214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Sounds of the Sea RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (707) 677-3271
CGID492

Sounds of the Sea RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   8   8   8   8   5   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Of the ten or so RV parks we have stayed at in the past month on our travels up the coast of California and Oregon, this park, by far, was the best overall. The owners live on the property and tend to it well. If there are any long term residents, it's not evident. The showers and laundry facilities are clean and pleasant. The WiFi is super fast. The gym was a pleasant surprise, with all machines in working order. We were offered a cash rate of $33 per night for full hookups, but I would pay more and I have, for much less. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
This is a spacious park that combines a nice setting with excellent amenities. We had a site that backed up to a small patio with a swing and a view of the ocean through the trees. We had strong 50-amp electric, good water pressure and sewer. Although we had a cable hookup we didn’t use it because our spot had easy satellite acquisition. The wifi was free and adequate. There is plenty of space for maneuvering big rigs. Trinidad is a nice little community and nearby Patrick’s Point State Park has some great views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Very clean and well-kept RV park. Good Sam rate for full hookup, back-in. Site was level, gravel, with a picnic table. Quiet at night. WiFi worked great. Lots of cable TV channels. About a 1/2 mile walk to the State Park entrance, unless you choose to drive. Use the north exit off Hwy-101, as the road is rough coming from the south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
This was a great choice and we liked it so much that we stayed for the entire week. We spent a couple of nights in the spot close to the ocean which are shaded and then moved to a spot on the lower level in the back row. Both sites were spacious and fairly level. The park is well maintained and the owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. It was one of the most quiet parks that I have stayed in! The rate reflected a Good Sam discount. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
This is a very nice clean RV park. We enjoyed the views and the sounds of the sea lions barking. We easily walked to Patrick's Point SP. We used the showers, which were very clean. Considering the price of some places in the area, this was a gem! Only drawback was people a few spaces down had left their dog in their RV and it barked all afternoon - annoying, but not really the park's fault! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
We really liked this park. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The grounds are lush, carved out of the redwood forest and wild blackberry thicket. Most of the sites are large, can accommodate the largest RVs, and have large grassy lawns adjacent. Only a few spots (the pull through spots on the lower level) are not spacious. Sites are leveled gravel pads. You can glimpse the ocean from most of park and hear the sea lions barking, as well. Wi-Fi was pretty good, except in the rain. Laundry was clean with newer HE washers and dryers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Rate reflects current Good Sam rate for a "premium" site on the lower level. These sites are closest to the ocean and well shaded, although more tightly packed than the "less premium" sites further back on the same level. There was little road noise and lots of sea lion sounds. It appears that about half the park is full timers and rental park models, but all are well kept. The staff was very friendly and the restrooms were clean though in need of some upgrading and repairs (plywood covering skylight openings). Some sites have small wooden decks; ours had a ocean view half round table made from a slice of a large old redwood tree. Nature path/dog walking area is several loops of grass mowed through the blackberries, and the dogs thoroughly enjoyed all the smells. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Clean park. Sites for big rigs are too small. Not easy to get into the site or get out. Site Narrow. Nice location. Nice host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We were on the lower level, good spacing between sites, level gravel. WiFi and cable TV worked great. Restrooms - showers were clean , need some hooks in the shower area. Quiet at night and grounds were very clean. Exercise room available. Exit Hwy 101 at #734 as road south of RV park is in bad shape. Friendly staff, we stayed three nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Wonderful older park. We had a view of the ocean from our site and could hear the sea lions each day. Very clean park and convenient to the beach. The grounds and flowers are lovely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This is an average park. Internet and cable worked great but the hot tub was not working. We had deer walk through the site next to us and we could hear the sea lions. It was easy in and out. It was a bit of a walk down the road to get to the state park trails. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This park is nice but not anything like it's website looks! We were a little disappointed because we thought we'd have a much better view of the ocean. It is really just a little view through the trees but the fog prevents you from seeing the ocean. The park is across the street from the ocean which is not obvious from the website pictures. The people are very friendly and helpful and the restrooms and showers very clean. Nice laundry room and weight room. Hot tub was not working while we were there. It is quite close to Patrick's Point State Park and that is great. It is a nice park but not quite what the website portrays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$51
