220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Alexander Valley RV Park & Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (707) 431-1453
CGID5037

Alexander Valley RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   4   7   3   1   2   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
This park appears to be "open to the public" but it's really not a bad campground once all the day/ weekend users/picnikers go home. Actually turns into a regular campground then. Quiet. It is way overpriced for what you get, though. No cable; no wifi; no sewer. A couple of tight turns getting to the pull through sites and it looks like we'll have a tight turn getting out of our site but the sites are long enough for a dually and 40' fiver. I'm not sure how well exiting the campground will go since you're right on a curve and traffic moves rather quickly along Alexander Valley Road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Very nice park. We were concerned after reading other reviews, but it was a very nice park with no issues at all. May have been the time of year we stayed, not sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
It's such a shame that this is the only RV park option in this beautiful area because it is not good. It has the potential of being a nice park; however, the tent camping area is completely covered in trash and ruins the overall feel of the park. It also make it feel like you are in a very unsafe area with homeless types hanging around. It really is too bad because it is located on a river and very conveniently located to the adorable town of Healdsburg and several very good wineries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
This is our fourth time here. Nice campground, particularly for the location. The workers are very accommodating. We called on the way from a very long day of driving and asked for a pull through instead of our the site we had reserved. Asked what was available, they gave us the sites, and allowed us to pull right in without stopping, and select the site. As to the tent city aspect. Yes, there are a lot of people, children running around playing, and enjoying the "beginning" stage of camping. They are not particularly near the RV camping, and, unless you are VERY sensitive, this should not effect your enjoyment. Well deployed security (I mean handcuffs etc.) walked around all evening. Not that there was a hint of a problem, but, if you had a concern, they were available. The RV sites are narrow, although, some on the end, are quite nice. However, we're here on a Friday evening, and, no one is next to me, or across. Most of the activity is in the "tent city" If you want to be in the middle of the wine country, this is as good as it gets. We've stayed at the Fairgrounds in Napa and Calistoga, and believe me, I'll take this place any time. Just have the RV spirit, and you'll love it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Had to go through crowded tent/day use campsites to get to the RV campsites. The RV campsites where spaced tight. No sewer hookup available and may need to wait to get to the dump station. We would highly advise that if you have a big rig that you stop by the office and have them guide you in and out of the campsite. We would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$53
We stayed here in July on a Saturday night, and it was packed!! They do have an RV area with OK sites, but you have to run the gauntlet through the crowded tent city and the cars that go with it!! There is no place to pull over and check in, and there was a lot of traffic piling up behind us. We have a 34 ft 5th wheel, and it was very difficult to maneuver to get to the RV sites. There was nowhere to turn around, and we were forced to proceed. We were so worried about getting back out the next morning that we were out of there by 8am before everything got going again. They had a trailer brought in with 3 men's and 3 women's bathrooms. By dinner time only 1 stall in the women's had paper left, and they needed a good cleaning. By morning, both men's and women's bathrooms were disgusting and unusable. 3 showers for the whole place, and 2 of them couldn't be used during the daytime. There were just not enough services for the number of people that they packed in there. This was one of the more expensive campgrounds that we've stayed at, and it was not worth it. We won't be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$53
Rate reflects extra $3.00 per day pet fee. Also for water & electric hookup only. This park is way overpriced. When I called to make a reservation I asked about a Good Sam discount, and they said they accept it, then when we arrived they said they do not. There is only a small pristine area for bigger campers. Right outside this area were beer bottle caps, broken glass and years worth of buildup of little bits of trash on the grassy area. Open trash bins were full of bees buzzing around. The water smelled and tasted bad. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
Sites are too narrow. With slide extended, it was within 5 ft of next door's fire pit. Too close for comfort. With day users, it was difficult to maneuver rig between parked cars to exit park. Would stay again, despite the narrow sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
This is a nice enough place to stay in the Healdsburg area. There are water and 50 amp hook ups but no sewer. They do have a dump station. The people running the place are a bit disorganized at times. They do allow tent camping, sleeping in the car and whatever in a separate area. The park is located right next to the river, and you can climb down to it. Spaces are large and have nice grass area for your chairs, etc. This is right in the heart of the wine area, and there is plenty of places for wine tasting. Healdsburg is a very nice small town with a number of great restaurants. Gets crowded on the weekend. Would stay here again for 2-3 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Handy location in the midst of winery country, and extremely well tended grounds and sites are big pluses. Electricity, water, and Wi-Fi worked very well. Sewer dump station is easily accessible, well designed, and clean. It's a shame that such an otherwise lovely park has dingy, dirty restrooms and no showers. (Apparently showers are available during parts of the year, but not now). Staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. Price reflects Passport America 50% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
