214502 User submitted reviews online!!
Westport Beach RV Park and Campground (formerly Westport Beach / N Men was rated 6 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (707) 964-2964
CGID505

Westport Beach RV Park and Campground (formerly Westport Beach / N Men

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   6   2   2   3   10   3   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
We have stayed here in the past when it was a KOA. We found the park to be clean and the staff to be friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a spot that is a short walk from your trailer to the ocean then this is the place. The town of Westport is nearby, but has one small market and that's it. Fort Bragg is 15 miles down the road, and a pretty drive at that. Overall, for the two night stay it cost us 112.00, which is pretty pricey. They are no longer a KOA, which doesn't matter to us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
This park is no longer a KOA. It is on the beach but that's about it. The place is a mess. When we were taken to our site, I asked the person if she was serious. Unfortunately she was. The sites are sloppy and not very defined. Trees that should be trimmed, are not. Rocks that should be moved, are not. It took me several attempts to back in. It was entertaining to watch others attempt to get into their sites. Mostly Californians in fifth wheelers. (Not that there is anything wrong with that.) The hook ups are in the wrong spots, we had to run our stuff under the coach and uphill, not good. All this for $60 a night. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$56
The beach is just a short walk over a dune from the campground and Wages Creek flows through the park. We happened to be there over Mother's Day and the local Fire Dept held its annual rubber duck race and BBQ on site. It was a lot of fun to see the community spirit and it made our stay more memorable. This campground has nice grounds and beach access, but the buildings look tired. We didn't use the bathroom/shower facilities. The service hookups were not conveniently placed within the pad, but we made it work. It's pricey, but the location is unique and convenient to Ft. Bragg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$59
At check in the clerk was more interested in reading her Cosmo than answering questions. Said she would be there until 6 pm. Went back at 5:15 pm to find out why no WiFi. No clerk and office was locked up. No heat in showers and bathrooms not cleaned. Not up to our past KOA experiences. Great location, but not worth the money. Would not come back. Met some folks at our next stop who also had identical experience on the same day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
The good the bad and the ugly. The good: Absolutely beautiful park right by the ocean. The weather was fantastic and we had the most amazing sunset. The staff is very friendly. The bad: restrooms are old and cold and the toilets need stain cleaning. The Wifi we were told that is available is a hotspot by the office and (the office is far away from the actual sites)The Wifi did not work very well, in fact out of three wifi devices only worked on 1 and was slower that the old dial up. I called ahead to make reservations and was told that the wifi was available throughout the park. When we checked we again were told the wifi worked well. Sorry it was very bad. The ugly. By the ocean there are no trees, or green grass. The park is dirty and dusty, The beach was full of debris left by tent campers. I won't come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
The setting was great. The Wi-Fi didn't work. The setting was great. The showers barely worked. The setting was great. The sites were not level. The setting was great. The park was not well laid out. The setting was great. I'm surprised it's still in the KOA system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Great sites right along the beach. Level with good utilities. Great location. We would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$53
We had lots of issues with our stay this time. We are long time KOA members and generally have had great experience with KOA. This time was different. We made advance reservations two months earlier online with specific site request and even gave several other sites as backups in the “special requests” field on the reservation form. Our friends made a reservation as well and were told they would be next to us. When we arrived the person at the front desk said, sorry but you are assigned sites on first come first serve unless you call the campground directly to make reservations. So we were unable to camp with our friends. KOA needs to fix their reservation system to reflect this. The bathrooms had toilet paper all over the floor just prior to the am cleaning schedule, when I returned that afternoon, the bathroom was still a mess with dirty sinks and floors that looked like they had not been mopped in days. The sewer hookup cap with the threads for your hose was not glued onto the sewer riser pipe so your sewer hose barely stayed in the hole, one jostle and it would pop out. The person at the front counter only knew how to sell stuff and check people in without being able to provide good customer service when an issue comes up. To top off after the office closed the person at the front counter took their friends for a joy ride in 4 wheeler well above the posted speed limit of 15mph, kicking up dust, with three people in a 2 person vehicle. Just a sign of how seriously management of this campground takes their job. Its really too bad because the location is spectacular and not very busy. Maybe that’s why the place is not kept up and the management is poor. If it were run better more people would come. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
