223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Shuman's RV Trailer Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (843) 538-8206
CGID5041

Shuman's RV Trailer Park

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
December 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   4   7   9   8   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$15
This is a wonderful park, but if you require restrooms, laundry, swimming pool, etc. it is not the park for you, as there are none. The park is clean and spots are clean underfoot. There is nothing extra but the spots. The Wi-Fi here is good, a little slow, but stable and adequate. Management is a wonderfully nice woman and really goes out of her way to be helpful. There is plenty of shade. Road noise could be a problem if you are close to the highway. Further back from the highway, the noise is mitigated well by the trees and structures. Voltage was only slightly low, but never became a problem. In the two weeks we were there, only one morning was low voltage a problem. That was the only day the park was full, and in the morning, voltage dipped a little. But the rest of the time we were there we had no problems with low voltage. We would definitely stay at this park again. Price reflects a daily rate for our two week stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
The other reviewer (July 2012) wrote an accurate review of this campground. It's only 3 miles The other reviewer (July 2012) wrote an accurate review of this campground. It's only 3 miles from I95 exit 68. It's easy in and easy out. It is well maintained and a great spot to get off the road for a night or two. The price is fantastic. We've stayed at New Green Acres 10 miles south on I95 and it was double the price and not near as nice. The comment about the lady owner being very nice and helpful was right on the money. An older gentleman who was working on a tractor when we got here got me parked and was very friendly. I suspect most travelers don't know about this place, try it you'll like it We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
A great one night stop over. Very basic but easy to get to from I-95 (3 miles E). Near state park but much easier to get in and out of. Lady who runs park is a kind, caring person who checked that all was ok, and came over to say goodbye in the AM. Don't see much of that anymore! The price is right and it is what it is, but if you don't need restroom or shower facilities and are passing through, this is a great value. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$17
This is a park for a one night stop over only. No rest rooms or showers. The owner was very nice. The site I had was level and had easy access. Worked perfect for a rest stop. I will use it again for the purpose of a nights rest, but no more. If you are going to stay longer: use the State Park across the street. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
This is an excellent stopover CG while in transit in the Charleston area. It is a small, family run CG. (I understand that a couple ran it, but the husband has passed.) The Mrs. is friendly and helpful and wanted to ensure that we were set up OK and everything was working fine. Our site was shaded and paved. Most have shade but some are not paved. The park is literally across the road from Colleton State Park, which has a lovely nature trail and river area. We wanted to stay in Colleton, but they don't do 1-night reservations, so we preferred a confirmed site at Shuman's. As you can't beat the price and location, this will be flagged as a recommended stopover on our north-south travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
Very nice stopover while traveling. Very quiet with a helpful couple who run the site. We enjoyed the peace and quiet but would not stay more than a few days due to a lack of facilities. Highly recommend this site if you are in transit to another area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
We are back again and one change is evident from our previous review. There is now high speed Wi-Fi in the park at no additional charge. It is still not an ideal place for younger children as there are no activities or playground for them, however it is great for us 'older folks' that enjoy the peace and quiet. The TV reception, now that digital has taken over, is better than before. However in bad weather the reception does suffer: satellite users should not have any problems and there are a few dishes set up for Direct and Dish that can be used by subscribers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
Our second trip to Shumans and better than the first. The campground is very quiet, well kept and well situated for day trips to Charleston (45 minutes) and Savannah (75 minutes). There are no bath/toilet facilities so you must be self contained. The water is of excellent quality (a very deep well) and runs 28 t0 40 lbs pressure. 2 things to keep in mind...there are no facilities on site to amuse children and the electricity is top quality , never dropping below 125 volts in my experience so startup of the AC is never a problem. We have stayed there on and off all winter and have found the area rich in history (many museums and displays in the area) and wildlife (ie the Biedler Forest Audubon display near Harleyville and the Colleton State Park across the street)) The Shumans are wonderful generous hosts, live on site, and represent true southern hospitality at its best. An added benefit is a propane filling station on site. The only reason I can't give it a "10" is the lack of wireless internet access (they are considering that for later 2009) and the aforementioned 10 mile drive to Walterboro or St. George for groceries. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
We had site #3. It was a pull thru with FHU. It had a cloth ground cover to park on which I had never seen before. Sites would be tight if park were full. Only self contained units can stay here as there are no baths or showers to use. Owners run business from their kitchen table in the house. It is about 4 miles off I 95 and makes a good place to stop enroute. Walmart at next exit south of park. Park was quiet even though we were close to road in the front. Owners nice and friendly as well as seasonal residents. Both gave us vegetables from the garden. No cable and TV reception was bad, probably because there were many old tall trees in park. Park is across street from Colleton SP. There is nothing to do in park. They had a very old and broken swing set and not much else. If you have kids make sure you have something to entertain them with if staying here. Owner does sell propane on premises. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$13
This was a very nice park, though small. We had no trouble getting our 33' motorhome into our spot without unhooking the tow car. The owners were very friendly and helpful, even gave us home-grown garlic! We liked it so well that we're already planning a stop here on our next trip up I-95 in July. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$13
Very basic but quiet, safe, neat and good dependable utilities. But that's not the reason we'll return. The unusually pleasant gentleman who owns and runs this little park makes being here a pleasure. BTW, he also sells propane right there at a very fair price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$13
Very good overnight stop with full hook ups. Near I95. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$13
If you are looking for a quiet place to stay for a night or a week with full hookups but no pool--this is it. Owner on site and very helpful. We had a water leak inside our trailer when we hooked up and he was right there to help get it fixed on the spot! Easy access just a few miles off the interstate (far enough to be quiet and no truck noise). Old enough to have nice shade trees. Edisto river is nearby as well as the state park across the street (Colleton SP) and another state park, Givhans Ferry State Park, not far. Their WebSite is not interactive but has phone numbers, and if you call in advance they will have your site ready. If it is after dark he will generally have a lantern to guide you into your space. :) We will definitely be stopping here every January on our way to Florida for our usual two weeks of warmth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$13
Small park with nothing fancy. Just inexpensive, clean, and very convenient to I-95. There's a state park across the road -- a nice place to spend the day if you decide to stay awhile. The Schumans are lovely people. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com