220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Dallas / Arlington KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (817) 277-6600
CGID4977

Dallas / Arlington KOA

Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   9   5   6   8   8   7   8   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$52
The location is what drew us to this campground. We did enjoy being in the middle of everything in Arlington; however, there is a big "but". The park is over run with long termers that don't keep their sites up well. The pool was a bit off-color and in need of a thorough cleaning. The shower/restrooms were not very clean and in desperate need of some repairs. Shower #2 was missing the shower head, #4 had almost no water pressure, and #5 had so much pressure it hurt (no flow adjustment on control knobs). We didn't try the cable. The WiFi worked really well but was not secured. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Older park, layout nice, but needs upgrading. Laundry and baths/showers clean. Close to attractions, Shopping, and only 6 miles from baseball and football stadiums. Staff friendly and courteous. Lots of permanent residents in older units. Would recommend park, not the best, not the worst We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
This is a Big Park, no, I mean Really Big. And, it is full of long-term renters. I'd guess that 85% of the sites are occupied by non-weekend campers. That said, we got what we desired from this park. Big Rig compatible, full hook-ups, and a location that gave us access to The MetroPlex (Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington). This was a "get away" trip with one of our son's and his friend, both ages 13, so location to Six Flags, SpeedZone was priority. Don't stay here if you are looking for "the camping experience". It's just not a very appealing park by eye site. Maybe it was because we arrived in the middle of the night, but, I think they could do a better job of identifying the Park Entrance. The KOA store is out front with what appears to be driveways on either sides. Wrong. You'll get in a heap if trouble in a bigger RV if you choose incorrectly. Since the Park is located within the city and off of a busy major street, backing up, if you choose poorly, would be hazardous. Looking at the KOA Store the correct entrance is on your left. Because they have so many long term residents, the restroom-shower stalls stay active. We each have our unique reasons why we chose to use the parks facilities or our own. If you select the parks because you like the bigger shower stalls, you might want to re-think your options here. Their shower stalls are about the same size as what you rig has and each stall has its own personality and comes with its individualized shower head. Try them all out and pick your favorite. We did enjoy the dog area. Lots of dogs call this place "home". And the only other comment that I can think might provide some insight is the sites themselves. We have a large 40 foot with 5 slides. Because of the situation of the tree limbs extending over our site, we had to position a large branch in-between two of our slides or we would not have been able to extend them. This caused us to located our RV toward the front of our pull-through which put us out of reach to the site specific sewage. It's located in the far back of each site. The Dallas area really is in need of several more RV Parks to accommodate all the campers to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
Rate reflects a monthly rate. Good location for all attractions. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Have stayed here many times due to having family in the area. In the last year the park has gone down hill some. Now has a large number of long-term units that are old and shabby. Also these units have a lot of "junk" around the unit and often multiple vehicles that block the lane. The only reason we continue to stay is due to being close to family and attractions. That said, if you are not a monthly customer, the sites are very nice. It is the long-term units that have become shabby, dirty, and trashy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
We stayed here over Thanksgiving and really enjoyed the location! Did a lot of sightseeing and relaxing. Sites were nice and easy check-in. We would stay here again, if in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
Stayed here for 3 nights. Very clean, quiet, nice size lots, easy access, cable TV. Have two leash free dog parks......which made our puppies very happy. It's not fancy, but a nice place to stay. Only drawback was the gravels lots.......not very level. Needed our extension to hook up to electric. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Fine for an overnight stay, we were on a road trip and didn't reserve anything else ahead of time. Not much within walking distance, other than a spooky gas station/bodega. Seemed like a lot of long term residents in disadvantaged economic circumstances. Easy to get to, right off the freeway, with long, but quite narrow pull-through spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$54
Nice large sites close to the pool. Restrooms and showers though not new, were clean and well maintained. Spent the weekend here on the way to San Antonio. There are quite a few permanent/long term campers here. Looks like they are doing quite a bit of updating. New patio areas on the campsites and landscaping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Clean and nice. A safe park. Improvements being made. Great people that work at park. In the middle of the city but still quite. Close to all attractions in Arlington, Fort Worth, and Dallas. If coming from I-30, going south on Cooper, ask office how to get into park. In a RV there is no way to make the left U-turn at the light on California street. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
We stayed here for 3 months while on assignment. Overall, the park is a nice park if you can deal with the unprofessional employees who gossip about other people in the park. And beware, they have MANY "rules" that are enforced depending on who you are and the day of the week. The cable is great, laundry room is busy but clean. Showers are clean and nice. Playground is not much, swingset , see saw, and sandbox. The entrance is a bit annoying too, if you are coming from I-20 you can turn in ok, very narrow. If you are coming the other direction you have to do a u-turn and then turn in, no way with the camper. I would probably stay here again if I really needed a place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
