218840 User submitted reviews online!!
Southern Gates RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (229) 273-6464
CGID5036

Southern Gates RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   10   9   3   6   8   9   7   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
First, I believe the ratings that are 10 and 9 were put there by the owners. Upon arriving, the office smelled like they breed dogs in there. I never smelled anything so horrible. Yes, the sites are long and pull through. There is no cable because it was disconnected (probably because they never paid the bill). The grass had not been cut in weeks and the ants were plentiful. The roads are worse than dirt roads. Sort of paved with huge holes. We paid $22.00 with a Passport America discount. Not worth $10.00. I could not imagine paying the full price of $44.00. This is a Rat Hole. We would never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
We found this campground on our way north to visit relatives and made sure to stop on the way home. It is one of the cleanest campgrounds we have ever visited. From the moment we checked in at the cute office we were so happy we stopped. Most campground offices are dirty and cluttered, but it is so fun with the old wood stove and decor. They escorted us to a really long and level pull through site that we pulled right out of the next morning. We didn't use the bathroom but checked them out, and they were spotless. The pool was also very clean. They have cabins that are tidy and look so fun (we peeked in the windows). The wi-fi was strong. We have stayed twice in 10 days and will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
We stopped here on our way home from a wet trip to Florida and found more rain, but the park was wonderful. We were escorted to our site by the owners after they gave us fresh cookies! Due to the rain the grass was a little tall, but the owners apologized and we understood, given how rainy it has been. We used the bathhouse which was sparkling and the pool, which was also very clean. They have cute cabins which are a good option for people who are going through the area and don't want to use a motel. The area is a perfect drive from Florida. We came up from Orlando and it only took us 4 1/2 hours. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Used this campground for an overnight stay while traveling on I-75. Close to 75. The owner(s) were friendly and helped get us to the site. The pool was nice although dated. The bathroom was clean and has a locked door. The office during check in smelled like a wet/dirty dog. As previously mentioned, the roads are dirt and uneven. Low tree branches and lots of red ants that infested our RV even after trying to spray. There were beer bottles and cigarette butts in the grass near our site. There are old trailers that look like they were there from a trailer park. There were people (not campers) staying in some of the smaller permanent structures and not many (if any) other non-permanent campers present. The campground needs a lot of work. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
Rustic park with dirt roads and grass sites, ours was not level. Wi-Fi is good but cable has been disconnected. Road noise from highway is intrusive. Price is high for PA, I think. OK for overnight, but we would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
We stopped here while traveling from Florida to North Carolina. We were met by very friendly staff. We were given our cookies. She showed us to our site. The site was level. All sites are shaded and have a picnic table. Close to I-75, you can hear the traffic but it is not annoying. The bathrooms are clean and met our needs. This is a nice campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
Rate is PA. Very helpful couple, they walked us to our site. Very quiet during the night. Unfortunately, through no fault of campground, the cable company dropped service to their area, but antenna worked fine and picked up several channels! Owners were very helpful in giving directions to nearest grocery store, and even gave us a bag of homemade cookies!! (Yummmm) Since it was just a stop-over on our way to Florida, we didn't check out the rest of the campground! It was adequate! Would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$23
Alright park. Quiet and easy pull through. Thought the PA price was high. Especially since they didn't have the cable TV as advertised, and only a few stations over the air. Said cable dropped them without notice. Would stay as an overnight stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Entering the park was tight as the trees were overgrown. Friendly owners and fresh good cookies. Electric was a challenge as it was hot, and we were only getting 102 - 108 volts. As the night came the volts went up. The worst was the ants. The next morning we noticed ants all over the coach and even inside where they had come through the water line and around the slides. Took two days of spraying to get rid of them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
Nice overnight stop, near I-75 but no noise. Not much to do in the area but we did enjoy the campground. The owners were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
Folksy and friendly. We were greeted with fresh baked cookies. No cable due to local cable company going out of business. Wi-fi is satellite so is a bit slow. Quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
