218683 User submitted reviews online!!
Roan Mountain State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (423) 772-4178
CGID4995

Roan Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
107
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   6   6   9   9   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We camped on a site on the river. The incline down to the river is a bit steep but was able to fish right out the back of the MH. Sites were level and we had 30amp electric hookup. We had no WiFi at the MH, but there was WiFi at the store and certain areas of the park. The sites are close but not too crammed. We saw a black bear on our second day here. Loved the fall foliage and be sure and visit the farm at the park. Would definitely love to visit this park again. Lots of friendly campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Really did not get to enjoy this park too much due to time constraints. Showers and restroom were clean. Lots of sites to choose from as it was mid week. Plenty of shade. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Loved this park! facilities were kept very clean, great staff, cool surroundings. Lower level loop was OK, if you don't mind a gazillion kids on a summer weekend! Sites up on the hill were far more appealing to us seasoned travelers! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
I wasn't impressed with the campground, but for $20 electric & water was not bad. The premium loop at the bottom is $25/night. That loop was crowded and many children were camping. Some sites are level, some not, going up the hill. Sites vary in size but most are pretty nicely spaced apart. Campground host was friendly and helpful. They gave us a sign that said "Occupied" to post while we weren't on the site. We were here to see the Rhododendrons in bloom: very beautiful on top of the mountain (long way from campground). I would have like to been here for the festival but we were concerned about getting a campsite since they do not take reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
First come first serve; confusing check in service; if you don't set your 'camping unit' up, quite quickly, you suffer the wrath, and almost ridicule, of the campground host and even the park ranger. Family member had not set her tent up in weeks, had a pet to keep quiet, but evidently didn't move as fast as park attendants needed, so I heard about it over the next 2 days. The campground host was almost scary when scolding my family member. We hadn't camped at Roan Mountain previously, and evidently understand the local rules. Of course, the check-in area closed for lunch at a peak check in time (3-4pm), so no one was there to EXPLAIN the rules. Unnecessary grouchiness by the men there...lady at check-in was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
A well kept campground. Friendly staff and a lot of activities. Seeing the Rhododendron Garden is a must during the month of June. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Great park but as others have said not for people that need cell and TV service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Very woodsy campground. Not for "techies". No cell phone service, no TV, no internet. This is for outdoor people only. No shopping close. No eateries close. Very quiet and beautiful We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Very well maintained park with beautiful scenery. Hosts and employees and most guests take much pride in park. Plan on trying to arrive during the week or early Sunday morning. Camping is first come, first served and lower campground area is in high demand. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
The campground is at the base of 6285 foot Roan Mountain. There is a paved state highway to the top of Roan Mountain. The campground and surrounding areas are beautiful with many hiking opportunities. No reservations are accepted. Arrive from Monday through Wednesday during peak camping season in order to secure a site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$17
This is a beautiful campground in the most beautiful mountains of Tenn. The only thing wrong with this campground is if you travel any distance to get here then you may not get a good site. The best sites will have little bitty small pup tents where the office people that works here gives these sites to their friends. The problem is there is not anyone camping in these sites, they just put their little pup tents up, kind of like reservations. I always thought if you rented a site to camp then you should have a camper set up an be here camping. I think the parks and recreation committee should look into this. Other than that, it is a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com