I was a little disappointed with this park for the price. The park has well maintained grounds, but the sites are not 100% level, there is some good terracing up the hillside, but the sea view is very limited to between the trees. We took a premium site for this reason and were disappointed. The other strange thing was that there are no locks on the toilet doors, 2 of the showers in the ladies did not work, especially if the washing machine was being used and there were no lights in the showers. Otherwise we loved the area and walked to the State Park to see the Sea Lions and do some rock pooling (about 30 minutes). We stayed 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Great location. We had a premium ocean site which is actually a view through trees. But it is beautiful and you hear sea lions from your camp site. Laundry area is extremely clean. Wi-Fi was the best. Spotty cell phone service in this entire area because of all the trees. Our site had its own fire pit which was nice: even if we had a skunk join us at the fire one night. Great central location to spend time visiting both sections of the Redwoods. Highly suggest staying here, but bring your own firewood with you. It is around $8 a bundle in this area if you can find any. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Had a nice wide back-in site with a large grass area. The WiFi worked very well. Stayed 3 nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
The previous review is correct about the condition of the park. There are a lot of flowers & it looks very pretty. However, the owner is very moody. When we arrived, we had reserved a pull through with the internet rate, which was the cash price. The lady I spoke to, at the time of reserving said I could write a check. The guy said no way, I'd have to go to the bank and get cash if I wanted that price. He would charge us full price and if we brought in cash he would refund the difference. I think he should have honored what we were told. The "pull-through" lot, was not a pull through for a 40' motorhome, so he told us to back it in. It was on the corner and was completely grass. Good thing we have heavy pads for our jacks because the pads were completely buried by the time we left. I like having grass but there was no patio so we had to put our outdoor carpet on the grass. One of the ladies working here told us the owner wouldn't like that, but I said if I had a patio I'd remove it, but otherwise it stayed. Don't pay a premium for an ocean view, you can see it at a distance through the trees. Those are the only ones with shade, but since the sun didn't shine the entire time we were here, it really didn't matter. The rest of the pull throughs are all gravel and very narrow, so I would agree with the previous reviewer, ask for a back in site. The location is good for seeing the redwoods and the Avenue of the Giants, but I might check out some of the other parks around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Owner takes pride in immaculate, well-manicured and beautiful grounds within walking distance of state park. Restrooms and showers are clean; laundry room is good. Pull through sites are narrow if you have slideouts; opt for a back-in, which are wider and have grass. We stayed for three nights; location is great for Redwood Parks' trips and easy accessibility. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
We stayed 5 nights with full hookups. Bathrooms had a major water leak from a broken water main. They were fixing it while we were there. Park is old, but clean and well maintained. It has lots of permanent residents. We paid extra for an ocean view, but had to back into the site in order to use the hookups. Rather disappointed with the view! No signage on Highway 101 to let you know where they are located. Small narrow roads made it hard to disconnect/connect our tow vehicle. Entrance driveway into RV park is in disrepair. Most likely will not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
We chose this park based on the name and it did not disappoint. We could hear the sea lions on the rocks below the entire time we were here. Our site had a pretty view of the waves crashing on the rocks below, but it was also in full shade and thus was cold inside. Might choose a site up on the terraced area in the sunshine next time. The park is nice with good cable and Wifi. Showers and laundry are older but efficient and clean. We would stay here again. Loved the peace and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Nice quiet camp. The only noise was the Sea Lions from the nearby park. The road south of it is in really bad shape so approach from the north. Good Wi-Fi and cable. Nice friendly staff. The owners house/office is a 1911 school house. This is our 2nd visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This is our absolute favorite full service RV park when visiting Trinidad, which we do several times each year. We have found the facilities to "always" be clean, welcoming, and impeccably maintained. The owner spends a great deal of time personally working the property and as he lives on site is available for questions. We brought our entire family here for a reunion, so had several sites and rented a cabin for those that did not have rigs. The cabin was clean and well stocked and reasonably priced. We camped in the Super Sites, so had lots of space with an distant ocean view, and great privacy. Other sites have ample room, but not quite the amenities as the super sites. You may want to ask for the lower sites that back towards a shaded view of the ocean. On a visit 2 years ago we had a problem with our 5th wheel slide on a Holiday. The owner was most helpful to direct me to the best repair location in the area and came by several times to make sure we were OK. Much can be written about the surrounding area including one of the jewels of the California State Park system (Patrick's Point State Park). The other must see places are too many to list here, but look in the office to find good information or ask the owner. If you are looking for a quality RV park in the best location while visiting Trinidad, Sounds of the Sea is your best bet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We stay in this park 3-4 times a year; it is across the street from the ocean, and two of the sites are ocean view. It is about a mile from Patricks Point State Park, which we love. There are many trails within the park to the ocean (not within the RV park). The town of Trinidad is charming-this park is about 5 miles north. The staff is friendly and everything is clean. Cable TV and Internet is available. We certainly will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Standard back-in or pull-through sites, level gravel, with a picnic table and section of grass. Park was immaculate, rest rooms and showers were clean. