214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Brunswick Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (301) 695-5177
CGID4961

Brunswick Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
360
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   9   5   10   8   10   9   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
We arrived in Brunswick and it was necessary to go over 2 railroad tracks and down a mile long road along the river to get to the campground. This road and the roads within the park are "horrible". It was like a washboard and had numerous potholes all along it. The park host was out somewhere in the park so we had to track him down. Sites were not level at all and we encountered more potholes getting to them. I would not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
I want badly to be able to give a higher rating because overall we really enjoyed our time here this weekend; however, there were just a couple of points to bring down the score. First, the good stuff: this place is perfect for those who really love the outdoors. Although we weren't sitting right on the river, we were perfectly close enough in our C6 campsite. There were little trails down through the woods (between 20 and 50 yards) to the river where you could fish or put in a kayak or canoe. Our site had water and electric although the hook-up was on the 'wrong' side, so bring an extension cord. Our daughter loved riding her bike along the quiet 'streets' of the campground - very level. There is a proper boat ramp for real boaters and a playground for the kids. They were just putting on the finishing touches to the neat store (in a bus!), which had ice cream and camp necessities. My husband claims the bathroom had the biggest, hottest campground shower he's ever had - newly renovated and painted. (I used our camper's, so I can't tell you about the ladies'.) OK - so, the negatives: by far the worst is the noise of the railroad and yard at night - I usually have a tolerance for these kinds of things, but in the dead of the night, that train horn, rail crossing bell, and other loud yard work woke us up multiple times. I'm not sure that earplugs or the sound of AC would have helped me, but my husband swears he'll prepare for next time and be fine. Also, there is a LOT of mud throughout the campground. Be sure to bring shoes that you can easily take off at the entrance of your tent/camper. And, lastly, if you are depending on the bath-house and are on the "A" side of the camp, be prepared for a walk or a short drive. I think the new management should consider investing in another bath-house on the other side. Other than that, I think we will return in the summer to tube from the 17 bridge down to the camp and to get some river fishing in! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This was a great park. Getting there you travel over 2 railroad tracks and a narrow road along the river, which was a little narrow but wide enough for our motorhome and still had enough space for bicyclists that passed. We camped in a site overlooking the Potomac River and enjoyed it immensely. Shade trees in Section A runs along the exterior of the park so if you want shade, ask for it The management has recently changed and the park is now much cleaner and more well kept than before. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This is a riverside park. Most lots are back in grass. Two smaller loops are asphalt and gravel. 30 amp electric/ no on site sewer is typical. You must cross a somewhat humped railroad track and then traverse a 3/4 mile single lane gravel road (the old canal tow path), to access this campground. Doable with a class A but not ideal. Note that from route 340 you traverse four newer size roundabouts accessing town. This was not designed for large RVs but traffic was light. This is a flood plain and the park is just below flood stage of 15'. When we arrived the river was at 5'. We left at 11' and the next night the river crested at 20'. Be aware that the city's policy is not to refund your money if you pay and leave early. Nice enough semi-primitive campground but I don't think I would go back. Site flooded multiple times in the last 6 month and we didn't get the warm and cozy feeling you would be advised to vacate until you were at crisis stage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This was great place to camp. The manager was super friendly: a great guy. I would stay here again for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Excellent weekend. We are new at this, the manager and his staff were very helpful and friendly, and ALWAYS available! It seems that manager just waited outside the office all weekend in case anyone needed him. Restrooms/ showers were fairly clean, the ladies told me theirs was excellent. I have no regrets or complaints and would recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
Wow! Has this campground had a face lift! Our family has been coming to Brunswick Campground for years, and for the last few it just went downhill. The bathrooms were nasty, there wasn't ever anyone at the office, drunks all over the place, and I could go on and on. This year they are under new management and they have been so helpful. The grounds are very attractive and landscaped, the bathrooms (wow!) how clean - hot showers. The only drawback is this one permanent trailer. Very dumpy looking, junk all around it - constant traffic in and out - you would think after as much work that apparently has been done to spruce up the place they would finish the job and get rid of that occupant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
We found this little known wonder in the spring. The staff were really great. They told the best places to eat in town like the breakfast at fire house. The fire wood was reasonable,20 pieces for 10 dollars. At most camp grounds 10 dollars would just get you a small bundle. We camped there most of the summer and we will be back this year. It was verey quiet for the most part. We told friends and family about the place and they all enjoyed their stays and said they would be back. We enjoyed tubing down the river, fishing, and biking up and down the tow path. And the view of the river from the camp site was breat taking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
We absolutely love this campground. And we will be back again next October for sure. Making reservations is somewhat tricky due to the lack of an organized reservation system. When we arrived both lots we had reserved were occupied, one by a motorhome that was just parked there. Disappointing, but we accepted the situation and made the best of it. We love the river and the tow path, and take the noise of the railroad in stride. It's part of it. Overall, it was again a fantastic vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
