206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Willits KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (707) 459-6179
CGID507

Willits KOA

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   6   8   9   7   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
Our check in experience at this park was great; fast friendly service. Lots of good advice and a lot of very good information. They did such a good sell on KOA that we bought a membership. It's not the first KOA that we have stayed at but a staff member did an amazing job of explaining what it was all about and how we could use it. Anyway, the park was very very clean, well organized, and very family oriented. WiFi worked, cable TV was great. We would certainly stay here again. Easy access to highway. Love all the animals. Thanks again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$60
We stayed in a premium site with a private hot tub, picnic table with nice lounge chairs, and its own grill on a cement pad. Sites are gravel and somewhat uneven but still very nice. Lots of things for the kids, but at this time of year the place was empty. Rabbits wandering around everywhere. The hostess was very helpful and informative. They give you garbage and recycling bags. The real downside is no sewer hookups at the premium sites. They bring a "honey wagon" around if you need to dump. Not good when you pay so much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
In high season appears to be lots to do without leaving the campground. Level site. Services were good including cable and Wi-Fi. Highway 20 runs by the campground, but traffic not a real issue. Railway line is only used during daytime by a tour train that runs to the coast and picks up at the campground. Only issue we had was with the somewhat lazy site maintenance personnel who raked up the fallen leaves into small piles in the RV sites and burned rather than pick them up and at least burn them in the large firepits. We had 5-burn spots with lots of ashes to walk over or around. Would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Fairly well maintained campground. Roads and site are gravel, so very dusty. Site was barely adequate for our 40 foot motor home, narrow roads, tight turns, no room to park our towed and side to side hookups. A few shade trees, a little patch of grass here and there. Bathrooms were clean and there was a security gate 24/7. WiFi  and cell were patchy. Food stores, restaurants and sightseeing are close by. This is a typical KOA and very over priced.  We would only stay here again if absolutely desperate. Stay here if you want to park in the middle of a kids playground.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
We were in a 33 foot 5th wheel and requested a site that would have room for a tent. We were given a back in site that fulfilled our needs. Site was gravel and took two, 1 inch boards to level side to side. There was no sewer at our site but a honey wagon was available for a $5.00 cost. Great camp ground for kids. Good gravel roads and drainage was good after two days of pouring rain. Nice KOA. Only complaint is there was room to park two vehicles in our site and still be off the road, but the extra car had to park in over flow parking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
The owners have made a huge investment in this campground for the children. Two pools and lots of other activities. We just fit in our site with 45' after unhooking tow. A parking space was provided for it. Site was level gravel and dirt. They do have some premium sites with a deck, fire ring and hot tub. In the back of the campground, there is a rather open area with backin sites that are huge, but close to the road. Wi-Fi was adequate. It's close to town for restaurants or shopping. One unusual rule is that colored wristbands, similar to the kind you wear when you're a patient in the hospital, are required so they know if you registered or not. Willets is undergoing major road construction for the next 8 years, so traffic through town is slo.o.o.w. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$59
A fine place to stop for a night or two, with lots of distractions for the kids. But there are numerous rules and unexpected fees. Hookups worked well, but the spaces are a little small. I had a site that was supposed to fit up to a 45' RV, but my 38' motorhome was sticking out into the aisle. Phones service in the area is great, and the weather stays cool, thanks to the proximity to the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
KOA with many activities for children. We found it a handy place to stay to catch up on laundry. The washers and dryers were immaculate. The showers were spotlessly clean. Efficient staff. Sites can be dusty. On Sunday mornings they have a pancake breakfast, which my husband enjoyed. We will stay again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$57
Very popular park for families. The weather was hot when we were there and everyone was in the pool or at the on-site water park. Lots for kids to do. Staff was friendly. Park was clean with gravel roads, some dust. We had a water and electric only site. Wi-Fi was weak but OK, our Wi-Fi booster saved the day again. The dump station is right in the driveway, so you block the driveway when using it. We’d stay here again, for a one night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$54
Typical KOA. Lots of kids on the weekend and lots for them to do. Very friendly staff. They did try to charge us $5.00 because we arrived 30 minutes earlier than check in time even though our reserved site was available. After a stern look, they relented and let us come back to the office later to register. Very, very clean and attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Willits has just become a destination. We will be back. Owner helped in leveling trailer. Park is clean. Lots for kids to do. Quiet but not the weekends. But we enjoy kids so its ok. Just spent one night and will come back for sure. Rate is a guess for a premium spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2012
$44
