218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Inks Lake State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (512) 793-2223
CGID4918

Inks Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   6   9   9   7   9   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
This state park is mostly campground. There are some trails around the entrance station where you might avoid the crowd, but for the most part you will always be within sight of people. Since Texas state parks take reservations but not sites, you are in the unknown with regard to what site you will get, so it was annoying being told by the entrance station attendant to pick a site from those available, sight unseen. We picked one, drove in, did not like the site, went back, and picked another. I aked if they had pictures of each site, and the answer was "no". Summary: Check in is cumbersome. Campsites are a narrow strip of asphalt, with a relatively spacious area to spread out in. Sites on the lake side of the road are very open with trees, sometimes open with no trees, and little shrubbery to separate sites. On the non lake side, it appeared campsites had some vegetation separating sites. our site, #81, was superb for birdwatching. Hookups were perfect. Site was sloped, but easily leveled. C Spire phone service was 4 bar 3G. OVer-the-air was terrible with only 3 channels received. Bicycling was okay, running along with traffic on the main park road and through loops. We rented a canoe for $15 per hour, and it was nice out on the lake. Camp store was pricey. Star gazing event was $4 per person, but we did not attend since we already have a a telescope. The best part of being here was the bird life and wildflowers. Roadrunners rule! Cuckoos, vireos, painted buntings, numerous doves, and screech owls were constantly in the campsite. We would camp here again, and try to get site #81 because of the shade, brush, birds, and lizards. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$22
We stayed again at Ink Lake state park and had a great time. The park is beautiful and the staff very helpful. I wish they would add more 50 amp sites and sewer service for longer stays. The staff is friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$22
$22 per night was for a 50-amp electric and water site. A daily entrance fee is also charged unless you have a $70 Texas State Parks Pass, which is good to cover entry fee to all state parks for one year. There are several campgrounds located within the heavily treed park that offer everything from back country camping to water/electric sites on semi-level asphalt pads. The site itself is dirt with a concrete pad for the picnic table. Each site does have a fire ring and some have a BBQ grill as well. The park is located one hour NW of Austin and one hour N of San Antonio. If you like hiking there are 7.5 miles of trails. Fishing/boating is available on Inks Lake. Spacing between the sites is generous. We received four bars 4G on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot (there is Wi-Fi throughout the park but it was very weak at our site) and it worked very well. We received only one over-the-air TV station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
The park maps here seem to show camp sites near the bathhouse, but watch out -- the baths are up hills that are about 3 blocks or more away. It's a nice lake with a fishing pier, and no fishing license is required in TX state parks. The sites are almost level, and do have trees and some grass. The restrooms are clean, but they have no soap or paper towels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
This is a beautiful park with great facilities and lots to do. There is camping, backpacking, hiking, geocaching, swimming, boating, water skiing, scuba diving, and fishing. Most campsites have good spacing from neighbors and some shade. There is lots of interesting geology and wildlife. There is a cafe and grocery store, as well as canoe, kayak, and pedal boat rentals. Campsites are in good shape and close to the water. It is a very popular park, so reservations are recommended for weekends and holidays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
We have stayed here many times and we will be back again and again. Big park with very big sites - most are. We always try to get one of the many lakefront spots as we have kayaks which makes it very convenient for us. Some of the restrooms are in need of a makeover, but most are good. My only complaint (which applies to all Texas state parks) is that you cannot reserve a particular site - it's first come first served in the day you are to arrive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
This is a large, meandering, park with lots of trees where you might want to ask to see sites before taking one. Our assigned site on the lake was occupied by someone else, which was okay because it was very unlevel and we wouldn’t have been able to back into it anyway. The sites away from the lake front are more spacious, easier to access, and still very attractive. Staff were friendly enough, although obviously very busy. All in all, a nice enough place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
