223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Codorniz Recreation Area Campground COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (559) 689-3255
CGID5024

Codorniz Recreation Area Campground COE

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   7   9   7   10   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
This was a very pleasant campground, but trees and location meant no view of the lake. Had no trouble getting satellite reception, but no cell service at all. I had a full hookup site for the price shown with a senior federal pass. I only spent one night because of the lack of cell service, but would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$10
This is a Corp of Engineer campground on Eastman Lake about 20 miles outside of Chowchilla. The rate reflects a dry camping site with a federal senior discount card. We chose the dry camping site since it is one of the few sites that have a view of the lake. Most sites do not. The reservoir is very low, so it is a ways away. The road in is rough, as pointed out by a prior reviewer, but not that bad. Most of the roads in California are in very bad shape now. However, do watch the railroad crossing; it gave us a good bump. As noted, there are hookup sites of varying kinds. When we were there, we had only dozen other campers, so lots of room. Many of the sites are very, very sloped where we would not be able to level. Our Verizon phone worked on and off. The data did not work at all. Most of the sites would not have a problem getting satellite. There is not a lot to do, so go if like the peace and quite and nice dark skies. We will definitely stay here again if in the ares. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
This is a very nice COE park BUT the roads in (Avenue 26 and some of Road 29) are horrible!! We will not stay here again only because of them. Once you get onto park property, the roads to and in the campgrounds are good. Now, about the campground...we had an electric/water site only but there are about 5 sites with sewer. We were right across from the bathhouses so there was no problem there. Bathhouses are clean; one shower per side (male/female). No Verizon service until you get back to Chowchilla. Apparently, AT&T is the phone service of choice in this area. There is wifi service at the check-in area. Each campsite has a fire ring and picnic table and many have roofs over the tables. Although most sites have trees, we didn't see any what you would call "shady sites" as we drove through. As I said, we liked this COE park a lot but will not visit again until roads are improved, especially Avenue 26. BTW, Save Mart right at Exit 170, is a lovely grocery store and had delicious mussels!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$9
Nice clean park. Helpful people running the park. It is a Corps of Engineers park that exists for one reason: boating on the lake. There are no swimming areas. The campground is basically bare with no shade. There is plenty of space between sites. I did not notice any pull-throughs but there are a -few- full hookup sites. The rest are power and water only. So if you have a boat you'll like it. Otherwise there is nothing to do. There is nothing to do in the area other than that and it doesn't seem to be close to any other attractions. It's too far from Yosemite and Kings Canyon to use as a base. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
Another wonderful COE campground where some of the sites have water and electric though the ones by the lake do not have power. Good price with National Park Senior Pass, though we didn't understand why this COE is more than the others we have stayed in and usually pay $10. The sites are nicely separated, paved, and have good power and water. Lovely walking trails and good bass fishing in the lake if you like to fish. Restrooms were a bit dated but clean. Friendly hosts and ranger. We wish we could have stayed longer, and will return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
Staff and camp host were very friendly and helpful. We had to choose another site because the one reserved had been listed incorrectly on the Recreation.gov website as having power (it had none). Rolling hills, views of the lake, clean restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
One of our best campground. Nature, calm, no noise, wildlife. Rangers are more than kind. He brought us marshmallow for the fire, he show us some spot with his car. We really had very good time. Sites are clean and have lot of space. Perfect place. We will come again. Children friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
I live approximately 30 minutes from Eastman Lake, and this is the campsite I visit the most. There is a lot of wildlife in the area. The rangers and volunteers are very nice and helpful. The campgrounds and restrooms are always clean. There are a lot of hiking trails around the area. We don't camp here as much in the summer months due to the heat, and the need to hike a bit to the water for swimming. There are also rattlesnakes in the summer. Overall though, a great place to camp in the non summer months, even through winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
We rate this an primitive "8" . It is a quite campground where you will see deer, bobcat, eagles, and numerous coyote during your stay. We prefer to dry camp in sites 5-7 and 9-11. Most of these have a view of the lake. This is one our favorites in the fall, winter, and spring. Summer is HOT! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
My wife and I like this spot for it's closeness to our home (30 mins.). Beautiful area of rolling foothills, quail and coyotes at night. Peaceful and quiet on all the trips we have gone. Have been there in groups and solo, all have been enjoyable. Gave it an 8 because they need to add more hook-up sites. Decent fishing spot as this is considered a "Trophy Lake" for bass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Codorniz Campground at Eastman Lake near Chowchilla is a COE campground. There are 66 sites though only a few with full hookups. Sites that provide sewer hookups are close together while other sites are spread out over rolling, oak-studded hills, spaced far apart. What might be called pull-throughs were more of pull-outs along side of road, none with hookups. Interior roads are paved as are the parking pads, most are quite level. Outside area is graveled and consists of a table and combined bbq/fire pit. There is also a metal pole on which a lantern could be hung. Only a few of the sites are directly on the lake shoreline though the lake can be seen from many of the sites. There is a playground for children near the center of the campground. Three restroom facilities with showers with hot water served the campground. Fishing enthusiasts say the lake is a good place to fish. Several TV stations can be accessed via antenna. Definitely a campground and not a resort. Peaceful and quiet and nice for watching and listening to the birds. If were WiFi accessible, would have rated a 8 as a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com