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV worked fine. We stayed in the flat lower section of the park (sites are side by side), eight more site up the hill, each with a wooden patio and table (more separation between RVs). Quiet at night. Group fire pits in different areas. Staff was helpful with local information. Store in the office has basic supplies, or you are 6 miles from town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Low water pressure. We didn't even have enough water to properly flush our toilet in the motorhome. It was NOT our filter, pressure was great at the next RV park. Website alludes to water front views, and fantastic ocean scenery, but it's not visible from the park due to heavy, heavy tree growth at the property line. Don't pay for the "premium site" it's not worth it. Beautiful Patrick's Point State Park a couple of miles down the road will give you the beach and all the scenery. Nice laundry facility. Steep hill going up to the sites but easy to get into site. Quite a few park models in the park but still room for big rigs. Sites are not wide but enough room to put out slides and chairs. Neighbors are close on each side. We probably would not stay here again because of water pressure. AT&T cell service was terrible here, not the fault of the park. Verizon air card was ok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
The park was well maintained and very clean. We were concerned we would not be able to get the 5th wheel in because of the uphill entrance, but had no problem. The hiking was spectacular and the sunset view was amazing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
This park was a nice surprise. When we arrived we were a little disappointed that we couldn't see the ocean, but the next day the fog cleared and we could. The TV and internet was excellent and the town of Trinidad was delightful, ocean views are great! Good sized pull through site and the spa was wonderful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Nice park with good facilities, we camped there in a group, we would go again. A little dated and the store is not stocked well, but the location is excellent and the grounds are great. Trinidad is a beautiful area for outdoor activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$54
We stayed for three nights in one of the "super sites", which are gravel with a small grassy area. These sites do have an ocean view, although no direct access to the beach. The laundry room was spotless, and the bathhouse was dated but clean. The price was a little steep (2 adults, 2 kids), but the location is good for day trips to Patricks Point and Prairie Creek St. Parks as well as downtown Eureka. Check-in was easy and the staff was pleasant. We'll stay here again next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Clean and friendly, just missing a little bit like paper towels in restrooms and somewhere to put your clothes during a shower. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This park was a great disappointment from the spacious ad they had in Woodall's. The ad shows ocean overlook sites, but when you get here you can see a little patch of water between some trees and the roof of someone's house. The site they gave us was way too small for a 30 foot motorhome. I was right up next to the utilities on one side and their rotting deck on the other. You couldn't get out of the motorhome without wedging yourself between the deck railing and the motorhome. I had a heck of a time getting out in the morning. You had to pull up a steep hill and make a sharp turn to the left but there wasn't enough clearance for the rear of the MH. The grounds are neat and well kept. I don't know what they mean by a super lot. The WiFi was very good. The walk to the beach sneaks you into the state park through a trail off the highway. The park people should put a toll booth up there. It was a very long walk to get a look at the ocean. This was the most we have paid for a campsite anywhere, and we have been in some real nice ones. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Stayed here for a week in one of the Super Sites. They are very nice and indeed have a view of the Ocean. Each has a nice deck. This place is clean, nicely landscaped and the owners are very friendly. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
This delightful, small park is well-landscaped, quiet and is a nice overnight stopover. You have to have better ears than mine, however, to hear the actual “sounds of the sea,” which is accessible only by way of a three-quarter mile walk along a fairly narrow street with narrow shoulders. Wi-fi worked great, but water pressure, at about 30 psi, was too low. Long termers took-up about half the spaces, but mostly at a level that is separate from the short term spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
Quiet and nice: you can hear the sea otters on the beach across the road. Everything was clean and tidy. We had a pull-through site and there was ample room for the motorhome and toad. The staff was helpful when asked about restaurants and what to see in the area. Showers were hot and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
Wow, what a great park. The sites were plenty long and wide. The hookups worked great. It was nice and quiet and close to the beaches and the Redwoods. The staff was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
