219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Blue Spring State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (386) 775-3663
CGID4950

Blue Spring State Park

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   6   8   7   8   4   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$15
This is an older State Park as the roads in the campground are narrow. We reserved a handicap site #7! It was OK, not paved and short to get a 40' Rv backed into. Bath houses were clean. There are no sewer hookups but a dump station is available. The spring is nice and lots of things to do : canoes, kayaks, boat tour , tubing and swimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$14
This is an older Florida State Park, and it shows it. Although sites are well separated, they are also eroded and it is difficult to find level parking within the site. Our friends who volunteer here say they are going to remove or renovate shower houses, which are poorly located and old, but clean. Handicap sites are to be added. TV and MiFi perform well since we are very near a cosmopolitan area. The springs part of the park has been modernized, since many people day trip to see the manatees. Boardwalks and viewing platforms are numerous. Many manatees enter the park in winter for the consistent 72* clear water. Ranger programs and river cruises are available for information. We might return after improvements are made. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
Paved roads around the campground. Very easy to park and setup. We purposely went in January, so that we could see the Manatee. We were not disappoint. One morning, during our 5 night stay, we were able to see over 300. There is a great paved trail from the campground to the springhead. Also, we took the boat ride and the ranger was fantastic in his explanations. The only reason I gave this park a 9 is because the Ladies Shower House and no hot water. This wouldn't be a problem in the summer. During the Winter, be prepared to wait about 30 minutes to get into the park, because of the line of folks wanting to get in to see the manatee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
It is clean, but there isn't much wow factor for being a state park. There is a spring which flows into the river, and manatees do spend the winters there, we're told. You can float in the upper part of the spring run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$12
We enjoyed our stay at Blue Spring. Many of the sites are very shallow, and big rigs would have a problem fitting, but we did okay with our trailer. Swimming in the spring is fun and very refreshing during the hot summer. Some sort of flotation device is highly recommended. We had noodles, and they were perfect to use during snorkeling. During the weekend the spring area is very crowded, but not too bad during the weekday. Tip: they let campers stay in later than non-campers. There is a great paved bike trail right outside the entrance of the park. We saw deer and turkey while on our ride. It's about 5 miles one way if you do the loop at the end. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
First impression was not very good due to an unfriendly person conducting guest check-in. He did not seem to have the right personality to meet/greet guests and it was obvious he did not like this particular job. The RV sites are at an angle to road therefore are much easier to back into. All sites are in sandy soil. We were in site #38. Sites can be tight and affect your ability to use awnings and slideouts. Very private with lots of overhead cover. Depending on the site, you may have great satellite reception or none at all. Bathrooms/showers were older but very clean. Train tracks close by and the train comes through day and night. Phone reception was good but signal was not constant. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
We stayed here in order to see the manatees - they were wonderful and being able to walk down in the morning to see them was great. Our site was a little too exposed but others had more trees and privacy. Utilities and dump station were fine. Bathrooms were older and needed fixing but were clean. Lots and lots of mosquito's here - come prepared. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2011
$24
Not for big rigs-camped in a 40' 5th wheel and could not get in 1st site due to turning radius. This campground needs grooming in the worst way. Won't be back. Great park for watching manatee and boat tour great. Angelina's for pizza and Bellini's for a great Italian of any kind. Right turn from Hwy 17 abysmally bad-ran over curb with RV once and dually truck another time. Potential of campground is immense-to bad its not utilized. Site not wide and sandy or is it level. They could do so much better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$13
Senior resident rate shown. Double for normal rate. Our 3rd visit to a great park. Not as many manatees as last year and no bear sighted this time, but still very nice visit. There were about 8 to 10 manatees including one mama and calf while we were there. We were in site 27 and were able to comfortably push my mother in a wheelchair on the sidewalk thru the woods near site 18 and up and down the boardwalk from the spring to the St. Johns River. All sites looked good. Restrooms and showers were clean and in good repair. Have fun and enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
Quiet, uncrowded campground, beautifully secluded sites. Short walk to spring and day use area. Free kayak launch on St. John river about 1 mile away: manatees abound. New bike trail runs along nearby rail line. Almost heaven! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
A great park if you like wildlife and natural settings. The major attraction is the spring of course. The water is 72 degrees F all year round, and very clear, so it is popular for snorkeling, diving, and swimming. Fish, turtles, and occasionally manatees can be seen. There are boardwalks and aluminum docks along the riverfront, for easy access. The campsites are all sandy, and well separated with dense natural growth. It's a beautiful place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$24
Great park.Terrific staff and volunteers. Park is crowded with day folks when Manatee here but well worth it. Really nice and quiet at night after the crowds leave. Plan on an extra day to see everything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$26
One of the best parks for water wildlife. I would rate this park a 10 if there was not a train track beside the park. Every time the train goes by it blows it's horn. There is a paved bike trail beside the park. Great place to take a canoe ride in the St Johns River: many gators, birds and manatee eating in the river. The spring had over 200 manatee in it so it is closed to swimmers and canoes. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$27