I rate this a 5 on a scale of 1 to 10. The campground was about a third full, which is about right considering the camp site density. I would not want to stay here if it were full, the facilities would be inadequate and the dust from the traffic on the gravel lanes would be terrible. Since sites are assigned upon check in. Camping here is a risk, some sites are very nice and roomy, others cramped and the hookups could be located on the wrong side of the site, necessitating pulling in forward. The restrooms were immaculate, however the grounds seem somewhat overgrown, a little weed trimming would be in order. Our site while nice and sheltered from the wind was OK, some previous campers had built a camp fire outside of the ring, and it had not been cleaned up. There is no cell phone, Internet, or TV reception (air), if that is important to you then I wouldn't stay, its not for us, so no harm no foul. I noticed one site that looked like someone was living there, and it was a site right on the beach front, it looked pretty tacky, with an auxiliary tent, which had been set up for some time, and with a blue hardware store tarp thrown over the top. I prefer not to camp in grounds that allow this type of arrangement. The staff was very friendly. This park would OK for an overnight, or 2 night stay, I would not obligate myself to a longer stay. BUT, if you like the sound of the surf at night, then this maybe just the place for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$52
We had an awesome camping experience at this campground. I would call it "camping" rather than "RVing" because it was more rugged, no cement patios, etc. The office people were extremely helpful and friendly, used dolly to pull our tent trailer in so we could face our daughter's camper. Ocean was 2 minute walk - you could hear pounding of waves at night. Campground was very child friendly and pet friendly. Campers were friendly, happy and helpful. Loved the fire pits - and office delivered firewood often and promptly! It was a wonderful experience and hope to return soon! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
This campground was misrepresented on their website. It was a dirty, dusty, weed-covered place with wall to wall RV's and absolutely no privacy. The fire-rings were only separated by a few feet from the one in the next site, so that you essentially would be sitting around the fire with the people next to you. It reminded me of a refugee camp. The people in the office were rude and unhelpful. It was so bad that we left the second day and had to pay for the remaining nights that we had booked because they required 48 hours notice of cancellation. Beware of this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$52
We called ahead for reservations, and the people on the phone were very nice and friendly - however, when we arrived late night, our reservation info packet had not been put out with the others. The roads in and out of this place are narrow and windy - a very slow and tedious drive. First impression driving in was that of a refugee camp. There were junky-looking tents and beat-up trailers sprawled around numerous, smoky campfires with lots of loud people, kids, and dogs wandering about at nearly midnight. The site set-up is strange with a pull-in/back-in arrangement. Our sewer hose would not reach as the connection is at the very back of the pedestal island. The Wi-Fi was virtually non-existent. Dogs were supposed to be on leash at all times, but there were several unruly canines off-leash on the beach making it very unpleasant for those around. There appeared to be no enforcement of rules about noise, trash, or animals. All in all this park was too rowdy and hillbilly for our tastes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
Wonderful place to stay on the North Coast! Restrooms are cleaned twice daily, and the campground and beach are kept clean. Campground staff are friendly and helpful. Summer weekends and holidays can be a bit crowded for some; we look at it as a chance to meet new and interesting people. WI-FI can be spotty at times, but a good connection can always be had at the picnic benches next to the camp store. Price is a bit spendy, but you do get full hookups, fairly level sites, and beautiful scenery !!! (Most of the riff-raff stay at the state parks elsewhere.) Can't imagine anyone being disappointed staying this KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
Westport Beach KOA has become one of my family's favorite spots. Very clean campground and the staff are very courteous and friendly. They will deliver a bundle of wood right to your site with a smile. The private beach is beautiful and they do a very good job of making sure it stays beautiful and clean. I highly recommend this KOA to anyone who will listen! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
We stayed here before the "summer rush" and thoroughly had a great time. Getting in and out of the site was easy, even though the sites are rather close to each other. It was great looking out our windows at the ocean and walking along the beach in the early morning. We always stay out near the beach since the inland sites get a little crowded at times. We usually come to this campground in the spring and fall, when it is not so busy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$63