I do not think that this park is worth the cost, and will go down the street in the future. Park Entrance is so small that any rig over 35 foot or so will hit a large curb coming into the park. Upon Check In, the lady working at the office decided to assign me (43 foot motorhome and 10 foot motorhome trailer) the smallest site in the park even though the park was not close to full, and I had had my reservation in for one month. I asked her about this and she said that my motorhome did not look that big, and it would fit. Needless to say, it was not even close to fitting in that site, nor the second site she tried to put me in that was almost as small. After backing 43 foot of motorhome and trailer around the RV park, the third time was the charm. After a few hours in this third site, the 50 amp breaker blew at the park power connection. The park power box was hot to touch and had a burning small. Rather than burn down my RV and the park, I ran my power cord to the next site over. A KOA employee the next day assigned another RV in the space next to mine, and when he found out that I ran my power cord over to that site, he accused me of stealing the parks power. He then made me unplug my power cord and run my generator for 1.5 hours until the park power connection was repaired. This park could cause serious damage to an RV, from the high entrance curbs, narrow entrance gates, overhanging trees, and old badly wired park power connections. I will be taking my business down the street the next trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
Due to a park wide power outage we only stayed at this park for 2 hours after check-in. It was August and very hot and we didn't have enough propane to power our A/C through the night so we left because there was no one on site to give information about anything. The check-in information said to call 911. 170 sites @ $49/night and they do not have an after-hours number or camp-host to call for information or help? No I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Don't be fooled by the entrance or the neighborhood. This is a great park once you get through the gate and past the initial RV parking. Beware of speed bumps! They are everywhere! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Typical KOA prices. Older park and looks it. Stayed here 2 years ago and nothing has changed. Very tight entrance off very busy roads. Depending on which way you are coming from you may have to make a U- turn or go up and turn around in a shopping center and come back. Interior roads are in rough condition with some pot holes. Sites are long and pull through and are good but very unlevel and not much gravel. We had a premium site, and it was in poor shape. Pool was nice and well kept. Not much playground for kids. Staff was friendly. Only came back because it is close to Six Flags. That would be the only reason for us to return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
This KOA is in rough condition. Roads are paved, but full of pot holes. Sites are gravel with a little patio at the rear of the site. Our coach is 50 amp, but because the voltage was so low in the park we could only run 1 air conditioner. We have an auto-former that helps when the park power is low, but it still couldn't pick up the power enough. The voltage meter was only reading 115 on 50 amp at the pole. Restrooms are tiny and in poor condition; didn't use them so I don't know if there was any hot water or not. The pool was closed for our stay as there was a problem with the filter, and they had to drain it. We will probably not stay here again, as we would be better off dry camping in a Wal-mart, using our generator, so we could use both a/c's. We would probably use less than $50 worth of diesel, which is what they charged per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$17
Rate reflects monthly rate plus electric. There’s noise here from a local drilling rig that is an early morning wake up call and no planned activities are about the only drawbacks. It’s located right in the heart of everything, has a great pool, TV signal and pet facilities. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$41
I stayed here for 2 days. Campground elevation is 672 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy in the park was a little tight. Roads are patched asphalt, sites are gravel & patios are grass. Site spacing is good. Pull through sites easily hold a 40 foot motorhome and tow. My site 355 offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. WI-FI and cable were included in daily rate. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless G3 Internet & Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Walmart and a grocery was 3 miles away. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. This campground is owned by KOA Corporate. It has a somewhat rundown look about it. The roads are rough. Sites are way off level front to rear. There is a concrete patio, but it is at the rear of the site. OK for a fifth wheeler but not a class A motorhome. There are very noisy gas drilling machines next door that run all day long. It is in a flood plain with water height boards around the park. The entrance to the park is tight and the sign is hard to see until you are right on it. It is on a major suburban road with heavy traffic most of the time. Overall, I am disappointed and will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$44
Nestled back in the trees off a busy street. Very tight entrance for big rigs through a narrow iron fence. We stayed here for 4 nights. Close to many eateries and shopping areas and convenient to our destination: Cowboy Stadium. The bathrooms were very clean but flooded and a mess on our second night. This was taken care of in about 24 hours. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in this well kept park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$51
This is an older KOA right smack in the middle of Arlington. On the positive side: Very good WI-FI; EXCELLENT cable (lots of HD channels); many shady spots; very nice pool; park is well cared for landscaping-wise; park management very friendly. Only a couple of negatives, and they are minor: Not all spots are spacious, so go for the top spots for the most room; and, they could use some roadwork in some areas. Some very smooth roads, and some rather bumpy. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
