221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Wellesley Island State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (315) 482-2722
CGID4968

Wellesley Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
434
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   10   8   10   4   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Stayed on the Heron Loop, the newest of the campsite loops at WISP. (As others have noted, the full-hookup Fox Loop is scheduled for substantial upgrades during the fall of 2014.) The Heron loop appears to be designed for RV/trailer camping; all sites have 30 amp electrical service, are generously sized, and have gravel laid down for your camper. The bathroom/shower house is new, and is based on the same design as other recently installed facilities at Gilbert Lake State Park and Westcott Beach State Park. The camp store was poorly stocked at the time we visited; we were told that was because it is being torn down and replaced during the fall of 2014. The swimming area is fairly small, given the size of the park overall. WISP is great if you are in a position to partake in activities at the park, such as the Minna Anthony Common nature center, the marina, the golf course, the swimming area, or the hiking trails in the campground. It's less effective as a 'home base' for 1000 Islands activities - anything else you might want to do (aside from visiting Fineview) requires crossing the 1000 Islands Bridge, meaning a $2.75 toll every time you return to the park, and lots of additional time driving back and forth to Clayton or Alexandria Bay. During August of 2014, Clayton Island Boat Tours stopped serving WISP due to a dispute over how the ferries were docking at the marina - as of 8/30, there was no word on any resolution to this. Please keep this in mind if you were counting on taking one of their tours from WISP. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
The fee includes the rate plus $9 Reserve America fee plus a $5 out of state fee. We camped in the H (Heron) loop, so this review is for there. The roads are mostly paved. The sites are huge & open, with gravel & grass. Electric is good, but towers are set very far back in the site. No water or sewer at these sites, but water sources are plentiful on the road and there are dump stations as you leave. Our Verizon phone & Hotspot worked well & we were able to get a couple of local TV stations. This loop is a fair distance from the other loops, the marina, beach, store, laundry & recycle/trash areas. A large body of water called Eel Bay is about 100 feet behind several sites, but that area is too heavily wooded for access to or viewing of the water. That is unfortunate. Bathrooms were pretty clean & updated. We loved 2 private facilities labeled wheelchair accessible with toilet, sink & shower. The nature center was small but interesting and daily activities for it were posted in the campground. The butterfly house was nothing special. Every trip from the mainland to the park will cost $2.50 (car only) over the bridge. Be sure to take a right out of the park & drive down to the small community of Fineview as it is beautiful! We liked it here and would stay again, but we want the “F” loop next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
This was our second time here - we visited last year. F loop has full service sites. Very large sites. Friendly staff. Manager came around to announce changes coming this fall. Sites will be concrete, angled for easier entry, new water system, and some 50 amp. Also some handicap sites will be added. Should be ready by Memorial Weekend 2015. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Great New York State Park as most are. This is a great campground with every type of site for everyone primitive to full hook ups. The sites are very large with more then enough room for all the equipment we campers love to travel with. The full hook up sites are bordering a wood line and some open fields with great grass covered sites. There is only 30 amp, but without having to run two AC this power is strong with no valleys at our site # 8 which is on the second curve in which backed us up to the woods on two side very private with morning sun and afternoon shade. The full hook up loop F has room to drop toad. but better to drop at office and hook back up there. GREAT CAMPGROUND and state park rated 9 because no 50 amp or it would be a 10 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Great park! Very clean restrooms, large sites all on grass. Peaceful and beautiful. Loved this state park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Very large, beautiful State Park and inexpensive. We stayed in "F" loop, only loop with full hook-ups. Site was very large, with a paved pad. Nice shade trees near most sites. The park is so big you need a bike to get around. No real bath house for this area. Other areas without full hook-ups had them and they looked new. Great hiking trails, and just biking around the park was fun. Was nice to take the 1000 Islands boat tour, and they have fishing boats for rent cheap, right from the marina in the campground. Reasons I didn't give a "10." The electric service is only 30amp and weak. No WiFi. You have to go over the bridge for