206518 User submitted reviews online!!
Woods Valley Kampground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (760) 749-2905
CGID500

Woods Valley Kampground

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   5   6   7   5   2   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Just stayed 3 nights in a travel trailer at Woods Valley Kampground. We thought we had come to the wrong place at first, but it turned out to be a pretty good little camping spot! We rented spot #P5 which is a full hook-up site and is close to the swimming pool (not intentional, but we had no choice). When we arrived on the Thursday. It seemed like the park was empty except for the permanent residents who take up ALL of roadrunner flats, quail heights, and the area we were in - P. Actually, I think we were the ONLY full hook up spot that was not occupied by a full time resident. Thursday night was super quiet which was a great getaway from the traffic noise in orange county! The manager was great! Very helpful and friendly. Also, that they were trying to "tidy up" the park. Friday morning was blissful and so relaxing but by Friday afternoon an influx of families and children arrived, mostly in tents and travel campers, killing the quietness of the campground. Campers who were behind us in "boomerang" were up Saturday morning at 5:45am letting the kids run free! I'm all for a good time, but 5:45am really? I did venture into the restrooms to wash my hands after packing up, and I'm very glad to report that I have my own bathroom in my trailer to use! A little on the dirty side, but it was Sunday so that may have been why? If you are looking for a little piece and quiet in a relaxing setting, I suggest camping here during the weekdays, which we intend to do next time. And, If you have children, join in the madness on the weekends. It's kid heaven and they will love it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Woods Valley is a nice campground and all in all I can recommend it. Stayed there for about a week. Pros: friendly and helpful staff, with very nice surroundings. As the name suggests, it's in the woods. It has an ATM and I suppose it's quite adventurous for children. Cons: In my opinion, it is a little bit too pricey compared to other campgrounds I've been. Wi-Fi is availabe but only in/near the office. You can conveniantly sit on a bench infront of the office to use it, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
This park is fairly rustic but very pretty, with lots of trees. There are quite a few permanent residents, but they are all off in a couple of sections away from the overnights. Unfortunately these are the only full hook up sites. Luckily we didn't expect full hook ups. We had a late winter storm while we were there, and this was a huge problem. All of the sites turned to nasty, sticky mud; stepping out of our motorhome we stepped into about 1" of mud. The roads became rutted and full of potholes, and we damaged the bottom of our towed car when we were leaving. (It was not hitched to our motorhome.) Overall the place is nice, the manager is very accommodating, and we would stay here again. BUT do not stay here if you expect any kind of wet weather at all! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
An older park set in Oak Trees. Many residents appear to be permanent and RV tend to be older. Passport America welcome. Recommended that you find this campground in the daylight as parking can be tricky in the dark due to the placement of the trees. Does have some pull through sites but recommended for smaller rigs. Campsites are individual and restrooms and showers are a hike up the hill. Older and need of some maintenance and cleaning but worth the price. A great Casino Buffet dinner is less than three miles away! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
Very nice grounds. Entire campground shaded with large oak trees. Situated in hills on winding road. We enjoyed our short stay. Felt very welcome using Passport America. Couldn't get cable to work, didn't ask about it. Recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
We chose this park due to it being 30 miles from San Diego. It was less expensive than most parks closer to the city. Their website advertises cable TV, but we were informed in the office it hasn't worked for five years. The campground has nice trees and some grass areas. We have a FHU 30 amp site. The electric seems low as the breaker popped frequently. There is no Wi-Fi. There were record rainfalls while we were here, and the entrance road was closed for most of one day. This happened to be the day we had to pick up family at the airport so we had to walk out and rent a car to get to the airport. The campground is owned by a corporation, and they would not even consider any type of a refund for not being able to drive out of the campground and pick up our kids. The roads are very washed out and full of holes. It was bad when we got here, but has gotten much worse with the rain. There are a number of permanent residents, some with very old units. Overall, it's an OK place, but we most likely would not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Dirty restrooms, horrible smells. Tight & difficult maneuvering to get into sites. Dump site and pool are at the top of an unpaved, rut filled road. The one thing that was nice was the pond, but even that experience was ruined by unattended kids throwing rocks at the ducks. $3 per day charge for a dog. For What ? Extra revenue? Extra $$ for more than 4 people on a site . The list of negatives goes on. I wouldn't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Our camp site was near the fishing pond with lots of shade trees and some grass. Each site came with a picnic table, water and 20amp service but no hook-up for sewer. The site was uneven and very rustic. The park was very clean and everyone was polite. There were lots of children on the weekend. We were there, and my kids had a great time. I just wish we had full hook-up at our site. I would return here to go camping again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