Price is beyond ridiculous. I've seen motel rooms for less money. Also forget about using showers, Wi-Fi or laundry if you get here after hours. Seems like a halfway decent park, but it just isn't worth what it costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$43
Very nice staff. Clean park, compact gravel roads and sites. We stayed in a pull through. We asked for a site that you could access satellite. Ask when you make reservation; some sites are blocked by trees. They offer about 6 cable channels, Wi-fi works well. Quiet in winter; in summer they had a lot of family oriented activities. I felt winter price was high; almost all activities were closed down. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$60
This is a 10 for kids, but not necessarily for adults who want quiet. The park has tons of activities for children, so it attracts a lot of families. I came with my grandkids who were thrilled with the playground and pools and various other kids things. Except that the one waterpark closed at 7:00 just as they were getting their suits on. One thing not listed on their site was that all adults and children are required to wear wristbands in public areas, including showers, restrooms, and the pool during their entire stay. Apparently this is a safety thing for kids and to keep out non-paying customers. Personally, I can understand this, but was very irritated to be told I had to wear this unless I was in my motorhome on my site!! Fairly level site, but all gravel and dusty. Also be aware that very few sites are full hookup. I thought I had reserved full hookup, but found out I had actually reserved only water and electric, plus they charged me $10 to dump at any time other than at the end of my stay as I was leaving! I had come in with 3/4 black tank, so ended up paying that fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$54
Can't believe so many kids come on weekends! Entire park is dirt and large sized gravel. When they fall, they must get chewed up. Staff very rules oriented. Could not check in before 1:00. Could not remain at park to wait. Told to return to town and wait. Had to wear colored bracelet whenever in park; changed to a different color mid-stay. We've stayed in many KOAs through out U.S. and Canada. This was the worst. Never to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
We had planned to dry camp but those plans fell through so we found this place. The park rep on the phone, assured us that we could use our KOA points and that the Skunk Train would stop in the morning if we wanted to take a ride. When we got there we could not use our points, and there was no train scheduled the next morning, so the rep did not check the schedule and gave wrong information about everything. We should have left at that point, but it had been a long day and we were tired. She could not tell us how to pull into our space or where the hook ups were. We had to ask for someone to show us our space so that we did not have to guess where everything was. Wi-fi did not work and when someone from the park came to fix it, they messed up our computer. Also, we asked for a space near the pool and were told none were available. The park was almost empty when we finally got to our space, so there was room near the pool. Wi-fi never worked. They claim to have cable but only have 9 channels, most of which are shopping! So, we paid $50.00 for water, power, sewer, and nine channels of cable TV. Way too much money and hassle. We won't stay here again and suggest you choose another park when staying in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
This is a well-kept park, with attentive staff. Full hookups, good water pressure & voltage, very clean bathrooms. The gravel sites were mostly level, with grass next to site. Lots of trees, and scenic highway 20 is quiet at night. Only negative: gravel was graded in the morning, and the tractor raised too much dust (could have waited until checkout time). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$39
Pulled in at closing, was given a map and then had to find our site on our own in the total darkness. Cable didn't work as something was wrong at the pedestal. Husband and I both went to take a shower the next morning and after letting the water run for 10 minutes still had NO hot water. Water remained cold. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$45
High priced but clean. Has a petting zoo in the warmer months but in the winter there are no animals in residence. Clean but spaces are very close, could hear a camper next door snoring in our RV LOL! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
We were looking for a park we hadn't stayed in before and found this to be a very good park. Extremely clean and well kept. We found the staff to be very friendly. Not a big fan of side by side hookups the park was not full and the staff placed the incoming units at least one site apart. There was no sewer hookup at any of the sites though they do provide a "honey wagon" to keep your tanks empty. We asked for but didn't get a satellite friendly space but the cable was OK so we were happy. Loved the trails provided by the park, great for a morning cardio workout. We would stay there in the off season again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$46
I'm a grandmother traveling alone with my dog, and I love the Willits KOA. It's clean and well maintained. Sites are level, with utilities conveniently placed (I have two holding tank valves and don't have to dig out any 50' hoses or a super long electrical cord). Many sites are shaded, which is a big plus in summer. There are super trails behind the campsites where I can walk my dog and take care of the day's cardio without walking in many tiny circles or heavy traffic. Campground staff picks up trash and recycling at your site. Add to all this a pristine swimming pool and water feature, and I just think this campground is hard to beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$56
