223495 User submitted reviews online!!
North Higgins Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (989) 821-6125
CGID4991

North Higgins Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
174
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   6   7   8   5   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Lovely state park conveniently located a short drive off US127 freeway. We stayed one night. The sites are grass, dirt, and level. Short walk to the lake. The bathrooms and showers were clean. Verizon cell/Mi-Fi strong. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
I love this campground. It gets 8 out of 10 simply because it's not a full hook-up campground, but on the lines of a state park this place is great! Since my family has a cottage down the street we were able to scout the campground for the best sites before booking our trip. As others have stated, it's best to pick a site furthest from the entrance and main road. The section of East campground where we camp have trees and bushes on the sites easily made even more private depending where you position your camper. There are grassy sites, read the site descriptions thoroughly. The clusters of sites in certain sections of the campground make good opportunities for group camping too. The grounds are clean, bathrooms satisfactory, and staff is friendly. A great family campground indeed. Higgins Lake is rated one of the 10 clearest lakes and is great for swimming and boating. We plan on returning to this campground for many years to come! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Overall, this is a nice place to stay. When we first arrived, our reservation was for a site that had a fire pit full of trash. The employee at the ranger station apologized and said that was unusual, then moved us to a different site. The new site was much nicer. We recommend reserving a site farther into the park, not right near the entrance. There is only one sewer drain at the sanitation station, so at check-out time you have to wait in line. We like this State Park, though, and it's just a short walk down a foot path to the lake. The lake is great for swimming because it's shallow so far out. The campground hosts were very friendly. We have camped here 3 years in a row and will probably camp here many times in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$8
Friendly CG staff: nice state park with cheap rate. No grass, gravel or ground cover so sites were mushy from rain. Ok for one night or for local folks with kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
We camped here over the Memorial Holiday weekend. We were in the East Campground. Older bath house but clean. It is a short walk to the beach at Higgins Lake. We enjoyed our stay there, can't really find anything to complain about. Our site was roomy enough and fairly level. I can't give it more than a 7 based on it being an electric only campground. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
Loved this park. Had site 119. Nice walk to the beach through a trail. The lake was beautiful and clean. My only complaint was the bathroom was not new like and up-dated like most state parks. However, it was clean and the shower pressure was great. Lots of off road trails in the area. We drove through the South side campground and liked this one much better. It was quit and not as crowded feeling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$44
We were disappointed to learn when checking in that we needed to pay an additional $24-$32 for 'vehicle fees' to stay two nights at this campground, on top of the $62 we'd already paid. Apparently a Michigan state policy. Do they expect campers to arrive with a tent on their backs? Anyway, we ended up buying a non-resident 'annual pass' for our motorhome for $29 because we had already pre-paid for another two night campground stay at a Michigan state park for the upcoming week, plus we paid a $6 toad charge. We'll need to buy another toad permit at our next Michigan state campground but saved $3 with the annual pass - which is only good through December 31. When we finally pulled up to our site we were greeted by a mound of dirty aluminum foil in the fire ring, and a good amount of smaller litter on the ground. Not very pleasant. On the plus side of the roster, we did enjoy hiking the nearby Higgins park trails, and thought the fitness stations along the beginning of the 6.5 mile loop were a terrific idea. We also liked the fact that on the lake the park lets you walk with your dogs as long as you stay on the inland side of a nice path that runs parallel to the water. There are plenty of shaded benches that offer nice water views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Bathhouse was old and in need of repairs. On shores of Higgins Lake, however, had a long walk to get to the lake area only to find out that dogs were not allowed in the lake area. Hiking trails were nice. Large sites, however, ours was close to the road and there was lots of traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
We've stayed here at least every other year for the past 15 years in tents and now our motorhome. Great campground. Many bike trails / hiking trils across the road. The lake is fantastic but can be crowded on the beach on the weekends. There is a marina just down the road to rent pontoons also. Water is very clear and for some a bit on the cool side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com