We have been camping at this campground for 11 years. Our extended family camps here as well. The KOA staff are the best. They have made us feel comfortable and welcome. I always recommend this campground to my friends and often strangers! We enjoy watching the sunset on the Memorial bench (who was our nephew). Westport is a special place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$52
This is a decent KOA but pricey. For the price I would have liked to have had some sort of patio at my site. Some of the past reviews were pretty bad, but we did not see any of that. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in a premium site which had a beach view, but the site was rather on the small side partly due to a poorly placed tree. Many of the utility hook ups appear to be new, but the sewer hook ups are a little too high. Getting the water to flow in the right direction may be a bit of a challenge. That and the water pressure is pretty low, around 25 pounds. My biggest complaint is the campground roads are in dire need of more gravel. They are mostly dirt and a little water turns them into a muddy mess. It is a short walk to the ocean from your camp site which is the main attraction for this camp ground. Any serious shopping needs will mean a drive back to Fort Bragg and that is 15 miles of twisty roads. I would stay here again, but bring what you need with you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$52
Very nice campground, staff and location. We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the beach area. The staff was so accommodating it was like camping with family. I would recommend KOA Westport to anyone who wants a very relaxing and scenic get away. Worth the drive and we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$45
Clean park. Restrooms had open windows and were cold and not heated this time of year. Made for a quick hot shower! Beautiful private ocean beach next to campground. We stayed in a premium beach site that was very close to the beach. Dual sites are very close to one another: but this is typical for most trailer campgrounds. Staff was friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$50
We just loved it. We had a site with the sand at our RV door. The view was absolutely beautiful. We took a walk around the entire campground and enjoyed the lovely creek and flowers and trees. The campground was clean and well kept with friendly staff. The sunsets are to die for. We had a great time walking the beach and just relaxing. If you get the chance you should visit this campground. We will definitely be visiting again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$48
We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The beach was beautiful and clean. Our sites were excellent. The employees here were very friendly and helpful and the campground was close to Fort Bragg and other activities. I loved the fact that the campground was pet friendly, you could have a camp fire, and there were picnic tables in each campsite. We walked for hours on the beach; the sunsets were great. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$52
This is our second time at this campground. We enjoy it because the ocean is RIGHT THERE. Unfortunately the higher rate is not necessarily justified, no cable TV, and our antenna wouldn't pick any signal up so we watched DVD's. All in all a quiet peaceful stay, the park is fairly clean and the staff was friendly and didn't nose around so we had privacy. We will come back again, just wish that there were a few more amenities to write about. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$58
I wouldn't recommend this campground. We booked the campground a month ago before our trip. We have a trailer. When we arrived, they gave me a PT site. I wasn't able to connect the water and sewer, literally a $58 per night dry camping. When I went back to office and asked to switch, the attitude was so terrible that I don't really know what to say. This is really the worst KOA I have ever been. Besides, the facility is old, shower room isn't clean. Price is high. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
We arrived to overflowing garbage bins beside the office. Although we had booked through KOA central reservations, and had a confirmation number, our reservation was not "in their system". We were fortunate that they had one site left to give us. This KOA obviously crams in as many campers as possible to maximize revenue. The place was a carnival. Add to that the teenage boys who haunted the shower/washroom building area, where you would not want to send your teenage daughter alone, and you begin to get the picture. Think "Trailer Park Boys", and you're getting warm. Oh, and the ocean front camping? That's tents on the beach, $50.00 per. In 9 months on the road, this was our worst campground, even including Baja Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$58
