214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Coachland RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (530) 587-3071
CGID495

Coachland RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   8   6   8   9   7   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Nice RV park near to Truckee and Lake Tahoe. Not far off Interstate 80, but we didn't hear any excessive road noise. All the sites are pull-through but they are what I'd call "North-South", with 2 rigs per site with one pulled in going north and the other south. This means that there is about 6 to 7 feet (or less)between you and your neighbor, with all the hookups in the area between your rigs. We had no problem but if each rig had big pop outs on the left side, it could be interesting. Sites were all paved and level; on the right side of each site was usually a grassy area with picnic tables. There were plenty of trees and shade. While we were there it was very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. They just added a trailer/bathroom unit parked in the camping area that has 2 toilets and 2 showers. (This in addition to the men's and women's single toilet and shower facility in the main building of the RV park.) This is a little more convenient to use than walking all the way to the main building. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
While this park was pricy, it provided a very clean and convenient setting with lots of shade. Wi-Fi worked reasonably well. Sites were a bit close together and there were a lot of longer-term guests, but units were attractive and well-kept. Helpful office staff and the grounds keepers kept things neat. Would stay here again, but I surely wish there were discounts available. If there were, we'd probably have stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
Well, here we are again. We've stayed here before and were not unhappy, but this time not so much. You are in the pines and the place is clean and quiet, but man, they put you right on top of your neighbor. Our slide is 2 feet from the slide next door. Then there is the slowish internet, and by the way they've gone digital with their cable system, and they will loan you a converter, but for a guy who used to run a computer system at his workplace, it made me feel like a techno dinosaur to hook up my old analog tv. And nobody here who knows anything about hooking it up. Anyway, just one night then on with the trip. Missed the end of the SF Giants game, but according to my new smart phone, they won! Just couldn't watch it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
Don't believe the poor reviews. We almost didn't come here because of them, but are glad we did. Beautiful setting in the trees, close to Donner Lake and Lake Tahoe. Sites are very tight, but we were fine. Very attentive and nice staff. There are a lot of permanent residents but their places are in general well kept and make for nice walking up and down the blocks. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
Check in was handled ok. Sites are tight and not level in the pull through section. Utilities work fine and are in the proper spot. Main problem we had was the owner/manager who complained about our dog on a leash peeing on a rock at the end of the site. When our dog was walked at night there were dogs running loose in the park while the owners(permanent people there)watched their dogs go anywhere. The park had to do utility work near our site and informed us 10 minutes before it started. The owner/manager knocked on our door to ask us if we knew about the work. I told her no only to have her ask me two more times if I was informed. This work went on 2 days next to our site while at least ten open sites farther away from the noise remained open.This is where we should have been placed when checking in. Overall a nice park with a pretty setting. However, lousy management can ruin a good thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
A pretty nice park, especially for an overnight stay. Nice staff and all amenities worked fine. Very quiet and restful with nice sites in the tall pine trees. Quite a few permanents, but nothing real obnoxious. The rules stated that no "bus conversions, etc.." were allowed, but there were a few "etc.." rigs there. Beat up camper on an old green chevy truck. All in all a good place to spend the night or visit Truckee from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
This is a great park...One worthy of visiting over and over again. We tried to make a reservation and couldn't reach anyone at Coachland (before 5:00). When I tried again, they finally answered and I was told they had nothing the next day. The next morning our phone rang and a pleasant voice informed us she had received our message from their answering service and that she definitely had a spot for us. Confusing, but it worked out for us. We will be returning to this beautiful spot. The city of Truckee has an art.farmers market on Thursday evenings, music, wine, and beer. Tahoe City Arts Festival was the next day...tons of things to do in this area. The RV park is clean, easy to get in and out of. You are parked back to back with another unit, but you still have your own grass area/table. Wi-Fi and cable are provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
