223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Maryhill State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (360) 902-8844
CGID4928

Maryhill State Park

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   7   8   5   10   10   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Nice park right next to the Columbia River. There isn't much to do, but the campsites are nice, with a good deal of shade in the northern part of the park. The campground is set up as a circle, with the back in sites on the inside of the circle and the pull through sites on the outside. It's very windy here, as the Columbia River gorge is famous for. There is a small swimming area cordoned off in the Columbia River, but it was too cold to swim in mid-June. There is a train that rolls through all night, every couple of hours. It sounds it's horn, but it wasn't too bothersome for me. I tend to be a pretty generous reviewer, and this is a simple campground, but it's a nice setting and was a nice stop after a long night of driving. They have a very large day use area next to the campground for large parties. You could host a pretty large gathering if you had several RVs traveling together. What I remember most about the site is how green everything was and the beautiful trees. Lots of room to walk the dogs and even take them through the largely unoccupied group/day use area. I wouldn't stay more than two nights (one night was perfect), but it's a nice place to rest in pretty open country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
The sites are gigantic and it is steps from the Columbia River. The sunset was beautiful. For the $, though... the bathrooms are concrete with a drain in the middle of the floor, funky wooden stalls. It sort of looks like a penitentiary. The waste drains at the RV sites are ridiculous, hooking up to them with our standard hose was impossible. We had to have one person hold the hose while the other opened the gates. After draining, we closed the gates till the next time. We enjoyed the big grassy sites, but not the amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Nice park, sites are grouped in the center of the park with plenty of grass to wander around on. Very nice place to take kids, lots of room to run, play and ride bikes. Restrooms were well kept, staff was nice, camp host was excellent. No wi-fi, kind of nice to disconnect. When we were there in June there was a great fruit stand between the camp and the bridge. A little noise from the trucks transitioning to the bridge, but not enough to bother us. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Pretty grounds at this park: wooded with nice lawns. The sites are level and pretty large. The restrooms were clean and the park is tidy and well kept. There is a lot of noise from both the highway that runs along the park, and the trains that also abut the park. Very noisy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
We didn't stay here but perused it for future use. We found a beautiful park with well spaced level sites with lush green grass that are well shaded by deciduous trees. Restroom/showers appeared clean and well maintained 53 sites have FHU while the rest are unserviced tent sites, well separated from the RV sites. It is adjacent to both RxR tracks and Hwy 97 so some noise can be expected. No Wi-Fi or cable and a high price brought the rating down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
I am very disappointed with Maryhill. We have stayed here numerous times and always had a wonderful experience. This time it was quite different. The showers were too hot to stand under and after paying over $40 for one night I thought having to pay was unreasonable. Wonder what this $5 deposit for non residents is when you make a reservation? Sites looked like they needed some serious attention, scorched grass and lots of prickly weeds. The site we had was a pull through full hook up, but the sewer connection could not be used as it was too high and the site sloped down so we had to use the dump on leaving. I was also disappointed to see loose dogs running around the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
This is a fantastic park. This is the third time we've been here, and would come again. Sites are large, spaced out, with a lot of grassy areas and trees for shade. It can be windy, especially right on the river,so be prepared. But it's fun to watch the wind surfers on the Columbia! Great views of the river. Everything is very clean, well cared for, and it has been very quiet each time we've been here. There is a very nice day-use area, with a beach and picnic areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Clean, well maintained state park on the Columbia River. Sites are very open with little vegetation for privacy, but with very many tall, beautiful, excellent shade trees. These trees are very pretty in the Fall when we've been here. This park is near the railroad & truck traffic of US97 and, although the sound of these can get loud, it was tolerable to us. There are lots of easy pull-through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Large spots, easy access. The only downsides are highway and train noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
The park is easy to get to & from Interstate 84. The park was quiet, but there weren’t a lot of campers since it was the off season. The interior roads and sites are paved. The road in the main loop is narrow. The pull through sites are on the outside of the main loop. There are only a few that are level & long enough to accommodate the combined unit (#2). The back in sites are on the inside of the main loop. They would be difficult to get into & out of due the angle & narrow road. They have full hook ups – water, electricity (50 AMP), & sewer. They all had a campfire ring and outside table. Not much privacy between the sites. The main loop is shaded with trees everywhere. The trees encroach on some of the sites & portion of the road. Opening slides was easy in the site without tree encroachment. Some sites offer a view of the southern sky to get satellite reception. Verizon internet reception was good. No designated pet area. There were sufficient paved roads & paths to walk the dogs. There were bag dispensers around the park to pick up waste. Geese adopted the area so there was fecal matter around the grass & walkways. The park is satisfactory for a short stay while traveling along I-84 but only in a few sites. We would stay here again if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This year-round, extremely popular 99-acre RV and tent campground has 4,700 feet of waterfront on the magnificent Columbia River in Klickitat County on Hwy. 97 between SR 14 and (Exit 104) Interstate 84 in Oregon. Off season rates for full hookups are $28 (cash or check). We were there mid-week, and about half of the 50 RV sites were occupied. Only downside was constant road noise and nighttime railroad traffic. Suggest reservations during warm months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$41
