220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (304) 256-1747
CGID4952

Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine Campground

Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   6   5   7   8   2   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
What a great find! Small campground, check-in is a bit hard to find (is in the mining exhibit office) but worth the effort! They have a fantastic exercise trail that is wonderful to walk if you are neither young nor fit ; ) There is a great water park adjacent and a nice little playground. The sites are back in, but easy, level and up in the trees. Great value, quiet and lovely. What more could you ask for? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This is a very small campground in Beckley, WV and a good place for overnight or several day stay. The attendants on duty at 5:30 pm were very nice and helpful. The only drawback in my opinion is the very, very steep hill to come up and back down when you leave. Make sure you call ahead to find out how to enter the campground as it is near impossible for a large rig to make a right turn into the cg road, which is not very well marked. You have to go to the daytime office which is at the Beckley Mine to pay in the daytime and to turn around so you can enter from the left. The Beckley Exhibition Mine is a must see and do. Very well displayed and a great underground tour of the now closed coal mine. Lots of information about what coal miners dealt with and how they lived. Very informative. There are very few campgrounds in this area and we were lucky to find this little gem in most respects. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
This city owned park is adjacent to the city pool and playground and is associated with the coal mine tours and museum. It is an interesting area. The comments about entry roads and sharp turns have merit, so if those kinds of things bother you, I'd suggest you stay elsewhere. We managed with truck and 30 TT but had to go into 4 wheel drive to get up the final hill and turn. Sites are very narrow as well but plenty long. We found it to be very quiet. May stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Very small bath and showers. We had to pay key deposit and then use key to get in bathroom. You return key for refund when you leave. Each campsite had a wire "gate" with padlock. The sites seem to slant downhill. It was OK and convenient to the tourist attractions and was reasonable priced. It was nothing fancy We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
This campground is a decent choice if you want to stay in Beckley. We should have followed the sign to the campground directly onto Ewart Street and ignored the sign saying No Trucks. There are no impediments to big rig access on this road; although, the entry and campground road is tight. We enjoyed the coal mine museum and tour. It was OK for an overnight, but next time I would probably choose a campground in a state park or national forest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
The other descriptions made us tentative on this campground. We came in from I-64 going west and the gps took us through town to reach the campground. We unhooked when we reached the coal mine exhibition and checked it out before committing.  We also wanted to see if the sites were long enough.  No problem.  The approach into the campground is a little steep and the left turn is sharp but we had no problem with a 45’ motorhome.    The campground itself is very clean.  The sites are asphalt pads.  The hookups for some sites are in the rear of the site so unless you want to use multiple cords, look at that before going in.  There is a locked wire on each site so if you need to change sites, you have to go back down to the office and get another key.  No Wi-Fi.  Good phone reception.  Quiet.   The sites are a little snug, but it wasn't crowded so it wasn't an issue.  The coal mine exhibition is well worth seeing.  Very interesting and well done.  It's about a half hour drive to the New River Gorge Bridge.  Would stay here again. There are a lot of fun outdoor activities in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
I have no idea how they expect you to find or get to your camping site. As others have stated, it is on top of the Exhibition Coal Mine. It is basically a cul de sac on top of the hill with a bath house in the middle. The spaces were level but very close together. You can not see the entrance until you pass it. The road leading to it is narrow, steep with some tight turns. I can't see how anybody could highly rate this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
Great little RV campground. Flat, long blacktop pads. At some sites (ours) the campfire pit was too close to adjoining rigs to use. Great campground for local travel. Very friendly and welcoming host. Bath house, while clean, could use more hooks, shelving, and bigger sinks. I would camp here again and recommend this location to others. We did not have time to visit the coal mine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
The campground is directly over the Beckly Exhibition Coal Mine. Checked in at the Exhibition Mine Camp store. The people were very friendly and helpful. We walked our dogs through the surrounding neighborhood, and got to meet and talk to Beckley residents. If you stay at the campground, you get a discount on the Exhibition Mine tour. The only reason I didn't give it a ten was lack of 50 amp, but our Cheater Box worked just fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
A little tight getting to the campground, but a nice shady place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We only stayed one night and never looked around town. This city owned park is small but OK. Most spaces have trees, a few are satellite friendly. Sites are level and clean. We never felt unsafe. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Best thing about it is the location if Beckley is your destination. However, it is very hard to find from the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