anything and pay $2.50 whenever you returned. Not the campground's fault, but expensive as we went over every day. Might stay here again, but not in hotter weather due to weak service (need my A/C). But all in all, a beautiful state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This is the best State Park we have ever camped in. Bathroom and shower facilities were new (on H Loop) employees were friendly and the sites were large enough to easily handle our 40 foot motorhome. Loop H was out in the open making it easy for Sat TV but we got a number of local channels over the air. We made reservations only 2 weeks in advance. At loop H we thought we were close to the water- and we were- but really could not see the lake/river from out site because of the dense trees between us and the water. Still beautiful views when walked through the woods to the river. We used the Clayton Tours boat for a tour of the area- they picked us up at the park marina and gave us an area tour then went to Bolt Castle (def worth the time and money)g neat site to see. Did not even have to drive off the campground because the Store on grounds was excellent. We did visit a few of the local Wineries though. The best campsites at the park however are for the tent campers- they have sites right on the rocks a few feet from the river. No pool but they do have a swimming area on the river- and the water was much warmer than we had expected. Only issue is that the park is so big that you really need a car or a bike to get around inside the park. I also should have brought my boat as there is a very good ramp and overnight docks available to campers. Great Place- we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
First, a warning. Stay away from site F-6. It is fair sized but the pad itself is a postage stamp sized patch of grass and mud with a few fragments of old asphalt. It is is out of level by at least 18 inches side to side and more front to back. There are a few other less than perfect sites in the F (full hookup) loop but none as bad. The park as a whole is excellent. There are several loops ranging from dry, tent sites to full hookups. You can find a site for a big rig but choose carefully. You'll probably want to see it firsthand before you check in. Verizon signal is poor but usable for voice only. The nearest Internet access is at the NY Visitor Center on the other side of the (toll) bridge. There are a couple nearby general store/gas station/restaurants but its a few miles back on the mainland to a supermarket. My price included a $5/day out of state fee. The rating I gave reflects my lousy site in an otherwise nice park. I'll probably be back if I'm in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
F - Fox Area has 3 way hookups in spaces of varying length. About 57 spaces. Old design, everything at right angles and very well spaced apart. Spent a week there with some rainy days -- some sites were deep in water and mud because tow vehicles have to park on grass. Sites are paved but grooved from use and may tilt forward so bring leveling blocks. All in all a nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
Could be a great campground, but. We stayed in Fox Area 1, the Full Hookup loop. It was a holiday weekend and the electric was in full use. We were down to 109 volts ac. Many of the sites in that loop were no where near level. Had no problems with water pressure. We checked out the showers and restrooms. The floors and walls could use a good cleaning!!! The mop board along the walls were filthy. Park appeared to be well patroled and someone was at the main gate until 3 am. Everything was quiet by 11 pm. The non-handicap walking trails at the Nature Center could have been better marked and better maintained. Very rough walking as you get further along the trail and one should have hiking boots and not sneakers. All the park personnel were professional and courteous. This had to be one of the nicest NYS parks that I have ever seen. If NYS would figure out how to set up campsites, I could rate it much higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
Here lies a park with an attitude. As long as you don’t ask any favors or don’t mind being surrounded by barking dogs, this might be the park for you. As it turns out, all reservations for NY State Parks are made thru Reserve America, specifying a check-in time of 3:00 pm and a check-out time of 11:00 am, giving the park 4 hours to “groom” the site. But wait! Our only day to take the park guided canoe ride was on the morning of our scheduled departure, leaving at 9:30 and returning at 11:30. Wouldn’t you think that the park superintendent would allow us some flexibility, to check out by 2:00 pm rather than 11:00 am – still a full hour before the scheduled check-in time? “Can’t permit it,” he argued. He did finally agree to 12:00 noon, "but not a minute later" he stipulated, simply because there were other campers watching in disbelief. Yes, the park does offer full hookups, which most other NY state parks lack. And most of the sites can easily accommodate a full array of RV equipment – motorhome, tents, boat, and tow vehicle. My rating of 6.5 reflects some of the other nicer aspects, such as the canoe ride and boat rentals. We camped in a motorhome and will probably not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