We had a very nice stay here. It's very clean and the staff couldn't be nicer. Wi-Fi worked great. We didn't try the cable TV or the showers. Our only slight negative: it felt a little crowded. Rate given is total for 1 night, 50 amp, cable TV, Wi-Fi, full hookup and taxes . Don't know if they charge extra for any of that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$41
We stayed here just overnight on our way to Houston. Was hesitant to stay in a big metropolitan area but we were very pleasantly surprised with our stay here. After you pull into your site you would not know you were in a big city, lots of trees and shrubs. Wi-Fi was a little slow but typical of most parks but electric was strong and cable TV was very good. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
This park is in the older part of town and is not immediately recognizable as a campground from the city street. It does have large KOA signage, but the building looks like a convenience store. You pull around back to register. The park is nice and clean with paved streets. The bath house was in the center of the facility, and not overly far away from anywhere in the park. At night they lock up the front gate to limit access from the street. You get a pass card to open the gate after 7PM. It was too early in the year to use the pool, but it looked nice. We were in the city, so our Verizon air card worked nicely, and wi-fi was available as well. We hooked up to the cable TV and found an abundance of channels. Some were even HD. Our satellite dish found the bird right off the bat as well, so we had lots of TV to watch. But like all city RV parks, this place is tight. We had no picnic table, as there simply isn't room for one in between the rigs. A small tree sort of blocked our door from the unit next door. We couldn't have extended our awning if we had wanted to. Wider sites are available for an extra fee, and they had a picnic table, but since this place was pricey even with the KOA discount, we opted to get by without. On the particular day that we parked in our site, they were resurfacing the road in front of our rig. We couldn't have left if we had wanted to in the morning. Hot asphalt was poured from dump trucks and it was several hours while they spread and rolled the road. That was OK since we purchased two nights, but we found it odd that they didn't inform us about the work. This is a good park for a city location near many attractions. The alternatives are many miles away, so we will be coming back when we need to stay in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$36
Very nice park. Stayed here for four nights. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Many nice restaurants within 2-3 miles. Only about 5-6 miles from Cowboy Stadium and Rangers Stadium. About 22 miles to downtown Dallas Convention Center. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$41
The staff was wonderful. The site was a large, level pull-thru. Restrooms and laundry spotless. Full cable TV. Gated. Would stay again. Rate reflects KOA membership discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We camped here as a central location to do Six Flags Over Texas and some other attractions. The location is great for accessing things in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. The campground staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The sites are nice, shaded (most of them) with nice grass in between and all over. The pool was clean and very kid friendly (shallow 2' area). The bathrooms were very clean and modern. Since we don't use sewer, WiFi, or cable TV hookups, it was a little more than we like paying (we frequent state parks instead), but for an RV park where these things are part of the package, the price was reasonable and fair. We will definitely stay here again if we have reason to be in Dallas overnight. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
Allow me to preface this review by stating we are newbies in the world of RV parks. All of our previous experience has been in state and federal parks with only water and electric sites. We have made multiple trips to Arlington and passed this location a dozen times without giving it any notice. That speaks to the seclusion of the park. We were kindly greeted by the manager upon our arrival. He wasted no time getting us taken care of on to set up. Two kind ladies escorted us to our site to keep us from getting lost and to make sure our key card worked for the gate. They helped ensure I was lined up with the sewer and took time to point out the power and cable connections. The pool and restrooms were highlighted for us and then the two ladies left to leave us to set-up before a nice rain storm rolled in. Entry into the park is steep and lower trailers need to be careful entering and exiting. The park itself is very clean, and maintained nicely. Did notice several sewer caps had been broken off and not replaced. The sites did not have a threaded collar for the sewer connection so be sure to have a donut handy. All sites are gravel with a nice grassy area along the sides. This area is in a flood plain and has a flood gauge located near the entrance. I marked it down for the steep entryway and sewer connections. Overall it is a nice place to stay; we will be back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
Very friendly check-in at a well maintained campground. Our site was gravel and fairly level; had tight quarters getting in and out of the site, but plenty of space between sites. Has paved roads with speed bumps but it's manageable at the right speed. All services worked well including Wi-Fi and cable TV. Stayed here two nights and would consider staying again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$42
After reading the previous reviews we were greatly surprised that this park wasn't at all what we expected. The interior roads are very poor with some large holes and several "teeth jarring" speed bumps. The sites are not level either front to back or side to side. The park was filled with "long time" residents as evidenced by large propane tanks. There is a security gate with a key card but the park is in the city, in what appeared to not be the best of neighborhoods with men hanging around outside the nearby convenience store. Our site was 87 feet long but it was obvious that it was designed to be 2 sites and thus was most unlevel. Yes, the office and the man who showed us to our site were friendly but that still could not rate this park any higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$41