I stopped here for a layover with a 38'. The campground is very small; a cul de sac at the top of a paved hill...very steep hill with a left turn in the middle of it...if I made it, you can too! Just walk the hill though before you commit. The sites were fairly level, back-ins, clean, paved, shaded, with hookups to the rear. The campground is on the edge of town so don't expect country quiet, however, things were tolerable. Issues were the hill coming in and lack of clear directions to the campground from the coal mine exhibition for after hours check in. The administration was very nice and helpful. Check out the exhibition. It is well worth the time and money. You can better appreciate what the men, women, and children from WV (and elsewhere) have done to power this country over the ages...and what they have given (beckleymine.com). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
This is a city park campground adjacent to a city park with pool, and next to the Demonstration Coal Mine. Back in a neighborhood off the highway, down some hills. Heard quite a few sirens, maybe cops or ambulances, during our one night stay. The sites have cable TV across each backin and they unlock it when you get here. Not a real comforting experience. Didn't have time to visit the coal mine, but it looked interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
The showers and restroom were clean. The hookups were terrible. Our first two assigned spots had broken handles on the water. The sewer was at the far back end of the sites. The water ended up under the trailer so we had to hook up before we backed all the way in. The power was also at the far back on the opposite side of most hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
The person that did the last review is correct in that there is a steep hill and hard corner to the left. The road coming in to the Exhibition Coal Mine is narrow and some crooked. I was told to come to the Rahall Company Store first. I checked in, paid the deposit for the key, unhooked my tow vehicle and was able to make it up to the campground without any problems in my 38 ft m/h. Big rigs come in and out pretty often. One thing was odd: I could not find the water and sewer hookups. It turned out they were under the rear of my m/h. It is very nice here. The only thing I didn't like was several barking dogs that lived somewhere down the hill. It is conveniently located for the tour as well as anything else in Beckley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
The person who designed this entrance should be shot. You travel down narrow, one lane, Ewart Ave in this city. The sign for the campground is COMPLETELY obscured by a tree. You don't see the sign until you've passed the entrance. Even if you did see the entrance, it requires a sharp, acute right turn that is difficult or impossible. Next is a climb up a very steep hill with a nasty left turn at the top and steepest point. No one is working at the office in the campground and each site is locked with a wire barrier. You must travel or walk a block away to register and pay a $5 deposit for the key to unlock your site. NEVER AGAIN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
The directions to get to the site are not easy. Make sure you know where you are going first. There is a steep hill to get up to the site with no turn around if you meet someone coming down hill. There are only 17 sites to park, they are all back in. Lots of trees. The host was nice, waited for us to arrive even after they were officially closed. We stayed here one night so we could go to Bridge Day in Fayetteville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
A very cute circular campground with 17 sites and the bathrooms in the center. Quiet and wooded but only a few miles from highway. Sites 13 through 17 even offered a great satellite view for TV and Motosat internet needs. I could have stayed here a few weeks. Very adorable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
A good overnight place to stay. Inexpensive, but no frills, however, there is a large shopping area about 4 miles north. Bath/shower house was older but clean. Located on the hill above the coal mine exibition and museum (being renovated when I was there). Would stay there again if visting the Beckley area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
While functional, this is NOT a destination campground. Street access is narrow and twisty. The campground itself, sits high on a hill; toads need to be disconnected at the bottom before going up. There is no cable or WiFi and the mine exhibition is closed until April 2008 for renovation. Electrical service is maxed out at 30 amps and all connections are at the rear of the back-in site, so make sure you have a long sewer hose; I needed to add 20 feet to my existing 20 foot hose as the sewer was about 30+ feet from my motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
This is a 'campground' connected with the coal exhibits. Check-in at the exhibits office then pull out of the park, go east then up a big grade. Be sure to unhook at the office and do the reverse when leaving. I was on site 5 - no satellite TV - big trees. But it looked like sites 12 and 13 should be able to get satellite TV. When checking in you get a key which unlocks a cable across your pad. $5 deposit which is refunded when you turn it in. It is also used to unlock the bathrooms - which I did not use. There is a steep path from the park to the exhibits - look at the top of the hill for the path. I did not find it until I left - not marked. I was planning to stay at the WalMart until I spotted signs to the park. It was OK for one night. Price was right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
We spent three nights here and it was a nice quiet park. It's located in the city limits at the city park, the park contains a pool and water slide in season. There is a coal mine here that offers tours which includes an old mining town and pioneer town along with a youth museum, all for one price. The site are a little small but there were 6 or 7 big class A's in there while we were there and they had no problems getting in or out. It's about 3 miles off of I-77. We will stay here again next time we are in the area. Five years full timing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com