grass about an inch, but they said that was okay for just one night. Office is in a beautiful Victorian home. No amenities to speak of, but it provided our needs for a one night stay over. Easy to get into and out of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
I think this is the closest RV park to Columbus. Easy access off U.S. 40 W. Broad St.) and major interstates. Some traffic noise because of proximity to U.S. 40. Interior roads and site pads are gravel with adequate grass between sites. Interior roads allow big rigs to easily get into sites. Some sites will put you close to your neighbor. Very friendly office staff. You will be escorted to your site and helped to get parked. Little shade available at sites. Verizon Wireless worked well and no problem with Sat TV. Free Wi-Fi worked well. No laundry available on the property. Close to shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
As others have mentioned this park is ideal for an easy off/on while traveling through Columbus. The owner's were very friendly and helpful. They are obviously geared toward adult travelers and there are no amenities that would attract families with children. Price reflects no competition and we were charged for additional adults traveling with us. Everything was in working order, clean and neat. We would stay here again for an overnight if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
The park is great if you are traveling through for the night. Otherwise, the sites are right on top of each other and you have to request a picnic table. It is obvious that the park is set up for people who use the rest rooms and showers in their RV's. There was one shower stall and one toilet in the men's restroom. The restroom was very clean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Clean campground with level, gravel parking. Sites are close side to side, but parking is staggered front to back so you are not right next to your neighbor. Extending an awning might cause a problem for your neighbor entering his site, but extending an awning into an adjoining occupied site is no problem. Wi-Fi connections are good. Campground is convenient to the city of Columbus. This campground is used mainly by short term transients with no permanent occupants. Staff was always available and very friendly and helpful. We stayed over the independence day holiday and were charged an unexpected additional fee above the regular charge. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
This was a nice park except the sites very close to each other. The host was very helpful and even informed us where to go in case of a storm. The office is a beautiful 100 plus year old home. This campground was a bit noisy because it was in town. It is good for an over night stay, and we would do it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Overall condition of the campsites were clean. The campsites, however, are packed in as tight as possible leaving about a 2-4' patch of grass in front of your camper. Some don't get any grass. Rules are a bit over the top regarding awnings and patio mats. Our sewer connection was 6" above the ground level and made for difficult drainage. Dogs are free to stay, but extra children must pay a fee! huh?!?! Almost need a shoehorn to get out of the "park" when we checked out. There are no activities/amenities for any type of family activities. Will we stay here again? NO. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Easy in and easy out gravel sites. Many can accommodate big rigs. WiFi worked well. No cable TV but local antenna stations had strong signals. The bathhouse is old and has not aged well. Men and women each have a single toilet stall and a single shower with privacy doors. The exterior doors have glass panes or screens, depending on season, with no curtains, so passersby can see in. A male standing inside the toilet stall is taller than the privacy door and is there for everybody to see, especially at night when it is light inside and dark outside. Bathrooms are clean, but the floor in the shower’s dressing area was very gritty and sandy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Good clean place. Nice people. Good Wi-Fi. Good size pull thru. I have a 30 foot trailer and suburban, fits into the site with no problems. Good over night place. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This is a little park with very friendly owners. The pull thrus are plenty long to accommodate any size rig. A little pricey for a park without amenities. Wi-Fi was good. This park is about the only one in the west Columbus area and we would stay here again if passing through Columbus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This campground is basically a gravel lot located right on the highway. There is nowhere to walk your dog, there is no shade and the sites are so close you cannot leave your awning out. Other than that, it's clean and convenient. I would not stay here again unless I absolutely had to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Small, but very well maintained park. Escorted to site and provided directions to local amenities. Very clean, well groomed site. Level, gravel sites with nice grass adjoining. WiFi worked very well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Our plans changed due to vehicle problems. We needed a place to stop for the night. They set us up for a late arrival. Directions on the door were easy to follow. Everything worked. Shower room was clean with plenty of room. Manager was sorry the Wi-Fi was having problems, but I didn't need it. They checked on us in the morning and was very friendly. I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
As others have mentioned this is a nice place for a few nights but it is certainly no destination park. Owner was friendly and other than road noise it is a quiet place. We were making an overnight stop and this was just fine for that. My only concern was the tight corners on the roads making it somewhat tedious to snake or fiver to the correct spot. No big deal...just had to be careful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
This is an adequate park for a night or a few. It is very crowded, but the owners are very friendly and helpful. We were here for 3 nights to visit relatives in Columbus and the park was very convenient for our purposes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This is pretty much just a place to park your RV. Nothing to do in campground. It is clean and the folks are friendly. It is close to Columbus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This campground is the closest to the Columbus city limits. It is a large gravel parking lot adjacent to an old farmhouse right off a busy road. There is only an outbuilding for the bathroom that is not air conditioned and does not have paper towels but is clean and painted all white. Both ladies' and mens' rooms only have one toilet stall and one shower. Surprisingly, don't assume this overnight type style campground will have room if you are just passing through - they seem to be filled up, some sites with long-term rentals. If they offer you an overflow site, it is really a narrow driveway with 50' of extra electrical cord and a spigot to hook a green garden hose to, but you will be charged accordingly as if it were a water/electric site or full hook site. The owner, while nice, seems a bit demanding and not familiar with the rv'ing culture. It is a fine place to stay overnight, but is not a destination park, although because there is no close competition, they have the market cornered and charge so appropriately. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Easy access off I-270 around Columbus. Small park but very friendly staff and a great overnight stopover or if your visiting Columbus. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Small park on a busy street, considerable road noise. Sites are fairly close together with little room for tables or chairs. Grassy sites (owner requires you cut your own grass or pay her $35 a month if you are staying for 30 days or longer.) No laundry facilities, small shower/toilet/sink area - soap & water to wash up but no towels provided! Good for overnight stay if it is close to where you want to be otherwise I would search elsewhere. Only plus is free Wi-Fi is available and works well, no cable TV tho. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
We were looking for an overnight park in Columbus. Everywhere I called, including this park, was full due to a horse show in town. An hour later our cell phone rang and this host called us back. He had a cancellation and wanted to see if we still needed a site. I couldn't believe he was so proactive. He & his wife were very nice. The park was OK..not a "camping experience," but a safe place to stay for the night. We would stay there again if we find ourselves going through Columbus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
This is a simple pull-through type place with small sites. That is all we need for one night in a convenient location. The owners were wonderful people in a beautiful old Victorian home that serves as the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This campground is for use only if nothing else is available. Was asked to unhook car for the pull thru we had reserved. Potholes the size of small autos. With slides out we're 12' wide, sites are 13'. Would avoid at all costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This park is convenient from I-70 in either direction. We used it for a one night stopover, and it works very well for that. The park is very small, basically a parking lot with hookups. The people are friendly and helpful, and the site we used allowed us to pull in and out without unhooking our dinghy. The park is kept clean. Many of the sites have no picnic tables. This is a pretty basic RV park, but considering the location, I recommend it for short stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
This campground is the closest one to the western part of Columbus. It doesn't have picnic tables as there is no room but it has everything you need, it's clean, friendly and helpful, no laundry room but laundromat close by, close to all kinds of shopping. We will probably stay here every year visiting family. It's not a beautiful park being right on SR40 but is functional. Rate reflects weekly rate. Can get 3 local TV stations with aerial. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com