218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Barren River State Resort Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (270) 646-2151
CGID5004

Barren River State Resort Park

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   8   7   6   7   5   5   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
We were able to get a spot with a lake view close to the boat ramp. Slideout/awning friendly level sites are few and far between in the lower section by the lake, however. Water and electric are spaced apart from each other and we had to choose which one as our 50' water hose was not enough. Very hilly (not bicycle friendly) but that's to be expected so close to a lake. The restrooms were clean but dingy. We had no problem getting our 34' trailer around the grounds. No pool and no playground (that we could find anyway.) Hardly a flat area to throw ball or Frisbee even. It was not awful but we will not return. not what I was expecting for a state owned park. Disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Very narrow paved roads lead to very narrow paved sites that are seriously off-level. Narrow grassy areas between sites provide no privacy. Some electric hook-ups were inadequate but sites are close enough together that hooking to the neighboring electric may be possible though inappropriate (a neighbor was using ours when we arrived). AT&T phone and data service were weak but serviceable in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Great pull-through site. Nice clean park. Great fishing and boating. Near Mammoth Caves, the Corvette plant and museum in Bowling Green and Lincoln's Birth Place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Nice campground; friendly hosts and good food at the lodge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
Nice campground in one of Kentucky's State Resort parks. The campground is a nice, clean campground with mostly level parking spots. This campground is located on a hill though and is not a bike friendly campground. Most of the roads throughout the campground are pretty hilly. Some campsites are on a pretty good incline. Good TV and cell phone reception. Bath houses are nice and pretty clean, plenty of hot water. As with the KY resort parks, there is a lodge here with a nice restaurant. There is a pool at the lodge, but it is for lodge guests only. However nobody checks and campers can swim here. Laundry machines are available for use. Did not see any vending machines or payphone. There is a swimming beach a short drive from the campground on the park premises. Horse riding available as well. $18 per person for 45 minutes. Hiking and biking trails as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We stayed at Barren River State Park while we were visiting Mammoth Cave. There is a nice lodge, golf course and horseback riding available. We did not use any of these services. One word of advice. Be really careful of the site you select. Most of the sites are very unlevel with difficult grades. Some would not accommodate a large rig. We have a 39' 5th wheel and were on one of the more level sites, but it was a chore to get it leveled. The RV section has a laundry but only one machine was working. We did not use the bathhouse. There are no full hookups but it is very shady. Each site has a fire pit and picnic table. Some of the turns were very tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
The park has both pull-through sites and back-ins. The good news on the pull-through locations: They are long! The bad news on the pull-throughs: Although paved, they are not level. In fact, the slots are very much "humped" in a small hill. I had to move five times before I found one that did not stress out my hydraulic levelers. Further, the pull-through sites have only partial shade. The back-ins are more shady and appear fairly level, but will only accommodate small (30 foot or less) RV's. The rate I am showing reflects a AAA Motor Club discount (which I was surprised the park accepts!). The full rates are $19 for weekdays, $21 for weekends. I was surprised to find that this state park has laundry machines. I believe this is unusual for a state park. However, the laundry machines were outside under a cover that could be pulled down when they are not in use, so the laundry facilities were a little dirty. Restrooms were so so, I would wear shower shoes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
This campground is quite old and has not been updated since we were here 25 years ago. The area is great with lots of activities for kids and with beach and marina nearby. The bathhouses were in deplorable condition and did not appear to have been cleaned in several days. Fire rings had ashes from previous occupants as well as lots of trash, cigarette butts, and beer bottle caps. If you are going to stay in this area, I would recommend the COE campground at Narrows. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This is a very pretty area, but the campground itself needs a lot of work. There was a lot of trash in the restrooms, and no rangers around except on the week-end. The camp sites are not level, and that is an understatement. The campground is on a very hilly area along a man-made lake, and the sites are all humped in the middle. I needed about 5 leveling blocks under the rear stabilizers when fully extended to reach the pavement and we were on one of the more "flat" sites! Also, the water taps were between sites and even though ours was on the street side of the trailer I still needed 50' of hose to reach our trailer. The location is handy to Mammoth Caves, though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
We stayed here because of the golf course, which was very nice. The lodge and restaurant were also nice. We went to Bowling Green to the Corvette Museum and that was only about 20 minutes away and Mammoth Cave, which was about 30 minutes away, but other than that, there is nothing in the area and nothing in the campground to do or see. We got one TV channel, since we do not have a satellite. The trouble that we encountered here and at every KY State Park that we stayed at, was that there is no ranger presence of any kind. When we got to the park, there was no one at the gate and we did not see anyone there until the weekend, so if you have any trouble, there is no one there to resolve it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
We spent a week here in the early spring. Nice campground. Water hookups are between every other site, so depending on the site you have, the water hookup might be on the curb side, not the road side where your unit hookups are. Ours was on the road side, but we still needed two hoses to reach it. Web site says Wi-Fi, but not in the campground, only the Lodge. We had a severe storm come thru mid week. The rangers came thru and had everyone go to the lodge until the storm passed, making sure everyone was safe. The play ground was in good shape, fairly new equipment. Bathhouse was old, but in good repair and clean. The dump station water supply was frozen the morning we went to leave. Late cold snap. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$18
The atmosphere of the campground was very family oriented. The campground host was very visible and helpful. The campground was in good repair. Grounds were manicured nicely. The majority of the sites are pull-throughs. All sites are paved. However, few are level. Wildlife was abundant. Hilly terrain. Good bike bike riding campground. A beautiful 18-hole golf course is adjacent the campground. We will camp here again!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com