214277 User submitted reviews online!!
Shady Acres Mobile Home Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 66 user reviews. Phone: (251) 478-0013
CGID4916

Shady Acres Mobile Home Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   7   8   5   7   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
What a sweet little campground! The trees are beautiful and there is a hiking trail thru the woods to the Dog River. Everything was very quiet and nice. A great place to stay, and many thanks go to the staff for their help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$22
This was a former , older mobile home park now with a few sites for campers, trailers, motorbikes, RV's, etc. Mostly full time residents in trailers. Gravel sites, paved interior road, our site across from office was pretty level, trees, good wifi ( park hear the office) and cable reception. Very friendly folks. No site map. Wide, long pull thru's and back in's . This is a bargain anf no frills camp ground for what you get..$22.00 cash, $22.88 credit card with Good SAMs. The road off of I-10 is not narrow, just a typical 2 lane subdivision road and we had no problem. Back of park is near an extension of Dog River, so high ground would be up front near the office. We were one night in a motorbike We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
A nice place to stay when sightseeing in Mobile. It was convenient to shopping and restaurants, and very easy to get to. I felt like we were in a little oasis because of all the trees. I was even able to do some bird watching on the nature trail. Our site was large and level. There is a tidy book exchange and the laundry room was spotless. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Sites were well shaded although a bit close together. A few permanent and many seasonal residents. Park was very well maintained and the owner was extremely friendly and always present tending to things in the park. 10 minutes to downtown Mobile so this is an excellent base to tour the city and surrounding area. Campground Wi-Fi worked well and Verizon voice and data were excellent. We will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Park was nice and quiet, easy pull through sites, nice big oaks for shade, received 23" of rain in two days, but was high and dry, no problems getting back on Expressway. Very clean, nice pet walks and neatly keep park, would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Rate is Good Sam. The owner was very friendly and accommodating since when we called we asked for one night and on arrival we had decided on two nights. We had to back in for the two night stay, but that was no problem since we were going to unhook the car anyway. The drive into the park was a little tight since it was down a narrow two lane street, but the RV sites had everything, including individual trash bins. There is a lake by the park, but did not see any sites on the lake. Lots of mature trees. Would stay there again considering the park is within 30 minutes of the major attractions in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
The owner is so friendly and welcoming and I would definitely stay there again because he creates a nice atmosphere for everyone. Gave me a map and a booklet on the sights of Mobile on arrival. I thought the location seemed out of the way when I arrived, but I found that it was within 30 minutes of everywhere I wanted to visit. The RV sites had everything, including individual trash bins. There was only one shower and toilet in the abolition hut, but most of the RVs there were big rigs and I seemed to be the only one using the facilities. Laundry is $1 for a machine. Sooooo reasonable. The sites are nothing special, but the atmosphere and price are good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
This is a good park for a 1 or 2 night stay. Close to the Interstate. Just a few miles from the USS Alabama. There are no extra amenities like a pool, clubhouse, etc. It's just a good park if you just need a place to sleep. Good hookups, cable TV and Wi-Fi. Our lot was not very level but was plenty long. Park was clean and room to walk the dogs. Would stay here again for just an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
When we got here there were no pull through sites available, but the back in was easy, gravel and fairly level. The owner is very friendly and helpful. There is WI-FI and cable and both work well. The bathroom/shower (yes-1) is clean but, we didn't use it. The park has what has to be permanent sites but most don't really look like it and those that do are very well kept. The residents we met are friendly. We were here for two nights and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
I'm not sure where the "Mobile Home" part of this parks name came from, I don't recall seeing many permanent trailers here. This park was quiet, pet friendly and had long pull thru spaces for big rigs. Our 40' 5th wheel and crew cab long bed truck fit in it just fine with room to spare. No problems with WiFi or satellite either. Spaces weren't real wide, but our slides weren't too close to our neighbors. I'd absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
This very basic park was adequate for our short stay to tour the area. The owner was friendly and helpful. Our pull through site was long and roomy. Wi-Fi was adequate, though froze up at times. Trees made placement of a portable satellite dish difficult. Pleasant enough to recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$43
Very nice wide, easy access, long pull thru in the shade. Quiet. $130/week. Owner is extremely friendly and he and his staff are quick to address any problems you may have. Had no trouble with cable or WiFi. Laundy is $1 wash, $1 dry; can't beat that. Ice cream truck comes through daily which was sort of fun. Easy access to Mobile; close to Bellingrath Gardens (a must see!). Fishing in Dog River. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$19
