218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Toronto West KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (905) 854-2495
CGID5009

Toronto West KOA

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   6   4   5   5   4   6   2   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
We had an amazing experience with this camp site clean friendly ,, just great ,,, we had to pull in late as we are going across Canada ,& they were very welcoming in the morning ,,, welcomed our dogs too I would recommend ant KOA as we has stayed at a few now & always have a great experience We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
What this park lacks in upkeep they make up for with friendly staff. The sites were wide and long. The restroom facilities (shower and bathroom) need updating! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
To call this Toronto KOA is a misnomer. It is 40- 60 miles away from anything in Toronto you might want to do. The staff is friendly, but they are new to the area and do not know anything about Toronto or any attractions. There is no cable TV, and we could not get one channel with our antenna. The showers offer little privacy. There are 4 washers/dryers, which cost $1.50, but no hot water. The Wi-Fi worked fine. We would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
You drive several miles past a horse race track and through an upscale neighborhood, to arrive back at the highway. When we arrived at about 8pm the security gate was locked, and they buzzed us into the park. The staff was very friendly. The sites are pull through, but very narrow. There are little berms dividing the campsites. When you step out of your trailer or car, you step on the uneven ground of the berm. You could smell the septic system as you walked around the campground (it had just rained.) The highway traffic noise was exceptionally loud. Mosquitoes were abundant. The restroom/shower house was entertaining. Two chipmunks were in a battle to the death at the entrance of the bathroom. I had to wait for them to finish before I could enter. The bath house was like being in an insectarium. I saw the largest wolf spider that I've ever seen, jumping spiders, earwigs, and all sorts of flying creatures. It even had a bug zapper. I wonder why they left the door open all the time. The bathhouse was clean, if you looked past the bugs. I felt safe despite being on the outskirts of such a big city, but I wish we would have stopped somewhere else. This wasn't my sort of place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
This is a very old KOA, but the owners appear to be making some infrastructure and cosmetic improvements: new swing sets, sand boxes, gravel on roads, treating/sealing picnic tables. The grounds and washrooms are well tended and kept neat/clean. Trees at sites are kept trimmed. The campground is located up against the north side of Hwy 401, 6 lanes of constant traffic noise 24x7. (Goggle Maps sometimes shows it south of the hwy.) From exit #312, you proceed north 1 mile, west 1 mile and then south 1 mile to get to the campsite. The route is well marked. There is no real dog walking area. There is a trail that leads through the woods, but no room for dogs to pass-by without causing a commotion. Since the park is at the end of a dead end road, we simply ended up taking long walks down the road. The pool is nice and clean, tested every 2 hours. In the summer, the solar heated water is nice. The well water is extremely hard, but our water softener took care of that. The Wi-Fi can be really irritating, regularly taking you back to the KOA web logon screen or simply disconnecting. We had a strong signal where we were parked, but it was very, very slow, almost to the point of non-existence. Very often your connection would just drop either in the middle of loading a page or between pages, making it difficult to do anything that required multi screen navigation while logged on to a web site, such as online banking or blogs. When it was working, 23 speed tests over a 4 week period measured the download speed at 0.2517 mbps and the upload speed at 0.167 mbps. Sites are a mix of gravel/grass and can be a challenge to get your rig level. The park has 2 sections: West Section. Has back to back sites that can be used as a single site for extra long rigs. This section only has 2, 50 amp back in sites and the rest are 30 amp full service or 15 amp no sewer sites, but the pool is located in this section. East Section (where we parked). This is the only part of the park with 50 amp service in pull throughs. This section is mostly long term residents or permanent weekenders. The sites are a bit cramped in terms of length but the width is good, you don’t have to worry about your awnings hitting your next door neighbor’s slides and there is room to park a tow vehicle. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. Many of the tables were very weathered and in poor condition. The sewer outlets are particularly high, most are located within the 4x4 border around the water/electrical posts that makes laying sewer hose problematic as the hose has to snake up’n’over the wood beams and then up an additional 3-4” to the pipe opening. TV over the air reception in the East section is pretty bad, as that section is lower down the hill and surrounded by trees. We could only received a couple of channels all with weak signals. There are some nice shops in Campbellville (just south of the 401 at exit #312) for quick shopping or lunch, and everything else you can imagine in Milton, 5-7 miles east on the hwy. We stayed solely to visit family as it was the only park we could find that could handle our 41 footer, that was close to our family, that wasn’t a resort park that would have charged our family and friends to visit. The rate reflects the monthly rate (GST not included). All this being said, the managers and staff are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