This park is really nice. The sites are spaced well apart and are clean. We stayed in site 289 which was right on the lake. We just left our kayaks at the shore and went paddling many times. Our Labrador Retriever loved playing in the water although he was supposed to be on a 6' leash. Because we were here during the week no one came around to make us leash him and he played freely in the water. We were also on a "no wake" zone so kayaking was very enjoyable. We paddled down to Devils Watering Hole and saw many turtles resting on rocks and one mother goose sitting on her eggs. We were here for 5 nights. The Texas Parks Pass paid for itself with this stay. Nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
July 4th week, so we expected it to be crowded, and it was. Very little shade, so the a/c ran non stop, which is not usually an issue in most RV parks. The voltage ran a little low at Inks Lake, causing our breaker to blow frequently and the a/c to cut off. We camp at a lot of state parks and Texas frequently makes appeals for financial help, due to cuts in state funding. I want to give a tip, if you want people to spend money in your park to save your jobs, you need to be friendly to them. The ladies at the state park store got the award for "most rude". A visitor at our site got a written warning for not having paid to get in, yet her receipt/tag was taped to her windshield. The speed limit was 15, yet people drove by our site like it was a race track, including employees in marked state vehicles. We won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Have stayed here since I was 10 years old for many camping trips. I am now 51, still like bringing my own family here. Very nice place to stay with your family. Patrolled good by park personnel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
Inks Lake is a wonderful place for kids and families. The place was packed and noisy on the weekends, empty and peaceful during the weekdays. Great hiking, biking, and water-related activities. Very scenic. Lots to do and see, and the lake level remains normal even during a bad drought thanks to underground aquifers. The park can accommodate 40’ rigs, but just barely. We squished our slide topper trying to make a very tight left turn while exiting the park. Almost all sites are out of level to an extreme degree. I would suggest arriving Monday-Thursday to select a good site, and be sure to have plenty of leveling blocks. We had 6, they were inadequate. All in all a very nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
This park is a little slice of Heaven. We were in an absolutely wonderful site, 267 , by the waterfront with lots of level paved room, and a huge mowed lawn with unobstructed views to the lake. Best site we have ever had. And there were many other fantastic sites. It is first come first serve and we arrived on Monday and had a choice of 2 or 3 lake front sites. in the 200 loop. Bathrooms were clean. Showers are unisex which I do not like as much but they were mostly clean and my husband liked much better because they are big and secure. We have hike all 4 nature trails and the wildflowers are the best we have ever seen anywhere and we have been all over the US . We live 1200 miles away but we will be back to this gem of a state park. It is about 10 to 15 miles to nearest town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
We love it here, been here before and will return. Great State Park, very friendly and helpful staff and fellow campers. Can't say enough good things about this park, they even now have a few sites with sewer. One of our most favorite parks, hands down. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Stayed here for 3 days and 4 nights during February. Great State Park with friendly and courteous rangers and park host. Was assigned a site to accommodate my fifth wheel. Once I got to the site it was occupied, but they had given me other sites to choose from to accommodate the rig. They too were occupied. Chose a different site that was great. Had a view of the lake from three sides of the RV. Park Rangers took the time to identify the different birds that we were seeing as we looked around the park store. As we were leaving, a park host offered to help me as I used the trailer dump station. Once the Rangers found out that my wife and I had an opportunity to be a park host at another state park, the staff was trying to recruit us for the summer months. Only advise I would give, is that if you plan on staying at Inks Lake State Park, make your reservations early. I have been trying to get a three day week end since February with no openings 3 days in a row on a week end. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
We camp here every Memorial Day and Labor Day. The park is completely full plus the dozens of "day users" that come in. The Rangers always do an awesome job of controlling and containing any rowdy or unlawful behavior. They have a new concession stand on site (Chris' Landing). It looked busy but we didn't try it out. It certainly helps during this long Texas drought that Inks is a constantly level lake. The water was cool and refreshing, the sites are spacious and some shaded and/ or right on the lake. We're looking forward to our trip Labor Day! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
