214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Clinton Lake State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (217) 935-8722
CGID4942

Clinton Lake State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
231
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   9   6   10   8   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Very nice spacious lots. Plenty of room between units. Lot was not completely level but was easy to level camper. Lots of shade trees. All utilities worked great (water, sewer, electric). Utilized hiking trails and beach. Did not have boat for lake but lots of other people did. It was a great time and already have reservations to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
I used to camp here with my family when I was younger and had a blast. Now its 20 years later and I took my family there last weekend and had a blast. Sites were not packed together but were slightly uneven. The bathhouse was clean. The park was well kept. We will be stopping here many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Nice State Park Campground. Back in sites at an angle, easy to back in. Water not marked on maps, but plentiful throughout the campground. Memorial Day was VERY full and busy, but no one after or before holiday, almost empty. Good power, nice shady area. Some older areas were gravel, some had concrete pads. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is a great Park for kids. They have several nice playgrounds and good roads for biking. The campsites are well spaced out and fire pits are always clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
We picked this campground due to the proximity of a family reunion we attended in the area. We made the reservation at reserve America, the map that we printed from their site took us to a day use area north of Weldon, Illinois. After asking around and about a half hour we finally found the campground just south of Dewitt. Its a big place, very nice. We did have trouble finding a water faucet, there wasn't one at all in our loop, but we eventually found one. The hosts are hard to find as well as the rangers. There was a vault toilet in our loop and a shower house with real toilets not to far away that looked pretty clean, but didn't smell clean if you know what I mean. We'll probably come again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Clinton Lake is WARM! I've heard it is because of the nuclear power plant nearby. Regardless, this is a fantastic park to visit and camp at. It has full amenities and is very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
This park has large size lots. Even with 300 sites we felt very secluded. We camped in section A. The campground is very clean and well maintained, your typical state park campground. Wish there was more shoreline fishing, other than that great place to go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$13
Open, spacious sites. Lots of wildlife. Quite enjoyable location. Easy access to the lake for boating. Trails nearby for hiking. Beautiful location and very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
If you get a wooded spot this is nice and has water access, boats and fishing and nice little restaurant on water. Some spots are crowded together and "prairie" style camping with no trees. Other spots are shaded, on water and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
All I can say is for the memorial Holiday weekend and being Full, The campgrounds were clean. The shower/restrooms were clean all of the time. The beach was open and it cost everyone a dollar to go into the beach but it was worth it as it has 1000 feet of beach all sand and clean. The beach was very busy during the time we were there. The beach is located just south of the campground, The beach also has showers/restrooms but We didn't use them as we cleaned our feet off outdoors by the gates leading to the parking area and went back to the campgrounds. Also the concessions stand has good food and is reasonably priced, It's also located close to the southside of the campgrounds and the beach borders nearby, so you use it from either side. Over all for being a full campground, I can say that we will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$16
This is a great IDNR campground. It is located 3 miles outside of DeWitt taking advantage of Clinton Lake (the second largest lake in down state IL), offering a great boating/water skiing experience, a beach, fishing, picnicking, hiking, and biking. The camp ground also has a small bait/supply store, and very nice concession stand. This is also a great area to see wild life native to this region. My parents have camped for 40 years, and when they visited us at this camp ground were so disappointed to discover that they had had this great location less than an hour from home and had never discovered it. We also saw a strong ranger presence in the park - never going more than a few hours during the day when we didn't see a ranger in our camp loop. The camp ground also offers designated areas where alcohol is PROHIBITED. We saw this as a real advantage for families with small children in particular. This park also offers 30 of their over 300 sites as reservable, some of these even being their "full hook up" sites - however several of the "full hook up" sites are still on a 1st come 1st serve basis. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com