The rates reflects weekly rates. This is an older park with gravel sites and access roads. The back-in could be tricky. The sites are not overly level, but that was not a problem. There are a lot of mature trees, so there are a lot of leaves, twigs and sap. Good Wifi. The facilities worked well. There are a lot of permanent residents, but they were friendly. Staff was very friendly. Very convenient to Mobile. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
Nice older style RV park with lots of shade trees. The staff is very friendly, and the location is close to downtown Mobile and within easy driving distance to Dauphin Island. Park is quiet except when the Navy jets are practicing their touch and goes at the nearby airport. Would definitely stay here again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
Best in town campground we have ever seen. Clean beyond belief. Quiet. Nicest owner imaginable. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
This park has large pull-through sites. The male host is very friendly and helpful in answering any questions. It is very convenient to downtown Mobile and allowed us easy access to watch the Mardi Gras parades and visit USS Alabama Memorial Park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
Staff very friendly and fulfilled all my requests. I asked to be placed near the restroom and showers since I am in a travel trailer; they placed me right next door to the facility. Very nice. The showers/restrooms were inside a large multi use modular building. They were very clean and plenty of hot water. Only suggestion is a bench or chair to sit on when drying your feet and some hooks to hang towels, clothing etc. Otherwise an excellent facility. Some people have complained that the showers were "small". They are adequate and not as small as an RV shower. They do the job unless you are very large. Would also suggest more than one shower for the ladies. My wife was not happy about that even though there was no problem accessing the showers when she was wanting to. I guess that is a woman thing :-) Enjoyed our 1 night stay and will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
We chose this park for ease of access to I-10 in Mobile and were not disappointed. Park has very easy access from the freeway, although they don’t have direction signs off the main road. The directions in the Trailer Life directory were spot on. The park has good paved interior roads, wide sites, and easy pull-through access. The restrooms and showers are clean, but we didn’t use the showers because they are small. Cable TV was good with large selection of channels. Wi-Fi worked very well with strong signal. Laundry was clean. Management was very helpful with local attractions and directions to anywhere we wanted to go. There is a railroad line close by and train noise was noticeable, but not after 10:30 PM. There is also an airport close by that Navy pilots from Pensacola NAS use for touch and go fly arounds. The Coast Guard also uses the field but this only happens during daylight hours. This park is just off center of the outbound flight path of the planes, but they are only propeller aircraft. Even with this, we would stay here again if we return to the Mobile area. Nightly rate was with a Good Sam 10% discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Very convenient stop along Interstate 10/65. Owner stayed late to insure we got our space - very nice and helpful. A large number of permanent campers but still nice overall. We had a 45 foot RV with a 20 foot trailer and they had one space saved for us. Tight but we made it. Lots of trees - nice but limited Direct TV. Would use this again as a stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Nice RV park, just off interstate I-10 in Mobile. Owner/manager was very accommodating. Pull through sites were long, relatively wide, gravel base, and pretty level. W/S/E very accessible. Lots of what appeared to be permanent residents, but overall park was clean and nice. Did not use amenities as we only stayed overnight. It rained all night but there were no puddles, so the area was well drained. Good place to spend the night if you are just passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Our rate reflects a monthly rate, as we were there for a month long job. This is an older park, probably an ex mobile home park but the electric was great, sewer hook ups and water excellent. Wi-Fi worked great everywhere in the park (we stayed in 2 different areas of the park). A lot of long term RV's there, the overnight pull-throughs were up front near the office. The people there are very friendly as is the owner. Word of CAUTION. When getting off the interstate and down the road to the park, be very aware of the limbs on the road, there are some low hangers. With our 13'3" 5th wheel we had to get in the opposing lane to clear them. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Just a one night stop and lots of trees to get around to get on and off site. WiFi is just okay and cable TV is strong but channel selection is not good. Nobody in the office but a host came off site to get us and show us where to park. Wouldn't want to come in or leave in the dark. Nice people but wouldn't stay here again for reasons other than the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
While this is an older park with diverse rigs and setups, it is clean, and quiet. Management is welcoming and helpful. Some shady sites with room for careful big rig turns, and it's a good value while visiting the area. BUT if you are coming westbound BE AWARE: the exit is a left lane and there is virtually NO advance highway signage to alert drivers of this fact. Here's hoping your GPS lets you know, otherwise it is a dangerous lane change with so little warning. We will use the park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
Friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Facilities were very clean. Sites were gravel but very level and it's in a very quiet part of the city. I-10 was close by with easy on-off. This will most likely become a regular stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
Basic park, convenient location for Mobile attractions. Mostly permanent/long term sites, most of which are well kept. Owner lives on-site and actively manages the park. Park is clean and quiet. Nothing here for kids (a plus to us). Short terms sites are mostly together, with room for a 45' coach and tow. $22/night for FHU 50 amp pull-through! We will stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$22
Small, older park in residential area. Well maintained, roomy sites, spotless bath/shower and laundry. Owner friendly and helpful. We stayed a week for $130, which included taxes, cable TV and Wi-Fi; what you get quoted is what you pay. Close to express ways and airport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
We stayed here for a few months due to my husband's work. We were beyond pleased with this campground. The owner and his maintenance man are both incredibly nice people and are willing to help you with anything you may need help with. The laundry room/bath house was always clean and the laundry is only $1 a load!! For a mom of 3, this makes me happy!! The cable is basic and the internet would go in and out, but for the most time we had no problem with it. The park is kept very clean. We would stay here again if we are ever in the Mobile area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Best value I've seen in a long time. Owner very accommodating. Helped over phone to avoid missing the left hand exit off I-10 W. Gravel sites, but well maintained. We stayed an extra night, because it was quiet, wooded and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
While traveling from Houston to Destin, Fl, we needed to spend a night in Mobile. We learned about this park in the internet, and was very pleased with our stay. We It was easy to get to from I-10 and after check in, pulled into a nice, wide, gravel pull through. it was not very level so I had to disconnect my truck so we could get the 5th wheel level. Normally when we are just setting up for a quick over niight stay we keep the truck hooked up so that we don't disturb our neighbors early in the morning. This was not a deal breaker. During a stroll around the park, we did notice a lot of long term residents, but the site was clean and orderly. There were lots of fully mature trees, so we had plenty of shade. All in all a good place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
This is our second stay at Shady Acres. This is probably the best value of any campground we've stayed at. The owner is friendly and spends time letting you know about some of the main attractions in the area. The only negative was that the site was a little off level, but overall it had everything we needed. The cable TV channel selection is a bit small, but I don't know of any other place that would even offer it at this rate. If you're going to the Mobile area, this is the place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
This is a gem of a little park. Very friendly staff, long level pull throughs, excellent wifi. Cable was spotty so we used the antenna and got plenty of digital stations. Close to I-10. Plenty of shade trees which are welcome in summer. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
This park is an 7 or 8 but could easily be a 10. The good: lots of shade trees, paved roads, gravel sites that are either level or nearly level and very wide, super friendly and helpful staff, clean restrooms (older but clean), clean new looking laundry facilities, good wi-fi, good cable, easy access from I-10, near shopping. The bad: trees block use of Dish or Direct (but the trees are worth the trade off), limited # of TV channels, no tables, some permanent or long term residents that are not very neat. If they cure the bad, they are a 10. OK, there is no pool, but that is NO reason to downgrade them. Only if they have a pool and it is not kept up should they be downgraded. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Great park with nice sites. Easy to find and easy to get into site. Very friendly manager/owner. Was very helpful with information on the area. He acted as if he was here for my convenience. I found this very refreshing. I do not alway feel this when staying in other parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Big bang for the buck. This is a great location, with lots of shaded sites. The only negative is the only shower/toilet is located in the office building. It was very clean, but I would have preferred that there be additional facilities, rather than one for male and female. Except for that, I would have rated higher. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
This place is great. Friendly true southern gentleman met us. Beautiful walk to dog river. Close to everything. Great TV and Wi-Fi. Pull throughs or back ins. Lots of big trees. Easy off, on freeway. Will come back here for a week next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
Was pleasantly surprised how nice a find this park was. Clean and tidy with a very friendly staff. Manager has been here 58 years. Many long term residents. Very roomy gravel sites with easy hook-ups. 25 channels cable TV and WiFi were excellent. Easy in and out with a large unit. Dog friendly. Small bathroom. Will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
