223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Border City Motel & RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (907) 774-2205
CGID5071

Border City Motel & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   1   3   5   3   4   6   8   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Not the greatest place to stay. 30 amp generator provided electric, water hookup but that's about it. Dump station available. Sites are adjacent to the gas station/restaurant. WiFi was useless. Agent stated that the WiFi is satellite based therefore not very fast. It took more than 1/2 hour to connect and when I finally did I could only send out one e-mail and never received any. I just gave up. Probably would try somewhere else in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Not sure what's going on, but the main RV park was not accessible because the bridge was being torn out. That left 5 power only sites. There was no gas or diesel available. This place is a shell of what it used to be. From now on we'll buy fuel and a space for the night in Tok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
We had to pay $2 extra for using a credit card. The sites were pretty soft, and also not too level. I needed to block the passenger side in order to get level. No internet at sites, and no cell service at all. There is a rickety narrow bridge that takes you over a stream to get down to the RV sites. Don't look too hard at it, as some of the planks are caving in and you may change your mind about driving on it. Stay here if you must, but it's not much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Very close to the US border, which made it a welcome stop after the Yukon highways from Haines Junction. $18 cash price a deal for easy access, long pull throughs. No sewer but RV dumps easily available on the way out. Nice setting. Fuel station on site along with small store. Tok is another 90 some miles, and we were happy to have this stop. No cable TV; no wireless; but hotspot in the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
Rate reflects Good Sam Discount. Nothing more than gravel lot with water and 30 AMP electric. If you stayed here and it rained: you may not get out. Owner extremely opinionated! This place needs some work! The dump station is impossible to use. Showers and restrooms were adequate. Good pies in the restaurant though. The restaurant is also the only place the Wi-Fi works. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
We stopped here because it was late, and it was the first thing we came to after coming through customs. It was cheap but very muddy. We thought we were going to get stuck getting out. They do have a dump station. This place is OK in a pinch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
You can’t beat this price for 30 amp power and good-tasting water. This is a good place to overnight between Whitehorse and Fairbanks, but there’s nothing to do here: no trees and no privacy. We were almost the only people there, so it was private enough for us. Unfortunately, their flyer advertises Wi-Fi and 24-hour pay-at-the-pump, “cheap US gas,” and a café, but once you get there, you realize the flyer is somewhat optimistic. The credit-card readers are taped over, the Wi-Fi works only in the cafe (because the repeater for the RV park is on the fritz), and the café is closed (although you can sit there with your laptop). The showers and bathrooms were warm and reasonably clean. The toilet needed cleaning in the Men’s room, but everything else was fine. The staff was fine, and the closed café seemed to be a hub for local sportsmen who sat around and shot the bull. The park itself is directly over the border in the US, although it’s address is in Tok. If you’re a Good Sam member and you pay cash, the price is $18/night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We actually stayed at this campground on our way into Alaska in early June as well as on our way south in August. The campground is not really near Tok although that is its address. As the name implies it is very near the Alaska-Yukon border. In June, we had no problem receiving wi-fi at our site, the TV reception was good, electric was good and the water pressure was fine. In August, wi-fi was only available at the restaurant but it was down on the evening we arrived. The water pressure was minimal too. We did eat at the restaurant on both visits and the food was good. The fuel pumps and sewer dump are both conveniently located and easy to access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Handy, East of Tok, and Wi-Fi is available in the office. Office has a restaurant and gas station. Sites are reasonably level. Good place to spend the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$99
WORST establishment I have ever seen. We did not stay in the campground OR the motel. We were forced to sleep in the parking lot in the back of our Chevy Blazer. He REFUSED to help us/rent us a room because we had a dog that was over the weight limit. We were told 'Sorry. It's the rules.' When asked if he would sell us a quart of oil so we could simply _make_ it to the next town, we were told 'Its not MY problem. Sleep in your truck.' The weather was at/below 0 that night, and it was me, my wife, and our two dogs with all of our personal belongings(We were in the process of moving). When the store finally DID open at 8, all of the products were way overpriced, and you are better off staying across the border in Beaver Creek, as well as buying what you need there, as there is NO hospitality(save for the US Border Guard) until you get further into the state. Will NEVER stop there, and will recommend that none of our friends/family do. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
Muddy field with electric and water hookups. Water shut off already in mid September. Total mud pit. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
This RV park is near the Teslin National Wildlife Refuge and the Canada-United States border. It sits out in the open, near a gas station/cafe/store. Wi-Fi is only available at or near the building. We paid $18 because we were paying cash; you also get a discount if you pay with cash for gas. The restrooms and showers are in the back of the main building. There are two showers, and two stalls in each bathroom. The bathrooms aren't really designed for campers--there are no hooks or counters to put things on. The faucets are reversed--hot is on the right side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
I stayed here 1 night on my way to the lower 48. It was 30 below and only electrical hook up was available. I would love to see this campground in the summer! The manager was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Nice quiet park, dump station very easy to use. Easy in and out. Great place to stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
A place to stop for the night before crossing the border into Canada. It was clean, but nothing fancy at all. They had us park near the check in building and we heard traffic coming and going all night. Definitely not a place for a lengthy stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
I agree with the previous review. Nothing much has changed: although we did have water, albeit very low pressure. As campgrounds go, traveling to and from Alaska, this one is okay. The ad in Milepost does state that they have cable, but they don't. It's okay for overnight and that's about it. There is a large service station on the property, which is convenient. They advertise fuel prices cheaper than Tok and they are. By a penny a gallon! The pull-through sites are nice, and wide, and large. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Although water was "available" it was not turned on in the campground. Television was re-broadcast over their system, and not available to everyone's RV systems. WIFI was only operable in the office area, and Good Sam discount was only offered with cash payment. The only thing to recommend it over a roadside rest stop was 30 amp electrical service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com