The price reflects the 'extra charges' for non-resident recreation fee and a 'web fee' to make your reservation. Other than that, we loved this park! The spaces are so big and generous and you aren't on top of the next person. We had a dog and pup with us traveling and they absolutely loved the rolling in the grass and getting some running in after their toys! Each spot had a grill and picnic table, gravel level sites, asphalt roads through out. Didn't use the restrooms but to walk into, appeared clean and well kept. Workers around all the time. It was our first entrance into Washington and would definitely stay here again if we could!! The view on the River was gorgeous and saw a riverboat come through; the drive up the Gorge was scenic. Be sure to visit Maryhill Winery and get to the Hill Historic Mansion, and Stonehedge. The views are nice with lots of history and it's worth visiting them. Close to Goldendale for fuel, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Very clean, lots of space between sites the area is one huge lawn and full of trees with shade. Problem is the train runs along the campground all day and all night and HWY 97 is on the downslope so you hear the trucks jake-brakes! You are right on Columbia River and next to hwy 97 bridge to cross over to Oregon. You need to make reservations ahead of time but they do take first come first serve for that night if site is available prior to 2:00 p.m. If nothing is available there is another campground right next door which we found out later. We would camp here again good for 1 night layover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Campground is as described by others. Nothing to do here though if you don't swim or boat, or windsurf. Nice park if you are just looking for a place to sleep. Clean and green. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
This park should be the model for all state parks. The only reason I didn't give it a "10" is because of the location. The sites are spacious and a good distance from neighbors. They have large, mature trees and a nice lawn area. The price was much more reasonable, given the amenities, than the California State Parks we are used to. The downside is that this section of the Columbia River Gorge is pretty barren and wind-swept. If you are a windsurfer, this is the place for you. Luckily, the trees make the wind relatively tame in the park. If the rest of Washington's state parks are like this, I would love to try some more. There is no Wi-Fi and Verizon data coverage was not available in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$6
When we camped here, we were one of three rigs in the whole campground and it was heaven. The rate is for the Washington State Park off-season Senior pass. The water was shut-off as was the sewer, but that didn't matter. Really nice place on the river and the rangers didn't mind that the dog was off-leash some of the time. The whole area is great and we went to Stonehenge, Maryhill Museum and the Maryhill Winery too. Will try to get a reservation there for next summer, if possible as it is a VERY POPULAR spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
This is our favorite state park. It has a great swimming area with a special place for the toddlers. The staff keeps this park very green in the summer. There is lots of play room for the kids. If trains bother you, you won't like this campground. Trains run around the clock on both sides of the river. One set of tracks is right behind the park so get a site down by the river for reduced noise. The Maryhill museum is an easy drive. In the summer there's a couple of very nice fruit stands within walking distance. There is a boat launch at the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
This is a beautiful campground located on the Washington side of the Columbia River in the Gorge, just east of the Dalles, Oregon. Lots of trees with large pull-thru sites right on the river, plus back-in sites under the trees and a separate area for tents. The beach is rocky, but has a large swimming area. We stayed here two separate nights as we were driving to and from the Oregon coast, but would definitely enjoy staying here for a longer trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Nice park on the Columbia River. This is a popular windsurfing area, but it wasn't that windy away from shore. Big and shady sites with lots of space in between. The train goes by on both sides of the river, but you don't really hear it. Gas across the river, and markets and restaurants are north in Goldendale. Verizon cell and aircard on full signal. We would definitely stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Wonderful park. It was getting very crowded prior to the holiday weekend but all was peaceful and orderly. This is a major day-use area for wind surfers and its neat to watch. Small beach/swim area. Very dog-friendly with lots of room to walk. Major discovery was the numerous/fat blackberries on the north side of tents only loop. I picked a couple pounds before leaving. Only complaint was the sewer hook-up which is awkward as it is an above-ground pipe. We had to hold the hose in it to dump. The placement of it is too far back for anyone with slides as you must park forward to avoid the pedestal. No biggie - we really enjoyed this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