Park has only one shower/toilet in the mobile that serves as an office and laundry. The shower, a tub type, was clean but lacks a mat to stand on in the dressing area. Water was hot indicating the park lawyer has not showered here. Other than the single shower, you get a lot for your $20. Excellent Wi-Fi and lots of 4 legged squirrels enjoy this park. This is not an RV Resort but I wasn’t looking for one when I stopped here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Great campground for us and close to shopping and restaurants. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Call to confirm directions as Google Maps has you turning the wrong way. Has very friendly staff. Spots for overnighters are in the front and have easy access to the entrance and exit. Sites are gravel and fairly level. There was some noise from the street and some plane and train noise, but it was quiet enough for sleeping. It's a nice spot for a night or two while visiting the Mobile area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
Tough turns getting to campground as well as in the park. Limited pull-through sites and there are many park model trailers. Our site was level and okay for our 35 footer, but the campground is on a slope. It's an old campground but okay for an overnight stay. Owner very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
Shady Acres is about one mile from I-10 Exit 22. We liked Mobile, this park and its owners so much we stayed five nights instead of our planned three. There are active train tracks 1/4 mile away which are used in the daytime and once or twice at night and the noise did bother us, but not enough to offset this park's many positives. The owners might be the nicest we have ever met(!), the price is low, it is very easy to get to, it is less than four miles to city center, gorgeous big oak trees shade most of the park, there are $1 washers and dryers, and they have the fastest (free) Internet service we have ever found in a campground: 15Mbps down and 12Mbps up according to Speakeasy! The campground is quite near the secondary Mobile airport, but traffic is sparse, does not include anything louder than a turboprop, and we never heard an airplane go over at night. If you listen for the sound of traffic on the Interstate you can hear it, but it is not loud and is steady enough that it blends into the background, unnoticeable to us. The owner led us to our site and helped us park. Roads and sites are crushed rock and the long sites appear to have had a fresh layer added recently. There is not a lot of extra maneuvering room for the biggest rigs except at the front spaces because of the big trees. No hiking to a dumpster. There is a very convenient big trash container, the type a garbage truck can pick up with a hydraulic arm, behind each site. Cable TV service, some channels of which are clear and others not, is limited to 15 channels which are an odd mix of local and cable channels, but at least The Weather Channel is included. Our hookups were in new condition. The family has owned the campground land for four generations. They live on site, just past some trees, down on the Dog River, and invite you to walk down their driveway and through their yard to see the river or to fish. We felt comfortable going for a walk in the modest neighborhood. The location is perfect for seeing Bellingrath Gardens (highly recommended, especially in the Christmas season), the beaches, forts, and the charming town of Fairhope on the other side of Mobile Bay. Be warned that the folks at Bellingrath only tell you photography is not allowed inside the house after you have bought your tickets to tour it. The gardens themselves are spectacular. There are three seafood restaurants near Shady Acres that we did not try. Four miles away, the Tiny Diny's famous breakfasts and home cooking lunches are not to be missed. We toured the Richards DAR house downtown and enjoyed it. Mobile is such a beautiful city we would consider moving there! Everyone is extremely friendly. Our $22 rate would have been $20 with Good Sam. We would stay nowhere else on our next visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
We arrived relatively late in the day for an overnight stay here. Our site was relatively easy to get into -- we were on our own because we got to the park so late. The only real issue we had here was the "transportation noise". Just like the movie, we had planes, trains, and automobiles -- but only until around 10 pm, or so. The campground is just down the road from Mobile International Airport with the big jets roaring overhead all evening. Just like clockwork, the jet takeoffs started up again at around 7am the next morning. Didn't really avail ourselves of the amenities here, so no comments on that part. We tried to see the proprietor in the office at 8am when he said he'd be in, but no one was there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
What a delightful find this campground was! The campground is small and the sites are not very large but we had a pull through which nicely held our motorhome and tow vehicle including two slides. There are a few permanent residents but mostly RV's and trailers. There were several washers and dryers in a clean air conditioned laundry room and the bathrooms had full size tubs/showers in them. Internet was easy to use, as was the cable TV. Don't miss this one if you're going to be in Mobile. It's a great buy with full services. Price reflects Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