I don't live in Sonoma County, but I'm in the area a lot on business, for extended trips. I stay in an RV when I'm there, and I've stayed many times in many different RV parks in the area. Alexander Valley will always be my first choice. You won't find an RV park with a friendlier staff, or happier campers. First, it can get noisy on weekends in the summer, but they have excellent security onsite, and somebody is there 24x7 to take care of any complaints, which they will do quickly and without much fuss. This park is family friendly, pet friendly and friendly-people-friendly. If you are a good camper and a good neighbor, there's nothing they won't do to make sure you're comfortable and happy. They really do care, and it's important to them to do business right. That means a lot to me. The park is in just about the most beautiful location possible, far enough from the freeway to be quiet, with pull-through lots that are actual campsites, not parking spaces! That's hard to find for a 37 foot RV. As I said, I'm in this area frequently, and I'm staying in an RV when I am there. And this RV park is where you'll find me. The park has a general store on site, a host / security presence 24x7, river access, a beautiful patio in the treetops and clean, well-maintained restrooms. There's a beautiful historic bridge to explore on the RV property as well. RV Sites have water and power hookups and there is a dump station onsite. All of the sites are beautiful, but I recommend requesting a site in the "Horseshoe". It's more secluded, closer to the treeline and quieter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Stayed a couple of nights here, since we live close. Rate used was Camp Club USA discount and got the site for $27.50 per night. They do have a dump station and have had it for awhile. There were a couple of long-term campers in the area we wanted to stay, but we found a nice site. I wouldn't stay here in the summer since most of the sites are close together. Only one loop has some roomier sites. Got a 2-for-1 buffet coupon for the nearby casino. Overall, the staff were very nice and easy going. No pressure about checkout time but it was off-season. We'll stay here again, but only in the spring or fall. They have made some improvements, but they need to get cable TV and Wi-Fi in. I couldn't get any TV stations with the antenna. Permanent showers would be nice too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Read the fine print, NO SEWER HOOKUPS. Don't believe the nice looking website, this place does not look that nice. We did not feel safe enough to leave our dogs alone during the day. No one checks to see who is supposed to be here, people come in during the day to get to the river and park in any vacant space and set up. It's very rustic, if you like to dry camp you might like it here, but if you like amenities, this isn't the place. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$49
In 25 years of staying in recreational vehicle parks we have never stayed in a more undesirable environment. Dry, dusty, and dirty campsites. There were campers still playing loud music and guns being shot in the trees until well after midnight. There were apparent homeless people rough camping out in the open. A deer had apparently been hit and killed on the highway above our campsite and not removed, the odor in the heat of the day very strong. The initial contact was not positive as it took the office three days to return our messages to make a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Great if you are camping in a tent, but NO SEWER hookup. No restrooms, only porta-potties. We had terribly low water pressure, but management was working on the water system so it might be better now. We only stayed here one night instead of 4 as planned because I work and need good Verizon 3G coverage and DID NOT have it here even with my repeater system. We DID NOT have good AT&T signal either (we have both for redundancy). Nice wine country setting for a night or two if you don’t need Verizon coverage, laundry, showers, bathrooms and etc. and aren’t looking for any “resort” type amenities. I would not say here again because of the Verizon and AT&T issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
The website looks good: don't be fooled. Absolutely the worst campground EVER. This location is great for the wine country, but I would NEVER again stay here. There are so many reasons for this poor rating I could get into here. Just DON'T bother with this one. It was horrible! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This place has/had potential. We were one of a handful of RVs an/or tent trailers. Every site around us was filled with tents, at least 3-4 tents with 10 people or more. Dogs running everywhere barking like crazy. The place was loud into the late night then loud early in the morning. We were here on 4th of July weekend so maybe it was more busy because of the Holiday. We will not plan to stay here again. Really too bad because it is right in the heart of Healdsburg wine country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
Convenient to Sonoma wine country and charming town of Healdsburg with shopping. Nice, wooded setting by river. NO DUMP STATION OR SEWER HOOKUPS. Grass sites (a little tight) with paved roads. Small store on site. Management was very accommodating for early-season stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
This campground has no sewer and no dump station as well as no showers. When asked where the nearest dump site could be found, we were told that they had no idea! The 50 amp service turned out to actually provide about 10 amps. After trying 3 hookups without being able to keep the power on due to the low amps, we did receive a refund. The bathrooms were not clean, there was very little hade and the entire park had a run down feel. The park we saw did not look like the one on there web site. I would definitely not stay here and would not recommend it to others either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Don't make reservations here unless you are absolutely sure you will be staying here, because there are no refunds: ever. I even called the owner because the manager never told me this. The owner never called me back. I tried to use my "rain check" recently. This was a destination park after 4 days of boondocking, so I had full tanks. They have no dump station or sewer hookups. They send you down the road 5 miles to pay $5 to dump. Instead we gave up the money and went down the road to stay. While the staff wasn't rude, the place was a dump. I'd never stay here again. Go to Windsorland instead. Skip the KOA which charges $315/week! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com