There are lots of trees but narrow sites. RVs are paired within spaces but in opposite directions. It is close to town. A mix of permanent/summer-home park models between conventional RVs. Gracious office staff, very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Another Good Sam discount. Access off I-80 via a roundabout was so easy. Helpful, friendly staff. Great base to explore Lake Tahoe and Donner Lake. When we needed to extend our leave time a couple hours to accommodate the check-in time at our next stop, there was no problem, especially since no one was coming in right behind us. We'd easily go again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Nice clean park. An older park, sites are narrow for big rigs. Pleasant staff and all sites are in the pine trees. The grounds are clean and kept free of pine needles. There are a large percentage of seasonal/monthly people in the park: so though it looked full when we were here, it was not. The Wi-Fi, though usable, was extremely slow. Nice dog walking area though no place to let them be off leash. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Easy access off of 80 and no road noise from same. Deep in the pine trees. Spaces are very tight. I had to measure and remeasure to make sure I had room to open the slides. Very quiet. Peaceful but needed a larger yard. Pet walk is too far away. Wi-fi is good, CATV is excellent. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We had planned to stay at Donner Memorial State Park, but it wasn't quite open for the season, so we returned for a 2nd visit to Coachland. This is a great park for a dog, as the adjoining forest land is perfect for exercise. Staff very friendly and competent, and they gave us a perfect spot for overnighting (easy in/out). My only complaint is the price--it's definitely monopoly pricing. There are no other nearby commercial parks. Also, since this was our first night on the road, we didn't need to dump, but they lock up the dump station around 4 for the night. Not exactly convenient if one is pulling in for the evening. Just something to be aware of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$38
We arrived late, which was not an issue. It was a tad difficult to find the entrance, but not too bad. The place was very nice and clean. We would like to stay longer sometime in the future. The staff was very nice and helpful on the phone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$42
Arrived on a Sunday afternoon, and the office was closed for the weekend. We had a reservation so they did have a folder for us with the site listed, but told us to put an extra $5 in an envelope to pay for 50amps. This park is mostly full time residents with the overnight/weekly spaces being head-to-toe pull throughs. Sites are long but extremely close. Fortunately the pull throughs were mostly empty, and we had nobody on the driver side, because when we put out the slides it extended into the next space. Passenger side slides extended over small grass area between us and RV next to us. I would never stay here in a busy time of year. There is a CAUTION you should be aware of: once you make a reservation, there are no refunds, even if you try to cancel months ahead of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
Very clean park right off of I-80 on east side of Truckee. Sites are extremely close together with shared hookups. We had to bring in our window awnings and slide-outs for our neighbor to exit his site! Rear of park borders forest, and is much quieter than sites near the entrance. Highway noise is loud during the day on east side of park, but tolerable at night. Very clean and large laundry room. Very large portion of sites are occupied by permanent residents, and some need to clean up their sites! Sites are level and paved, with some having small patches of grass between them, while ours (#130) had only dirt. No privacy between sites! Would not recommend this park for anything other than a short stay due to the tight spaces between sites, and lack of privacy. We camped here years ago, and sites were not shared hookups at that time, making it a great place to stay. Park is 16 miles from Tahoe City, 5 miles from downtown Truckee, and 32 miles from downtown Reno. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Pull through sites very close (4'). Mostly full time residents. Attendants friendly and somewhat helpful. WiFi very slow or non-existent for most of our stay. Grounds relatively clean but well used. Entire park gives the impression of a mobile home park for permanent residents. Lots of extra propane tanks in and around each trailer or 5th wheel. Good park for an overnight stay while traveling. Will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
We had a pleasant stay here, the park is located within walking distance of downtown (1 mile) but the road you walk is very busy with traffic and you have to travel over the hwy 80 freeway. This park is well maintained. Our rate reflects $5 extra for 50amp service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$44