We decided to give this campground a try..and we wish we would not have. Like the other reviews on here, it is a small town operated campground that needs a whole lot of work, and new management. At first we thought it was going to be a quiet out of the way place. That soon changed!!!! They let people stay for months at a time and let me tell you they are trouble makers. The rules say so booze, but they sure walk around with it. They take reservations, but when you get there, they have changed your site on you. We were to get a nice shaded site, but they changed us, and then someone else came and tried setting up on our site. When we went to management about it, she said if you don't like it move or leave! We battled it out for our couple days. In that time there was fireworks going off at night, drunks getting into a fight down on the rivers edge, a person who lives in his trailer for months there is allowed his 4 wheeler and got it stuck on the river bank, the bathrooms were so nasty we had no choice to use our own. The dumpstation needed much aprovement. My what a mess of a park. You think the town would at least try to clean the place up. Oh yea...don't think you can buy wood.. unless you have money to burn. A handfull will cost you 20 bucks. We will NEVER stay here and would never would recommend this park to someone else. I am writting a letter to the mayor about this campground. It should be ran better, cleaned up or closed for good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
I enjoyed our stay. But the one thing the owners need to address is the lamp post lights. The lights obviously have sensors but they did not stay on or stay off. The whole night they came on for 1 minute or so then stayed off for a minute or so. The light should either stay on at night or off. We did not get a good night's sleep both days we were there. This was not the only lamp post that was like this. We walked the campgrounds and saw several the same way. I will recommend and stay again providing the lights are fixed. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$31
Overall this is a nice park. The kids had fun which surprised me. It is more of a toughing it out campground, but it depends on what you're looking for. The kids want go back; ages are 15, 13 and 8. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
As another user mentioned this is ran by the local government, and you would think it would be kept up more than it is. First off, the town you have to go through to get to the campground is REALLY narrow and small roads with cars parked on both sides of the street. We just barely made it through, sometimes crossing into the other lane. Then there is a steep hill where again cars are parked all along the sides and you have to turn right at an intersection. Then you have to cross some REALLY rough railroad tracks that jars you to death. Okay..we though the worse was over... then next comes the narrow dirt and small gravel road full of huge potholes. There is no way you can pass another rig. We managed to get over enough so a few small cars could pass. When we got there at 3pm there was NO one at the office. You had to wait till the next morning before someone was around. The plus to this campground is it is located near the river. The shaded sites are way to small for big rigs, and are mostly for pop ups or tents. The sites for big rigs and travel trailers are just grass sites, with electric and water hookups. Most are out in the open with no shade at all. The bathrooms were some of the worst we have ever seen! My husband would not even go to the bathroom in there. That is saying something! The showerhouse and bathrooms are together in one big red building. They stunk so bad you could smell them before you got to them. The inside was all torn up and not cared for. There was all sorts of writings on the wall. The showers where so dirty we used the one we had in our trailer. The train traffic as BAD. Could not sleep cause of it. We stayed here one night until we found there was a nearby KOA and moved there for the rest of our stay. All we can say is this campground could be nice if there were LOTS of work done. We will never go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
This campground is maintained by the city of Brunswick and is "rustic" in many respects. It sits on the Potomac and has a boat launch site available. Lots of trees or open sites are available. In addition to the 65 RV sites, there is room for "300" tent sites. (That would be crowding it). There is only one bath house and that is a long walk for the group tenters. Though no sewer hookups, there is a dump station available. All sites have a picnic table and a fire ring. The downside starts when you approach the campground. Town roads can be narrow (it's an old town) and some parts are steep. You cross two sets of railroad tracks to get to the C&O Canal towpath which is about .75 miles of gravel road to the campground. HOWEVER, the railroad tracks are active and the trains travel through and stop to hook up in the yard all night. Can you get used to it? Maybe, but be warned. You are not so close as to be a danger to children (and there is a playground on the campground for young ones) but between the river and the tracks, keep a close watch on the wandering 5-9 year old. Staff is wonderful and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. There is the C&O canal to hike or bike, the City of Brunswick has some great small eateries (and a wonderful coffee house in an old church with scrumptious desserts), and a museum to railroads (admission fee) with a huge HO gauge replica of the town in its heyday. You are close to Harpers Ferry for history or rafting and a short drive to Sharpsburg battle field (Antietam for the North). I rated this a 6 due to one bath house, no sewer hook ups or 50 amp, lack of phone/modem/cable/WiFi and most of all the train noise at night. All that being said, the alternatives are not great. The next closest campground is a KOA in Harpers Ferry at twice the price. (They have an entry in WV.) Would we go back? Yes, to see more of Harpers Ferry, try a rafting trip and have more coffee and desserts at Beans in the Belfry. OK, the noise will bother us, but after being outside all day, we can probably sleep through it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
We had a great time at this campground. Granted the hump over the railroad made the back end of the motorhome scrape the road. That always worries me. The tow path is narrow but we had no problems. There's only one bath house but it seemed clean, only a few shower mates I noticed (daddy-long legs). No big deal. The view was fantastic, and the help of the campground manager was absolutely great. It's run by the town of Brunswick. Oh, yes, we'll be back every fall; the KOA in Harpers Ferry has lost our business forever!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com