After much research, we chose Inks Lake State Park to begin our Hill Country motorhome tour. Arriving in the rain, the rangers in park headquarters were very helpful and picked out everyone's favorite camping spot, #92, which is a few feet from the water's edge and has a panoramic view of the lake. We purchased a Texas State Park Pass for this trip and our 4-day stop here already paid for half the $60 cost. The sites are level, gravel back ins with lots of shade. Clean restrooms and showers were a welcome sight. The on site camp store had all the necessities, including ice. I would highly recommend this park. We spent most of our time biking, hiking, relaxing and fishing in this very well run and clean park, only venturing out to do laundry in Burnet, pick up supplies at the Wal-Mart in Marble Falls, and visit a few antique stores in Llano. We only ate out once, at the Highlander in Burnet. Good, southern food buffet for only $8.99. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
Lots of sites right on the lake. Good fishing. Very busy park on the weekends. Interesting geology tour on the weekend is offered by the rangers. Great WiFi close to the restrooms. Texas censors what can be seen on their WiFi, and requires an annoying acceptance of their restrictions at least daily, which can shut down the link. Not very close to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Our family really enjoyed this park, there was something for everyone. The kids enjoyed the fishing pier, the swimming hole and cruising the huge park on their bikes. We also enjoyed the same amenities but also the spacious sites and the abundance of wildlife present in the park. Most sites are shady and there are quite a few of waterfront sites if you get here early enough to get one. We did have to level in our site and so did our friends in the next site over. The store was nice and also kayak and canoes were available for rental. The restrooms and showers were fairly clean for a Labor Day weekend. Another plus is the close proximity to Longhorn Caverns State Park. We will return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This is a great campground. It is very kid friendly, with lots of things to do and a lot of wild life. We will be back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We stay here several times a year. It's always great. Texas now has a new state reservation system. If you want in the 200# sites (by Devil's Waterhole) you MUST reserve a 50 amp site -- whether you need it or not for your RV/Pop Up. The poles have both 50/30amp but if you reserve for 30amp you will NOT be on the east side of the park. Also Internet is extremely unreliable. I was never able to get a connection either at the park store or the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This is an incredible park on a beautiful lake. The showers and bathrooms were reasonably clean, though not perfect. It did not seem that they were cleaned daily. The sites vary greatly in terms of size and amenities. Our only complaint is that on the weekends, the park gets very full and sometimes loud. It is definitely a family oriented park, and therefore on the weekends it is full with kids and pets etc. We would stay again. We were here 10 days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
This is another fantastic Texas State Park. Well run, clean and has friendly staff and campers. The lake is beautiful and peaceful with some wildlife roaming around. We had a great lakeside site, and it is close to Seminole Cavern State Park so we did the cavern tour too. It's a nice park to just go out and walk around. Our Verizon air card worked great, but neither our Verizon or Sprint cell phones worked here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
This is a typical Texas State Park...very nice! I would say that the only drawback is that it is one of the most confusing layouts I've ever experienced. Most of the time, it doesn't take me long to figure out where I am going, but this campground had many winding roads that lead you where you don't want to go. The lake is small but beautiful and the wildlife is plentiful. Really nice hikes of various difficulties. We visited on what is usually an off season time and the park seemed quite full. This had pretty much everything I could want. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This is one of the best of the Texas State Parks. The lake is beautiful and at a constant level, so it's always full despite the drought. Boat rentals are available, and there's a small store in the park. Both have fairly reasonable prices. Sites are level and clean. A great deal of activity is visible from both the park employees and camp hosts. When we were here the park was completely full. A couple of caveats: the park has many loops and roads, which can be confusing, especially at night. The route to the exit is not well marked, so be sure you keep a park map in your vehicle. The daily fee for a water & electric site is $20, but there is also a daily fee of $5 per adult and, if you bring more rolling stock than a trailer and tow vehicle, there's a $6 daily fee for each extra vehicle. We enjoyed our stay and will come back some day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
This is our favorite Texas State Park! It’s pretty easy to get a lake front spot and just a beautiful setting. Several of the restrooms and showers have been remodeled for more security and privacy. However, the facilities have no AC and they have very poor ventilation. Walking into the individual shower rooms is like walking into a sauna. We were there over the 4th of July when the park was very full. It looked like the restrooms were cleaned daily. You can rent canoes and kayaks for a reasonable price at the camp store. Devil's Watering Hole is a must see! We will go back here every year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