This park is about 12 miles from Escondido in a quiet area. The short-term sites are terraced and dirt covered with big shade trees. The first site we were assigned wasn't very flat, so we moved. It was a long walk up the hill to the bathhouses and pool, but there were rest rooms without showers close by. There are also horses and ducks around, nice atmosphere. One of the bathhouses was a lot nicer and newer than the other. The pool wasn't heated. The laundry room had a sign that said "9-4," which I and others chose to ignore--who wants to do laundry when it's 100 degrees out? But when I was in the laundry room around 5, the caretaker came in, prepared to lock up; if I hadn't been in there he probably would have locked me and the others doing laundry out. Each site had a picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
We would definitely camp here again. Most importantly, the site is full of mature oak trees providing lots of shade. The park is cleverly divided into several areas like Goat Meadow, Roadrunner Flats, Quail Heights, Pond View Road, The Oaks, Shady Nitch, Coyote Country, and The Boomerang. Apparently Goat Meadow (grass) is only open seasonally and weekends. Pond View, Roadrunner, and Quail Heights seem to be primarily full timers. The Oaks is sort of an open shady area. The Shady Nitch is appropriately named because entry/exit is tight if you have a big RV. Coyote Country seemed more rustic but was closed when we were there. We chose The Boomerang at the top of the hill closer to the pool. I wouldn't recommend the spots right next to the pool due to the noise of excited kids. We stayed in the area of the 60-69 spaces. These were deep and wide spaces terraced with rock walls between them. There was a lot of shade. Entry/exit was convenient and the hookups were fine. Space 70 and 70A would make a great location for a two family camping weekend since there is a huge area at the top of the hill. The staff was very nice and there is a reasonably well stocked store. The clubhouse has ping-pong, a book library, and other games. You can take the kids to see some miniature ponies and some pigs and chickens which are kept in enclosures. The fishing pond is next to Goat Meadow and features a playground with swings, volleyball court, ducks, and catch/release fishing. The pool was sparkling clean but was too cold for either of our daughters to get in past their feet. The bathrooms were clean and in good shape. There are horseshoe courts and white picket fenced, grassy play areas in several locations around the park. Fire rings are provided at no cost if you ask. There is a small stream which runs through the middle of the camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$33
This is a nice, peaceful campground. I camped here 10 years ago in a tent trailer and remembered there were many trees. Now that I have a 37' motorhome I pay attention to the trees. I didn't have any issues with the trees on the way to my site or the dump station. Just be sure to have an extra set of watching eyes. Some of the sites are very small and the campground may try to put you in a spot that is too small. Be sure to tell them if you have slideouts. There is a nut farm 1.5 miles to the East and a golf course 1 mile to the west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
Nice park. We stayed there two nights and enjoyed the quiet. They have a rec room with a few games and plenty of things around the park for kids to do. Catch and release fishing is available from the pond. It's only about a mile from Bates Nut Farm which has a huge pumpkin patch in October as well as a craft festival. The pull through sites weren't really pull through. We opted to back out of ours rather than negotiate the trees. The dump station is up by the pool snd not the most convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
Good place. No cable hookups and some playground stuff was lacking but overall good experience with a very friendly staff. Good streamside environment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$31
Very heavily wooded setting with stream running through the park. Terraced sites with nicely done rock walls at some sites. Lots of shaded sites, all seemed to have tables and were surprising level as roads and sites are dirt. Shade is so thick, grass won't grow! Have small pond, play area, some farm animals and well lit paths. This is NOT a resort but a very nice RV/campground in an old fashioned sense with very friendly staff. We look forward to returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2006
$23
