218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Pinyon Flats (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (719) 378-6399
CGID5033

Pinyon Flats (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   9   9   8   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This park has amazing geography and is well worth a visit. But, if you want to camp, try to avoid the peak season of late spring/summer. By chance, our route took us here the first weekend in June. We were lucky to get a spot on a Thursday morning. There are two loops. One is reserved, and the other has 44 walk-in sites. The loop and sites are paved, but not very level. There are some big-rig sites, but most are smaller. There is one restroom for the entire loop with flush toilets and cold water sinks. The sites are very close together. We could see 10 other sites from our dinette window. By Friday, the campground was packed, with people lined up at 8am to try to get a site. There was constant car traffic around the loop, frequently above the speed limit and the wrong way! The camp host did nothing to try to reign this in. This would probably be a totally different scene by September which would be a better time to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
This was an awesome place to see the Great Sand Dunes. This was my first ever experience camping in an RV. The site itself was a 10. Amazing view of the Dunes, nice picnic table and fire pit. The restrooms were clean: there were 3 toilets and 2 sinks for our area. I would have appreciated a shower, but I knew they didn't have one going in. There are no hook-ups, but the parks I passed along the way to the Great Sand Dunes that had hook ups didn't look as scenic so this was worth it. There were very few RVs in the park--it was mostly tent camping. Great family atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$9
This is a nice National Park campground. It is treed, the sites are fairly private, the bathrooms are clean, a fire pit and a table are at each site. We have a 35' motorhome and there are only a few sites which will accommodate this size. Leveling is a bit of a problem. There are trails right from the campground to the dunes and to the Visitor Center though both are about 1 1/2 miles one way. We really liked this park and will definitely stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
The sites were beautiful and very clean. Our site was shaded, but the trees on the street had a lot of dead limbs and overhanging limbs that made it difficult to park our 30 foot RV. We had to parallel park in a rather small space and were barely off the main road with our slides out. The park is more geared to tents and small units. The bathrooms were clean but there were no showers. We had a buck come and visit us in our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
What's not to like when your view is of the tallest sand dunes in North America. Sites in loop 2 are bigger than loop 1, but still small. Many require your across the road site holder to be absent to be able to back in. That said, if you can fit in here, don't miss this. Since 2009, about half the sites are reservable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$10
This is the best place to stay in the area; the rate reflects 50% discount for Seniors Pass. Our motorhome is 32' long and we had no problems navigating Loop 1. There are only 2-3 sites large enough to accommodate larger rigs. Yes, longer trailers would be difficult to park. But the view and the seclusion were magnificent. And I might add that I didn't think the sand dunes would be interesting, but I was wrong! Definitely worth a stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Not big rig friendly! Only a handful of sites can handle anything larger than 25'. There are several sites big enough to park a trailer and tow rig side by side but they are angled the wrong way and can't be backed into on the narrow one-way loop. They definitely didn't have big trailers in mind when they designed this place. The Oasis RV park is a few miles back up the road and looks like a good alternative if you can't find anything here. The campground itself is lovely. Heavily treed, good privacy and awesome views of the sand dunes. Picnic tables, fire rings and bear boxes at each site. No hookups but that's not surprising at a national park. Water and dump station are on site and generators are allowed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
This is a difficult campground to rate. There are no hook-ups and very few sites that can accommodate an RV. But this is Colorado, so that means gorgeous mountains and the sand dunes are magnificent. A place not to miss. It's worth the discomfort for a couple of days to see them. The campground is really made for tents, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$8
Very nice place to stay. Much more desirable for tents and small RVs. We are only 36 ft and it appears that there is only about 4 sites that will accommodate a rig this size. We really enjoyed our stay here and recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$14
Nice campground in two loops but definitely not designed with big RVs in mind. Out of 88 sites, I could fit in only 4 or 5 with my 33' fifthwheel and tow vehicle. Fortunately, one of those sites was vacant when I arrived. Most sites are suitable for tents, popups, and small (24 feet) RVs. No reservations accepted. No hookups, which is not unusual for national park campgrounds. Water faucet near the restrooms and dump station at campground entrance. Generator hours are 7 AM to 6 PM. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com