223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Virginia Landing was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (757) 442-5489
CGID4966

Virginia Landing

Camp Information
Sites
265
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   10   4   9   7   2   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Camped here overnight through Passport America. We were provided with a pull-through site with a view of the water. Campground is a field on the water with full hook-ups. The restrooms were clean, but old and not air-conditioned. The pool was wonderful, but about a quarter mile from the campground. The way in to the campground is about 7 miles of a narrow road. Was pleasant for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$23
Rate reflects Passport America rate and that is the only good thing about this park. It suffered substantial damage during Hurricane Sandy in Oct 2012 and has never been totally repaired. Some of the grass is very nicely cut and manicured but other areas and sites are just broken with no look of repair coming. If you check their website it really shows the way it WAS, not how it is now. Too bad. Won't return ever and do not recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
My wife and I have stayed here for the past three years traveling north and then south. Yes, the park is large but the if you can stand some quite time this is the place. We will be here again May 2014 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
TT member rate =free Oh man. 9 miles down a private lane to get to the gate guard. Another mile from the shack to the campsites. Only 11 of the 200 sites have full hookups and they are all clustered in the center. About 1/2 of the 200 sites were crossed off the map, saying the electric was out. That was ALL the waterfront sites! The playground/lodge was another 1/2 mile away from the campsites. Free Wi-Fi at the lodge only, but it was SLOW!!! No cell signal for ATT. They had some great amenities: playground, pool, minigolf, billards, air hockey, ping pong, etc. You could not get to them. There was a weird 3-block section of residential houses between them and the campsites. If you had to speak to a ranger you had to go a mile to the guard shack! The only way to navigate this place was with a golf cart - which we did not have. I could have handled being 15 miles from town if the site was nice, but it was too spread out with no phone service I could not keep track of my kids. My husband could not get work done. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
This place is awesome; good power, sewer works, good water pressure, AT&T works, nice sized sites, great view of the bay. Yes, like the other reviewer said, it is off the beaten path, BUT that is what's great about it; no road noise, no trains. Yes, the pool is a little distant from the 18 RV sites, BUT it has parking and a great view of the bay. I guess it is what you make of it. We loved it. Rate reflects TT membership. We stayed here for 4 nights and would gladly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
My husband and I are retired full-time RVers from S. CA traveling the USA in a 24' travel trailer. We reserved our 1-night stay through our Passport America membership. We wouldn't stay here again because it is just too far off the beaten path. The park is lovely and huge and on a pretty bay. The pool is too far of a hike...waaaaaaay out across the grass beyond where the permanent resident's live. There are really nice 'homes' here and some RV's. Few transients...at least at this time of the year. Extremely quiet. The laundry room is small but functional. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
We very pleased with this park using our RPI rate of $10 a night. Ocean view, quiet, secluded, nice pool, really not much to complain about. Staff were very nice and sites were neat and clean. However, we began to have high voltage issues about the third day there, and they got worse and worse and worse. We had a surge protector so power to our rig was cut off each time it occurred, but others without a protector had no idea that they were operating at high voltage for continually longer periods of time. Manager had clearly tried to get the problem addressed, with no success. We also heard from others in the permanent "village area" that this had been going on for a while, with a recent RV frying their sat dish receiver. Apparently the problem was occurring only in the full hookup area, of which there are about 13 sites. We finally just packed up and left early after running on our generators the last two nights. I sent an email to the corporate owner, but have not gotten any response. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$13
