206552 User submitted reviews online!!
McIntosh Lake Campground & RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (912) 832-6215
CGID5015

McIntosh Lake Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   7   8   9   9   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Very friendly smaller park. Have stayed here on way to Florida & back for several years. Park was nice when we first stopped there, but has been improved and more work is being done. Quite convenient to the Golden Isles to south and Savannah to north, but the park is peaceful and quiet. Locally, try Skipper's Fish Camp in Darien for excellent sea food. There are several other really good restaurants within 10-15 miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Campground is clean and the sites are all fairly good size and level. WiFi is very slow but served our purpose. Cable worked well. Good for a stop over when traveling. Very little to do in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
Very friendly owner, made you feel very much at home. Large pull through site, all services, very good Wi-Fi and cable TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
The park is easy to access and to maneuver in with level grass/dirt sites and gravel interior roads. Utilities are reliable, AT&T phone and data service are available in the area, laundry and restrooms are clean and the park sits on a nice small lake. Noise from the small highway that borders the park and from military aircraft is significant. Tree stumps and old warped wooden picnic tables detract from the appearance of the park. The no-see-ums were very bad during our stay but the season for them is said to be fairly short. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Nice, quiet out of the way park. Friendly staff. The lake can be fished but the shoreline is not easily accessible and there are boundary issues with adjoining park. Nice club house used for gathering and jig saw puzzle meets. Bring the bug spray as the mosquito's were in high numbers throughout the day. Put up a screen tent to sit out in. Great views of the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
Rate is based on monthly stay and includes added cost for electricity. WOW. Owner a delight…laid back and cool…great conversationalist. Yeah there are rules, but very sensible. Pull through with great view of lake out front window. Great cable (71 ch) and very powerful Wi-Fi. Sites dirt/grass, very level. Full hookups. Owners and hosts VERY helpful with suggestions for grocery, restaurants, sights to see. Great Easter dinner: they provided turkey, ham, stuffing, potatoes, gravy; campers provided pot luck. Had an RV problem, and they recommended Eric, mobile repair—great job. Had a problem with toad. They recommended Steve’s Auto Repair nearby. On Friday needed A/C compressor. It was there at 8:30 Monday and we were on our way by 11:30. Fabulous service. We will visit this RV park again, and if we need service, we know where to go. We WILL be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
Great little park. Just as advertised. Not an RV resort, but just good friendly folks and a nice camping. Everything neat and clean. Restrooms/showers really neat and clean. FHU sites with 77 channel cable TV and free Wi-Fi that really works. Easy access to I-95. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Very easy from I-95. This is a man made lake and not large enough to do much more than view. The park was not very busy when we arrived and for some reason they had us for a different night but placed us without any problems. A great value to get full hookups plus Wi-Fi and cable for $20. A great stopover for the snowbirds! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Love this park! It's close to I-95 with very easy access. Found the park a few years ago and have been visiting at least once a year since. It's like going home to family. They don't have a swimming pool, but allow swimming and boating in the lake. Also, they have an enclosed pet run, which is a big feature for folks with dogs, like us. Every once in a while the owners build a bonfire, and campers have an opportunity to get to know their neighbors. Like I said, Love this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Clean, well maintained, host was polite, helpful and kind. EXCELLENT value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
We stayed here for a month along with our three dogs. The owners live in the park and were very friendly and accommodating. We had a site over looking the Lake and club house. This is a very nice park to stay at! Lots of friendly people in the park. WiFi was great and cable TV was nice also. Fishing in the lake was great also. No licence required either which was nice for out of staters. We will be back again!!! Loved the Park!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Small campground but very friendly owners, we had a low tire that needed attention and they went out of their way to find a compressor for me. Lots are level Wi-Fi and cable were good. This is a great location centrally located to Savannah and barrier islands. We would definitely stay here again. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
The managers are very nice. The campground is very clean, and is easy on and off I-95. We stayed 1 night 3 weeks ago and tonight on way back. For the $20 you get full hook-ups, free cable TV and good free Wi-Fi. The best deal I have found in awhile. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
This is a small well run CG with a nice view of a lake. It is quiet and not far from the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Nice park. We only stayed overnight. Friendly staff. Nice view of the lake from our site. Price was very reasonable (with 10% disc.) Did some fishing in the lake. Too bad the restaurant is no longer in operation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
The owners of this campground are the best.. always helpful and friendly. They welcome my husband and I and our little dog every time we stay, which is fairly often. The sites are clean and for the most part grassy. No picnic tables, but most people carry the fold-up kind these days anyways. Plenty of room for slide outs, with lots of room to set up an outdoor sitting area. I have always found the bathrooms and laundry room to be very clean! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is a very nice park with a VERY friendly staff. Sites are a decent size. Our site was all grass, no gravel or pavement. WiFi actually works and is strong enough to be usable. Swimming is available in the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
