223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Brooks Memorial State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (509) 773-4611
CGID4929

Brooks Memorial State Park

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   7   9   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
There are basically two RV loops. Half of one side is semi shaded (#11 thru 15), the other is mostly sunny(#1-10). The other loop (#16 thru 23) are mostly sunny, but have better lawn. All of the "northern" most sites, that is 15, 16 to 18 and 8 to 10 are under the high-tension power lines and some people find the hum objectionable. We were in 22 and could not hear the hum inside the rig. No broadcast TV reception and cell-phone is spotty We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
Basic for a WA state park. Conveniently off the highway and quiet. Down side is crackling high tension power lines running across the back. OK for a night or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Just a little south of Satus Pass and above Goldendale, set in Ponderosa pines, although about half the sites are out in the open and sunny. Greek monastery less than a mile downhill has a greek bakery with great baklava and other traditional Greek pastries. Goldendale Observatory is closed Monday and Tuesday but has 8pm to midnight programs all other nights. Lots of gray squirrels and Stellar jays. Very quiet although a little road noise at time from trucks climbing toward the pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
Park has RV and Tent areas. RV areas are easy access while the Tent areas have limited access. The front side gets highway noise while the rear area does not. We stopped for the bike trails (9 miles) which were in the park info. They were not as developed as we expected. Good overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$6
Off-Season Senior rate $6, full hook-up sites. This Brooks Memorial Washington State Park is scheduled to become closed with its gates locked by Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission. So, just my closing tribute to one Brooks Memorial State Park, one park of the thirteen Washington State Parks scheduled for closing, gates locked, and soon to forgotten but for some memories past. If you can, and are in the neighborhood with the RV, visit this park soon, before it's closed and gone forever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
This was a great spot to spend a few days. The park is far enough off the highway that the road noise wasn't a problem. Most of the State Parks are on a reservation system, but not this park. It's first come first serve. We're in a 35 ft. motorhome and towing. We had no problems getting into site #15. We would stay there again when traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
If you want a good place to catch up on some reading, Brooks Memorial State Park is it! You have no television reception at all unless you have a satellite. (I thought it was interesting that the small, privately owned RV park next door charged $1 less for full hookups with cable TV!) I came here hoping to escape a record breaking 95 degree heat wave in the month of May, of all things!!! The camp host told me that although Goldendale was suffering the same 95 degree heat that my home was, this park was high enough in the mountains that there would be an extreme temperature drop in the evenings. The host said, "You'll need blankets." I opened all windows, and woke up at 3:00 AM to a refreshing 50 degrees. This campground has a front side and a back side. Although the front side has shady spots, the camp host said the back side gets a breeze that does not hit the front side. In addition, the host suggested sites 19 or 20 (on the back side), "If you don't want the heat." The host was right, those two sites got morning sun, but afternoon wasn't too bad for the heat. The only downer is that spots 19 and 20 are real close to power lines. You wake up to crackle crackle crackle, and having crackle without the "pop and snap," well. According to the brochures, this park is popular in the winter with the snow-shoeing and cross-country crowd. I enjoyed my very quiet, two day stay here! There are tent sites as well as water/sewer/50 amp electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
Park is located 10+ miles north of Goldendale on US 97. Brooks is a, so far, undiscovered gem in the Washington State Parks system. Sits at the base of Satus Pass in the middle of a, largely, Ponderosa Pine forest. Great place to do a bit of hiking, exploring and relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com