WI-FI and cellular service may come from Canadian towers. This could cause international charges on your bill. The site we had was very unlevel and extremely tight. Close to several 1000 Island sites. Large campground with sites for all kinds of camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
I would give this park a higher rating but it is located literally in the middle of lots of water, but there are almost no waterfront sites unless you are in a tent. That being said, it is well maintained and beautiful and very convenient to Alexandria Bay and the boat tours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
I was a little disappointed with the park personnel when we were attempting to book in. I realize I did not have a reservation but tried to get into the park for the night due to our reserved park unable to accommodate us. (No one in the office upon check in). The 'young' ladies gave us a number of spots that were available, after advising them we have a 31 foot fifth wheel. We only wanted one night and went to look at the sites. All were way too small for our Unit. We saw numerous empty sites which would have accommodated our unit but they were not marked as available on our map. Now I could understand if it were Friday but this was a Thursday evening. We had stayed here before and found it to be pleasant. I don't know if its just me or the service is going down hill in state parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
This is one of our favorite parks. The views on the water are spectacular. It is a State Park so the facitlies are not as nice as some of the RV resorts that we have stayed in. However the sites are large. There is a boat launch and a marina. The last time I kept my boat in a slip there it only cost $7 per night. Word is getting out about this park and it is getting harder and harder to get water-front sites. Over all one of my favorite parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
This is the largest campground in the Thousand Island area. There are various campsites to choose from. If you are in a tent or a big rig you will find a site to suit your needs. There are wonderful sites with views of the river that are walk in only. This was our first visit to this state park, and it was a great experience. We did not like the site that we booked, and the staff at the park had no problem relocating us. The views of the river, fishing and boating are tremendous in this area. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
It would be very difficult to find a serious fault with this park. It is well maintained, and the staff is helpful. We arrived late in the day without a reservation the last week of September. The park was far from full. Whenever we are back in the area we will be sure to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Great park. You are on an island. It has it's own marina with brand new docks. Easy access launch ramp. Fuel and bait. Roads are all paved, easy for the big buses and trailers to get around. Electric, water and sewer are where they should be. Only one loop has full hook-ups. The rest have water and electric or no hookups. We have been there a few times. The water is crystal clear. Traveling in and out of all the islands is amazing. Fishing is great. I would go back on a heart beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
Camp here every May long weekend. Enjoy the size and feel of the park. Sites are a very good size for all sizes of campers and tenters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
This is a beautiful state park with wide sites. Very close to the thousand islands. We arrived after hours and the staff had provided a list of camp sites available on the door which were easy to find. It is so peaceful and a wonderful view of the lake. Staff was so helpful the next day too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
We don't usually stay in State Parks but were pleasantly surprised at this one. Even without a reservation they were still able to accommodate us with a full service site. The site was large, level and clean. Some sites had woods behind while others were on the open field side. The restrooms were a little too far away from the full service area but were reasonable clean, as they were part of the Day use area as well. There was a lot of wildlife in the area and it appeared as though they had numerous activities. Each site came with a picnic table and fire ring. Wood was available for a fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
This a great park. From tent camping to full hook-ups. It is located on an island half way into Canada from the 1000 Island Bridge. It has two marinas, swimming in the river, and a small store. The sites are huge. They have only one loop with full hookups, that has only57 sites. It will fill up quickly. For someone that is into fishing the area is the Smallmouth Bass capital. Musky, Walleye, Northern Pike are also around. Within a short distance, you can get on a tour boat and see the thousand islands up close. The name of the area is actually called 1000 Islands on the St. Lawrance River. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com