Convenient to I-95, about a mile off, for an overnight stop. Level pull throughs are narrow but sufficient for slides and awnings. Has good Wi-Fi, 50 amp, a reasonable price and view of the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
Couldn't decide between this one or Lake Harmony and I'm glad we chose this one. Nothing fancy but friendly people, level sites, easy hookups. We pulled into our site reversely so we'd have a view of the lake out our back window. Had some very heavy rains one night which resulted in 3" of water at our front door the next morning. Owner and his wife brought a platform over during the day so we could get out without getting our feet wet. Laundry has 2 washers and dryers and is clean. Also has a unisex bathroom which is just like a small bathroom at home with shower, toilet and sink. Very nice and clean. Dollar General/Piggly Wiggly/Ace Hardware about 2 miles but for more serious shopping, you have to go to Darien or Hinesville. Propane is about 10 minutes from here. The restaurant is no more; it has been turned into a clubhouse. The logging companies had finished their work by the time we got here so the only logging trucks were those on Route 57 which runs in front of the property. The dirt road is a great place to walk your dog now. Were originally going to stay for 2 nights; ended up staying for 6 weeks. Too much to see and do between Brunswick and Savannah: need at least a month! If you don't need the pool or paved lots, I would highly recommend this campground; we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
We checked into this park for a week. The manager is very accommodating. The showers and restrooms are private rooms and very clean. We have stayed here before. The internet wireless internet can be reached all over the park. The laundry room has new machines and is very clean. The sites are spacious. I would recommend this highly to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This a great park 3/4 of a mile off of I-95. We called at 9:00 pm. and the park manager met us when we pulled in to show us a site. He helped me with the hookups and showed me how to get out in the morning. I am not sure about the lake amenities but overall I could not beat the price and convince to I-95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
The sites are grass and dirt, and ours was not very private. It was however level. We did have a nice view of the lake. We had an issue with our water faucet, but the owner was extremely responsive and fixed the problem quickly. We had a long pull through site and did not have to detach the toad. If you are travelling on I95 this campground is very convenient. However, there is a dirt road which forms the entry to the park and is also used day and night by lumber trucks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
I love this park. I have stayed there MANY times. The first time was during a hurricane when I evacuated Florida. I was VERY disappointed that they are no longer a Passport America Campground. I wish they would re-join passport america. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
My husband and I have camped here with our little dog numerous times and will continue to come back whenever possible. We enjoy the family atmosphere of the campground and the owners are so helpful and friendly. The restaurant has closed down but is now a gathering place for campers to play cards or games. Holidays here have included huge pot-luck dinners! The lake is beautiful and the sites are easy to access. It is so peaceful here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
We came here specifically to do some fishing and try out our new Porta Bote so we were very disappointed that we were not allowed to put it in the water. We were told that the owner of Lake Harmony, just across the lake, actually owns the lake and will not allow campers at this park to put boats into "his" lake. Fishing from the dock wasn't much fun. The campground is nice with beautiful waterfront views if all you want to do is relax and look at the water. Our pull through was comfortably large and the owner couldn't have been nicer. The biggest drawback is the distance from everything unless you want to get back on I-95 to travel to Brunswick or Savannah. There was some road noise from the highway that runs next to the park. We will not return because there are other parks that better meet our needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Friendly owners, beautiful setting on lake. Easy access from I-95. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Discounted rate. Park situated just off of Interstate near nice scenic lake. Responded quickly to my e-mail and was warmly greeted. Strong WIFI and excellent Cable. Has large sites but no picnic tables. Restaurant is now the recreation hall and park has new washrooms which were clean. Has facilities (gas,bank,restaurants) located nearby and highly recommended We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
I concur with the other reviewers' comments. However, there is a Piggy Wiggly a couple of miles away next to the Ace Hardware store so it really isn't completely out in the boondocks. We stayed here four days and would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
Very convenient to I 95. Good for our overnight stop. Nice setting with lake. We had a pull thru and did not have to disconnect the toad. Sites are dirt/grass, fairly level. Staff was friendly and welcoming, offered local tip to avoid I95 construction backups. Showers/rest rooms are private, accessed with provided security code. Rate reflects SKP discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Very nice and good value for a basic park with helpful and friendly owner. Restaurant on-site offers nice dinners several nights a week and prices from $5. Beautiful lakeside location with a variety of short and longer-term unpaved sites. Rate is based on weekly special; we started with one week and wound up staying for two. As noted in other reviews, and the only negative for us, was that it is over 25 miles to major shopping and services although access to I-95 is easy and very close. This may not be an issue for many. We would stay there again anytime! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
