224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Carl Blackwell Campgrounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (405) 372-5157
CGID5054

Lake Carl Blackwell Campgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
362
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   4   9   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2014
$25
Overall the park is huge, however when we called they only take reservations for the Scissortail area which has about 20 sites. The site we were assigned had had water issues, the area was extremely muddy to the point I had mud over the top of sneakers trying to hook water to our trailer. It was continuly leaking underground creating a swamp. Sights were asphalt paved but very narrow. Also they booked a rodeo group in this section with many horses. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
We stayed two nights here. Fairly close to town if necessities needed, our site had no shade, but others did...I "dropped in" on 5 July and got a site, so was not choosy. The person at the office desk was very nice, put us in a nice long pull thru and the stay was very nice. Would stay here again. The lake was almost red from recent rains, but not their fault. Seems to be well maintained overall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
We arrived on a Sunday afternoon we were fortunate to get a lakefront spot and were not disappointed that the lake was beautiful. What was unfortunate was the condition of the beachfront in camp and the campsite itself which had trash strewn everywhere from previous campers. Even in our fire ring someone had left there eggshells from a breakfast cooked outdoors. It's amazing the way some people treat such a treasure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
We love camping here! We are always taken care of really well and the facilities are very nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Stayed twice for a night each during the week in July in the Pine Grove area. Boat ramp is a block away and swimming is either at the small sand beach for kids down on one end of the Pine Grove area or directly off your lot (most are water front). Few if any 'pull through' lots, though things are spaced well enough that backing in isn't much of a problem. Just out of WiFi range from our lot (43). A nice quiet family/kid friendly camping area. A porta-potty was available in the camp area, you can walk up the hill for fancier restrooms/showers if you need them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
This review refers to the Pine Grove area of the park. The area itself is very pretty. I was able to park in a pull-through site that overlooked the water and was very picturesque. There is a swimming area next to the area I stayed. I was able to observe several deer both during the day while swimming and at night while driving back into the campground area. Almost all the sites had lots of shade available. There is a small store where you register that also has a small gas station. You can also rent boats there (from paddle boats up to small fishing boats), and the price is very reasonable. The Oklahoma State University police regularly patrol the area, so it appears reasonably safe. The main drawback to the park is that even with the pull-though sites, getting back on the road where I stayed proved to be a little difficult. While I was preparing to leave the next morning, I had to wake the couple in the next spot as their truck was parked in such a way as to block my motorhome's access to the one-lane road into and out of the camping alcove area. Even so, I would be willing to stay here again for one night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2004
$12
I only gave a rating of 7 because we only had electric at the site we stayed at and the ones with water and electric were all leased. The rates were $8 for tents, $12 for electric sites and $20 for water and electric. This is a beautiful 3,350 acre lake and owned by Oklahoma State University and offers swimming, fishing, boating, skiing, and sailing. An 800 acre recreation area surrounds the lake and offers camping, cabins, and picnic areas. If I remember the only campground that has room for short term big Rigs is Pine Grove Area the other are for permanent sites and tent camping. When we were there they didn't have any street lights and was very dark at night, which made backing in to a site a bit more dangerous without help. They do list some sites with electric and water. I heard at times it can be very crowed, but we were there the first part of May and we didn't have any problems. They just got done building a new bath house in 2004. The campground is eight miles from Stillwater and just a few miles from I 35. All sites had real nice view of the lake and there was plenty to keep a person busy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com