218029 User submitted reviews online!!
Dan River Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (336) 427-8530
CGID4984

Dan River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   6   5   1   5   4   4   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Check in at 8pm (no late night entry) this is so owner can meet you and all people in your party for approval if not given you will be asked to leave and no refund is given, this may be done if your RV or your family does not meet his standards. Rude and hard to deal with, was not given Wi-Fi access code. Restrooms dirty with no toilet paper. Full timers that want you to park in certain areas. 50 amp is not advertised and was told he only gives it once approval is made by owner, does not advertise these sites or advise of them on reserve. I reserved online and was in shock when we arrived. Large trees so no line of site for TV (dish or direct) Hard to deal with so beware. Call first if this is a must. Charges extra for over 2 persons per RV, extra charge $6 pp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$26
Just want a cheap and safe place to stay overnight? This works! A little off the beaten path, but it's cheap! The park even sells propane. After you check in, the road down to the camping sites is a bit steep, might want to unhook your toad if you have one. There is a swimming pool, but it was closed in the winter. I detected a Wi-Fi that required a code to use, didn't use it, as the office was closed by the time I figured out there was a Wi-Fi. It appears that this park caters to hunters in the fall and winter. There is a campground host. The host will bring the rule sheet to you after you set up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
My wife and I enjoyed our stay here, but were a little disappointed that you could not see the river from any of the sites. You had to go down a small trail to see the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
This is the first time I've ever felt compelled to post a negative review. We were in NC on vacation and decided to look around for a nice family campground while in the area of Winston Salem. Dan River campground seemed to look great from all the things we saw on the internet. We drove there without the trailer just to check it out. When I went to the office to ask if we could look around I was berated for driving too fast down the gravel entrance road. I was maybe going 15mph because it is a very bumpy, potholed, gravel road. I was told the speed limit is 10 mph throughout the park. I told them I never saw a sign and apologized. We then went into the park making sure we didn't exceed the 10 mph speed limit. It looked clean and well maintained so we decided to book 4 nights. On the way out we were again stopped by the manager, Glenn, who again bashed us about driving too fast. I told him I was driving 10 mph and asked if there was a sign I had missed at the top of the road when I came in. He said yes. Despite these 2 run ins we went back and got the camper and kids. Upon our return I noted that there is no speed limit sign at the top of the gravel road. It is at the end by the office. We checked in and set up camp and decided to let the kids go swimming in the rather small pool. We took 2 juices in plastic cups because we know you can't have glass at the pool. Glenn drives up and yells at us that there is no alcohol allowed at the pool. I told him we weren't drinking alcohol and he replied there is no drinking of any kind allowed at the pool despite the numerous cups beside pool chairs. He then accused us of moving the pool chairs around. After all this hassle by the management we left the pool, and the following morning left the campground. I can't really say much about the campground but the attitude of management is reason enough to avoid this campground. When I went to the office I was told by the employee that others had complained about Glenn's attitude and he was well aware of it. We spoke with several other campers and they were not happy either. One couple had been there 6 months for work and when the job got extended 2 weeks management made them pay full price for the additional 2 weeks. Have a heart! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Off beaten path so campground was quiet, less than 20 sites occupied and most of those were long term use. Upper level sites were gravel and level, we used sites 10 and 11. All sites were fairly well maintained, but the bathrooms are outdated and not well cleaned. Don't use the lower sites if rain is imminent, you'll contend with mud. Two pull-through sites are available. Hiking trails are available, OK but not great. Nice shelter for group functions. Campground is within walking distance of Dan River. We went there to tube the Dan, but management would not accommodate us since we had not made advance reservations to tube. We did not know this requirement until we arrived at the campground. Only thing we bought and the so-called camp store was ice. Super Wal-Mart is four miles from campground. We were here as three family units, so we have a good time even if parked in a corn field. May go back just to tube the Dan. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
The entrance to the campground is a rundown trailer and does not give a nice first impression. We booked 3 weeks in advance as a group of 3 trailers but we seemed to have the 3 worst sites in the campground. Our campsite was nothing but mud. I understand that the campground can't control weather but there were no rocks or grass on several sites which made for a very messy time. From the website, I was expecting a very family friendly campground but that just didn't transpire. I wouldn't go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Filthy bathrooms and unaccommodating management staff. I will not be returning to this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Small campsites, in a small area that is well off the beaten path. Playground was small, pool was small, bass pond was not very accessible.. Main entry looks very run down... Would not go back to camp again... We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
This is a small campground off the beaten path in Rockingham county. It is fairly well kept, though the 'office' isn't always staffed and isn't well stocked with supplies. The bath house was fairly clean. We will consider returning in the future We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com