Second best restrooms and showers on this trip. There are hundreds of restaurants nearby! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$45
Great park, very helpful staff. A great KOA will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$40
This is a fine KOA right in the middle of Arlington. It is back off the main road and so is plenty quiet. This was a great location to see the sights in Dallas and Fort Worth each about 30 minutes away; was 4 miles from a Whole Foods and around the corner from the Costco. The roads are paved and sites are gravel. There are trees but nothing to obscure the satellite. Our site was very long - we had room to spare with the bus, car trailer and SUV. Everything works here (iPhone, AT&T and Verizon air cards) - you are in a major metro area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
I like to camp at KOAs because you know what you're getting into. This is one of the best ones yet. The bathhouse was awesome! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
Once you get within the very secure perimeter, you wouldn’t know your in a major metropolitan area. The transient sites are shaded and spacious and well tended. There are numerous more permanent users toward the back . The pool is huge and inviting and the restroom/shower areas are convenient and very clean. It was very quiet for the weekend. During the weekdays the surrounding business might be a little noisy but I can’t attest to this. The location is about as central as one could choose for visiting both Dallas and Fort Worth (don’t miss the Stockyards) attractions. Shopping and other services are a very short drive. There are nearby residential areas suitable for walking or jogging. I’d certainly recommend this KOA to anyone visiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$53
Nice thing about KOA's is you know what you are getting before you get there. We arrived in the area without reservations and they were able to accommodate us. Friendly staff at check-in and an escort to the site. Bath and showers were individual, clean and large. The RV park sits on a divided street so be aware it may take some time to get around to the right side of the street to enter the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
A very nice park. A little difficult to get to but your GPS should help. Lots of stuff to do in the area. Fort worth stock yard, Southfork. JFK museum. Very friendly staff and a very clean park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$42
Clean campground, but very tight sites. They need to look into a better ISP because the Wi-FI was crawling. Overall a nice park, and i would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$43
The one thing that would make this park a 10 would be if they had better water pressure. Might not be something they can fix if it is the city. This park had the best dog run I have seen. It was really big. Larger dogs had room to run. Really friendly staff. They were very nice during a very hectic Holiday Season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$42
I would stay here again if the campground down the street wasn't available first. Sites are pretty close together but long. Wifi always worked but at a slightly slower speed than some. It is a great location for all DFW attractions, especially Rangers, Cowboys, and Six Flags. Trees made it impossible to pull out awning and provided no shade. The park entrance gate was very tight. Propane was located in odd position as you are leaving the park gates. If I were to fill up not even cars would have been able to leave the park until I was done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Only stayed here one night/stopover, and got there late at night. Entrance was a little tricky for our big fifth wheel since there was a median in front of the park entrance, passed it and had to do a couple turn-a rounds further down and come back. One of the hosts was on a golf cart and greeted us and led us to our site which was helpful since it was dark. What little we saw appeared to be well-kept and clean; noticed there was a fenced pool area; next morning front desk was courteous and friendly. Location is centralized for Dallas area, however park is located in the middle of "town", right off the road vs. a big entrance, not as much openness/spaciousness of some KOA campgrounds. Would stay here again if needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$42
Excellent park in an excellent location. Trees for the tree people, open spots for the satellite people. People with kids or pets will like this park. One of the best KOA's we have stayed at. Unfortunately, also one of the most expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Not a very nice park, lots of permanent residents and nature is hard to find. Good for a overnight stay but no "destination" campground although the lady at the counter was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
We reserved a "premium" site. It was tight and a stump was in the edge of our site. While it was pull through, we really should not have paid extra for premium. Other than that, all was as advertised. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
I have been living in this campground for four months. Overall this is a good campground, nice sites and staff is nice. They have recently changed WiFi providers and it works 100x better than before. It is still free, but would not be surprised to see that change. The bathhouse is regularly cleaned. Overall a good campground in the middle of Arlington. Just a warning if you are driving in - due to recent median construction on Cooper Street you MUST enter the campground going North on Cooper. They are also building two new Kamper Kabins. It will be interesting to see what KOA does with this campground over the next year or so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
This park is now known as Dallas Metro KOA. Stayed in a site that had a grill, picnic table and concrete patio. Also has a dog park. Only minus was several patios had concrete that had broke and management has not fixed. WiFi does not work very well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2004
$30
Not a bad park. Has a lot of long term residents. It is right on Cooper Street which is a major street in Arlington so the noise is on-going. The Krispy Creme is only a block away. It costs more than Treetops and this isn't as nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com