I agree that the sites are close but considering that the park is over 40 yrs old and there are many tall beautiful trees, it just took a little more time getting into the site than a regular pull-through. I found the staff to be very friendly and informative. I asked about the one shower and I was told that the part- and full-timers are not given the code which is changed weekly. This is a great park to be used as a base for all of the activities available here and it's not in the midst of chaos in nearby Reno and their heat and noise. Since we don't gamble, we chose to be here in the trees. Great Wi-Fi and cable channels. We would stay here for an extended stay but currently there is a 3 month minimum from June through August. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Lots of trees. Easy pull through sites. (Even for a novice like me.) Easy access off I-80, no Hwy noise. A $5 surcharge for 50 amp service. My 5th wheel is only 30, but they said no AC on 30amp sites. Oh well. Good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
We read the reviews and agree that most of the sites are very close together. But in the 50 amp area we found ourselves very comfortable and would definitely return for a longer weekend. Good location for day trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
My family and I were on vacation last week and needed a place to stay the night. I found this one in the AAA camp book. I called and got a spot for the night. We arrived after dark and the front office was closed. We set up and tried to find a bathroom to find out that it only has one restroom for over 200 spaces. It has 1 toilet and 1 urinal. The next morning we got up to shower and use the coded restroom. The sewer stinks bad in the restroom and my kids did not want to shower in there. I opened the door and a drinking/drunk old man came over. (mind you it is approx 9 a.m.) He started in on me about being there and closing the door. I explained that it stinks and I am standing there while my kids are in the shower. He kept whining like a b#$%^& so I closed it. He went back to drinking on his front porch by his old trailer and old Chevy truck. I walked into the office to ask if this fine specimen worked here and explained how he was rude. She said yes he works there and she knows. She apologized for the OLD dude and I left. I walked back to the bathroom where the drunk was yelling at my kids and said to turn the fan on and they need to keep people off the streets out of the park. So I guess if you want a grumpy old man that amounted to managing a trailer park yelling at your kids and staying at a park that is over half full of full timers living there then this is your place, but if you want a well ran RV park that cares about people try to find another place. one with more than one toilet and a manager that does not start the day drinking and yelling at kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This park was clean but over priced considering the closeness of the sites. We witnessed several 5th wheels, even mid sized ones, having a hard time parking, and for class A or C it would be best to unhook your vehicle before trying to occupy your space. Our slide out was within inches of our neighbor's. Park is well cared for. I would also caution campers to avoid Interstate 80 during this construction phase. Lanes are dangerously narrow and there has been and increase in campers side swiping the guard rails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Nice park with concrete pads. Water, electric and sewer hookups all worked well and were in good condition. They have a very clean laundry with up to date machines that work very well. There is lots of shade and many squirrels and birds around. They have extended stay sites also. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. This park is right off I-80 and easy to access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Clean park and nice management. My two observations here were that campers before us must have left the cable attached to their rig and drove away: ripped it totally off, leaving us with no cable TV the first night. Second comment was that spaces were very, very tight. We had a tent camper and we were cramped: very awkward parking our Chevy Tahoe on either end of the camper. Office was closed at 5 PM, just a few minutes after we arrived, so no way to talk to management about cable or parking. It was not an emergency but definitely a weird feeling with two questions within first hour of arrival and no one to talk to! Had a wonderful time though. It's a beautiful park. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
Enjoyed our stay for 3 nights and four days. No street or freeway noise. Park is older, but everything, including the bathrooms, were immaculate. Park also has permanent residents, but it was quiet and peaceful. Would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$44
Beautiful park surrounded by forest. Staff very helpful. No highway noise. Wi-fi works well. Restrooms were very clean. Beautiful clubhouse. A little chilly for our first camp out of the season up in the mountains. They usually have open sites for this three day weekend. Great for hiking and close to Lake Tahoe. We will camp there again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
