223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Kankakee River State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (815) 933-1383
CGID5014

Kankakee River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   10   8   7   7   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Nice place to be while waiting for new truck brakes. Very friendly. A local couple camping there "took us in". Nice grounds, excellent paved biking/walking trail along the river. Very wooded. Only negative: on a busy truck route. If you want full restroom facilities, camp in season at Pottawatamie. It was already closed for the season when we were there. We were at Chippewa which is further from Bourbonnias and closer to the busy road. The river drive on the west side is scenic and worth the time. Take the Warner Bridge Rd. to get across. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Two campgrounds here. If you are in a bigger rig I would suggest the Chippewa campground. It is more open and easier to get in and out of. The Potawatomie campground is where we stayed and the loops are very tight. Heavily wooded on this side though some nice sites and very private. This park also has a great 10 mile paved bike trail. We would return here but stay in the Chippewa campground next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
There is water located through out the campgrounds and there is plenty of good sites to choose from. Good place for base camp to explore the area around Kankakee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
We camped here on a holiday weekend. What a wonderful campground. There is so much for a family to experience that does not cost any money. What wonderful memories you can make with your family. Too much to see in the 3 days that we camped, we will be returning. However, the campground park rangers do not enforce their campground rules. Rules for quiet time, and loud dog barking non-stop was not taken care of. Although these were issues, the beauty of this park far out weighs the negative. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This was our first ever camping outing with our new travel trailer! Took our 2 kids and dog for a trial run! We didn't know what to expect, as we were new to the camping world. We were presently surprised. We stayed at the Chippewa Campsite. Stayed by the swing set, along the bike path. We brought our bikes and we went on many bikes rides. Took a hike to see the falls. It was fun. The campground was quite empty. The hosts were wonderful. It was more older couples, my kids did get bored, there were no other children for them to play with. That was the only downfall. Did have a place to fill up water, when you get there. Dumping station was quick and easy! We would definitely go back, but with friends for the kids! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
Nice State Park. It's quiet and fresh water to fill your tank is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
The camp ground is great. There are nice spacious wooded sites and a 10 mile bike trail. I would rate it higher except that we had bad neighbors and the park security did nothing to control the loud music and floodlights (they played beanbag into the night) set up by the party goers. This went on past quiet hours and took away the enjoyment of sitting by a peaceful campfire. The next day another camping group set up their boom box to blast their music, then left the campsite with the music playing while they was gone. We just packed up and left. Camp ground rules need to be enforced or fewer families will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
Great campground with miles and miles of walking paths along the river. It's a huge park, and might get crowded in season, but we had the whole place to ourselves. Really great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
We first went into Potawatomi Campground which is very tight for a 39" fifth wheel and the cost is $20.00 a night because they have a shower house. The next day we went down the road to the other called Chippewa Campground this is more open and not tight for our size fifth wheel. They do not have a shower house at this one. The bike/walk trail is paved and very nice. Quiet and very nice host. TV reception was good. There are some reservable sites. Most sites are pretty level. Would stop here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Nice Campground, A little road noise from semi trucks. Great 10 mile bike path. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com