Staff was very helpful. Personally escort you to site. Site was level pull through. Easy to get in and out. Quiet area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
Nice park to stay in for a few days. The owners are very helpful: escorts to the sites and they'll pick up and fill your gas bottles for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
We stayed one night. Just like camping in someone’s backyard. Easy interstate access and pull-through sites. All grass with a picnic table at each site. Extremely nice management and great cookies! We’ll stay here again. Has a great Mexican restaurant (Los Compadres), every fast food establishment, Wal-Mart, grocery stores, and shopping located about 9 miles north on I-75. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
Very friendly, helpful owners. Shaded gravel sites. Most are easy in and easy out for big rigs. Owners escort you to your site and direct you into position. Leveling required. Good cable TV. WI-FI is somewhat slow, but adequate. Good playground. We could not evaluate the pool in March. Close to I-75 and the degree of road noise depends on where your site is located--some sites are somewhat buffered from highway noise by an earthen berm. Bathrooms are older, but freshly painted and very clean. The trees and a catch and release fishing pond make the place feel rather like a state park. Assorted junk piled behind the office building is visible from campsites and detracts from an otherwise pleasant atmosphere. As of March 2009, diesel #2 (ultra-low sulfur for model year engines 2007 and later) is available only at the Pilot Truck Center in Cordele about nine miles north of Arabi at exit 101 on I-75. Other fuel stations in Arabi and Cordele do not have diesel #2; some have diesel #1. We spent six nights in this campground and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
Easy access off I-75 west. Owners were very friendly. Most sites had tree shade. May not be good for satellite TV. Interior roads and sites are gravel or grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
Very convenient location, right off I75. Escapees 50% discount made it especially attractive. Nice play area for families. Owners pleasant and helpful. Perfect for an overnight stop en route. Distant from attractions, stores, activities. We'd stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
This is a lovely old campground that is being turned into a fantastic place by its new owners! For one thing, they've already opened the pool. We didn't use it in January (!), but it's very pretty, as is the large playground area. The ponds are very pretty as well. Even though the campground is near enough to the highway to hear some road noise, it isn't bothersome because there is so much here to command attention away from that--the trees and light on the water and the really pretty little cabins. But the people who own it are the best feature of the campground. We live on the road full-time with our dog and run into a lot of places that claim to be dog-friendly. At some, we been told we can't let our dog step on the grass! Here, they love dogs! Their own dogs are very friendly (and very well behaved) and will play with yours if you want them to. Of course, you pick up after your dog as you would anywhere, but there's no feeling of having a gun held to your head over it here--just that you're trusted to do it. And your kids are at least as welcome as your dog. WIFI is coming soon, according to the owners, and a fenced dog play area is in the plan. A few sites work for internet satellite dishes--most have too many trees. The owners are very helpful with picking which one's right for you. These people are so nice that it's worth a stopover here just to spend some time talking with them! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
This is a quaint little park owned and operated by a husband and wife team. The personal service from the enthusiastic owners was fantastic and the welcome gifts of pecans and a Milk-Bone for my dog made me feel that my visit was truly appreciated. A nice place for an overnight stay. And the pool is operating and looks great, although I didn't get a chance to use it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Sort of friendly staff..newly family owned. I called for reservations, was told that they had a pool and that it would be opened within a few days. Stayed for almost one month seemed that they didn't have the money to open the pool. They have a catch and release pond for fishing. We had fun doing that. My only regret was I had to throw it back. Nice big mouth bass. We left halfway into the month and still no pool open and it was memorial day weekend.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Park was up for sale, seemed like mobile home park with lots of long time residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
Accommodating personel, pretty setting, good roads and reasonably level graveled sites. Clean, neat and quiet. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Close to I-75 so noise was an issue. Road to sites were dirt, sites unlevel with many trailers in poor condition there. Trash had to be out by 9AM for pick-up but rarely picked up before 4PM. Ants were all around. They only teated the ground once while we were there so the ants kept coming and they did eventually get into the motorhome !! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com