We just purchased our motor home and Westport was our first experience in an RV park. The management team was very helpful and the park is very well maintained. We were only steps away from the ocean. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We stayed at Wages Creek KOA for two nights. We were extremely happy with the staff, grounds and service. There were many things to do and sites to see while at the Campground. The staff and other campers formed a very harmonious camping experience with us. We were very impressed by the quality of the restrooms as well as the overall appearance and cleanliness of the grounds. Our park hosts were very welcoming and supportive of our every need. I would recommend this KOA to other campers in a flash! Campers with children will welcome the variety of fun activities to do right inside the park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$45
We stayed here on Christmas Day and the day after. We really enjoyed ourselves, the short walk to the ocean was great. The campground was clean, the staff was friendly and the fellow campers were are very nice. We definitely plan on going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$50
We loved our stay here. We are going back real soon and cannot wait. The beach is absolutely beautiful. My boys: 12 and 5 loved the park. It was just a great experience. The sunset strolls on the beach were just fabulous. It is so nice to sit and relax and think about life. Very peaceful and relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
This very old park re-opened in May 2009 as a KOA. It is a work in progress with a long way to go. The private beach is great, but the drive in is evil and the facilities don't justify the high rate at this time. The managers were very nice, and obviously working very hard to whip the park into shape. I have a desire to see what they've done with it in a year or so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
What a shame. Way too many campers for the facilities. Two showers and toilet facilities and two porta-toilets that had not been pumped for three days. Then all the beach tent campers started arriving to camp on the beach on Friday. By Friday night you could hardly walk on the beach without walking through tent sites to get to the water. There were not enough garbage or recycle containers and I never saw a garbage or recycle company come in to pickup. I know that the portables where not pumped since the Tuesday before. By Sunday they were filled to the brim. There has to be code violations. When I booked my site a year ago, I was told that the area was day use only. Wrong. We had 7 rigs camping together and none of us will be back. We spent 8 nights here. Never again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Camp sites here are given, not chosen. Restrooms were not cleaned at the posted times. Trash was not picked up daily, therefore, a huge pile. Very crowded camp spaces. Website page states $1.25 for 7 minute shower; however no money required for showers. There is not enough restrooms for number of campers. Rate increased from $25.00 to $30.00 per night. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
If you like tent campers, pop-ups, 5th wheels, RVs, lots of kids, and dogs all mixed together, this is the place for you. While they have separate tent campsite area they also allow them to intermingle with RVs with many sites having multiple tents; this was not a good mix in our opinion. The kids were good and dogs controlled and only a few owners did not pick up after their pets. This park has a private beech 3/8ths mile long which is nice except it was not well kept up with lots of leftover trash from the day before. Also, they allow tent camping on the beech. The interior roads were gravel, narrow, and the RV sites were gravel as well. There were some grassy areas but they were reserved for tent campers only. Staff were friendly but failed to deliver firewood ($8) as promised. The park is old and rather unsightly just having become a KOA. They have a long way to go to come up to the standards that we are use to for KOAs, and they are not inexpensive. They do have a little store, but no clubhouse. That they don't have cable TV or Wi-Fi capability is rather retro. There is absolutely no cell phone service and of the two public phones provided, only one worked. We stayed a week but will not return again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This campground has changed since our last visit. We spent Memorial Day 2009 weekend here. They have turned it into a KOA campground and changed all of the rules. Memorial Day weekend was full. Full of drunks, dogs running at large with no leash laws in effect, they were crapping all over the place! My children were afraid to go outside of our campsite, even outside our tent for fear of the dogs running loose. People were allowed to come in and set up camp at all hours of the night and morning. This is not a family friendly campground anymore, unless you don't care about your kids, getting any sleep, or feeling safe. We have come here for the last 10 years, and I have never seen such a mess. It really is sad to lose our favorite vacation spot. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$44
My only problem with this park is that there are no restrooms close to the tent camping on the beach. So guess where the campers go? I stay there after a good rain or in the winter when traffic is low. Beautiful scenery but the sand is more like dirt, dark and coarse . Now that it is a KOA I don`t know that I will visit anymore. Still searching for that special Nor Cal dog friendly beach / RV park. Happy Trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
