206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Clearwater / Wells Gray KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (250) 674-3918
CGID5052

Clearwater / Wells Gray KOA

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   8   2   6   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
We stayed here two separate times, about two weeks apart when passing through, but mainly because of the paucity of reasonable competition. If this park were not helped by KOA affiliation and in a popular area I feel it would be somewhat empty. It was expensive for the level of amenities, and I was less than impressed to have neither cable nor usable WiFi. Sites are basic, not well laid out, and vary greatly in quality from average to poor. No pavement and dirty gravel at sites. The laundry was not clean nor well maintained. There was no supervision of the inconsiderate and noisy campers. I see another person has commented on the "bear fence" and believe it not to be electrified nor capable of keeping out any healthy bruin. It might make the European RVers feel better. I would stay here again as there is no other choice for a quick overnight stay at Clearwater. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
The KOA at Clearwater is a very versatile “campground”. It has lots of places for RV’s, trailers, cabins, and Condo units. WiFi was OK, not great. Most sites were separated by shade trees and bushes and fairly level. They have a decent supply store, and a restaurant. The perimeter has a safety electric fence keeping bears out. The entrance gate is closed at 10pm, also keeping bears out. Staff were friendly and helpful. A good place to stay for white water rafting, and touring Wells Gray Park – a must to visit in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Really loved this remote little campground, everything was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Some of the tent sites were hard to get into with our truck, but that was because of the beautiful forest. It was a great place to have as a base for exploring Wells Grey. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
The park was rather a mess. We had a reservation for a large spot, but they "advised" us another "much nicer site," as we needed only 30 Amps. The large place was a bit more expensive, but this was never an issue for us. The new site was one of many all next to each-other pull-through and shady. The large site had no shade at all. Then a big shovel was coming and going all the time with rubbish. When we asked how long this would go on they said that they had no idea; they were not KOA personnel, but doing some job. It was Saturday and we asked about Sunday. The answer: "We guess not, but we don't know." The disturbance went on till about 7 pm. On Sunday (Father's Day) we couldn't believe it, but they started working again! Anyway not too long. On Monday morning a bunch of laborers made a lot of noise at 6 am, starting pick-ups, which were parked in some parking lot on the camping ground next to our RV. Two positive issues I want to mention about this camping ground. a) Located next to the entrance of Wells Gray, which is a fabulous provincial park with lots of wild life, especially black bears! b) A more than average camping restaurant, where we enjoyed a tasteful diner in a friendly ambiance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Excellent base for exploring the oustanding scenery of the provincial park. Good services and friendly staff. Power pedestals have cable connection on them, but are not hooked up (yet?); NO local TV stations. Didn't try wifi-internet computer available in office. Campground roads are in lousy condition. Average spacing between sites; some shade trees in most of the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
Friendly staff, shaded level site, Wi-Fi was free but did not work at the campsite had to go to office or game room. Restaurant on site serves breakfast and dinner (no lunch) was good and convenient. Probably the most reliable choice in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Very good KOA. Everything was great including the on site restaurant that has great Canadian food at fair prices. The Wells Gray Provincial Park is near by and worth the time to visit. We had a nice stay with the new ownership that had just taken over in April. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
What a great place to visit - Wells Grey Park is absolutely unbelievable, spectacular water falls. You definitely have to see at least once in your lifetime. The KOA was one of the nicer ones we have stayed at, unfortunately not one of the friendliest. I would have given this location a 10 if We were greeted with a better welcome, and a smile - even the grounds keeper sneered at us. Perhaps being early in the season or because of the volume of foreign visitors they just haven't gotten to the friendly part yet? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com