This was our first visit to Blue Spring S.P. This is a typical state park offering the normal facility with limited campground amenities. Sites are private and the park was quiet day and night, except for the train that comes past, and it really is not that noisy. Bicycles are recommended since the swimming and boat cruise area a bit of a walk from the campground. We did have the opportunity to see the manatees, but they were on the other side of the viewing area and hard to see. The springs were actually close, and you could not rent a boat to get any closer. Bath houses are unheated and open on the top, so if the weather is cool then you are cold, if hot you will sweat. The funny part of the bath house is that it was closed for cleaning at 7 am on Saturday morning…. But none of the campers paid any attention, and the cleaning guy had to work around about 12 guys taking showers and shaving. The sites are not full hookup so almost everyone uses the bath house. Except to see the Manatees I see no reason to return to this park. The town of Orange City does not have anything to offer, and TV receptions is really bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Blue Spring State Park is a beautiful spot but needs renovation. The sites were not very clean and really tight. The bathhouse was dirty and smelly! The train will keep you up at night! We did have the opportunity to see the manatees so that was a big plus. I am not sure that we will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
This was our first visit to Blue Spring S.P. This was a typical state park facility with limited campground amenities. Sites range from very small to just large enough for a 30-35' camper to fit in, and have adequate room outside. Though we saw one large rig jammed in a spot, I would not recommend anything larger than 30'. Sites were very private and the park was quiet day and night. Bicycles are recommended since the swimming and boat cruise area are a little bit of a walk from the campground. There is a nice paved bike trail just outside the gates, too. The spring was absolutely beautiful and a mask and snorkel will allow you to look at all of the fish swimming below. The park gets crowded quickly with day use visitors on hot days, so weekday camping may be best. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. If you will need the bath /restroom facilities, then I would suggest choosing a site near one of the two in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$21
Manatees! Where else can you wake up, take a short stroll and watch Manatees in shallow clear water? Yes, many sites are unlevel. Yes, the Bath houses are unheated with open ends so when it is 26DegF outside a shower is not in the picture. The new Bike Path is paved and very nice as it goes out through the Woods. The passing Trains are no louder than passing Diesel pickups are in the CG and the Locomotive Whistles are in the distance. We will definitely stay here again. Did I mention Manatees? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
Good for a state park. People are friendly and care for the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$21
This park has a lot going for it. There is now, just outside the park entrance, a paved bike trail that goes to a lake. Take your bicycles. Of course there are the manatees and the opportunity to canoe and kayak. The less than desirable qualities: the habitat is scrub oak, there is little to no shade. Most of the sites are not level, be sure to take plenty of boards. The main problem we and 3 other camping units had was the noise from the trains. They run during the night and blow their whistles next to the camp. Each night we were disturbed at least 7 times, the latest at 2:20 AM. Try to camp on the West side of the campground. I don't know if this is just a seasonal problem but it is a discouraging factor for what is otherwise a nice camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$21
Park was clean, and staff was very friendly. The down side was restrooms and showers could be updated. Also they were not heated, and with open ends when the weather is cold it can be a little nippy taking a shower. Some camp sights are tight to get a big rig in and are uneven ground side to side, which a few 2x8`s will fix. Also dump station is on a hill so depending on how your tanks are built that is good or bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
The main draw of this park is the natural springs which you can swim in, scuba dive, go tubing. Our family had a wonderful time here. Our site was very private with huge trees and a lot of shade. We also had a large tent pad which we put the picnic table on. At the time we went, there was a drought, so no ground fires were allowed. The Blue Springs was a short bike ride or walk away from the campground. There is a snack bar and rental store that sells or rents tubes, inflatable boats, snorkles, kayaks. The Springs were very busy with people who come to the park to spend the day, but the springs is so large and spread out, you did not feel crowded. The ranger told us that during the summer, they close it off to the public around 10:00 am because it gets so busy! While we were there we were lucky enough to see two manatees that were swimming around in the springs. The ranger follows them from the boardwalk to make sure people do not touch them or get within 10 feet of them. What an experience to swim with such docile creatures! Overall this campground was very clean and offered many activities for people of all ages. Our 3 young children loved it here. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
We stayed at this campground for one night the first weekend in May on our way to the Keys. It was hot and crowded. The campsite was full and the day area was packed on the Saturday. We definitely were the only ones speaking English. The day area has hiking areas and boardwalks that go to the spring. At the spring you can tube, snorkel, boat down the river to the swimming area bring your own equipment or rent it there. It is beautiful and I enjoyed snorkeling in the springs but it was over crowded. During the winter months the Manatees swim here and it is off limits for swimming, it must be very nice to see them and being cooler much more enjoyable. I believe this river runs north and the current is deceiving when you are trying to go up stream – very strong. The spring per day releases over 110 million gallons of water. The water stays at 72 degrees and being from New England the water felt warm to me but the Floridians were all complaining about how cold it is. It is not as cold as Alexander Springs where we have camped quite a few times because when you swim there you stay cold all day and it takes some time to get into the springs. One local swimmer was telling us that the springs at Blue Springs State Park are being destroyed because they don’t have showers for people to rinse off before they go in and the chemicals on the bodies are causing pollution and they let too many people use the park everyday. One girl on a raft was even smoking and you know where that butt was going to go when she finished it- could not believe it. Glad we camped here for one night but don’t know if I would return on a weekend during the hot months. I don’t think the State of Florida had enough help to manage this state park the way it needs to be done. This was our first camping in a Florida State Park in over ten years so maybe things have changed and they are directing their funds out of the parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
