223510 User submitted reviews online!!
Muskegon State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (269) 744-3480
CGID4992

Muskegon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
244
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   6   9   7   10   7   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This campground was a disappointment in many ways. Sites advertised as on the water are really, at best, only water view through dense foliage, and there are very few of these. This is an older state park that was not designed for big rigs. It was hard to negotiate the campground roads with a 37' motorhome plus toad. The sites are very small and close together. In addition to the $30 camping fee, Michigan fleeces tourists by charging a park access fee, $30 for the year or a daily rate which was $8, so camping here was really $38. I also found the website for the Michigan State Parks to be very user unfriendly and lacking in essential information. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
We stayed at the lakefront site a mile or so north of the riverfront site. Lucked out with a very nice walk-up site 200' from the beach. Sites were un-level hard packed sand and very shady just behind the dunes. Nice stairs to beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
We found the campground Pleasant. It was one of the quietest state parks we have ever visited. Pets were present but none were unruly as in some parks. The campsites are mostly sandy and that sand is very dirty. The asphalt pads are nice but, at 10 foot wide, your picnic table neither fits on the pad or else is not under your awning. Lots of pull through sites. Channel campground loop 1 was our favorite. Channel campground had a lot of rigs. Our stay was pleasant. Not the best ever but not bad either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
We camped in the "Channel Campground" and loved it. Great paved pads to park on, great fire rings, great location right on the channel between Lake Michigan and Muskegon Lake. Great walking trails. Very clean and "nautical" feel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
You won't find many campers here mid week in the middle of April. For the price one might expect at least a few more threaded faucets. There were non. Had to use the water thief one of the few taps available. Very time consuming. Large well spaced sites. At least 20amp power would have been nice for the price too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
We stayed in the Channel Campground, 1st loop. There are some sites that have a view of the channel. The Channel Campground, 2nd loop have some sites that have a view of Muskegon Lake. We drove through the Lake Michigan Campground section which is more wooded, but didn't care for it as much. The sites seemed smaller to us. We also noticed there were more tents there than anything else. We would recommend staying in either of the Channel loops. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Decent enough facilities for a state park, in a very attractive area of the country, but the roads in the area (including the highly touted scenic drive) are pathetic to the point of being dangerous. The residents of Michigan should be ashamed and should demand action. If they're that lacking for public funds, I would donate to the cause. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
Large sites and beautiful scenery. We were surprised how few people were on the beaches. Very quiet and relaxing. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
We camped in the channel campground section of this park. The lake campground section is down the road about 2 miles. We had a site overlooking Muskegon Lake. We really liked the area, being able to enjoy both Muskegon lake and Lake Michigan. They are having problems with pine beetles and a lot of the pine trees have been cut down and left for campers to use as firewood. Fortunately there are oak and cottonwood trees, so there is still shade. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
There is the channel campground and the Lake Michigan campground. We've stayed at the Lake Michigan campground once and it was a bit hilly on some sites. Our favorite part is the Channel campground. You can watch the big ships come in from Lake Michigan to Muskegon Lake. You can swim in Muskegon Lake or Lake Michigan. The beaches are very nice. Lots of sand dunes and such to play in. This is one of our favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com