I was disappointed in this for a KOA. Service was friendly when I called and the next day when I left, but the ladies' washroom had no soap or hot water. Highway noise was pronounced. Seemed somewhat rundown. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
This is a tired but secured campground with significant 24-hour traffic noise from the 401 Highway making it difficult to tolerate outside of the RV. Friendly check-in. Shore water hook-up is in bad repair with broken or badly leaking o-rings. Power supply was an issue, and we only stayed one night rather than the week we had planned. Shore services are shared and located on a raised mound, and the sewer hook-up is so high that it would almost require fluids to flow uphill. Interior roads had some pot holes, but they were navigable. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Like most KOA's, it's right next to the highway. A restaurant and harness racetrack/casino are a mile or so away via a trail. Sites not too level, there's little shade. Washrooms are inconsistent: one near office is filthy, one farther away is cleaner. WiFi is present, but glacially slow. Has nice workers and a small cold pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
This park is just off the freeway and the noise is a major draw back. The park was clean and the clerk helpful, but the things offered on their website are no longer available, like pick up by Greyline Tours, short distance to bus/train. The pot holes in the park are so deep you had to drive on the grass to get around them. Stay here when nothing else is available, or you can sleep with lots of noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$55
A typical KOA - nothing super special but close enough to Toronto to get in and out OK. The WIFI worked well. The playground was a little run down and the campground is a few hundred yards from the Interstate, so noise was pretty high. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Very noisy park. Right next to Hwy 401!!! No cable but very good TV reception. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Wow, what a full service campground! Very friendly staff who can arrange bus trips and discount tickets to many of Toronto’s attractions and tours. Just can't understand the previous reviews. No cable, but we received 11 very strong stations on our amplified antenna. Washrooms were spotless and fairly modern. This park is a must for anyone who wants to see Toronto but avoid the traffic - we watched as the staff patiently arranged several bus tours to activities for a German couple. I don't assess children's activities as we don't have any. Noise from the 401 detracts from a perfect score, but you can’t hear it with the AC on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$36
NOT recommended. On their independent website at http://www.torontowestkoa.on.ca/facilities.html they state "we are constantly working to provide and upgrade the facilities, security and comfort features". They're not even halfway there yet. They advertise WiFi, but it's only available in the main building. There's little for children to do and for adults wanting peace and quiet, you definitely won't find it here! The park is an open field right beside Hwy 401 so you hear the traffic all night long. Management staff are unfriendly and unwelcoming ... definitely not suited to this type of business. As another poster here said, there are plenty of other much better campsites in this area so don't waste your money here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
I do not know the answers to some of these questions because managers of the facility do not allow potential customers to enter the park for a drive through and only provide information on a sheet that is provided in a kiosk outside the barrier that prevents entry. I was told that I could park my vehicle outside the park and walk around (in the rain) if I wished. My presence at the "barrier" was clearly an annoyance to the management on duty. Since I chose not to walk around strange campgrounds in the rain, since management would not allow me to drive-thru the facility, and since I never purchase without at least looking at what I am buying, I left. I will not return. There are many other campgrounds in the area that are managed/owned by people who are more then willing to let you drive around and check things out, who go out of their way to be hospitable, and who clearly want your business. I encourage you to give them a try. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com