A very nice Washington State Park on the banks of the Columbia River just east of the Sam Hill Bridge (Highway 97). It is located across the river from Biggs Junction, OR which is on Interstate 84. So you are far enough away that the noise does not bother you. There are railroad tracks on both sides of the river but we were not bothered by the noise. We were lucky to get a site right on the river. One of the paddle wheel cruise ships was docked at the picnic area just up river from our campsite. Awesome sight to see. We stayed here on the 4th of July so it was a very busy park with lots of families enjoying the three day week end. Also a few wind surfers on the river while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$26
Very nice park along the Columbia River with 20, 30, and 50 amp service, and sewer hookup in the utility sites. In the winter, it's a good spot to overnight, as it is somewhat bleak and cold. The utility spots, which are on gravel, have both pull-through and back-in. The pull-through spots are on the outer edge of the loop. The pull-through spots are "arc'd" in a half circle; however, it's a wide arc, so you can easily "bend" your RV around it. Some of the pull-through spots have a great view of the river! The back-in spots are in the center of the loop. The camping spots, including the standard, each have a picnic table and a fire pit and have great spacing so you aren't right next to your neighbor. Regarding television reception, unless you are carrying a satellite, television will be an educational and cultural experience as the only channel you can pull in via antenna will be an Oregon PBS station. Also, if you are here when there aren't a lot of people (such as winter), you will hear both trains. One runs behind SR-14 on one side of the park, and the other runs on the Oregon side of the Columbia River. Also, during the winter, the state parks in Washington usually shut off the water at each site and the only water available is at a potable water fill up at the park dump station. I knew about this because I had called the park in advance and inquired. However, during my stay, I didn't see any signs mentioning this. I was going to rate it an 8 for the great spacing between sites and the lovely view (which I'm sure is even better in the spring and summer!), but I will knock it back to a 7 because the park didn't post any signs letting people know the water was shut off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
Really great state park, has 50 amp power, full hookups. Park was built by Corps of Engineers. Nice large sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
We stopped by on a Tues. afternoon in Aug. without a reservation, and we were lucky to get a spot. The camp was full that afternoon. This is a park that we have visited four or five times over the past five years, and it's always clean, and well tended. This park during the summer is very busy with campers that have boats, watercraft, and sail boards. Lots of kids, dogs, and campers coming and going. Clean restroom, clean showers, great staff. This park is too busy for us to want to stay there for more than an over-nighter, but if you want access to the water this park has it all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Good open spaces, large spots. We had a riverfront site that was great, although our kids still swam at the designated beach area. Maryhill was full of fruit trees and the John Day Dam was nearby. You heard trains and boats but this just added to the sights for our family. There were very few bugs. I would highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
What a lovely park! It was shady, the sites are huge and the space between sites is spacious. The grass has been kept watered and it was very nice sitting in the shade and enjoying the breeze (the wind blows a lot here). We enjoyed sitting on the banks of the Columbia River and watching the wind surfers. We only stayed 3 nights and wish we had been able to stay longer. We would camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Large well spaced sights in the trees with lots of grass and paved roads. Great family park with play areas, swim area, and good bike riding. Be prepared for the wind, if you haven't been here, you will see why this is the sail board capitol of the US. The wind blows most of the time and at around 20 to 40 mph each day. Didn't use the park showers, but the rest rooms were clean and well taken care of. We would stay here again on the way to the Oregon coast from Eastern Washington. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
This excellent state park is located 12 miles south of Goldendale on Highway 97. It is actually in Maryhill, Wa. on the banks of the Columbia River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Beautiful Park like setting on the banks of the Columbia River. Make reservations as the park gets full by 3:00 PM. Noise from trains and truck jack brakes the only minor problem however things quiet down after about 10:00 PM. Liked it so much we stayed an additional night but had to change spaces. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$26
We were quite surprised to find the cost increase! However, the park is still lovely and we enjoyed our visit. Sites are roomy and reasonably level, nice view of the river, and beautiful trees, many in bloom. We have stayed here often and will stay here again, although not as often, with the price hike. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$26
This is a pretty park, very green with a lot of trees. The spaces are ample size with a number of pull-thrus. The restrooms need some remodeling. I feel if the parks are going to start charging $26 per night, they need to improve their amenities. Their restrooms should be remodeled and improved and WIFI should be offered. They are getting up there with the RV Park rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
The camping sites are huge with lots of room between sites. There's a day use park right next door with lots of trees and large open areas. The night we stayed there the wind surfers and kite boarders put on a good show for us. There's a couple of train tracks close by that can annoy or delight depending on your perspective. If you're a light sleeper the trains will wake you up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
Park sits along the Columbia River across from Biggs, Oregon. Great for; swimming, boating, wind surfing and fishing. Nearby you'll find Mary Hill Winery and Mary Hill Museum as well as the historic town of Goldendale, Washington We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com