I would have given this delightful campground a 10 if the laundry was larger. 2 washers and 2 dryers are not enough. Owners are extremely nice. Even let us hide out while a tornado warning expired. This is a good overnight because it's just off exit 58 on 95. We've been here a week. Very peaceful. Not much in the immediate area so make sure you have plenty of supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
Nice peaceful park on a small lake within 30 or so miles of Savannah. Lots of grass alongside a small lake. Stayed here a week and would do so again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
Weekly rate: stayed for 2 weeks. As campgrounds go, it is very nice. Better for longer stays than overnights. In a very remote section of Georgia, but easy access to the Interstate. Reasonably quiet (road noise) at night. I liked it and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
I was very disappointed in this campground. There were no picnic tables, overall it wasn't a pleasant place to stay. The campsite was level but just grass and dirt. We would not stay here again. The price of the campsite is Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
We were pleasantly surprised at this Passport America park. A gem for the price, especially if you like fishing. They have a free fishing lake. We had a lake front site which was lovely, with ducks visiting us each day for their treats. Also our site #14 was very wide with a lawn. A very important feature to us is the free WiFi, and there's works well and fast from the site! there is also a small seafood restaurant on site, which opens every evening at 5:30 pm, which we didn't visit, but our neighbors told us that the food was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Very friendly staff, well maintained park. If you're looking for a high-end resort, keep driving - but if you're looking for a quiet stay about 90 seconds from I95, stay here! The morning view across the lake from our windows was beautiful. You can't go wrong staying here. P.S. The red-headed ducks will continue to beg for food until you say NO - But, WILL come back later to see if you've changed your answer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
This was our second time here. The owners are great people, very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this campground to anyone. The restaurant on site has great food also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
Parked here using Passport membership. We were in site 2 which overlooked the lake. Road into park was dirt but well maintained. Close to freeway but quiet. Nice small park with swings along lake - to sit and watch the ducks/water. Park was dusty and had long term residents. Owner personable. Very nice setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
We left McIntosh Lake RV park this morning after a too short stay of only two days. We were greeted by Leah and her friendliness on our arrival. The campground did not disappoint us. It is a friendly, laid-back style campground in a beautiful lakeside setting. This was our third stay here and we will be staying here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$14
I agree with all the other reviews posted but wanted to add that the sites are very close together. It was fine for a short stay as it is close to the freeway and a good Passport rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
This is a very inexpensive small campground close enough to I-95 to be very convenient, but far enough away to avoid the traffic noise. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi and Cable TV are free (included in the camping fee, which is itself very attractive.) Even the laundry facilities are good and inexpensive. Only the slightly sulfur-smelling water (which our filter removed completely) prevents this campground from getting a rating of ten. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
We over-nighted here on our way to Florida. The campground is very convenient to I-95 but quiet. The owner lives on-site and met us when we arrived. The Wi-Fi worked very good. The sites and roads are hard packed sand. There is a restaurant on-site that looked fine but we arrived too late to need it. Most sites were occupied by long term units and some looked a little rough. I would say 80% of the sites are on a long term usage. I would not hesitate to overnight her but definitely do not see this as a destination resort and therefore I am perplexed by the 10 ratings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$15
The bathrooms and laundry were spotless. The campground is clean and in good shape. The owners go out of their way to make your stay a happy one. We were here for a month. There is a restaurant at the campground that serves excellent meals at a reasonable price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$10
I actually broke down and was stuck in this park. It is located just off the main highway but far enough to be secluded next to a very nice lake. The owners were some of the nicest people I've met while RV'ing. They actually took me to Savanna to drop off my van and frequently stopped by my RV to ask if I needed a ride into town to shop. This really is a very nice place to stay and the rumors about Southern hospitality definitely apply to the folks that own this park. I will put this on my list of RV heavens. They also have a friendly herd of the strangest ducks I've ever seen. They call them "Turkey Ducks" but they look like a cross between ducks and vultures. Seriously though. Nice park, nice people and great prices. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$13
We always stop at McIntosh Lake Park. They have the best rates (accept Happy Campers.) They're right off of I-95 and easy to find (except you have to remember they're the SECOND park.) There is an excellent restaurant on site with great food and it also doesn't cause a big crowd or anything. There is also only one or two places for tents, which helps curb the noise level. This time we had our grandchildren and they loved to play by the lake with the ducks. There were some toys for them to play with, too. The best part is the new bath house and laundry with air conditioning. I also used the internet in their office. The owner and the lady who cooks at the restaurant are very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com