We enjoyed our say at Shady Acres. The couple who are the owners live on-site and are very nice, helpful folks. The office/laundry/bath are actually a trailer with a nice front porch complete with a porch swing. The owners were nice enough to provide us with a key so we had access after they closed the office. The laundry had economical washers & dryers that cost much less per load than anywhere else I have done my laundry. There is only one bathroom, because it is the original bathroom in the trailer it also has a large shower/bathtub and it is really nice and very clean. There is also a sitting area/kitchen as well as a sitting room with a lending library of books. We enjoyed swinging on the front porch reading borrowed paperback books while waiting on our laundry in the cool evening breeze. It was wonderful! I would feel safe here, even if traveling with kids. Even though there really isn't anything for children to do at the RV park. If you were traveling with kids and had a day full of other activities, this would certainly be a great place to settle in for the night. There is access to a river at the back of the campground and the owners will be happy to show you how to get there. For us, this was a very convenient, easy to find location situated in a quiet, older, small neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Another one night stay and good, convenient overnight stopping off point. Long level pull through sites, treed and well drained. A very simple facility with no picnic tables or fire pits. Quiet residential neighborhood and the parks atmosphere is the same. Not much to do but comfortable and reasonably priced. We’d stop again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Very nice cg. Host was very helpful and friendly. We had site 21 and it was perfect for our 40' coach and for our one night stay. However, I think at the end of the park it may be a little tighter for big rigs. The park is located in a very quiet residential area right off I-10. As far as is it being leveled, the sites are long enough to find what's best for your needs. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
A quiet campground in a residential neighborhood. We were placed up front in a pull-through that was long enough for our 40' plus tow. Large sharp gravel and no tables but plenty of space between sites for chairs. Spring migration was on so lots of birds singing in the tall live oaks while we were there. No frills and a keyed bath and laundry are available. Restaurants and shopping are about five miles down I-10. Only complaint was the difficulty getting around the narrow corner enroute to the campground from I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This is typical of many parks we have been in, a lot of old mobile homes and RV's taking up a large portion of the cg. That said, the sites up front were for travelers and for the most part were good sites. We had one that we had to back into, the road was a bit tight and on a slope. It was a gravel site and even though it had rained a lot the site was fairly dry. The gentleman in the office was very friendly. We would stay here again if our travels came this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
This is a good campground for a short stay. The overnight rate is reasonble. The free Cable TV is very limited. The free wifi had a good signal(site 48). We had 2 owls that came by every night. The owner/manager is very frendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
A decent park to stay in to explore Mobile. While the owner is very accommodating, the park has some issues. The sites are made up of large sharp gravel. Hard for pets to navigate. The park is located in a residential area, and is wide open to the passing road traffic. The area is a bit seedy, so for supplies it's best to drive a few exits down the freeway. Traffic noise and a near by airport make for some steady background noise. There are many permanent residents, some in park models. It is fairly priced for what is supplied. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Very nice place, small. The price was the Good Sam rate and included cable and a great Wi-Fi signal. The host was very gracious. When we called in our reservation earlier in the day, he said we could call to cancel with no charge and gave us specific directions. There's only 1 bathroom and it's in the office building, but it's large and clean and has a bathtub and shower. It was like showering in someone's house! There is some road noise even though I-10 is a mile or so away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
We stayed here arriving late on a rainy night and left the next morning. Charley is a great host. We called as we were on the way, he took our reservation with the addendum that we could call to cancel with no charge by 6 pm. Nice customer service we haven't found elsewhere. Good Wi-Fi, better than most. Our site (#11) was not level based on where we had to park to attach up. Maybe it was the rain, the site was gravel rock. Nice touch was personal trash receptacle at out site. The price was right for an on-the-road stay. We ate at Ed's Seafood about 8 miles away, fresh but a little salty. Food close to CG is fast food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
Spent the last two weeks here while getting our trucked worked on. Great park, great host. He is adding some sites and reworking some sites. Leveling them and putting in new gravel. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
This was a pleasant stop over for us while on our way to Florida. The owner is a gentleman and very kind, I guess that's why Mobile, Alabama is voted in the top 5 most "polite" cities in America and it shows. We would would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
We were on our way to Florida from Texas and decided to do a stopover here. We liked the campground and the area so we stay a couple of days. This campground is true to its name as almost all of the sites are shaded by large, mature trees. The owner was great and he took time to show us on a map many things to do and see in Mobile. Our site was a pull through with gravel and it was level. Bathrooms and showers were clean and nice and the price is a bargain. If you are want to visit Mobile this is a good place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Was easy to find, right off I-10. We were looking for a place to spend the night on our way home to FL and this fit the bill. Got a pull through site near the office with easy exit. Did not have to unhook the toad. Site was gravel and pretty level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