This is a fairly tight park with tons of activities for kids. Since it's so kid focused, it's kind of strange that the base rate is for two adults only. Kids are extra. Go figure. Another strange thing is that they want everyone to wear wristbands, all the time. Not just in the pool or at the showers, but all the time. However, it's a great park for kids. They have a pool, petting zoo, a splash park, several playgrounds, movies at night and more. For adults, there are several sites with their own fancy firepit and hot tub. The pull through sites are short (plan on unhooking) and are buddy sites so you might be sitting around your campfire right next to where your neighbor is eating. All in all, not a bad place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
We stayed here two nights. This is another very kid friendly KOA. The staff is friendly, but our check in person had no clue the correct angle needed to get us in our space. She sent us the wrong way down the road to back in to our space. Oh well, I can deal with that. The closer you are to the front of the campground, the noisier it is. I suggest you stay at least ten sites from the spray park and petting zoo. The spray park turns on at noon and goes till almost dusk. All you can hear is water hitting cement. The petting zoo can be a little odorific. The pool was nice, a little cold, but that was probably due to the weather. The spa water was brown during our stay, and I had the family stay out of that mess. The ice cream social leading the way into the family program each night was nice. The movie each night is outdoors, so bring a chair and a blanket. The roads in the campground are dirt with some gravel. Can get a little dusty with vehicle and bike traffic. Sites do not have sewer (they do offer a honey wagon to come to your site). Sites are good size with a small cement patio that was nice to have since most of the site was rather large crushed granite (hard on the feet). A fire ring is also included. The road to the coast was next to the campground along with train tracks. While we were there only the Skunk Train came through. Truck traffic on the road was a little noisy during the day. We did not use the Frisbee golf, mini golf, and playsets, but they looked good and were very well used. This campground gets busy especially with kids. I am glad they have lots of stuff for them to do. Willits is about five minutes away with a small town atmosphere. We really enjoyed this used bookstore in town. I would stay here again if I were in the area. I would be picky about the site they put me in. Happy travels and be safe out there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
Don't Leave Us Out in the Cold. Overall we had a great experience. Lots of stuff for our kids to do but nothing quite irks me like walking in the cold to the showers and discovering a combo lock on the door. PLEASE tell us this at check-in! I lost over an hour of work because of this and it's the worse way to start the day. Besides that major glitch we had a great time here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This park has all gravel roads and sites: dusty. The sites have no sewer hook ups. It is however, a nice place for kids with a helpful staff. The sites are a bit tight for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$55
This is a great campground, for us any way. We had an end site with tons of room. Some, I did notice were back-to-back sites with doors facing doors. I can see how they would be tight. They also had very, very private sites with fences, tables and "PRIVATE hot tubs." Had I known about these sites, for sure I would have reserved one for us. We were 4 adults in a 43 foot RV, not real sure about the rate. The owners from Scotland are very nice and very involved. The hot tub and pools are very nice. Lots to do here with kids. This is a park worth staying at. Be sure to have good directions as there are no typical KOA signs from the town center, due to town ordinances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Small, very family friendly KOA. Some sites are narrow, the turns are tight. It's a bit pricey for off season, some pull throughs without sewer and all pull-throughs are "buddy sites" which I hate. Has a very nice frisbee golf course and nature trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Nice clean park. All the roads and sites in the park are gravel on dirt. There was a lot of mud in the park when we were there. Very few sites will you be able to use satellite. Only about 10 sites have sewer hookup. Wi-Fi is good. This park is very good for families with children. There are many things for children to do at this park. Not the best for retired. Prices are high for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
Very well maintained KOA. Sites larger than normal KOA's. Lots of things for kids to do. Cable TV only 9 stations. All other utilities worked well. We elected a site without sewer to keep cost down. This is a very expensive campground. Convenient for local attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$50
Very family oriented. Nice owners. Went for Thanksgiving and had great potluck. Clean park, good Wi-Fi, awesome frisbee golf course, fun putt-putt golf. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because the water pressure was so low that we couldn't use our RV shower, had to use the shower in the clubhouse. It was clean, but prefer to use our own facilities. Washing dishes with low pressure not fun. Overall a great place for a family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
A very nice park that is a nice stop off point on the way to the coast. New owners are doing a great job improving an already great park. Great hiking trails and a Frisbee golf course at the back of the property. Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. It was a little tight parking our 36' fifth wheel in our site but we did not have a reservation and did not expect a VIP site to be waiting for us. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