You'll think you're never going to get here because you have to travel 5 miles on what is almost a private road to get here after you leave Quinby. The road is not bad, but tends to be a little bumpy in an RV (no potholes). The park is trying to cater to everyone. They are a Thousand Trails park and also a Resort Park Internation Park. I'm not sure but they would probably let normal Good Sam visitors in also. We are with RPI and the $13 rate is the normal $10 RPI plus $3 for 50amp service. They also have cabins for rent. While I guess the sites don't qualify as "Ocean View", our site has us facing the Atlantic with maybe 100 yards of grass between us and the open ocean. I couldn't ask for a better view! It's beautiful! They also have a section that has lots of trees (30amp only) and it is fairly full. The full hookup sites are out in the open and are partially full. We prefer the full hookups and the beautiful views of the ocean. I think the park has been here for many, many years. Some aspects of it (lodge building, mini golf, office) look very old and are not kept up the way they could be, but all of the sites are very well kept. The grass is cut and everything about the site works just fine. The TV reception is poor but satellite reception is great. They told me that there was no internet at the sites, but I've been on line for a couple of days now. I can't explain that! The signal is weak and comes and goes but it is here. If you're looking for a beautiful place to sit back and watch the Ocean from under a tree, this is it. If you're looking for a park with some action on the side, keep on looking because this isn't for you. We're spending a week here and we love it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$3
Rate for 50AMP. 300 sites and 14 have full hookups, W/S/E. 286 W/E only. The CG is well maintained, mown grass, acres of grass. You will find three large flocks of Canada Geese roaming the grass fields so watch your step. The laundry/restrooms/showers are clean. The laundry pricey. Once upon a time this was a busy, busy place with lots of activities for the entire family. The facilities are still in place, a little dated but good condition. The mini-golf thing is pretty bad, not kept clean and obstacles are broken so some holes are impossible. The CG pool is located near the east side of the park and close to the pier. There is no beach. The gate person was very helpful and lead us out to the full hookup sites. All of the sewer drains are raised above the ground and above most RV drain valves so dumping your tanks is no fun. There is a dump station alternative 200 feet from the full hookup sites. There had been heavy rains the week before we arrived here and some of the W/S/E sites were still mushy and soft. There was evidence that campers had been stuck in three of these sites. There is a breeze blowing here most of the time and sometimes gusty. Protect your awning. Clamming, Crabbing and Fishing are available and there is room in the fields of mown grass to hold several major events all at the same time. The family lodge is huge and nice equipment. The adult lodge isn't so great. It's small and a mess. No cell coverage, intermittent Wi-Fi at best, and poor TV reception. There is a boat ramp near the adult lodge, again, no beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$3
Stayed here on ROD (free) but needed 50amp to run both A/C so had to pay $3 a night for 50 amp. Very nice old park. Must have been a hopping place in the 50's!!! It is at the end of a narrow but paved road. There are only 10 or so sites with sewer. A lot of the sites have no power at this time due to a problem. We were near the water but it was beastly hot when we were here. We really couldn't enjoy it other than looking out the window from the air conditioned motor home. Laundry room was nice but could have used some ventilation or a/c. Bathrooms looked OK. All buildings are old. Make sure you bring everything you need because shopping is many miles away. Very peaceful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
This is a remote and very quiet CG on Hog Island Bay. The last road to the CG is 5 miles and paved but very bumpy, not potholes but a narrow uneven road. The CG is at the end of the road. There is a wooded area but we were happy in an open area so the rooftop dish worked well. Sprint cell and internet worked but not well, weak signal. The CG is far from full being so isolated. Our site is large and all grass, ground was solid, it's about 200' from the water with nothing between us. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, and washed our RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
This a wonderful place. They have added some sites in the open area that offer 50/30, sewer and water. The sites are wide and parking is on gravel/grass areas. There is a large area in the woods, that offer shade, electric and water (no sewer). The pool has just been redone is large for many to enjoy. There is a great deal of grass area for walks and playing of games with pets (our dog especially loved the running area). The clubhouse and some other buildings do show their age, but are clean. The dock does need to be repaired. We shall return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Park was spacious but very few full hook-up sites. Water was standing in the men's room floor for 6 out of 7 days there. Swimming pool did not have water. Miniture golf course was in poor shape. Staff was courteous and helpful. This campground is several miles off the main highway and not handy to shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$0