Nice park at a great rate. As the name indicates it has many mature trees that provide nice shade. Lots of grassy areas to walk a dog. Spaces are gravel and ours was level. Manager was very friendly and helpful. Good wifi connection and good cable tv with about 75 stations. It's very quiet and in a residential area. We would stay here again on our next trip to the Mobile area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
The owner is great. We stayed here a month and would stay again. Sites are gravel and level. We stayed in site 64 and had no problem with neighbor that previous poster had. My only complaint is the cable is very limited while a full lineup is available in the office. This the simplest registration I have ever done. Simply put name and address in a notebook and that is it. Wi-Fi is somewhat hit and miss, but overall is reliable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
Awesome owner. Wish our neighbor in site 65 would have been. Liked to play his outside radio very loud. I did talk to him about it and he got upset. Said he had lived there a year and I was the first to complain about his music. Whatever. Roads are skinny and paved, most sites are gravel. Some sites have a paved patio. We had a back in site. With a HDT and 35 ft trailer took some doing getting around some trees. Getting out was a little easier. The pull-through sites I think would have been easier. Depending on which direction the wind is blowing, can hear I-10, a train horn and planes at the airport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
Rate is with Good Sam discount. Check-in was simple, and owner very accommodating even without a reservation. Our pull-through site was unlevel but was the best site to get satellite TV. Wi-Fi was mostly reliable. The area was quiet, and convenient to the city, although we were surprised at how dead the city was even with a cruise ship in port. The only difficulty we had was making the turn off Old Military Road. We had traffic on our left so we could not make the tight right turn without the on-coming traffic backing up to enable our turn on to the road to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We stayed here for 8 nights to plan for and attend a wedding in Mobile. The park is very nice with large trees and large spaces. We did not have a pull through site which wasn't important because of the length of our stay. The owner was very helpful and friendly. We have a plugged sewer issue which the owner fixed promptly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We stayed in this park after refusing to stay in the "dump" we had planned. We are very glad we did. The owner met us as we pulled in. He insisted on showing us to our site even though it was during a severe thunderstorm with high winds and driving rain. The "sign in" consisted of signing a guest book. The price for a large pull through, 50 amp with Wi-Fi: $20 per night!! It was in a nice, quiet part of town with all services within a couple of miles. No pool, etc., for kids, but great for adults wanting to explore Mobile. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
This park is in kind of a sketchy part of town, with quite a bit of crime according to one long term resident. The sites are very uneven, though very long and wide, giving some opportunity to adjust where the rig sits for getting it level. The wifi was good at our site, but we couldn't get satellite coverage. They do have limited cable. It was easy to find and in a convenient location to explore Mobile. The manager was very friendly and helpful. He gave me a key to the office/laundry/restroom building, so I could do laundry after they locked up for the night (6 pm). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
This is a great spot for snowbirding. Five minutes from downtown Mobile, half an hour to Dauphin Island, convenient to Biloxi and Pensacola. The owner is very welcoming, and like his park, free of all pretensions. It's inexpensive, well-kept, and whatever problem you may encounter, it can be taken care of with ease. Some have given this park poor ratings because they think it is in a "sketchy" part of town, or because it lacks planned activities and child-friendly amenities. If that's what you are seeking, the place is definitely NOT for you. If, however, you are seeking a place that is affordable, where you are trusted implicitly by the owners to behave responsibly, and that's convenient to a lot of things to do and places to see, you will like it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Park is difficult to find on a narrow residential street. Sites are all gravel and definitely not level. Managers are pleasant and willing to help. Lots of long term campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
This is a very old RV park very close to downtown Mobile. There are some very old campers along with some permanent mobile homes in the park. The pull through sites near the front of the park are very large, some of the largest that we have seen. They advertise access to the Dog River and a pier, but I haven't checked them out. Heard that there were alligators in the area! A nice place to stay while visiting Mobile. Very close to the major attractions and about an hour from Biloxi. Big drawback that I can see for families is there is no pool or play area that I've seen. Very good Wi-Fi connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com