This is a great state park, although I wish they had more professional office staff. The two young people made a mess out of our reservation and basically said it was up to me to kick someone out of our reserved site. Yikes. (These folks weren't rangers, probably just college students in summer jobs.) Other than that, it is a gorgeous setting with lots to do. It includes a camp store, boat rentals, and etc. Many sites have shade trees and are on the water. The place does get busy on the weekends; we were here Tues-Sun and sure like Tues-Thurs best. I liked the place so much that we bought a Texas State Park pass, even though we don't live in TX. We do come through here a lot, so we'll get the use out of it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
Absolutely great! Has the It-factor! Great well spaced sites. Wi-Fi has been added and most of the restrooms/showers have been rebuilt. They are well planned and kept clean. Started with a one day stay and extended two more days. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
Inks Lake is a great campground. We had a blast and this is probably our favorite Texas campground so far. There is tons to do from and the area is just beautiful. We enjoyed kayaking, swimming and fishing in the lake. The only reason I didn't rate it a 10 was that 3 of the bathhouses were under renovation and were unusable making the one in our area of the park extremely busy and crowded on a memorial day weekend. We will definitely stay at Inks Lake again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
A fabulous find. Very scenic and quiet in the middle of the week. We stayed Monday - Thursday and couldn't extend as campground was full from reservations. Understand the weekends are a far cry from the serenity we enjoyed. We hiked all the trails, some more scenic than others, but all good exercise. Thought we would ride bikes on trails, but numerous rock outcropping made the trails more suitable for feet than bikes. Rate reflects Texas State Park Pass, otherwise daily entrance fee is $5. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$38
We spent the weekend at Inks Lake State Park. Beautiful Park, campsites right on the lake, lots of trees, several nature trails. The sites were paved and near level. Fishing was said to be great, but I did not get a chance to fish. Our camping club FCRV spent the weekend their as guest (no charge) in return for a day of work. The only drawback was the lack of sewer hooks ups (they had water and electricity). They were in the process of replacing the bathrooms. Many of the old ones had been bulldozed and they were awaiting new prefab bathhouses. I don’t know what the new ones will be like, the old ones seemed fine to me. Many trees were close to the sites, requiring careful backing. Pricing: $18.00 per site plus $5.00 per person We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
A very nice state park. Some spots are for small trailers only. About half the sites are lake front. The staff is very nice, things are kept clean and well maintained. It can get kind of crowded during the weekends. We camped with friends and had a couple of sites. Each one had a fire pit/BBQ, nice table on slab, good shade trees and was level. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
This park is an excellent park with a friendly and informative staff. They have a number of instructional classes and adventure tours. We took a kayaking instructional class and they the park ranger took us on a kayak adventure to Devil's Hole. It was both fun and informative. There area for swimming in the lake and great roads for biking. Absolutely beautiful flora. This is a family friendly park. There is a nice playground for children and great picnic areas. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Too expensive to visit. Very crowded when we went on a Sunday afternoon. Rather tight driving big home. Constant level lake is nice though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Great family park on a beautiful lake. Nice hiking areas and lots of wildlife. Deer are around all the time. Camp store on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$18
Fairly spacious state park. Some sites level enough, others mild to moderate slopes. Surroundings by the lake are very nice and relaxing. There is an in park store and no lack of people in the park from day users to over night users. Some of the older park has some pretty trick turns but nothing unmangable. Try to get here early. I had one heck of a time backing my 30' TT into our space. This is a very popular park and we got there with only 3 total spaces left. Lots of shade in various places, water access is everywhere. We did a 24 hour canoe rental and canoed to different areas including parks and swimming areas. Overall above average state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
Beautiful lake in the Texas Hill country with a 9 hole golf course up the road. You can go swimming in the Devil's Waterhole and jump off the rocks. Park rents paddle boats, kayaks, canoes, etc. Nice playgrounds, hiking trails and plenty of places to ride your bike. Some areas are tight especially for big Rigs. We have a 37' 5er and scraped a few branches getting to our spot. There are only 2 pull throughs and we got one of them, unfortunately we were too tall to pull through. I was able to pull in far enough to setup, but when we left we had to back out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com