As a member of Thousand Trails we used this campground as a "rest" on a long trip and were very disappointed after our experiences in other TT locations. In the bath house there was no hot water, toilets not flushed, and water running in some toilets. The swimming pool was not filled, and we seriously doubt it ever will be since there was peeling paint all over it, and there did not appear to be any effort to be working on it. On the plus side is the natural beauty, all grass areas were meticulously mowed, and people were friendly. A lounge offered TV and Wi-Fi but with limited hours of operation, and it is located a distance from the camping sites. The playground is one of the largest and well kept ones we have seen. Oh yes: those mosquitoes LOVE to come out after dark when there is no breeze so bring a good book to read while sitting inside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$13
We like it. It was a little remote, but that is part of the charm. The road in is narrow and has little traffic. It's perfect for bicycling. (It goes 10 miles north for a pretty, flat, 20 mile ride.) The boat launch at the camp is on one of the prettiest bays we have ever kayaked. Has LOTS of birds and wildlife. There are plenty of nice kayak launches in the immediate area. The full time campers here are in good repair and separate from the RV campers. We stayed a week and paid $13 a night through RPI. We'd rate the park higher if it had Wi-Fi, sewer drains flush with ground level, and concrete, asphalt or gravel pads instead of grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
Virginia Landing is a Naco/Thousand Trails private Campground. We stayed as Coast to Coast members, so we paid $10.00 a night. Campground is 5 miles from Quinby, VA. The roadway in is VERY LONG and narrow, and no signs, no place to turn around if you had too. Campground main road is paved, but the rest are gravel. Sites are grass with a cement pad for the picnic table, fairly wide and all back ins. Only 14 sites with full hookups which are out in the open. The rest are either in the open or in tall pine trees with only water and electric hookups. TV reception was fair to poor, although you could go to the lodge and watch satellite TV and internet using their wireless setup. Lots of seasonal trailers, most have been converted to homes, and park trailers. Even a couple of homes have been built there. 2 bath houses, the one by the seasonal was in terrible shape, paint pealing off the floors and walls, cob webs everywhere, just not kept up at all. The other bath house had the washer/dryers in them. This one was better, but still well used and not maintained. We were there in mid to late September, and the mosquito’s were terrible, if the breeze was not blowing, they were eating you alive. You couldn’t come out at night, you’d be eaten alive then too. There is the bay on each side of this campground, so there is marsh everywhere. I would say in its day, this was a beautiful campground, but the grass was long, and the sites are not maintained very well at all. We probably would stay here again, but only for a day or 2, although it so far off the beaten trail, we’d probably try somewhere else first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
We stayed here for two weeks with our Thousand Trails membership. It's a serene, off the beaten path location with lots of wildlife to observe. The facilities are nicely maintained and the staff is friendly and professional. We had one of the full hook up sites. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$39
Virginia Landing (TT/NACO) got hit hard Labor Day weekend by tropical storm Ernesto. The Storm Surge flooded the campground with swamp reeds, which have been cleaned up, and no trailers were damaged. Flooding has shorted out sections of the electric sites, and the ground was rather spongy in many areas when I arrived. However, a few dry days and good breezes helped dry things out. A beautiful preserve with peace and quiet, but all the amenities. Laundry and Restrooms were clean and operational. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Located on the Eastern Shore of Virginia, just east of Painter (Route 13), and south of Quinby (Route 605), about 8-1/2 miles brings you to Virginia Landing. A wonderful 800 acres bordered by the Hog Island Bay to the east, and the Machipongo River to the west. With 200+ sites (some field style, some wooded), this preserve is very nice. I was able to get one of 9 full hook sites, and enjoyed my two nights to the fullest. Got lots of rest, and spent time touring the preserve. Family Lodge, food service (in season), pool, puttputt golf, horseshoes, ball field, playgrounds, Adult Lounge, Marina, Boat slips and ramp, fish cleaning stations, Pier on Hog Island Bay. Rangers Station has a mini store with a little of everything. Rangers were so very helpful and friendly. Lots of geese during my stay, the little goslings were adorable as they chased mommy and daddy to the pond. Saw a very large wild turkey, and quite a few deer. The preserve is part of the Thousand Trails/NACO system, and a very nice resort. My only reason for not giving it a 10 is that the preserve is going through spring clean up and miscellaneous repairs. Yes, I will return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com