214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Whistle Stop RV and Antiques was rated 4 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (785) 460-6000
CGID4994

Whistle Stop RV and Antiques

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   1   4   7   5   2   6   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
I guess the first thing you notice about this park is that you kind of have to guess where the registration office is. Coming in the main entrance, dirt and dusty, you miss it completely. The second thing is that there rate is not as quoted on the web site. Not $32, but $35 and then they charge you a $3 credit card fee. I had driven all the way from Sarasota FL and this is the most I have paid for site, and the place is basically a dirt field. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$95
It's unusual that we find a park that really flips our switch, good or bad. This place did it. And, not in a good way. We were looking to stop in the Colby, KS area for the night. There were no recent reviews of this park since this time last year, so we were curious and stopped by. By "stopped by", we don't mean we drove through the entrance. We mean we found the park next to a Walmart. We parked at Walmart and wandered in (easy, too easy). Here is what we found. We probably wouldn't have found the park in the first place had we not been fortunate to see the EXTRA-small camper sign that directs you to the park. You know the one, a 1 square foot blue background with white relief of a trailer you see along County roads. Yep, that's all there is here. We can't imagine how many potential customers have missed that. Wished we had. It is no longer called Bourquin's RV Park & Restaurant. The restaurant is dead. It is now Bourquin's RV Park & Farmer's Market. We didn't see any farmers, or a market, just poor passer's-by who paid money to park there. This is a teenie-tiny RV park charging premium prices for teenie-tiny sites. Not as bad as KOA, mind you, but close, and still charging WAY too much for what they were selling. Sad! We truly felt sorry for those who'd paid to stay there. At least the owners didn't presume to call the place a "Resort" and charge yet another $3 per night. The park's only claim to fame is it is a very, and we mean a VERY short walk to Walmart (lock EVERYTHING up). That's the best we can say. We didn't check to see if we would be allowed to park at Walmart for free. We suspect not. By-the-way. There were at least two motels in town that advertised less for a single room than Bourquin's charged for their tiny pieces of dirt. Not at all a fair deal for the RVer. We'd have paid $20 for a night at this place, if they'd talked real pretty. $15 if not. Not a penny more. We decided we could drive another hour or two, and did. WE DID NOT STAY AT THIS PARK! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$33
This is one of the worst RV parks we have ever stayed in. It bears little resemblance to the pictures on their website. The instructions on the office were to call the owner(?) and we would be assigned a spot. She gave us a couple to choose from. One didn't have water and the other had a faulty electrical hookup. We got this information from a "permanent" parked near the sites. He indicated he had told the owners several times about the spots that had water and electrical problems but nothing was done to repair them. With his assistance we finally found a spot where the connections worked and got parked. Totally overpriced. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
What a joke of a campground! First, there is no staff at all. You have to find your site, pay and get no help at all. Some of the sites have cable TV, some don't. How do you find out? Walk around and look. Some have 30 amp some have 50 amp, again no map no way to know until you go to hook up. They say they have WiFi, but it secured and there is no one to give you the code!!! This is a field that they put water and sewer in and would not be bad for an over night at $25 a night, but $33 for a do it yourself campground is a bit steep! I would not stay here unless I could not find any other place. Oh another thing, be careful of the big ruts pulling in and out of your grass site! I would suggest staying someplace other than Colby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
OK for an overnight. Our rate was for a 30 amp spot, 50 amp was $3 more. Restaurant is now closed. Had to call host or drop $ in a slot. I called and she told us to pick a site and she would come over. She was very friendly and took about 15 minutes to get here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
This is a basic "over nighter" no thrills, no playgrounds, and no pool. Just a place to pull off for the night. Owners were friendly. Restaurant was nice. Small country cooking. Located next to Wal-Mart so you can walk over and pick-up supplies. Lots are unshaded and not paved most are on grass. I would stay again if I needed a place for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
We were there when it had been raining. It was no place to be with muddy roads & soft grass sites. Even the Walmart next door would be better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
Second time we have stayed here. Park is very basic, owners are very friendly. They were re-grading the sites when we were there, so it was very muddy. Nothing fancy but a good place to stay overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
The $24 daily rate reflects a week spent in this campground. The interior roads were dusty and had quite a few potholes. Our weeks stay included Labor Day weekend so I had made a reservation ahead of time. The day before arrival I called to confirm. The owners said they would be gone on a trip when we got there so I asked for a site number that would be large enough and confirmed that we needed full service (water, 50amp, sewer) at the site. She said to use #12. We did. Towards the end of our stay, the water from our gray tank wasn't going away. When we called, the husband explained that there were some kind of valves at site 12, not sewer. Confused? We certainly were. We had only dumped the gray tank during the week, so as we left we went to their dump station to do the rest. We would only stay here again to visit family that live in Colby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Owners are nice, but the CG needs improvements. We had a site at the lower end in a meadow, very uneven and they parked somebody very close, less than 5 feet apart. The restaurant sounds and looks homey, but the food is not very good. No WiFi at site, did not use the one in the office. Will not use this place again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Owners are nice, but the campground needs some upgrading. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
I called ahead to verify that the wifi was working and was told they would give me a site with a good signal. The signal shows 4 bars out of 5. People/personnel are friendly and helpful. The front of our RV is even partially shaded by a tree - pretty good for the Kansas prairie. That's the first thing my wife noticed when we pulled into the campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
On the way to Denver or Kansas City it's a nice place off I-70 place to stay. Don't expect any special campsites, but they are fairly level with enough room to get around. Owners are seldom there we dealt with Julius a work camper who doubles as on site manager. He is also a cook for the very nice on site restaurant, he could not do enough to make our stay nicer. We had a nice meal in their restaurant, its in an old Train Station. Wal-Mart is right next to campground. A new Pilot truck stop is at Exit 54 which makes it even a nicer place to stop. Last but not least we could wash out rig, Julius pointed a place away from other campsites that is grass covered so no mud (today). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Right on the side of the Hwy. They run a nice old restaurant in the park. The water was broken during my stay as was the Wifi. The wind blew so hard for 3 days that I packed up and left in the night during a lull. Across the street from a Walmart. If you get my drift. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
This could be a great park with some attention to detail and a better attitude from the owners. We called ahead, on a Sunday. Were told restaurant and office were closed (not mentioned on web-site) but she would come to meet us. Called on arrival, owner said she would be right over. Showed up 3 hours later. We went there especially for the wi-fi and cable. Cable was fine, wi-fi was very un-user friendly and had a very, very weak signal so we were not able to get access. I think the system was down because the restaurant was closed. Even though there were only 3 of the 50 spaces occupied, we were unable to get a sewer hook-up and had to use 30 amp. (The owner had told us over the phone to park in a certain space) We were still charged full price and had to pay cash, no CC accepted and no discounts even though they are in Woodall's as a Good Sam park. The access from I-70 was excellent and the park was quiet even though it is right next to the highway. There is a new Wally world Super Center right next door. We would have left with a much better feeling if the owner had at least apologized for all the inconvenience and perhaps offered some sort of discount for lack of services. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com