We loved Blue Springs. Clean park, friendly staff and wildlife everywhere. Only two manatees left (Rocket & Anna) in the spring, but we were glad of that. Restrooms could use a little work. We will go back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We had a great time camping here! The sites were shady and the walk to the spring for swimming was short. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Sites are usual type Florida sites, scrub jay for trees and some shade. The entrance is a little right for larger rigs, ours was okay to get into. We were in site #13. Our rig was 25 ft in length. Springs are great. We also canoed here, they have rentals. Grocery store in park is minimal in size but has some necessities. Other grocery shopping is probably 2 miles down the road. We would stay here again to go in the springs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
The park was very well maintained and the perfect place to "get away" yet still be near grocery stores and shopping. We stayed in site #3 which had partial shade and was just far enough into the loop to be away from the dumpster yet not too far in to be affected by family noise coming from the larger sites. The staff was professional and very friendly. The walk to the springs was fun, and the kids loved swimming in the springs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This was our second time here. The campground is lush and natural. The entry to each site is a little tight because of the vegetation. The park is gorgeous, and interesting. We recommend the boat tour up the St. John's River as well. Will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Nice park. When I went, the fireflies were in abundance at dusk. They even seemed to flicker in unison! I just missed the manatees, but plenty of other life to see in the crystal clear water. Note to tenters: Railroad nearby was pretty noisy all night long. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
This was a beautiful park. The sites are very private. Each site had a picnic table and a fixed fire ring. The trees and palms were all around giving it a very wild feel. We were there when the Manatees were there so it was very exciting to see them. There are raised boardwalks that take you along the Blue Springs. You are walking through the forest and the water is so clear that you can see the fish swimming in it. Very peaceful and relaxing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$16
We camped here during Daytona Speedweeks, which happens to be in the middle of manatee season. The park is very nice and we saw plenty of manatees. We camped in site #15 and I think it was the largest site in the campground. Some of the sites seem very small and un-level. None of the sites are paved. Access to the St. John's River is available outside the park utilizing a sand boat ramp. While fishing on the St. John's we saw tons of wildlife, manatees included. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
This was a nice, clean, "no frills" campground. Typical of a State Park. The price is great for what you get. We stayed in site #13 which was a little sloped, but easy enough to work around. The sites are 100% sand so if you are a neat freak: be prepared for the sand. The restroom/showers are a short walk away. They are not air conditioned or heated and they have a screened opening at the top. So in the winter they can be very chilly. Too chilly to actually use! They benefits are great though. There is a beautiful spring that was loaded with manatees when we came. This is their winter home, so the spring is closed to all swimming activities from the end of October to March. There is a nice concession stand to get an ice cream and a souvenir at the park, as well as canoe rentals which were very affordable at $10 for the first hour and $5 for every 1/2 hour there after for a maximum charge of $25.00. I found this to be very reasonable, especially since you get to see tons of manatee, gators, turtles and fish. There is a huge playground, a beautiful grassy area, the Thursby House: a historical site and a few covered picnic areas here. Plenty for the kids to do. The only reason I gave this place an 8 is because the bath house was too cold to use and there is a train track running right outside of the park where trains do come by all through the night. It isn't super loud, but I did wake up every time they came by. I would camp here again though. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2007
$22
We had sites 49 & 50 in tents. All sites have picnic tables, fire ring/grill and water/elec. Centralized trash bins and 1 dump station in front of bathhouse. 2 old bathhouses in loops. Sites are very sandy and when we were there very dirty. I took my GS troop camping and we collected in our 2 sites 10 grocery bags of trash and my girls were still pulling stuff off the ground. We walked to the spring area and we collected 3 more bags on the trail to get there. I also own a motorhome that is 35 feet and there is NO WAY this is suitable for big rigs. In fact the website says 30 or less. I would say 25 ft or less or you won't have anyplace to park your vehicle. There is lots of underbrush between sites and the picnic area is very nice with a cold spring that the manatees come to in the winter. We were there for the manatee festival which is held in Valentine Park down the road. They have shuttle buses that transport you back and forth. The park has canoe rentals and a boat tour, cabins and a park store. There are trains that run right outside of the park about every 45 minutes all night long and the farms and houses nearby have enough poultry and dogs to keep you awake if the trains won't. I live in the area so luckily I can visit for the day but I would not ever camp here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
This is a really nice place. The sites are separated with thick vegetation. The park is also gated to keep the local traffic out. We enjoyed a moonlighht hike to the spring. This is a great destination! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$24
Nice back-in sites spaced far apart. Bath houses were clean and well maintained. The day use area is along the spring and stream that connects to the St. Johns River. We spent hours on the boardwalk watching the manatees, who come up the stream when the river water gets too cold. There is also a swimming area, and you can swim up to the spring. Nice picnic areas among the trees in the day use area. Lots of stores, restaurants, fast food, and a WalMart nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com