This park is clean and basically well-kept, although there are some units in the back rows that are showing some serious age. The rest room and shower were clean; but, with only one shower and toilet for each gender, they were seriously inadequate for Memorial Day Weekend. The line-up (when all the families were visiting) was impressive and maddening. On-site Wi-Fi is advertised, but it doesn't exist. At least not for the back rows of the park. You can get a signal in the laundry room, where I spent a lot of time, and where a lot of other guests came by to see if one "really could" get Wi-Fi here. But the thing I liked least about this park was the unhelpfulness of the staff. When the Wi-Fi issue was raised with them, they basically blew us off. Then when I lugged my laptop and dirty clothes to the laundry room, only to come up 2 quarters short for the washers, and asked the staff if I could have quarters as change for the 5 dimes I had with me, they said it was "inconvenient" for them to accept dimes and I would need to come back with dollars instead. Excuse me: inconvenient??? Who is paying whom here! So, I lugged my lap top, laundry soap, dirty clothes, etc., back across the park to glean quarters from other sources. Business at this park must be very good; although I did note that it was far from full on Memorial Day Weekend. Gosh, I wonder why. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
Still like the staff and the setting. They continue to keep the park maintained well. But I had to bring the rating down this trip due to the lack of a proper place to walk our dog. The "designated pet area" is an area where they pile dirt and limbs and leaves. My dog went in there white and came out brown. An RV park guest should not have to bath their pets every time they go for their walk. I raised my concern with the staff. I hope it gets passed on to management. We will consider another park next time because of this issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Nothing better than the smell of the woods and mountain air! Beautiful location but need a bit more activities here. Can get pretty cold at night. Lots of pets here and dirt. Very nice people and quick trip to the dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
I spent only one night here, but found the setting serene and pretty, after several days traveling across the Great Basin. No complaints. Cool temperature at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
First, let me say that we are in a Class B RV. This is a park for big rigs and long-term living units (the kind with wooden panels built below--not mobile). The good things: very convenient location off I-80 and Donner Pass Road. Can get to everything easily using freeway or local road. I didn't find the highway noise bothersome--more like white noise in the background. Lovely shade trees--really feel as if you're in the north woods. Excellent laundry facility (as one would expect with all the long-term folks). Nice front ofice staff. Great wifi (which I'm using now to write this). The negatives: Quiet hours till 8AM--kind of late (we're early risers). Only one women's toilet and shower. We did experience a wait. And while it was marginally clean, it needs maintenance (water under the floor tiles, poor shower head, no storage for shampoo et al in shower) and a rubber mat in the shower area. Bigger problem for us is the dirt around the sites--no grass or gravel even. The dirt blows everywhere. The dog sits in dirt. Dirt covers your hands and feet. No way to avoid it. And finally--not much to do here. No where to walk, really, and no pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
Nice clean well-maintained campground with many seasonal units but very quiet during the week. CaTV and WiFi worked well, but my site was also close to the front office-- not sure how it'd do from further away. Bathroom was clean and never saw another soul using it, which was good because they only have 1 toilet/shower per gender for the whole place. Convenient location & very friendly staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$41
Really nice park. Nice staff, well maintained grounds. Down graded it only because of price. Although you are parked "side by side", you are parked in opposite directions, so your door faces a large greenbelt with a table and trees. It was nice. Close to freeway, but heard very little noise. Trains were infrequent, but have to blow their whistles, which is disturbing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
Great park in the mountains with pine trees all around. This is our second visit and there has been a lot of work keeping the sites up-to-date. Staff is terrific and helpful. Close to old town, shops, and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
Nice level sites; about half the park has asphalt sites and half are dirt/gravel. Sites are double-wide so you share your site with another RV (facing opposite directions). Free Wifi and Cable TV. One shower is a drawback. Quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Superb park and staff. Beautiful tall pine trees. Fairly close to shopping and dining. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Paved roads & shaded sites. Nice place to stay amongst tall pine trees - 40 minutes from Reno and 20 minutes from Lake Tahoe. No playground for kids, but has a large grassy picnic area and basketball court. Kid's enjoyed riding bikes around campground. Would stay there again. One shower only in bathroom was the only negative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$32
We were packed in pretty tight. We did have a couple of trees in our area. The guy next to us had been there six years. This campground caters to year round campers. So some sites looked pretty cluttered. The power, and water, and cable hookups were excellent. The place only had one shower and one toilet for use while we were there and the toilet was broken. It was ok to use as a home base to come and go, but for hanging around the campsite, I would not recommend it. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com