After a nightmare experience at a supposed RV park in Sonoma/Napa Valley, this place was a dream! The campground was safe, spotless and very well kept. The employees were very friendly and helpful. It was a great place for dogs and or hikes especially on the trails in the hills off the back side of the property near the fishing pond. It is a great place for kids but also a great place for those who don't, my husband and I had a great time at the petting zoo, the old town area, checking out the premium spaces that included private hot tubs and really nice outdoor eating area with patio furnishings, very cool! The pool was huge and very clean. It is very evident the owners take a lot of pride in their park and it shows. I would go back in a heartbeat and stay a week there instead of Napa while touring the nearby cute towns and wineries! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Don't use this park unless you have children with you. It's great for kids but not adults. We were placed in the back of the park next to a railroad station. Noise wasn't a problem but the sand burrs were. I had to carry the dog out to the road so she wouldn't get loaded. There was no wi-fi. When I complained they told me I could go to a nearby shelter house and get a signal there but I had no luck. The dust is horrible. The laundry is too small for a park this size but management did empty an abandoned washer of clothes for me. I would not come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$62
I had two issues with this park. The water pressure is the lowest I have ever encountered, and the place is very dusty. Everything is gravel, roads and sites. If they put down more gravel then the kids would have problems with their bikes. Expensive at $62 a night with KOA card for 4 people in a 50A pull through. If you have kids this is a great place, lots to do. Adults, not so good. If I wasn't with my grandchildren I wouldn't stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Lots of fun activities for families and children, so expect lots of families with children. The roads and driveways are all gravel but there are concrete picnic table pads, a good picnic table and islands of grass between sites (but you would place chairs on the gravel). The driveways are very wide on both the back-in and pull through sites. Interesting park, good WiFi and quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is the most kid-friendly RV park we've ever visited. Yeah, it is spendy (especially for kidless older folk such as we), but it was quiet and clean. Had very nice staff, and good WiFi. Had very tight security, which made us wonder why it was necessary. Can you imagine having to wear a KOA wrist band when walking outside your site? Willits has more than it's share of dead-enders and such, but this seemed a bit startling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$67
We read about the Willits KOA while vacationing on the Mendocino Coast. It seemed like a great place for kids so we booked a spot for our return trip. The spots were small for our 40' motorhome and pretty close together but the park was nice and clean. Lots of space to walk our dogs and since we have grandchildren, we checked out all the activities for them for the future. Once we found out about the Train Depot for the Skunk Train, we decided to book for our family for the special Christmas Train in December. I reserved one RV site, 3 Kabins and 1 lodge. I should have consulted with my family first, as everyone wanted to rent a place in Tahoe for skiing and save the train ride for the warmer months. Well, there will not be a next time for this KOA as it costs us $50 in cancellation fees even after holding $250 for deposits. If I had been able to book under one reservation, this would not have happened. We questioned the Willits people about this outrageous policy, and they said their hands were tied as they were only following the cancellation policies of KOA. Funny as the main office told us that since the campgrounds are privately owned, it is up to the campground to adjust the cancellation fees. I feel ripped off! I still want to take the Skunk Train with the grand-kids, so I did some research at the local hotels. They not only do not keep the first night's charge as a deposit, but they also let you cancel by 4pm on the same day of your arrival: AND all without a fee?? And all this comes with a free full breakfast! But the real winning point with a hotel room vs a Kabin, they have bathrooms!! KOA to us, has always been like finding a McDonalds in Europe: you know what to expect. But I have camped in my last KOA because their rates, deposits and cancellations fees are too unreasonable for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
Willits is quite a town. Lots of, interesting looks. We stayed here on the way to Arcata and although we got to do laundry and they have lots of stuff for kids to do, I was pretty unimpressed with the site. And $40 is highway robbery. The sites have no privacy, just a big gravel lot basically and there were drunken employees sitting around the pool drinking light beer and talking loudly when we got here. (If anyone is going to be drunk and talking loudly, it's ME.) I don't know. It was safe, it was clean, the showers were great (although they close them from 11AM to 2PM so check your watches), but they don't have sewer hookups at each site, there was no privacy, no ambience to the place and for $40 it was a rip-off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$46
This park has miniature golf, disc golf, a petting zoo, a Skunk Train depot, and on, and on, and on. Was very well maintained as well. Still seems pricey, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
This was a very nice park and one of the best KOAs we've experienced. It is well suited to kids and families. The pool, hot tub, and kids' water play area were very nice. Everything was well maintained and clean. The park is done in a western theme. They also have a frisbee golf area. The sites are a bit short for a pull-through. The roads are a bit narrow and drivers need to pay attention to fence rails and other cars/ rv's. Some of the best sites appeared to be the back-in ones with more room for your RV and car. Be sure to turn the right direction when leaving - the road to Mendocino has very few turn-around spots if you meant to head east! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$41
