206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Wall Doxey State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (662) 252-4231
CGID5074

Wall Doxey State Park

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   9   9   7   9   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
Very quiet park. Lots a shade. There were only a couple of campers and a tent in the park. No traffic at all in the park during my overnight stay. Bathroom/shower was a treat as it was air conditioned as well as clean! We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
Wonderful little park. Very clean and tidy. There are two camping areas. One is located just past the entrance gate. It is nice, but the sites are close together and there is not much privacy. In my opinion the second one is much better. They are much larger and wooded so you hardly know anyone else is there. There is a nice little fishing lake within walking distance. All sites are back in. The back in sites in the first area are very easy to get into. The second can be a little dicey due to trees. I would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Very good find. Just about 7 miles south of HWY 78. Very wooded and lots of trails. All paved but narrow. I have a 37' fiver and could only find one site (#9) that I could back into. There were a few others but they were reserved. You can commit to the campground road without getting yourself into trouble size wise. Due to the trees you feel much further away from other campers. I do not recommend taking a 40' big rig to this park: especially with a toad. Without a toad you would probably be OK. Because of the narrow road you can't cut as much as you would like when backing in. It is an extremely nice state park though. We will return for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
Nice and shady with lots of trees. The roads are very narrow and is a little difficult backing into sites. But overall, nice and clean and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
Stayed here for Halloween on recommendation of friends, great idea! Hayrides, haunted house(s) haunted campsites, great time. Little noisier than typical, but well worth it. Park is a treasure regardless of time of year, hiking, thick woods make it more like camping instead of a "park" atmosphere in many CGs. Leave the fishing pole at home, lake is pretty but nothing in it. I will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
Beautiful state park. Very well maintained by friendly staff. Unable to use satellite due to tree cover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
Great older state park. Ranger Jeff Davis was consistently helpful and friendly. We walked around the lake on a well maintained trail, completely shaded. The restrooms are older, but clean and well maintained. The campsites are level and neat. Host in the office was pleasant and friendly. Great park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Campsites were nice. Paved and flat. Ground fires were allowed. There is lots of trees and shade. Lake was not available for swimming. Canoes and small boats are OK. Fishing allowed from the dock and shore. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$11
Wall Doxey is truly a treasure with its rustic appeal like many of the Civilian Conservation Corps constructed parks. The facilities were clean and the staff was very friendly. This park is highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$13
This is a pretty park in a rural setting. Although it is obviously old and a fairly typical state park (no sewer hookups at the sites), it is reasonably clean. There was no one present at the gate in the two days we were here and probably fewer than six or seven rigs in the whole park. There is a front section that is older and a newer back section with more sites. Most of the sites are well shaded, but ours was not very level. If it were full, it would probably seem closely packed since there is not a lot of space between sites and the roads are close and narrow. Cell phone coverage was excellent (AT&T), but antenna television was spotty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
This State Park had the basics seemed a little run-down overall. It has a lake, but no place for swimming. The focus seemed to be more on fishing. It has 2 campground loops: a newer one which no one was in, but it was the middle of the week, & an older loop, which had most of the people. The gatehouse person was very friendly & helpful, but I thought one of the office staff was a little snippy when I asked about the availability of their lodge room facility for an event. There is a nice loop road around lake to walk or fish from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
Nice state park but the sites are not level. Nice trail to hike around the lake and nice fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
Enroute to Red Bay, AL we found a GREAT spot most of the sites are PRIVATE with lots of shaded. Access was fairly good with exception of few low hanging limbs which were not a real problem for our 42ft bus. We were able to locate 4 sites where we were able get satellite reception otherwise local TV reception was fairly good and both cell phone & wireless internet cell coverage (National Access) was good using Verizon. The private setting and shade was a great spot and chance to wash the bus and tow car. The only draw back was no sewer dump at camp site and (50/amp) voltage was low during peak hours 4-7pm. but manageable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Nice park. Clean restrooms and sites spaced very well to prevent felling cramped. We will stay there again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
Pros: Great wooded sites in the "New Back" campground. Sites are separated by trees so you don't walk out of your rig into someone else's. Nice trail around the lake, very scenic. Cons: No pull throughs which was tough for some neighbors. A few websites lead you to believe there is swimming in the lake. That may have been the case years ago, but it's gone to seed. All swimming areas are closed. This campground is OK for a night or two, but there is little or nothing to do in the surrounding area. Tours of antebellum homes are also touted on some websites, but good luck finding them. OK but won't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
The staff was rude and very unhelpful. They seemed to not really care about our needs. We camped there on an overnight stay while passing through the state on our way home to Georgia from Michigan. Overall the campground was nice. The roads were narrow. Some of the sites were small and crowded. We think the sites were color coded for rig access, but, we did not get any help from the staff working there. It seemed to be a nice place for family stays. There was a big lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$15
Very wooded and spacious sites. You're not right up next to someone. The bathrooms are heated in the winter and air conditioned in the summer. They also have washers and dryers in the bathhouses. The roads could use some re-paving. They have a disc golf course throughout the campground and on the outer campsites, sometimes you have people playing right behind you. The trails are nice to do and the lake is very scenic. This is one of our favorite places to go in the spring and fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com