This is a great beach campground. Our family, kids and adults, had a blast with such easy access to the beach and generally friendly campers. The management seemed very helpful and is a well-run RV park. The facilities were very adequate and there are many activities available. This was our first visit and several of our neighbors were quite complimentary about the park and had been staying there for many years. Exploring the gorgeous coastline is worth the driving time. We plan to visit again during the summer months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
This place is great. The bathrooms were clean as were the Campgrounds. The beach is right there you can see the ocean from a lot of the sites. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$42
We just arrived home today from our 4 night stay at the Westport KOA. We loved it for lack of better words! Very open and clean, friendly staff, clean showers/bathrooms, clean laundry facilities for washing little ones beach clothes :) We can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
I have stayed here many many times over many many years and I love it every time. I appreciate the fact that the management kicks out people that think they are above the rules that the rest of us follow. Sneaking people in, is actually STEALING, HELLO? Those rules are what keep the low life out of a nice family park. So you people: go ahead and stay home, my family will keep going and I guarantee, you won't be missed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$45
Wow, what can I say. This place was SO difficult to deal with that we walked away from a prepaid reservation. First, if you try to reserve via email (on their website, they say "Contact Us" via email) no one will EVER answer your message. Second, if you try to reserve via phone, no one will EVER answer, nor will they call you back. It took us three tries and three weeks to get through. You would think we would have learned our lesson by then, but no, silly us, we went ahead and reserved. Then we had a scheduling problem come up, so we tried to cancel. This was SIX WEEKS before we were due to stay there. Would they refund? NO. Were they rude? YES. They did agree to move our reservation to another weekend. We arrived that weekend, looked down at the camp spot on the beach and it looked lovely. We checked in at the office. It was 11:35am. They proceeded to tell us check-in was at noon. There was hardly anyone in the campground and our spot was empty. Would they let us check in? NO. Would they let us wait until noon down on the beach? NO. So we drove a bit down their road to have room to turn around and find something to do for that essential 35 minutes, when out of the front door of the owner's house comes this woman, yelling at us, demanding to know if we checked in. That did it. We left, and left our money on the table, although I plan to tell [my credit card issuer] NOT to pay this bill. It will be worth it just to make them jump through some hoops for it. Do not stay here. Do not call them. Do not email them. They are truly the worst. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
We actually we didn't end up staying at this park because of the terrible attitude and disposition of the older lady and man in the check in shack. They were very rude and turned us off immediately. We asked if we could tour the park to see where we would like to stay and very rudely, she said we don't have any maps, you have 10 minutes and don't get out of your pickup. We did get out of the pickup because we wanted to see how clean there facilities were. They were very dirty. That put the icing on the cake. They are very over priced and too far out of the way besides. For being a newly remodeled camp ground, it has not been maintained very well. I used to stay at this camp ground many years ago when I was growing up. Too bad, I really wanted my grandkids to experience this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
We too had trouble getting through to the management by phone. They truly have the worst customer service I have experienced at any campground. My husband called repeatedly to make a reservation because we were meeting several other members of our family for a reunion. We should have realized when they didn't answer the phone and when they required full payment up front that we were not dealing with a reputable business, but we wanted to enjoy a vacation with family by the beach. We found out several weeks before our stay that we would not be able to make it in time for the first night so we left a message on the answering machine that we would be there early the next morning and to please call us if that would be a problem. Please note that we finally left this message a week before our arrival and only because we could not reach a live person by phone. We did not hear back from them so we assumed, like with other reputable campgrounds, that everything was fine for us to come in early the morning after our scheduled arrival. We drove around the gate and figured we would just walk up and check in when the office opened for business, after all we had paid for the spot and we knew where it was. The manager apparently saw us drive down and he high-tailed it in his pickup and stopped right in front of us, jumped out of his truck and very rudely asked us what the **** we thought we were doing. My husband did not know who he was because he never identified that he was connected with the campground, but said we called and left a message and had already paid for the spot. Now, any reasonable person would have said there must have been a miscommunication, but not that guy, he had his chest all puffed out and looked like he was going to punch us out. Now picture this--we have a new RV, are middle aged and do not look the least bit like we are going to be dishonest. He made us go back up the hill and wait for hours before we could go back down to our campsite, that had been paid for and that we were already in front of when he pulled in front of our rig. There was no need for this guy to be so rude and condescending. Oh yah, and he also said that we can't expect them to return phone calls. Excuse me? Why would you have an answering machine if you don't return calls. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$90