The website for this park has 25 photos of their activities and play areas but not a single one of their RV sites. We unfortunately found out why. The campground IS NOT set up for larger rigs. Our expensive site (water and electric only) was so narrow that we had great difficulty getting our slides out. Trying to exit the park the next morning on the extremely narrow roads was the worse part. Not only did we have to dodge other units and cars sticking out in the roadway, but they have made the tight turns even worse by putting low, split rail fencing on both sides of the road. While trying to negotiate one of these turns, we ended up scraping the side of our new coach on one of these fences. We will NOT be back and suggest to anyone with a larger motorhome that you check out your site's width and your available egress from the park before committing to a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
One of the nicest private campgrounds we've stayed at in the three weeks we've been in California, and one of the nicest KOAs anywhere. Large, flat, gravel sites, trees. Typical KOA-style bathrooms, the showers could be a little larger to avoid splashing your stuff, but very clean. Tons of stuff to do as per the previous review. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$46
Went to this park for their opening weekend of the season, which was also Mothers' Day. The park was FULL, but what a great time! We stayed in one of their new "Prestige" sites, which was still under construction. The sites have a very nice concrete pad which is stamped to look like wood deck. They have a picket fence, and the owner told me that they will have private hot tubs when they are done! Each night featured a hay ride, an ice cream social, limbo and hula-hoop contests, and karaoke for the whole family. They also just installed a new water playground which just got up and running while we were there. Very friendly and safety-conscious owners. They had refinished the pool deck recently and didn't realize that they didn't put any non-slip substance into the paint. As soon as a couple of people slipped, they apologized and closed down the pool. During the afternoon, they refinished the concrete pool deck, this time putting sand into the paint to make it non-slip. They worked hard and the pool was open the next day! Great park, great time, great people. P.S. During the Summer months, the Skunk Train picks up at the campground for day trips to Fort Bragg! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
We really enjoyed our stay at this facility. The campground hosts were very nice, and they put on a fun night of activities for the family and kids - dancing, karaoke, and prizes. The hosts seems to be putting a lot of money into the place - they had a GREAT place structure for the kids. Our kids played there almost the whole time we were on site. However, the pool was closed and it was a little noisy as they were putting a new water feature in and a new mini golf area. Also, since we came during an off season, there was no fish stocked in the pond. During the peak season, you can take the skunk train from there. Also pretty close to Mendicino and Caspar beach. We hope to visit again once they are completed with all their renovations. There is great potential for this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$46
Ridiculously expensive ($46 off season full hookups and not even in a destination area), but as my mother would say, "A port in a storm." We had been driving too long, had no reservation, and needed water and dumping, so the state park we had been headed for was out as it didn't have either. We, too, checked out Creekside RV and were grateful it said "No vacancy." Creepy. We settled at KOA because we were just too beat to drive further. Indifferent-bordering-on-rude staff. Given a site smack dab next to somebody else, even though the park was 75% empty. But, our German shepherd LOVED the doggy play area with its obstacle course. If you have children, this would be a great place to stay. As an overnight spot, too pricey, but we were glad for the safe, clean spot at 6 P.M. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
Hard park to rate. On one hand, it's typically KOA, being both old and expensive, with a rather steep entry, a confusing layout and unlevel sites. On the other hand, it's very well maintained and with trees and grass at every site. It's in a very pretty setting. They also have an elaborate 'doggy playground'. I did not use any of the restroom or laundry facilities. The 'cable' TV was very limited but the Wi-Fi was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
This park was so nice we chose to stay an extra night. The staff were wonderful and many upgrades are being made in the park which are expected to be finished by the end of April 2009. The park is full of activities for kids. The park has lots of shade trees. The Wifi worked well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
Awesome park with lots of upgrades. Owners are from Scotland and are very friendly and they are pouring lots of money and sweat to make this the Best family vacation Ever ! 40 acres of Fun ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$33
The clerk at check in desk was overwhelmed with a few late people checking in. We couldn't get a site with sewer hookup. Sites are crowded together and the way the sites were arranged I was afraid that our slide outs might hit the slide outs of the travel trailer next to us. We had couple inches, so not much privacy. It is over priced for the crowded conditions and less than scenic location. We spent one night there in our 5th wheel. We will not return to this KOA, we have stayed at a few other KOA locations that were much better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
I review on how much enjoyment do my four year old and myself have at an RV park. This park was great. There is new management, they've retained the staff. One woman had worked at this park for 17 years and still loved it! Clean park and there is a petting zoo. Say hi to Ruby the pig. She thinks she's a dog and loves her belly scratched! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