No TV service, water and 30 amp electric, we didn't use the dump since the location is extremely inconvenient. What a difference nearly two years makes. I remembered really liking this campground when we were here nearly two years ago but really had a different experience this time. Office staff still friendly and helpful but the entire place is dirt and traffic on the campground road left a virtually permanent dust layer hanging in the air. The sites themselves are fairly small, we had site #17 this time (site #32 from our last stay was much better) and it was cramped and completely lacking in any space or privacy whatever. Neighbors in the site terraced above and perpendicular to us had the rear of their rig less than a foot from our dining room slide window. Just a shredded shower curtain in the womens bathroom separating the shower dressing area from everything else so absolutely no privacy there either. In addition to being dirt the roads in the place are extremely rutted and lumpy. Passport America makes the price more reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$40
Cute and rustic. Mostly dirt sites unless you camp on the 'meadow' only available on the weekends. They water it during the week. We camped in the meadow. 20 Amp service only here. It was great for the kids with the pond, grassy area, animal and the small playground. We had a great time and the people here were fantastic. A word of note is that there are lots of trees making access tough. I was given (by mistake) a camping spot that never should have had a trailer in it, or a motorhome, etc. Too many branches in the way made for a frustrating mess parking in the dark only to find out I never should have been given that site in the beginning. Thankfully there was a cancellation and there was a spot I could get into. It was *very* tight too. The rec room, etc., is pretty run down and sees very little use, but we camp to be out of doors anyway. All in all a great place to take the kids with really nice people who work here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
Beautiful park, somewhat on the pricey side for what you get but the staff is very helpful and friendly. I'd be very careful if your rig is over 34 feet as the access to the RV sites can be "quite" tight. We camped here in a 40 foot fifth wheel and had one heck of a time getting into our site. In speaking with other folks they had quite a time getting into their sites well and most of them had rigs 30+ feet as well. Outside of that. The park was fun, people were nice and definitely a place to bring the family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$33
Wonderful quiet park with lots of oak trees. Most sites have stream running behind. Sites come in a variety of shapes and sizes; some have somewhat narrow entrances. Passport America accepted. Scenic pond with animals at the front of the park. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$35
I first started coming here 13 years ago, I was 10. I loved it then and I love it now. My entire extended family camps here 2 weekends a year. My husband and I started coming here in our tent another 3-4 times a year, on top of those 2 trips. We just bought a travel trailer, and now I'm sure, since camping is much easier, we'll even come more often. We love it. The staff is friendly. It's wooded, family oriented, & has clean facilities. It's relaxing, the goat meadow on top of the hill is my favorite spot to be, but there are no bad spots. Near by, there is Bell Gardens (produce farm, owned by Taco Bell founder) they have wonderful fresh veggies & fruit, the San Diego Zoo & Wild Animal Park, churches, a Lake Wolford for boating, Valley View Indian casino, and my favorite place around those parts: Bates Nut Farm. It's a mile past the campground on Woods Valley Road, you can take the kids to feed their animals, feed is $.50 a bag. They have a great store there, with all kinds of arts & crafts, chocolate everything, snacks, junk food, and sauces, that are to die for. Twice a year they have a arts & crafts fair in their parking lot, so much good stuff. For Holloween, they have the biggest pumpkin patch I have ever seen, with a mini version of the crafts fair, and live entertainment, great food vendors, etc. Which is why we go to WoodsValley Holloween weekend every year. It gets very cold here in the winter and spring. Dump station is a little tricky, but you get used to it. The campground has a fish & throw back pond, for kids. Also, they have a little barn animal collection, featuring the 600 pound pig named, what else? Wilbur. A bunch of ducks, geese, mini horses, goats, chickens, roosters, etc. They also have a playground, complete with swings, a creek that runs through the campground (very relaxing to listen to while falling asleep), a pool, a little store, 2 rec rooms, that can be rented for group diners (which is what we do 2x a year with my family), a pool table, ping pong table, and arcade games. The tent sites are great, a lot more privacy than most places, the RV sites are bigger than a lot of places I've been too. They are stern about their 10 pm quiet time. Check with them about campfires, they don't always allow them, depends on how much rain they get. When they do, they have firepits you can use. I could go on forever. Oh wait, I already have. You get the picture. Visit Woods Valley. See for yourself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Nice wooded park. Nice people. Some rather run down permanent sites but overnighters are well apart from them. Dump station can be a bit difficult to use, especially for larger rigs. I said no to waterfront sites but there is a creek that our site was backed up to -- this being S. CA though, it is never more than a trickle. All in all, a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com