214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Gaston Americamps was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (434) 636-2668
CGID4965

Lake Gaston Americamps

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   5   6   6   9   6   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Great Campground. We stayed here overnight on our way north. The rate reflects a winter special. The campground staff is wonderful, very helpful. Our site was a pull through, with a concrete pad and a beautiful view of the lake. In the spring and summer this place has many things to do - swimming pool, fishing, boating, mini - golf. Wi-Fi is excellent. Camp store is well stocked and has a good selection of items. Complimentary coffee in camp store in the mornings. We will definitely be staying here again; hopefully, for a long stay to enjoy all the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
This is not a "regular" campground, it is more of a small town made up of permanently installed fifth wheels and trailers. But it is perfectly fine for an overnight stay. It is organized along Lake Gaston, a pretty lake between Virginia and North Carolina, and offers lots of water-based recreation. The hook-ups work well and the concrete pad is level. There are not very many temporary hookups so it might be a good idea to call ahead if you are traveling at a popular time. The people who work here are very nice and busy getting ready for their huge Halloween haunted house and party. No, thanks... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
When we pulled in, it looked like a trailer park- but not in a good way. So many trailers with built in enclosures. UGLY to say the least. The road into the campground was fine, but to get out, it was narrow. The site was concrete and very large. Out of the way to get there. But, was beautiful surrounding. Would go back to Lake Gaston, but I think I'd find another park. Convenient to interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Good Sam discount $38.52. Office staff was very friendly. Narrow interior roads. Big-rig pull-thru sites have a LEVEL concrete pad. All utilities worked well. All sites in the trees so no satellite. Lots of unpaved interior roads, so beware. Staff knowledge of big rig ability to turn is limited. Would only stay again if necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Has a few pull-thrus for short stays. If you need to stay longer they will have you move to a space that may or may not be paved/level. They cater mainly to long term (years) camper set-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
We had an unplanned visit due to a breakdown. Can't fault the folks who run the place at all. All were most accommodating & helpful. Yes, it is mostly seasonal. All of the seasonal sites are well kept. There is a long list of rules & apparently they are enforced. It is very quiet during the week. Just a few others like us passing through. We would normally avoid the mostly seasonal campgrounds, but this one breaks the stereotype, & we would return again without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
Nice views. Park is mostly residential. The park is clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. The gnats were horrific and made our stay most unpleasant. Would probably not return for that reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
We stayed 1 night at this gated RV park while traveling. The gravel pull through site had water and electric but no sewer connection and was next to sites with concrete pads and full hookups. Dump station was difficult to get to when we were leaving. Gravel roads were uneven and tight. This park has more sites with permanent RV/TT than sites for traveling RVers. Staff was friendly and helpful and escorted us to our site. This park has a beautiful lake. Probably would stay here again while traveling but not for a long term stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Mostly a permanent resident park. Very few residents visible while we were there. We were only staying one night so we did not ask for sewer. The site we went into was not level, and the wheels were coming off the ground trying to level it. The site was dirt. One site up from us in the tier was a full hook up site with a cement pad. I called the office and asked if I could change and they were most friendly and agreeable. My suggestion is to ask for a cement pad site. Other reviews of terrain are accurate. We would stop here again for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
The use of the intercom is great since the office is a ways back on the property. Well worth the less than 6 mile drive off of I-85. We will stay here again. This is an older campground that is being brought up to date and does have lots of permanent residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
There are a lot of permanent residents here. Some even walked through our site, and many acted like we were in their way. The staff was friendly, but the pool very crowded, and if you don't know the lake, it can be dangerous. It goes from 20 feet to 3 feet without warning, and in the middle of where you think the channel should be. We stayed here 4th of July weekend. On check out time, my landing gear broke and one of the seasonal campers next to me bent over backwards to help us out (as he did when my propane crossover valve went bad on day one). He called a buddy that brought over a floor jack and helped get the rig on the truck. The park was very hard to navigate, hilly, windy, narrow dirt roads, some with huge trenches in them. You had better be comfortable pulling a camper to come here. No lakeside beach, only a small boat launch in main camping area, with an improved launch by the pool. Water front is on other campers sites. If you can find another park, I would suggest it, but in a pinch, I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We have camped here about 4 times as this is the only acceptable Lake Gaston campground that doesn't require a membership. We love the lake! he bath houses are always nice and clean with plenty of hot water. As others have stated, there are many permanent trailers there with decks and such and also a LOT of gold cart traffic. The sites are not level. We have always had a hard time leveling here, and once or twice had to just be unlevel. We have small kids and there is no beach or swimming area for the lake. It is just grass and then sludgy lake bottom. The pool always looks clean and nice, but I have a pool in my backyard. I'm there for the lake. The only way to truly enjoy the lake (other than fishing from the shore) is to have watercraft. Also, if you have a large trailer or RV, it is extremely difficult to navigate the roads to and from your campsite. The roads are very narrow, windy, and the other campers even take up some of the road parking. We had to pull our trailer through a ditch and almost flip it to get out of there once. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
We stopped, overnight, on our way south. Park has very friendly staff, and the site was nice. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$55