This is our second stay at Westport and both times we have been happy with the campground. There are several spaces that have direct ocean views with full hookups. Some are pull through while others are back in only. The spaces are relatively large considering the location and view. This is on the northern coast though and never really gets warm. In July, the highs never reached 70. Westport is a good drive from almost everything so come fully stocked and plan on enjoying the great beach access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$90
To the previous camper, contact BBB and your credit card company for a refund. They are horrible at Westport. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
I am extremely disgusted with the manager at this campground. We have been happily coming to this campground for 30 years with our families. Unfortunately when new management took over, the customer service disintegrated. Our last trip we paid in full for a group campsite. The following evening the last of our families was to arrive. Not being informed of their 9pm “no admittance” policy; our friends arrived at 9:15. The manager was just shutting down for the night but was still at the post. Our friends had driven for 4 hours with two children (four and two years old). The manager would not let the family into the campground. In addition he would not let them communicate with us that they had arrived safely (there is no cellular service). Instead he refused admittance and told them to find another campsite or go to a hotel. They ended up having to drive the family another 30 minutes to stay in a hotel. It gets better…..they arrived the following morning at 11:30am to check in and to let us know that they had arrived safely. The manager would not let them in until 12pm or he stated that they could pay $8 plus a $20 deposit for a day-use pass. They family gave him $40 to cover those fees. However, instead of granting them entrance, he stated, “I don’t need your money. You need my campsite, so you can come back at 12pm, and maybe I will let you in”. Dumbstruck they left again and returned at 12pm. They were finally admitted into our already ‘paid in full’ campsite. In addition we spoke with another family not related to our group. A gentleman had been staying with some friends in their camper until his wife could arrive a couple of days later. When she arrived, she wanted to get into contact with her husband at the campsite to figure out where she was to reserve the site. Again the manager would not let her consult with her husband to figure out their arrangements. I am sickened by these events because I have so many fond memories of this campground as a child and as an adult. Now my memories have been tainted by the ridiculousness of the manager. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
This is one of most beautiful campsites we have ever experienced. The grounds are very well maintained. Special care has been taken particularly in the tent sites to create very private natural settings. There is a creek that runs through the campgrounds, which many of the tent sites back to. We stayed in two different sites - both with excellent views of the ocean, steps away from the sand. Overall, a very quite, private campground with fantastic ocean/ creek/ woods scenery. Also, the park is dog friendly - dogs are allowed on the beach, which is not easy to find in CA. On the negatives, my wife did find the bathrooms to be not well maintained. Also, as other reviews have noted, they do not answer the phone. On average, it took me three calls to get a response. However, they were not rude in any way and the overall phone nuisance issue was nothing compared to this fantastic campsite. Other reviewers who have focused on these issues, have missed the point of this very beautiful oceanfront campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
We made reservations and due to a family emergency had to cancel the reservation. We tried to cancel 20 minutes after making it and they didn't answer the phone. I finally got a real person on the phone after a week of calling daily and leaving a message that we were cancelling. I was told once you make the reservation, you DO NOT get your money back, even though they didn't tell us that, and it does not say so on their web site. Not only do they not give you a refund, they are extremely rude. Buyer beware, make sure you are going or else you will be out a lot of money, for a 4 night stay it was $235.00. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
