223217 User submitted reviews online!!
Meeman-Shelby Forest State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (901) 876-5215
CGID4949

Meeman-Shelby Forest State Park

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   4   5   8   4   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
Nice canopy of trees provided great shaded campsites. Bath house was clean but old and would be nice if it was updated a little. Level and roomy site. Would have been an excellent 4 nights if the mosquitos weren't so bad. Several campers left a day early due to the mosquitos. Area has lots to offer for recreation but they are miles away as this is a big park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
We were looking for a place to relax, and quiet nights. The directions to the park are good, and we used that (from their website) instead of the GPS. Definitely the way to go! Calling ahead, we knew we could unhook our toad to scout for a site long enough for our motor home. Roads are narrow, but well trimmed and we had no issues. All sites are back-in, paved and with water/electric. We found several that looked good and drove into the Dogwood campground. Good electric service, fire ring, BBQ grill all in place. Most sites have room for vehicle parking and extra tents. The tree canopy is out, so the satellite TV was not an option, but we didn't care. No cell service, no Wi-Fi. The staff was very visible, driving around regularly and servicing the restrooms. There is a playground. The boat rental area was damaged in the flooding last year and may not be revived due to staff cuts and budget shortfalls. Sad. Short drive to the Mississippi and a boat ramp, easy trip to Memphis and Graceland. Very nice visitor center and helpful and knowledgeable staff. Great General Store just up the road where all the "locals" meet ... think "Mayberry" and "Friends" rolled into one. Price reflects Military/Disabled discount. Great for groups camping in together with many types of rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$21
This is a beautiful, small campground. It is all level, easy to access, and wooded. The pads are paved, there are large picnic tables on concrete pads with grills, and fire rings with cooking grates at each site. The sites are spacious, the largest we've ever had. The playground at the campground is the nicest in the whole park. There is a 3 mile hiking loop which can be accessed at the campground. There is a 5 mile paved bike trail, but you must load your bikes and haul them to the trail head. The bath house has 3 bathroom stalls and 2 shower stalls. They were relatively clean, but the facilities are old. We had plenty of hot water and the water pressure was good. The park rangers were all very friendly and made several rounds through the campground while we were there. There are no sewer hookups, but there is a dump station conveniently located on the way out. We had a great time, though our stay was brief. If you have the opportunity, go on the guided canoe float through the Cypress swamp with Ranger Sam. It takes a couple of hours, but is very much worth the time. We have children ages 7-16 and we all enjoyed it. Also, visit the general store which is just outside the park and be sure to pet the rooster on the front porch! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
This park is close to home and we go often just to get out of the city. It is a pleasant, small campground in a state park with lots of activities, including many miles of hiking trails, bike trails, swimming pool in the summer (not near the campground), etc. Unfortunately, since it is so close to Memphis, it often gets noisy locals looking for a place for an outdoor party. Last week the ranger had to come out at 1am to quiet a group of boisterous campers. The "no-alcohol" rule is not closely policed. Over the years we have noticed a deterioration of cleanliness, especially in the restrooms / showers. It is now nearly unbearable, and the cleaning crew spends only about five minutes cleaning up every day. We were extremely disappointed, as were many of the other campers we talked to. I do not know if this reflects poor management of this park, or indicates the state's budget problems; I look forward to checking on Tennessee's other parks in the coming months. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
We camped here after they have add considerable rain and wind. Lots of treefall and mud around. Only 3-4 other campers here. No cell or internet access via my Verizon Hot Spot. A few TV channels. Heavily wooded, little sun gets through. Paved, narrow sites, chairs had to be placed on the dirt/mud. To dark and dreary for us. We won't be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We stayed in this campground on a 3-day trip to Memphis in late fall. The campground was nearly empty, and we had a great wooded site. Staff was friendly and helpful. I am not sure of the rate we paid. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Rated as a 4 only due to the hapless manner in which the restrooms were not kept. Filthy to say the least. Stayed 4 days and the same trash was on the floors and in the showers the full time. As a Tennesseean, I was embarrased. Someone needs to be fired. Maybe the Park Ranger who while checking me in said, "What can we do you out of, Hee, Hee." Tennessee State Parks are better than this. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Nice campground. Everyone was very friendly, lots of kids. We camped in a 35' trailer and it wasn't very easy to get in. The restrooms were clean but older. No cell or internet coverage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
Excellent state park. Cell coverage is poor. Access to Memphis is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$21
Meeman-Shelby SP is located about 30 minutes north of Memphis, and a 15 to 20 minute drive from Millington, the nearest town with groceries, etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a lovely park located in a bottom land, hardwood forest. Just enough trees have been removed to build the campground entrance road and pads. The internal roads are asphalt and are a bit narrow. Sites have water and electric (50 and 30 amp), but no sewer hook-ups. The bath house was cleaned daily but is quite old, and in need of some upgrades. One of the men’s showers was in need of immediate repair. We camped in a 40’ motorhome, but had a challenge finding a pad long enough. We found one to park the coach, but there was no room for the car. Fortunately there were few campers there at the time, and we parked the car on an adjacent campsite. There was a nice playground area that looked fairly new. There are several nice hiking trails. However beware of the poison ivy. I have never seen so much right along the trails, and in some cases right beside the campground pads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
This is a great wooded park.. if you have a big rig go somewhere else. This is for tenters, Class C, Pop-up and trailers. Our site was level, clean and nice. The kids loved it. It was not crowded at all, but it was the off season. The forest is fantatsic. Even in the summer it is cooler that the surrounding areas. Kids loved the playground. There is a great little supply store at the entrance. This is a better campground than most in the area, albeit a bit rustic. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$17
Very beautiful. Great getaway. Only water and electric hookups, but then again, it's a state park. The dump station was easy to get into and out of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$17
Sites are good size and in a forest of tall-trees, providing excellent shade. Some sites would be difficult for someone with slide-outs, due to trees close to the pad. Bathhouse (toilets and showers) were run-down and decrepit. Mosquitoes were a problem once the sun went down, but not bad during the day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
We use this park regularly, especially during the late fall, winter, and early spring. The campground is heavily wooded with good paved roads and sites. The park is located north of Memphis with easy access to city. There is a trailhead at the campground for the Woodland Trail, which is a loop into the forest. Insects can be bothersome during the summer, as the park is situated along the Mississippi River. In fact the park has a boat ramp into the river. We always drive down to the ramp and sit on the bank watching for river barges moving up and down the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
The roads and sites are paved with a paved picnic table slab. There are fire rings and grills. There are at least a dozen miles of fine hiking trails. There are two dozen miles of paved scenic roads good for mountain biking. There is a recreation hall, boat dock on a lake or the Mississippi River. Boats and bikes can be rented. Each campsite is absolutely huge. Open all year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com