206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Rock Canyon State Park Ricardo Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (661) 946-6092
CGID5068

Red Rock Canyon State Park Ricardo Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   9   8   7   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
This place is absolutely stunning. There are beautiful geological formations, like outdoor stalactites and stalagmites which surround the canyon walls. There is a beautiful desert area in the middle with nature trails and a dessert tortoise area by the visitor center. We visited in March and so there were several wild flowers in bloom. We also arrived on a weekday so it was not busy at all. We did not use the water, pit toilets, or dump station so I cannot comment on those. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This was our second visit. This time we picked site #4 for its seclusion and space. The state continues the nice upgrades. The handicap sites #1, 2 have shade shelters, nice restroom, and even a hose-friendly spigot. Handicap #6 is nice as well. They're adding yet another handicap site up near the cliffs. The handicap sites are well-suited for a Class C or smaller. The dump station was open on Sunday Oct. 20th for a "trial run" from 9 to 5 or so. Fifteen dollar fee to dump, but I didn't take advantage of it, nor did anybody else it from what I saw. We really enjoyed the weekend and we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$23
The rate reflects a $2 senior discount. This campground is on a gravel loop with gravel sites. Many of the sites are not suitable for RV's since they are either very short or very unlevel. However, there are some beautiful sites along the cliffs. If someone drives by at a high rate, dust can be an issue. Sunsets and sunrises are spectacular, and there are some nice trails. There is a Visitors Center, but it was closed "for the season" with a note saying it would reopen at the end of March. The only official presence was a park ranger driving by in the morning. We did not have Verizon phone or data service. Satellite is not a a problem as there are not trees. We had only 8 or so other campers during our visit. It is close to the highway, but there was very little traffic noise. As noted it has a nice, dark night sky. The dump station is still closed with the only amenity being water and trash disposal. We would stay here again. Our only concern was that without any on-site presence of any kind, there could be a party group come in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
This was a great weekend trip. We got here at 10am on Saturday and there were many good sites available, so we took #12. At sundown, there were still several good sites available. Our site was fairly level from side to side, but was sloped down to the front. Water faucets and dumpsters at each pit toilet area. Dump station is still closed. Kids loved climbing around. Great view of the night sky! We enjoyed this much more than our trip to Black Rock at Joshua Tree. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Beautiful desert setting with awesome sandstone pillars directly behind the campsites. Only 4 sites occupied out of 50. Might be the price considering you can camp for free outside the park in BLM land. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$12
This is one of our favorite campgrounds when passing through the eastern side of the Sierras. No real amenities, with pit toilets and water faucets only. But, the scenery is great if you like the desert. Hot in the summer, at an elevation of about 2500-2800 feet. Great motorcycling in the BLM areas adjacent, and to the opal mines across Hwy 14. Senior rate is $10 per night (over 62). Dump site is presently closed. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$14
Located in one of my favorite areas of the world, red rock canyon state park is basically a primitive campground with dump station and a small nature / geographic info center. Crude bathrooms, no services at sites, along tight, crudely graded dirt road. Sites were not very level or big. A few sites were pull through, sort of, but this was a generous description. Staff ranged from friendly and helpful to park ranger Nazis. We got yelled at and threatened by a ranger for letting my mellow, friendly lab roam around on a walk when I was ¼ mile from anyone else. Overall, a place to park and dump, but you could just pull off the hwy 8 miles north in open BLM land, park wherever you want, have all the space you want and not get hassled—just pack out your trash please and don't dump on the ground. Alan We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$12
If you like the desert, this is a great scenic park, with the red cliffs,interesting geology, stargazing and local hikes. Surrounding area is a treasure of local, quirky history. Dump station on site, ranger stattion and visitors center. Other than that, there are NO facilities here or nearby- make sure you bring whatever you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com