After reading some of the comments on this site, I was thinking we may need to cancel our reservation. However, we didn't and we stayed here all of last week. I have to say it was great. The owners were nice and helpful. The facilities are all clean and well kept. It was a very adult and quiet, which was perfect. Some of the sites are a bit close together, but it really wasn't a big deal. Pets are welcome as long as you are responsible with them. The owners of the property didn't care what they were doing as long as the pets parents were cleaning up after them and not letting them run a-muck. I gave them a 9 out of 10 simply because of the sites being close together. But I would certainly stay here again and I would highly recommend them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This was a nice park. Small and quiet. We just camped overnight but did not have any problems. It is kind of close to move around but the spaces were wide enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
We enjoyed an off season rate for a nice pull-through with patio, chairs and table. A peaceful park with full hook-ups. Our cell phones, air-card and satellite TV worked without issue. Half dozen stored trailers and park models yield a tired, cobbled look upon entry; however the warm, friendly staff helped offset that first impression. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
Good stop for exploring the area. Park is gravel, half permanent sites but well kept. Staff friendly. Free wifi, excercise room. No playground for kids, but state park is 1 mile up the road. Very limited options for shopping, gas up and fill the fridge before heading out. We visited Prairie Creek and Fern Canyon from here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
A very nice park. It was quiet, clean, and well maintained. We had a site with an ocean view and there was a huge gnarly tree and lush green vegetation outside our back window. We had an internet connection but it was weak. The downside was that spaces are close together. But then we're used to national and state parks where the sites tend to be farther apart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
Nice park, no complaints except the sites were close together. Wifi worked fine for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
We stayed for two months and loved it. Beautiful landscaping, great cable and Wi-Fi, friendly owner and staff, nice workout room, large hot tub, beautiful setting across the street from the cliffs overlooking the Pacific. You could hear the waves and the sounds of the sea lions. Convenient to Trinidad and Eureka, within walking distance of Patrick's Point State Park and Agate Beach. Trinidad is a charming, beautiful city. DON'T MISS IT!! If you like privacy, they have large sites on a hillside where you have your own private deck and are at least 20 - 30 feet away from the next RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
What a difference driving another 50 feet north from View Crest Lodge. We left a slum and found paradise! Great managers! Clean friendly park. We'll come back next year for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This is a neat and clean park, but the sites are darned small for a big rig. Also, in order to "hear the sounds of the sea and the seals on the rocks" as they claim, you better have a bionic ear. It is up a hill and a significant distance across the road from the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Well, if you like the cool weather in the hot summer, the sounds of the ocean and seals at your RV site, a pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff, you will love this Park. Our only regret was that we could not stay more than one night. It is down in our book as a "Must Return" spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
We stayed here June 1 - 3, 2005 on one of the "Super Sites" with patio & fire ring, and a very nice ocean view. The park & facilities were spotless with a friendly staff. Trinidad has alot to offer for the varied interests of our family and we plan to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$35
I stayed here for two days in summer of 2004. I had made a two week advance reservation for a "super site" and arrived to find it occupied. They put me into another site and told me my refund for the difference would be taken care of the next day. I went to the office the next day, close to closing time, and my refund was still not processed. I was then told the price difference between my expected site and occupied site was only $3.00 a day. The sign on the wall said it would be $5.00 a day. Not a big deal, just principal. Never did receive refund. Nice area, poor management of park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Stayed here in April so we got winter rates. You can see the ocean from most sites and can hear sea lions barking off in the distance. Has wi-fi wireless computer network with up to 54Mps (G) connection. Has Cox cable TV with about 70 channels. Nice owners who were accessible most of the time. Also has some rentals. We ended up here after staying one day in another park in the area. I spent the next day checking out several parks in the area and would stay at this park again if visiting this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$20
A great location in the Redwoods of Northern California near the Pacific. I really liked the area and the Park was very relaxing and peaceful. The only parks I give "10's" to however are fully landscaped, grass and paved sites, such as Benbow Golf and RV Resort in Garberville which we stayed at on the way up north. This park does not have those types of sites, but I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Stayed 7 days off season early December. A few long pull throughs, lots of back-ins. Only a few sites gave ocean view. We used their most expensive site, ocean view, under trees. Restroom and shower were very clean, lots of hot water and no pay showers, but no soap in restroom. They had serious roof leakage in laundry/modem hub area during several days of rain. Cable TV was substandard signal and power was sometimes low. This was on 30 Amp. Staff was nice, but only there mid day. We would stay there again, but there is are better camps in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com