218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Hickory Knob State Resort Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (864) 391-2450
CGID5050

Hickory Knob State Resort Park

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   4   9   5   7   8   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Not exactly sure how anyone could rate this campground above a 3. I know state parks are not receiving the most love right now with the economy, but there are much more inviting places to stay in the same area. The sites are tight, difficult to get into, curvy gravel paths (sorry can’t call what’s there a road) with trees in the way, and ruts and hills. Tent camping I suppose would be fine but unless you get one of the top sites along the entrance. Leave the RV or camper home if you do not wish to damage them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
The sites are not very accurately described once you get there. We were to stay in #21 and it was too narrow to fit our camper even though on the web it said it could hold a 30' camper. We stayed in #30 and it was tight. All the sites looked very uneven. Make sure you bring extra blocking here! The bath houses were clean, but it was loud at night. We won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Fantastic place to RV. We reserved for 5 days and liked it so much we stayed for 7. Most sites are on the lake and have great views. The area has lots of hiking, the lake looked inviting but we didn't swim, and there are boats available for rent. Also, a great 18 hole golf course, where we played 9 holes and used free clubs. Restrooms and showers were clean and modern. This is the first campground where I have seen new Corian countertops! Showers are spacious and great hot water and pressure. The only downside was our site. When we pulled in, I thought someone left two big logs for firewood. Turns out we needed them under our rear stabilizer jacks, as the 5th wheel was about 4 feet off the ground. The other thing: you are in chigger and tick country and we fed a few of each. Proper care may have eliminated this issue. Most sites have great views, and I would come here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
While the park is a resort park: the campground leaves a lot too be desired for motorhome and 5th wheel units. Most sites are small and have sloping dirt/clay sites. Most "waterfront" sites have a water view but are a steep drop to the lake. Advertised WiFi is only available at the lodge, restaurant and golf course which are a 2-3 mile ride. Not a Campground. There are much nicer SC State Parks and Corps of Engineer parks in the area, with generous level gravel sites sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is a nice shady park, but it must have been built when campers were smaller because most of the sites are very had to get into and out of and are not very level. Forget swimming in the lake: we sank to our knees in red clay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
A nice view if lake-front. Plenty of space between sites and "extra" spaces available to park your boat if you have one. Red mud abounds so pack old shoes & clothes. Touts itself as being a "resort" park, but clearly the campground is not it's prized jewel - campers are not allowed to use the pool (for cabin and hotel guests only) and the campground roads are not paved (which makes for a slippery road if raining). Golf course is really nice and well-maintained. We stayed on site 21 and it offered lots of privacy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Nice park, very quiet, very rural area on Lake Thurmond. Motorhomes should avoid small loop camping area since all sites I saw slope downward to the lake's edge and it would be very difficult to level your vehicle. Sites on campfire loop were mostly level although perhaps a little narrow for slides and awnings. Dump station located near entrance/exit. Cell phone service worked OK. Built in roof antenna picked up four local tv stations. There is a line of sight for satellite dishes on some sites. Park has a beautiful public golf course along with several other outdoor activities. Staff very friendly. We stayed in a 30' motorhome and would stay again if in the area. 45 miles from Augusta, GA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$19
This campground is part of South Carolina's only (at this time) resort park. It is somewhat of a contrast to the rest of the park. There's nothing really bad about the campground; however, it doesn't seem to be "on the level" with the rest of the park. For example, there is a nice lodge, restaurant, golf course, skeet shooting range, etc. at the park. Along with this I would expect the campground to be paved, but it is not. All those points aside however, the campground proved to be a nice quiet place to spend the weekend, with excellent mountain bike trails nearby. The Lakeview mountain bike trail is accessible directly from the campground. Some of the sites are somewhat small for bigger rigs, and a few will require more than one set of leveling blocks. Larger rigs may want to choose from sites along the "Campfire Trail" section. These sites are not waterfront but are very long and wide back-ins. Lastly, note that the campground is located a few miles from the lodge, park office, restaurant and pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
This is a pretty park with a nice pool and golf course. We had a lake front site, in a wooded area with privacy. Many of the sites are quite unlevel, requiring a fair amount of blocking. Watch out for ants here, however. We woke up in the morning with hoards of them marching up the interior walls of the trailer. It was unbelievable, and they stayed with us ALL the way home to Maine. Fortunately, the New England winter did them in. The park staff came out and sprayed our site, but once they got in the trailer it was too late. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com