This is a beautiful park on the beach with the absolute worst customer service ever experienced! It took us over a month to make a reservation, after sending them many e-mails, leaving several voice messages, because they NEVER answer their phone, if by some act of God you get a live person to answer the phone, they tell you that they can't help you because they are sooo busy. I understand that people can be short handed, and have bad days, but they offer no excuses, no apologies, and if you don't like it, tough. Very frustrating when you are driving over 200 miles to spend $300 on their resort. Not only this, but you pay 100% up front with NO refund whatsoever, no cancellations allowed. I will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Nice campground. Very crowded on the 4th of July. Lots of tent campers on the beach which kind of ruined the beach area. Lots of beach walking and tide pools. Staff was friendly and put an end to some late night noise. The road to the park is very narrow and lot of sharp turns. Be prepared. Town is quite a distance from the camp so try not to forget anything. We will definitely go back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Great, clean, and the beach provided a good long hike. We loved driving up the Lost Coast from here to beaches visited only by the adventurous! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$37
After looking around the area one of the best from Ft. Bragg North, Pomo in Ft. Bragg is a little nicer, but does not have the ocean view and beach access that Westport has. The premium sites on the west side of the park have great ocean views, as long as you get the sites that have no other RV units west of your unit. We stayed late in the season and the park was not very occupied, but it was concerning to see some old units that seemed to be parked there for quite a while, one had a gnarly looking individual that was always hanging out his passenger side window of his old ratty RV and stared at us every time that we drove by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This is a wonderful park. You can get sites with an ocean view or with a Wages Creek view. You can also get rv sites nestled in trees. With an RV you do have 1 close neighbor that shares your hookup area. There are also tent sites either nestled in trees, next to Wages Creek, or right on the beach. Some tent sites are very private. Firepits and picnic benches at each site, rv or tent. Campground store sells neccesities and firewood. Although the store is not open all the times they say. The office also sells ice and is next to the laundry. Next to the store are showers, a playground, and a sand volleyball court. Complimentary loaning of fishing poles, video/dvd's, volleyballs, horseshoes, and shuffleboard with the security of your driver's license or ID. You can rent boogie boards for $10/day. While there is almost no cell phone service until you get down to near Ft. Bragg, there is telephone service that you need to put a $40 refundable deposit on for the special adapter. With a phone you can get a local internet service provider for about $20/mo. We run about 26.4k. Campground is quiet from 9pm until about 9am. We investigated about 10 other rv parks south to just beyond Ft. Bragg and could find nothing even close to as nice, relaxed, and close to the beach as this campground. The manager did everything he could to get us as close to the beach as possible considering we reserved during the busiest time of year. We can see the ocean from our Rv and walk to water within 5 minutes. Many children and families in park. Many ride bicycles. There is a convience store in Westport about 1 mile south that is open 7am-9pm all year round with also mail service. Monthly rates are $450/mo. One warning. This campground is on N. Hwy 1. The distance from Ft. Bragg is only 15 miles, but takes you at least 30 minutes to drive. Very curvy roads. Do the Speed Limits. Especially through Cleone. Pros: Beaches are clean and you can find shells or abalone. Fishing in area is wonderful for Salmon, halibut, rockfish, etc. Campground is kept clean. All the campers we met were polite and engaging. Sandy areas to swim and tidepools to explore. Cons: Store not being open at times set. Laundry is up hill by office so easier to drive clothing up to it. No cell phone service. Dangerous, curvy roads especially during the common foggy days. Our whole family loved this campground and it will be our only choice if we are in the area again. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$36
This park is ok. Not alot of room between sites. Nice beach. Little pricey We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Because we did not tow our rented car into the park, we had to pay an extra $20.00 per day. We had paid in advance, for 3 days, so we could not get a refund. The manager required we give them dates to return on the spot. We felt forced into having to stay and pay the extra. The manager was very rude. He was doing us a favor. Our spot was so close to our neighbor we could exchange cups through our windows. The trip we were looking forward to was spoiled. We will not ever stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$32
This 30 acre campground is composed of a wide dunes and beach, with a wooded interior section. Sites #101-175 were for full hookups. We paid $4.00 extra to be as close to the beach as possible, and $1.00 fee for our small dog. The phone hookups required an unusual connector, which we ended up borrowing from the office, with a $40 deposit. It was disappointing that our site was so far from the ocean (separated by the wide dunes ) and that the site was so close to the neighbor's RV. But if you don't mind that your RV is distant from the waves, and a little too close to your neighbor, the campground has a lot of potential to offer "good times at the beach." We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com