Although we only stayed one night as this was not our destination, this was an extremely clean and well-run park. Our first experience with a KOA and we were very pleased. Many activities for children. Staff courteous and friendly. We stayed in #22. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Definitely family friendly with hay rides, petting zoo, games, etc. Too bad we don't have children. Level, wide spots. Friendly and helpful staff ("Don't worry about a thing; just turn on your laptop and you're on line.") No special fees or log-ons. All dogs were on leashes; even the camping pot-bellied pig was. Will definitely return for a third visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$48
Really busy as mothers day week end. They had hay rides, re enacted Black Bart shoot outs, and talent type shows for kids. But at 10 PM you could have heard a pin drop. It was nice for us as an overnighter but no sewer (they set up a pump out) and some what tight pull throughs with opposite direction hook ups with you and your neighbor sharing power, and no 50 amp, just make it not higher. Plus new owners start next week, so hard to tell what will happen. I would probably stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
Sites were gravel and relatively level. This park has the potential to be a nice summer destination with a lot of activities for the children. It was raining and cold when we arrived so didn't get a chance to look around too much. Staff were friendly and helpful. One nice plus is free garbage pick-up at your site. Would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Friendly people, store, horses, hiking trails, lots of open space, fishing pond. Skunk train rides for a bbq. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$54
Very nice, clean park. Kids loved it, great office staff, very pricey though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Great park if you have kids. They have a petting zoo, a 'western town' where they have ice cream socials and entertainment. The Skunk train tracks run by the campground although they advertise that it stops at their station and it no longer does. Good shade, some pull-through sites are not level but most levelers can handle them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$34
This is a nice KOA to go to, especially if you have children, or don't mind kids and kid noise. The pull-through spaces are pretty easy access and the KOA is clean and well-maintained. The KOA is conveniently close to town, but feels like you are farther out of town, which is nice. Lots of activities geared toward families and kids. Only about a 45-minute drive to Fort Bragg and the ocean. The drive is beautiful, but it is about 30 miles on a curvy road so take motion-sickness meds if you get easily carsick. You can also ride the Skunk Train which is nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$46
We have been to the Willits KOA several times since we purchased our RV. It is a very family friendly campsite. We went during freezing conditions and there was a lot of freezing and breaking pipes on the property. We recommend pretty much any site on the property. We enjoy the full hookups but they are not always available during special events. The crab feed and pig roast are wonderful! There are ice cream socials and karoke! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$52
Very clean, pool and hot tub a welcome site. Big pull-through sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2006
$36
Overpriced - $36 gets you a small site with 30A power, water, and no sewer hookup. Cable TV is OK but only has 10 channels. WiFi is free, which is a nice touch. Probably a nice desination for a family with kids during the summer months; has a petting zoo and playground, but for an overnight stay it's not worth it. The classic example of why an overnight stay at Wal-Mart is so attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$34
Not a bad value. They are very friendly and helpful. The downside in my opinion is that they do not have trash cans positioned around and you must leave your trash outide your rig for pickup. For us dog owners who pick up after their dog, it makes it hard to dispose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$45
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This a great family park. They have petting zoo, playground, minature and frisbee golf, fishing lake, Skunk Train depot and much more. The hosts were great. Sites are close together but it is a very clean and well kept up park. They also have some rental cabins and some tent sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$34
Very nice place with friendly and efficient staff. Between the small petting zoo and the hayride and ice cream social, our grandson was kept quite busy. Too bad the Skunk Train is not operating this year to Willits as the campground has it's own stop. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay and will stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$43
Way over priced, dirty dusty gravel roads, cable TV seemed to be local channels only, will never go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$30
I have never seen a campground that had its act so well put together. The "Skunk Train" that runs from Willits to Fort Bragg makes a stop to pick up passengers right at the campground. There were also two playgrounds, a heated swimming pool, a petting zoo, a catch-and-release fishing pond, an 18-hole miniature golf course, an 18-hole "disc" golf course under construction (this is like golf with frisbees, if I understand it correctly). The owner hosted karaoke every evening and there were all-you-can-eat ice-cream socials for something like $2.50 a person. Oh, and hay rides, too. Great for kids - there's always something going on. Lots of acreage for only 77 sites - not one of those 400-site parking lots with RVs as far as the eye can see. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com