220198 User submitted reviews online!!
Goblin Valley State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (435) 275-4584
CGID5039

Goblin Valley State Park

Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   7   10   7   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
Sunday, May 5 – Goblin Valley State Park, Utah This campground is off of route 24 about 20 miles north of Hanksville, Utah then follow the signs in. Very well marked! The GPS may take you on an unpaved road but don’t go that way follow the directions using the signs. All roads in are paved. It sits in the San Rafael Reef and the landscape is different with sandstone goblins that look like they are from outerspace. The movie Galaxy Quest was filmed here. There are 24 sites without hookups but the bathhouse does have showers. The campground is surrounded by rocks to protect the sites from the wind but the sand can still blow. One can hike or drive to the observation point to view the formations and even walk the steps down to get a closer view. All sites are paved with a screen picnic table. There are exhibits at the Visitor Center, an OHV stage area and an amphitheater. It was a stopover for us and a great place to camp. $16 a night and all sites were taken so one might want to reserve a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Basic, rustic campground in beautiful setting with trails starting in the campground. Sites are mostly widely spaced, concrete backins with fire rings, grills, and shaded picnic tables. It can be very gritty when the wind picks up. No utilities (there is potable water and a dump at the campground, but we did not use either). No cell phone service. The closest signal was on the entry road at intersection of Temple Mountain Road and Goblin Valley Road; there is a parking area at the intersection. No wifi and no satellite TV, as the mesa to the immediate southwest of the campground blocks the sky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
We stayed here for a few nights. The campground is nestled up in a cove against the mountian. It is a wonderful area for your kids to climb and venture in the goblins and little hills. At every campsite they have a firepit and a covered awning. All the roads are paved. They have a dump station at the campground. This is a very family active area. I had to give this a lower rating beause they do not regulate the speeds people drive. I thought the employees at the park drove too fast. The Valley of Goblins is very close. There is also another hike for your family outside the park called Little Wild House. It is about 4 miles away. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$16
We didn't have reservations but they are recommended because of being a busy park. We didn't like the check-in process of the ranger assigning our site. We'd rather choose our own. She gave us a "big" site, as she stated, for our 40' motorhome. When we got to it, it was a narrow, short, uneven pull-off along side of the road. When our two slideouts were extended they were extending into the road. We checked all the other open sites and chose a better one and returned to the office. Our site was changed. However, just after setting up a ranger came by and said our site was reserved for the night. However, it was not marked on the post as being reserved. So we had to move to another site for the third time. The office seemed very disorganized. The restrooms were clean. The winds came up occasionally so be prepared to bring in your awning and outside chairs, etc. will get dusty. The only shade here is received via a nice shelter around the picnic table. There are some hikes, but not easy. It's a remote area so bring all groceries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
Access is well signed and all paved. The park is nestled within some nifty rock formations. The sites all have ramadas, fire rings, and picnic tables and several are fine for big rigs. We're in a 36' with toad. There is a dump and water available but no power. No cellular connectivity. Generators are OK. This park takes reservations and when we arrived at around noon, most of the unoccupied sites had reservation tags. In fact, we got the last site (handicapped, only pull through and only water at site). I suggest you reserve in advance or arrive early. A camper and toad showed up after us and was turned around. We saw that they found a nice place to dry camp nearby so that's an option if you can't get a spot. Some wonderful scenery here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Very nice park for the remote area. The only complaint is that the wind blew quite a bit and the dust was bad. We had a nice pull through site that was easy and plenty large. Reasonably level cement pads. The picnic tables and fire grills were also on cement pads with nice shelters over and around 2 sides. They also had fire pits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
Very nice clean park. Park folks great, informative and very helpful. The sites are paved, level and very large with great windbreak / shade cover, picnic table and fire ring / BBQ combo all on concrete patio. The Goblin Valley area is really weird and beautiful at the same time. There are a lot of trails for hikers. We are looking forward to a return trip. The roads are all completed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
This is a very nice park. It's very green and pretty and the spots are well spaced. There were a few trains going by: I think we had about three trains during the night. Other than that, it was very nice and the camp host and rangers were very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
For a primitive campground it was very clean. No shade, but each site has a pavilion and wind breaker. A dump station and potable water is available. Pulled our 38-foot rig into our site without a problem. Nice tent sites are also available. The road construction leading to Goblin Valley, yielded some delays. There are no services available in area, so gas up and bring whatever you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Beautiful park with lots of scenery, great place for kids to scramble around all the Goblins. Sites are roomy and spaced well for the most part. They have no hook ups but water and a dump are available. Hike the Little Wild Horse Canyon which is nearby for a great slot canyon experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$15
Only a handful of sites large enough for a 30 ft class A and all of the sites are small and rather crowded together but are paved and have covered picnic table areas. No electric or showers but there is potable water at the dump station. We didn't care for the cramped and open nature of the campground but Goblin Valley has some interesting rock formations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$9
This Utah State Park campground was a pleasant surprise. The location is incredibly beautiful and scenic. The campground is new and well maintained. There's limited services and it's in the middle of nowhere, but that's part of the attraction! There are plenty of hikes nearby and Goblin valley is nearby. There are even some goblins in the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com