I visited this camp late Fall of 09', the pool was already closed for the season. The Game room/Large group meeting building was also closed. This campground was maintained but there were a lot of long term trailers parked here. It honestly looked like an over crowded trailer park community. There was a private residence at the entrance to the camp sites that had a two day loud party. I even overheard some camp employees use profanity when another camper had complained about the noise. They began playing music at around 8:00 in the morning and did not end until 10:00 at night. The golf cart traffic was out of this world, non-stop all day long. We were parked at site 69, right next to the store in the front of the campground, so we heard and witnessed everything. The view and the Lake were beautiful, but it is not enough for me to want to EVER return. Stay away from this campground during the late fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This is not a campground for RVers. It is a place for folks to leave a camping trailer and visit the lake on weekends. Probably the worst campground for the money that I have ever stayed at. Poor/no cell service with Verizon. No cell service with AT&T. No Cable. Satellite would not work due to trees. Most lots are tied up with perm campers with decks built on them. Next time we'll use one of the public campgrounds in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
This is the second time we stayed at this campground. We were in site #74, which overlooks the lake. Rained on the way there and that night, but was sunny the following day. Very busy lake, as there are a lot of boats and jet-skis on the water. The pool overlooks the lake and is very pleasant. The bathrooms were very clean. The sites are not that level and had to do some maneuvering to get reasonably level. The camp store was well stocked and the staff extremely friendly. Cell phone signal very poor and local TV stations very slim. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Liked the park. Pros: very friendly staff and permanent campers were wonderful; Fabulous pool overlooking a great lake; well stocked camp store; boat launch available in CG; gravel roads limited dust and mud; gravel sites; most sites large enough for any rig w/awning and slides; very clean and modern bathhouses Cons: Cell phones did not work (almost no one's did from any server). No cable TV and local antenna access was poor. Sites hard to level rig. Speed bumps on access road are nasty. Sites not big rig friendly. Rental trailers are very old and small. Overall would stay there again if in the area. Location, location, location. CG is right on the lake and the view from our site was fabulous (we had first site right by the camp store, overlooking the pool and the lake). The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful in every way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
We stayed for an extended weekend for a brothers get together that we started last year. We really enjoyed the campgrounds. We stayed in my travel trailer and had Site 69 which was right next to the store/office. It was a little busy with all the golf carts but no different than any other campground with seasonals. Wade stopped by and invited us down to a party at the rec hall. Access to the lake is great since my brother brought his boat from NC we were out on the lake everyday fishing. We loved the place and want to go back again but we all agreed to try different places. I have 2 brothers in NC and myself, and one brother in NY so it was a short drive for them alot longer for us but I ould definitely go again if staying in the area. My brother from NY is already planning a trip down to stay in one of the rental trailers for August he liked it so much. This was about the only weekend that didn't have a fishing tournement scheduled so the lake was pretty much open to us. The great weather, the great site with a view of the lake, and great southern hospitality from all of the people at the campgrounds made you feel like home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
We had the perfect view and site overlooking the lake, playground and pool. There are limited full hook-up sites and plenty of water and electric. We camped during the Fisher of Men fishing tournament. This campground is very busy on the weekend with boats constantly coming in and out of the campground. If you enjoy this type of atmosphere, you will not mind all the boating activity. This campground also has a lot of permanent sites and golf carts are abundant. The pool was not open but it was a nice size. Disappointing was that if you don't own a boat, you cannot rent them at this campground. The campground store was well stocked and the staff was extremely nice and answered all questions. Bathrooms were pretty clean. The campground is gated. The closest Wal-Mart was 10 minutes away. I would stay again to witness the excitement of watching boats launch and wait for the fishing tournament. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
This was a nice campground. Had a little trouble getting set up. The sites are not very level. A lot of things for the kids to do here. Good views of the lake. We will be back next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This was our first time camping in our new travel trailer. The people were very friendly, store was well stocked and there was many activities for people of all ages. We will definitely return soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
We stayed here 2 different nights on our way to/from visiting friends in NC. It was easy to find, and the staff seemed very friendly. The entrance is gated, but they opened the gate for us to come in after hours. We did call ahead and reserve a spot as we were driving there and we mentioned that we'd be arriving after closing time. It did seem to be set up mostly with seasonal campers, or the rentals that they have available. But, we were given a nice back-in site both times with views of the lake. Sites were gravel but of decent size. They had a nice pool (it wasn't open for the season yet)right near the lake, mini-golf, and a place with pool tables, arcade games, etc. A lot of boaters were there, they had a decent boat ramp. The camp store seemed well stocked, and our kids thought the place was nice enough that we are going to plan a trip there just to camp for a few days, rather than use it just as a stop over. Staff was VERY friendly, that makes it even nicer. Bathrooms were clean, but we did not use the showers. I would recommend it, but would also recommend calling ahead, especially if coming in after hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
This park needs some serious TLC. The majority of sites are occupied by permanent trailers many of which have decks and wooden or metal structures built over top. Due to the number of seasonal residents, the atmosphere was quite uncomfortable as an outsider that was visiting for the weekend. Sites were extremely un-level and narrow. The playground appeared to have new equipment and the miniature golf course needs to be replaced. The pool was not open as we stayed here in April. The staff was friendly during check-in. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
The staff was very friend and helpful. The pool was very clean. The playground and golf course needs some TLC. There was many seasonal trailers but, very well maintained. A beautiful view of the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Just over the Gerogia State Line in Bracey, Virginia this campground is more of a seasonal trailer park with about 50 transient campsites. Located about 5 miles from I85. Very shaded, hilly, narrow gravel roads and only 4 pull throughs (2 with sewer). The remaining sites were back ins. Nice people but facilities need a lot of TLC. Stayed 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com